tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

13/07/2011 : THE HOUSE OF USHER - Pandora's box

THE HOUSE OF USHER

Pandora's box

MusicCD
Gothic

[83/100]   

Equinoxe Records
13/07/2011, Didier BECU

There are some things that never go away in life and The House Of Usher are one.

Apart from some different line ups, they're still around, even if it looks like The House Of Usher are standing alone, as 'the last of the "goth" mohicans'.

If we use such words it's not meant with sarcasm but more with sadness as the band that's named after the Edgar Allen Poe novel are indeed one of the last bands who pledge allegiance to the old school goth sound we heard in the 80's.

This German gothband is back with a new album titled "Pandora's Box". In many cases most albums with names as such would be kicked out off the office immediately, but in their case it just feels like you're embracing some old friend : a gothfriend!

They learned from the past that a classic goth album begins better with an opener that blows you away and that's what "Saturn Rising" does. This is the kind of goth we adore, where you're swallowed in some melancholic atmosphere ruled by guitars and a memorable chorus!

On this album it feels like you have a record that can be described as goth seen through different eyes, as songs like "As Evening Draws On" or "Speak By Tongue" have that typical Fields Of The Nephilim atmosphere.

"Coming Home" might be a bit too mellow for our taste but as soon as we hear the Xymox-like guitars in "Not Your Friend" we know that "Pandora's Box" is one of the strongest goth albums you'll get to hear this year!

Didier BECU
13/07/2011


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu