tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/12/2015 : BEGIN SAYS - Printed & Lost 1983-1991

BEGIN SAYS

Printed & Lost 1983-1991

MusicCD
Avant-gardeExperimentalSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[74/100]   

Infrastition
07/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Since many years Infrastition has become the home label for obscure French wavepop and post-punk. Recently the label released the poppy sounds of the Indochine-like Garçons Coiffeurs, but Begin Says is quite different. This group, which was founded in Paris in 1983, can best be described as avant-garde new wave with violins and clarinets. It may sound as an odd combination, but do not forget that Tuxedomoon was popular in those years and also made such music!

Maybe 35 songs (including a video) is a bit too much, but with this double CD you get all the original recordings that are almost impossible to find (or simply not released, because the second disc The Lost Album contains eight lost demo recordings between 1990 and 1991). These songs were supposed to appear on a record that would be the successor of the 1989 album Under The Palm Trees on Polydor. Begin Says surely sounds more experimental in the early days. However, the band members never forget emotion as a lot of the new wave songs crawl under the skin. It is difficult to stick a style on this band. Sometimes it's post-punk like Bauhaus or their compatriots Marquis De Sade and KaS Product. But it can also be avant-garde as on Crammed Discs or Sub Rosa. And in addition, some songs refer to the Neue Deutsche Welle.

Begin Says was "known" among the wave fans for the songs that were on the Essai compilation (a collector that is released on Facteurs d'Ambiance and features gods of the minimal scene like Martin Dupont and L'Enfance Eternelle). These songs are also included.

It seems a bit presumptuous to say, but Begin Says focuses on the music fan with a good taste, who is not afraid of experiment. Peek-A-Boo readers, so to speak!

Didier BECU
07/12/2015


NL

Infrastition is al sinds jaren het vertrouwde platenhuis van obscure Franse wavepop en consoorten. Onlangs verschenen op dit label de poppy klanken van de Indochine-achtige Garçons Coiffeurs, maar Begin Says is toch wel andere koek. Deze groep zag het levenslicht in Parijs in 12983 en kan je het beste omschrijven als avant-garde new wave met violen en klarinetten. Het klinkt misschien als een vreemde combinatie, maar vergeet toch niet dat Tuxedomoon die toen populair was, ook zo’n muziek maakte!

Misschien schaadt overdaad, want op deze dubbel-cd vind je 35 nummers (en zelfs een videoclip) die het volledige repertoire van deze Fransen bevat. Naar de originele opnames ga je maar beter niet op zoek, want die zijn zo goed als onvindbaar (of vaak niet eens uitgebracht, want het tweede schijfje, The Lost Album, bevat acht verloren gewaande demo-opnames uit 1990 en 1991). Deze plaat moest de opvolger worden van de in 1989 uitgebrachte lp Under The Palm Trees op Polydor. Ook deze plaat vind je integraal terug op deze dubbellaar en het is duidelijk dat Begin Says in z'n begindagen heel wat experimenteler klonk. Wel verloren de band daarbij nooit de emoties uit het oog, heel wat van de new wavenummers kruipen dan ook onder de huid. Het is moeilijk om een etiket te kleven op deze band. Soms is het heerlijke postpunk die je met Bauhaus of landgenoten Marquis De Sade en KaS Product kan vergelijken. Maar het kan evengoed avant garde zijn zoals men dat destijds op labels als Crammed Discs of Sub Rosa kon vinden, en alsof dat nog niet genoeg is, refereren heel wat tracks aan de Neue Deutsche Welle, waarin blijkbaar steeds medelijden met het trieste lot van de arbeider aan bod komt.

Begin Says was vooral bij de wavefans “bekend” voor de nummers die op de compilatie Essai stonden (een zeer gezochte plaat die destijds op Facteurs d’Ambiance verscheen en waarop ook de goden uit de minimal scène zoals Martin Dupont en L’Enfance Eternelle zijn vertegenwoordigd). Ook deze nummers vind je hier terug.

Het lijkt wat verwaand om het te zeggen, maar Begin Says is vooral gericht op de muziekliefhebber met de betere smaak die niet vies is van een vleugje experiment. Peek-A-Boo lezers dus!

Didier BECU
07/12/2015


 

Next reviews
DOUBLE ECHO • La Danza
ELDRITCH • Underlying Issues
KOMMANDO • Skull Snake
WILDNORTHE • Awe
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality
GARADH • Need A Change
QUEEN KWONG, LUSHES • Ghent, De Charlatan (05/12/2015)
THE BONES • Flash The Leather
ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Eclipse-Das Schwarze Denkmal

 

Same genre: AVANT-GARDE
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY • On Common Ground
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
MCHNRY • The Shape
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
48 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
05
CONFLICT
Dont Panik Esssen
21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
LOVELESSLUST
Fashion - David Bowie tribute
25
05
CORPO-MENTE
Arsalein
24
05
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT
Adrenaline
23
05
MODEL DEPOSE
Nightwatch
22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day