tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

06/12/2015 : ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
06/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The North-Italian band Schonwald just released its album Between Parallel Lights that can be described as post-punk with a shoegaze touch, or if you prefer shoegaze with a post-punk touch! On 6th February this duo plays in Brussels as tit's the headliners of the upcoming edition of Fantastique Nights, along with Winter Severity Index and Starcontrol. Reasons enough to ask Alessandra Gismondi which albums changed her life.

1. SUICIDE - Suicide
I totally love this record, because it is stripped of every single resembling rock basics: no guitar, no bass, no drums just a slightly melody on vocals. This album describes a fantastic wonderful disease. The essential post-punk minimal music was born, so sick so good.

2. NEW ORDER - Movement
This is amazingly a dance act. I remember having spent whole afternoons dancing to this album in my bedroom. Definitely it was love at first sight: tight drum rhythms, stunning melodies, cutting guitars, one of my favourite albums ever.

3. COCTEAU TWINS - Garlands
Cocteau Twins to me is the quintessential of dreampop - ethereal wave band. The trio fundamentally changed music in some of the best ways plausible during the 80s. And this album is extraordinary!

4. THE CURE - Pornography
Pornography was the second album I bought of The Cure. I still find it magnificent, a master piece, a sort of pop-sensibilities mixed with a heavy substrate of dark atmospheres and lyrics full of great poetry.

5. THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN - Psychocandy
A blast of noisy sound, rebel & sweet at the same time, amazing vocals and melodies just like The Beatles meet Velvet Underground, a lot of glimmering feedback along with plenty of echo... even beyond. Probably one of my favourite shoegaze bands ever.

6. MY BLOODY VALENTINE - Loveless
A blizzard of guitars and indecipherable vocals, its clubby sounding rhythm section is so catchy. This album is a rare pearl and it sounds like nothing else.

7. ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN - Crocodiles
A super debut album: so mature and essential, very representative of the "post-punk era". This album creates a dark winter mood and the vocals are so evocative.

8. TANGERINE DREAM - Zeit
This is an incredible album with its crazed synths, guitar and cello. I could listen to it over and over, amazing.

9. CLUSTER - Zuckerzeit
The pioneers of the industrial, electronic side of Krautrock, they are truly genial using a drum machine for this recording and adding more textures whilst maintaining kraut’s hypnotic nuances.

10. X-MAL DEUTSCHLAND - Fetisch
Between lush exotism and minimalism, sang in German. Mystical surreal songs, just great. 

Didier BECU
06/12/2015


NL

De Noord-Italiaanse band Schonwald heeft net zijn album Between Parallel Lights uit. Ideaal luistervoer voor fans van post-punk die ook van shoegaze houden, of vice versa. Op 6 februari treedt dit duo in Brussel op omdat het de headliner is van de nieuwe editie van Fantastique Nights, samen met Winter Severity Index en Starcontrol. Meer dan reden genoeg dus om eens aan Alessandra Gismondi te vragen welke tien platen een impact op haar leven hadden.

1. SUICIDE - Suicide
Ik hou ontzettend veel van deze plaat, gewoon omdat men alle basisingrediënten van de rock overboord gooit: geen gitaar, geen bas, geen drums, alleen iets wat een heel klein beetje op een melodie lijkt. Dit album beschrijft een fantastische, prachtige ziekte. En zo werd de essentie van het postpunkminimalisme geboren, ontzettend ziek, maar zo goed.

2. NEW ORDER - Movement
Het blijft verbazingwekkend dat dit eigenlijk een dance-act is. Ik herinner mij zeer goed al die middagen toen ik in mijn slaapkamer op dit album stond te dansen. Het was liefde op het eerste gezicht: strakke drumritmes, prachtige melodieën, snijdende gitaren, één van mijn favoriete albums ooit

3. COCTEAU TWINS - Garlands
Cocteau Twins is voor mij de ultieme droomband in het dreampop/ethereal genre. Dit trio heeft fundamenteel de muziek veranderd tijdens de jaren 80, en dan nog op de beste manier. Dit album is buitengewoon!

4. THE CURE - Pornography
Pornography was het tweede album dat ik van The Cure kocht. Ik vind het nog steeds een prachtig meesterwerk, gevoelige pop vol donkere sferen en goede poëzie.

5. THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN - Psychocandy
Een explosie van luidruchtig geluid, rebellerend, maar tegelijkertijd zoet, een geweldige zang en melodieën zoals bij The Beatles of Velvet Underground, veel feedback samen met veel echo’s... waarschijnlijk een van mijn favoriete shoegazebands ooit.

6. MY BLOODY VALENTINE - Loveless
Een sneeuwstorm van gitaren met een zang die je niet kan ontcijferen, met een ontzettend catchy ritmesectie. Dit album is een zeldzame parel en het klinkt als geen ander.

7. ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN - Crocodiles
Een superdebuut: zo volwassen en essentieel, het vertegenwoordigt volop de postpunk van die tijd. Dit album creëert een donkere winterstemming en de zang is suggestief.

8. TANGERINE DREAM - Zeit
Dit is een ongelooflijk album vol gekke synths, gitaren en een cello. Ik kan er blijven naar luisteren, en vind het nog altijd verbazingwekkend.

9. CLUSTER - Zuckerzeit
Zij zijn de pioniers van de industriële, elektronische Krautrock. Ze maken geniaal gebruik van een drummachine en voegen daardoor meer textuur aan de muziek toe, zonder dat de hypnotische nuances van de Krautrock verloren gaan.

10. X-MAL DEUTSCHLAND - Fetisch
Gemaakt in Duitsland tussen de periode van het weelderige exotisme en het minimalisme. Surrealistische, mystieke liedjes, gewoon geweldig.

Didier BECU
06/12/2015


06/12/2015 : ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/12/2015 : ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/12/2015 : ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/12/2015 : ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/12/2015 : ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/12/2015 : ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/12/2015 : ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/12/2015 : ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/12/2015 : ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/12/2015 : ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/12/2015 : ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
A Date In Camden | On this day 41 ago The Fall recorded Live At The Witch Trials!
14
12
On this day, 42 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'!
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 40 Today!
11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
12
TAINA
Seelenfresser
14
12
ME THE TIGER
Hollow
13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes