tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2015 : ZEITGEIST ZERO - Ghosts Of Victory

ZEITGEIST ZERO

Ghosts Of Victory

MusicCD
GlampopGothic Rock

[73/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It is a strange phenomenon, but even if many British goth bands are around today, it always seems a tad more difficult for them to reach the public. Of course much has to do with the fact that the British music press hardly pays attention to the dark scene. Shame, because there is a lot of hidden talent in the British underground.

We suppose most of our readers have never heard of Zeitgeist Zero, although this quintet is around for more than ten years and it already made three records. This group from Leeds (yes, we know!) is especially popular for the strong live act that they themselves describe as a show, and got them on the stages of Whitby Gothic Weekend and Wave Gotik Treffen in Leipzig.

Ghosts Of Victory is the third album and is mixed by Steve Whitfield ,who was involved in most albums by The Mission (Neverland, Swoon), and mastered by John Dent, who worked with PJ Harvey. The ten tracks on Ghosts Of Victory reveal one thing: Zeitgeist Zero sounds incredibly varied! 

Domestic Blitz begins with a war siren and immediately we get a strong dose of goth rock that sometimes has a goth metal touch, but the energetic synth beats give this song a special atmosphere. The Jekyll In Me is slightly lighter and shows that Zeitgeist Zero is a group that thinks in goth terms, but can’t be put in one category only.

The best proof is Dust and Bone, because you can hear a jazz atmosphere of the 50s that is nicely dressed with a goth look. Yes, we know, on paper it sounds incredibly stupid, but Zeitgeist Zero delivers a good job.

There is also room for goth with a pop dose (Do not Pop My Bubble and Pushed To The Edge), and Loose Lips Sink Ships even tends to sound like glam rock. United In Black reminds us a bit of Republica (if you still know that band) and From Stun To Kill even has a touch of futurepop.

Ghosts Of Victory certainly is not a masterpiece (the band would not believe that if we wrote that), but it is a clever proof that a group does not have to be stuck on one style only. Daring!

Didier BECU
08/12/2015


NL

Het blijft een vreemd fenomeen, maar ook al maakt men aan de overzijde van de Noordzee ook vandaag nog volop gothmuziek, blijft het voor Britse groepen altijd een tikkeltje moeilijker om het publiek te bereiken. Veel heeft natuurlijk te maken met het feit dat de Britse muziekpers nauwelijks (om niet te schrijven geen) aandacht heeft voor de zwarte scène. Bijzonder jammer, want er zit heel wat talent verscholen in de Britse underground.

Zo zullen de meeste lezers wellicht nog nooit van Zeitgeist Zero hebben gehoord, alhoewel dit vijftal al meer dan tien jaar bezig is en reeds drie platen heeft gemaakt. Deze groep uit Leeds (ja, we weten het!) is vooral geliefd voor hun sterke liveact, die ze zelf eerder als een show beschrijven en die ze reeds op de podia van Whitby Gothic Weekend en Wave Gotik Treffen in Leipzig bracht.

Ghosts Of Victory is de derde plaat en is gemixt door Steve Whitfield, die betrokken was bij de meeste platen van The Mission (Neverland, Swoon), en gemasterd door John Dent, die op zijn beurt samenwerkte met PJ Harvey.

Tien nummers vind je op Ghosts Of Victory en als je er één ding over kan zeggen, da is het dat ze ontzettend gevarieerd zijn! Domestic Blitz begint met een oorlogssirene en meteen worden we op onze wenken bediend met een stevige portie gothrock die soms naar gothmetal neigt, maar met energieke synthbeats het nummer een aparte sfeer geeft. The Jekyll In Me is iets lichters en toont aan dat Zeitgeist Zero een groep is die wel in gothtermen denkt, maar toch niet in één vakje onder te brengen is. Dat geldt zeker voor Dust and Bone hoort, want hier hoor je een jazzsfeertje uit de jaren 50 dat mooi in een gothkleedje is verpakt. Ja, we beseffen het ook wel, op papier klinkt zoiets ontzettend stom, maar Zeitgeist Zero komt er behoorlijk goed mee weg. Er is ook plaats voor goth met een popgehalte (Don’t Pop My Bubble en Pushed To The Edge), en Loose Lips Sink Ships neigt zelfs naar ouderwetse glamrock. United In Black herinnert ons een beetje aan Republica (mocht je die nog kennen) en in From Stun To Kill zit er zo waar een vleugje futurepop.

Ghosts Of Victory is zeker geen meesterwerk (dat zou de band zelf niet geloven), maar levert een knap bewijs dat je als groep niet vastgeroest hoeft te zijn in één stijl. Gedurfd, maar met glans geslaagd!

Didier BECU
08/12/2015


Music reviews

29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 32 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...
03
03
DAVID SARDY
Producer David Sardy on his work with The Who, Oasis, Marilyn Manson and scoring work.

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes
25
03
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins
24
03
KRANKLAND
In the Realms of the Unreal