tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2015 : ZEITGEIST ZERO - Ghosts Of Victory

ZEITGEIST ZERO

Ghosts Of Victory

MusicCD
GlampopGothic Rock

[73/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It is a strange phenomenon, but even if many British goth bands are around today, it always seems a tad more difficult for them to reach the public. Of course much has to do with the fact that the British music press hardly pays attention to the dark scene. Shame, because there is a lot of hidden talent in the British underground.

We suppose most of our readers have never heard of Zeitgeist Zero, although this quintet is around for more than ten years and it already made three records. This group from Leeds (yes, we know!) is especially popular for the strong live act that they themselves describe as a show, and got them on the stages of Whitby Gothic Weekend and Wave Gotik Treffen in Leipzig.

Ghosts Of Victory is the third album and is mixed by Steve Whitfield ,who was involved in most albums by The Mission (Neverland, Swoon), and mastered by John Dent, who worked with PJ Harvey. The ten tracks on Ghosts Of Victory reveal one thing: Zeitgeist Zero sounds incredibly varied! 

Domestic Blitz begins with a war siren and immediately we get a strong dose of goth rock that sometimes has a goth metal touch, but the energetic synth beats give this song a special atmosphere. The Jekyll In Me is slightly lighter and shows that Zeitgeist Zero is a group that thinks in goth terms, but can’t be put in one category only.

The best proof is Dust and Bone, because you can hear a jazz atmosphere of the 50s that is nicely dressed with a goth look. Yes, we know, on paper it sounds incredibly stupid, but Zeitgeist Zero delivers a good job.

There is also room for goth with a pop dose (Do not Pop My Bubble and Pushed To The Edge), and Loose Lips Sink Ships even tends to sound like glam rock. United In Black reminds us a bit of Republica (if you still know that band) and From Stun To Kill even has a touch of futurepop.

Ghosts Of Victory certainly is not a masterpiece (the band would not believe that if we wrote that), but it is a clever proof that a group does not have to be stuck on one style only. Daring!

Didier BECU
08/12/2015


NL

Het blijft een vreemd fenomeen, maar ook al maakt men aan de overzijde van de Noordzee ook vandaag nog volop gothmuziek, blijft het voor Britse groepen altijd een tikkeltje moeilijker om het publiek te bereiken. Veel heeft natuurlijk te maken met het feit dat de Britse muziekpers nauwelijks (om niet te schrijven geen) aandacht heeft voor de zwarte scène. Bijzonder jammer, want er zit heel wat talent verscholen in de Britse underground.

Zo zullen de meeste lezers wellicht nog nooit van Zeitgeist Zero hebben gehoord, alhoewel dit vijftal al meer dan tien jaar bezig is en reeds drie platen heeft gemaakt. Deze groep uit Leeds (ja, we weten het!) is vooral geliefd voor hun sterke liveact, die ze zelf eerder als een show beschrijven en die ze reeds op de podia van Whitby Gothic Weekend en Wave Gotik Treffen in Leipzig bracht.

Ghosts Of Victory is de derde plaat en is gemixt door Steve Whitfield, die betrokken was bij de meeste platen van The Mission (Neverland, Swoon), en gemasterd door John Dent, die op zijn beurt samenwerkte met PJ Harvey.

Tien nummers vind je op Ghosts Of Victory en als je er één ding over kan zeggen, da is het dat ze ontzettend gevarieerd zijn! Domestic Blitz begint met een oorlogssirene en meteen worden we op onze wenken bediend met een stevige portie gothrock die soms naar gothmetal neigt, maar met energieke synthbeats het nummer een aparte sfeer geeft. The Jekyll In Me is iets lichters en toont aan dat Zeitgeist Zero een groep is die wel in gothtermen denkt, maar toch niet in één vakje onder te brengen is. Dat geldt zeker voor Dust and Bone hoort, want hier hoor je een jazzsfeertje uit de jaren 50 dat mooi in een gothkleedje is verpakt. Ja, we beseffen het ook wel, op papier klinkt zoiets ontzettend stom, maar Zeitgeist Zero komt er behoorlijk goed mee weg. Er is ook plaats voor goth met een popgehalte (Don’t Pop My Bubble en Pushed To The Edge), en Loose Lips Sink Ships neigt zelfs naar ouderwetse glamrock. United In Black herinnert ons een beetje aan Republica (mocht je die nog kennen) en in From Stun To Kill zit er zo waar een vleugje futurepop.

Ghosts Of Victory is zeker geen meesterwerk (dat zou de band zelf niet geloven), maar levert een knap bewijs dat je als groep niet vastgeroest hoeft te zijn in één stijl. Gedurfd, maar met glans geslaagd!

Didier BECU
08/12/2015


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey