tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

06/12/2015 : ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
06/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The North-Italian band Schonwald just released its album Between Parallel Lights that can be described as post-punk with a shoegaze touch, or if you prefer shoegaze with a post-punk touch! On 6th February this duo plays in Brussels as tit's the headliners of the upcoming edition of Fantastique Nights, along with Winter Severity Index and Starcontrol. Reasons enough to ask Alessandra Gismondi which albums changed her life.

1. SUICIDE - Suicide
I totally love this record, because it is stripped of every single resembling rock basics: no guitar, no bass, no drums just a slightly melody on vocals. This album describes a fantastic wonderful disease. The essential post-punk minimal music was born, so sick so good.

2. NEW ORDER - Movement
This is amazingly a dance act. I remember having spent whole afternoons dancing to this album in my bedroom. Definitely it was love at first sight: tight drum rhythms, stunning melodies, cutting guitars, one of my favourite albums ever.

3. COCTEAU TWINS - Garlands
Cocteau Twins to me is the quintessential of dreampop - ethereal wave band. The trio fundamentally changed music in some of the best ways plausible during the 80s. And this album is extraordinary!

4. THE CURE - Pornography
Pornography was the second album I bought of The Cure. I still find it magnificent, a master piece, a sort of pop-sensibilities mixed with a heavy substrate of dark atmospheres and lyrics full of great poetry.

5. THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN - Psychocandy
A blast of noisy sound, rebel & sweet at the same time, amazing vocals and melodies just like The Beatles meet Velvet Underground, a lot of glimmering feedback along with plenty of echo... even beyond. Probably one of my favourite shoegaze bands ever.

6. MY BLOODY VALENTINE - Loveless
A blizzard of guitars and indecipherable vocals, its clubby sounding rhythm section is so catchy. This album is a rare pearl and it sounds like nothing else.

7. ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN - Crocodiles
A super debut album: so mature and essential, very representative of the "post-punk era". This album creates a dark winter mood and the vocals are so evocative.

8. TANGERINE DREAM - Zeit
This is an incredible album with its crazed synths, guitar and cello. I could listen to it over and over, amazing.

9. CLUSTER - Zuckerzeit
The pioneers of the industrial, electronic side of Krautrock, they are truly genial using a drum machine for this recording and adding more textures whilst maintaining kraut’s hypnotic nuances.

10. X-MAL DEUTSCHLAND - Fetisch
Between lush exotism and minimalism, sang in German. Mystical surreal songs, just great. 

Didier BECU
06/12/2015


NL

De Noord-Italiaanse band Schonwald heeft net zijn album Between Parallel Lights uit. Ideaal luistervoer voor fans van post-punk die ook van shoegaze houden, of vice versa. Op 6 februari treedt dit duo in Brussel op omdat het de headliner is van de nieuwe editie van Fantastique Nights, samen met Winter Severity Index en Starcontrol. Meer dan reden genoeg dus om eens aan Alessandra Gismondi te vragen welke tien platen een impact op haar leven hadden.

1. SUICIDE - Suicide
Ik hou ontzettend veel van deze plaat, gewoon omdat men alle basisingrediënten van de rock overboord gooit: geen gitaar, geen bas, geen drums, alleen iets wat een heel klein beetje op een melodie lijkt. Dit album beschrijft een fantastische, prachtige ziekte. En zo werd de essentie van het postpunkminimalisme geboren, ontzettend ziek, maar zo goed.

2. NEW ORDER - Movement
Het blijft verbazingwekkend dat dit eigenlijk een dance-act is. Ik herinner mij zeer goed al die middagen toen ik in mijn slaapkamer op dit album stond te dansen. Het was liefde op het eerste gezicht: strakke drumritmes, prachtige melodieën, snijdende gitaren, één van mijn favoriete albums ooit

3. COCTEAU TWINS - Garlands
Cocteau Twins is voor mij de ultieme droomband in het dreampop/ethereal genre. Dit trio heeft fundamenteel de muziek veranderd tijdens de jaren 80, en dan nog op de beste manier. Dit album is buitengewoon!

4. THE CURE - Pornography
Pornography was het tweede album dat ik van The Cure kocht. Ik vind het nog steeds een prachtig meesterwerk, gevoelige pop vol donkere sferen en goede poëzie.

5. THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN - Psychocandy
Een explosie van luidruchtig geluid, rebellerend, maar tegelijkertijd zoet, een geweldige zang en melodieën zoals bij The Beatles of Velvet Underground, veel feedback samen met veel echo’s... waarschijnlijk een van mijn favoriete shoegazebands ooit.

6. MY BLOODY VALENTINE - Loveless
Een sneeuwstorm van gitaren met een zang die je niet kan ontcijferen, met een ontzettend catchy ritmesectie. Dit album is een zeldzame parel en het klinkt als geen ander.

7. ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN - Crocodiles
Een superdebuut: zo volwassen en essentieel, het vertegenwoordigt volop de postpunk van die tijd. Dit album creëert een donkere winterstemming en de zang is suggestief.

8. TANGERINE DREAM - Zeit
Dit is een ongelooflijk album vol gekke synths, gitaren en een cello. Ik kan er blijven naar luisteren, en vind het nog altijd verbazingwekkend.

9. CLUSTER - Zuckerzeit
Zij zijn de pioniers van de industriële, elektronische Krautrock. Ze maken geniaal gebruik van een drummachine en voegen daardoor meer textuur aan de muziek toe, zonder dat de hypnotische nuances van de Krautrock verloren gaan.

10. X-MAL DEUTSCHLAND - Fetisch
Gemaakt in Duitsland tussen de periode van het weelderige exotisme en het minimalisme. Surrealistische, mystieke liedjes, gewoon geweldig.

Didier BECU
06/12/2015


06/12/2015 : ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/12/2015 : ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/12/2015 : ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/12/2015 : ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/12/2015 : ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/12/2015 : ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/12/2015 : ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/12/2015 : ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/12/2015 : ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/12/2015 : ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/12/2015 : ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree
16
10
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Chance Versus Causality
16
10
MASSIVE ATTACK
Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold