tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2015 : ZEITGEIST ZERO - Ghosts Of Victory

ZEITGEIST ZERO

Ghosts Of Victory

MusicCD
GlampopGothic Rock

[73/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It is a strange phenomenon, but even if many British goth bands are around today, it always seems a tad more difficult for them to reach the public. Of course much has to do with the fact that the British music press hardly pays attention to the dark scene. Shame, because there is a lot of hidden talent in the British underground.

We suppose most of our readers have never heard of Zeitgeist Zero, although this quintet is around for more than ten years and it already made three records. This group from Leeds (yes, we know!) is especially popular for the strong live act that they themselves describe as a show, and got them on the stages of Whitby Gothic Weekend and Wave Gotik Treffen in Leipzig.

Ghosts Of Victory is the third album and is mixed by Steve Whitfield ,who was involved in most albums by The Mission (Neverland, Swoon), and mastered by John Dent, who worked with PJ Harvey. The ten tracks on Ghosts Of Victory reveal one thing: Zeitgeist Zero sounds incredibly varied! 

Domestic Blitz begins with a war siren and immediately we get a strong dose of goth rock that sometimes has a goth metal touch, but the energetic synth beats give this song a special atmosphere. The Jekyll In Me is slightly lighter and shows that Zeitgeist Zero is a group that thinks in goth terms, but can’t be put in one category only.

The best proof is Dust and Bone, because you can hear a jazz atmosphere of the 50s that is nicely dressed with a goth look. Yes, we know, on paper it sounds incredibly stupid, but Zeitgeist Zero delivers a good job.

There is also room for goth with a pop dose (Do not Pop My Bubble and Pushed To The Edge), and Loose Lips Sink Ships even tends to sound like glam rock. United In Black reminds us a bit of Republica (if you still know that band) and From Stun To Kill even has a touch of futurepop.

Ghosts Of Victory certainly is not a masterpiece (the band would not believe that if we wrote that), but it is a clever proof that a group does not have to be stuck on one style only. Daring!

Didier BECU
08/12/2015


NL

Het blijft een vreemd fenomeen, maar ook al maakt men aan de overzijde van de Noordzee ook vandaag nog volop gothmuziek, blijft het voor Britse groepen altijd een tikkeltje moeilijker om het publiek te bereiken. Veel heeft natuurlijk te maken met het feit dat de Britse muziekpers nauwelijks (om niet te schrijven geen) aandacht heeft voor de zwarte scène. Bijzonder jammer, want er zit heel wat talent verscholen in de Britse underground.

Zo zullen de meeste lezers wellicht nog nooit van Zeitgeist Zero hebben gehoord, alhoewel dit vijftal al meer dan tien jaar bezig is en reeds drie platen heeft gemaakt. Deze groep uit Leeds (ja, we weten het!) is vooral geliefd voor hun sterke liveact, die ze zelf eerder als een show beschrijven en die ze reeds op de podia van Whitby Gothic Weekend en Wave Gotik Treffen in Leipzig bracht.

Ghosts Of Victory is de derde plaat en is gemixt door Steve Whitfield, die betrokken was bij de meeste platen van The Mission (Neverland, Swoon), en gemasterd door John Dent, die op zijn beurt samenwerkte met PJ Harvey.

Tien nummers vind je op Ghosts Of Victory en als je er één ding over kan zeggen, da is het dat ze ontzettend gevarieerd zijn! Domestic Blitz begint met een oorlogssirene en meteen worden we op onze wenken bediend met een stevige portie gothrock die soms naar gothmetal neigt, maar met energieke synthbeats het nummer een aparte sfeer geeft. The Jekyll In Me is iets lichters en toont aan dat Zeitgeist Zero een groep is die wel in gothtermen denkt, maar toch niet in één vakje onder te brengen is. Dat geldt zeker voor Dust and Bone hoort, want hier hoor je een jazzsfeertje uit de jaren 50 dat mooi in een gothkleedje is verpakt. Ja, we beseffen het ook wel, op papier klinkt zoiets ontzettend stom, maar Zeitgeist Zero komt er behoorlijk goed mee weg. Er is ook plaats voor goth met een popgehalte (Don’t Pop My Bubble en Pushed To The Edge), en Loose Lips Sink Ships neigt zelfs naar ouderwetse glamrock. United In Black herinnert ons een beetje aan Republica (mocht je die nog kennen) en in From Stun To Kill zit er zo waar een vleugje futurepop.

Ghosts Of Victory is zeker geen meesterwerk (dat zou de band zelf niet geloven), maar levert een knap bewijs dat je als groep niet vastgeroest hoeft te zijn in één stijl. Gedurfd, maar met glans geslaagd!

Didier BECU
08/12/2015


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
10
NO MORE
Turnaround
26
10
DEVO
Beautiful World
25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men