tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

13/07/2011 : THE HOUSE OF USHER - Pandora's box

THE HOUSE OF USHER

Pandora's box

MusicCD
Gothic

[83/100]   

Equinoxe Records
13/07/2011, Didier BECU

There are some things that never go away in life and The House Of Usher are one.

Apart from some different line ups, they're still around, even if it looks like The House Of Usher are standing alone, as 'the last of the "goth" mohicans'.

If we use such words it's not meant with sarcasm but more with sadness as the band that's named after the Edgar Allen Poe novel are indeed one of the last bands who pledge allegiance to the old school goth sound we heard in the 80's.

This German gothband is back with a new album titled "Pandora's Box". In many cases most albums with names as such would be kicked out off the office immediately, but in their case it just feels like you're embracing some old friend : a gothfriend!

They learned from the past that a classic goth album begins better with an opener that blows you away and that's what "Saturn Rising" does. This is the kind of goth we adore, where you're swallowed in some melancholic atmosphere ruled by guitars and a memorable chorus!

On this album it feels like you have a record that can be described as goth seen through different eyes, as songs like "As Evening Draws On" or "Speak By Tongue" have that typical Fields Of The Nephilim atmosphere.

"Coming Home" might be a bit too mellow for our taste but as soon as we hear the Xymox-like guitars in "Not Your Friend" we know that "Pandora's Box" is one of the strongest goth albums you'll get to hear this year!

Didier BECU
13/07/2011


Music reviews

09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
08
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
11
08
JACK MANIAC
No Fate
10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo