tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/12/2015 : KAOS! - Moments Of Perfection

KAOS!

Moments Of Perfection

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[85/100]   
04/12/2015, Peter HESELMANS

EN

After their debut album from 2013, the Stockholm duo KAOS! release Moments of Perfection that features five new synthpop songs. This band consists of Eva Kaxe (vocals) and Kristian Oscarsson (synths).

Opener What Have I Done starts with dark, even minimal electro sounds, and the song slowly evolves into an danceable up tempo chorus, with a leading role for singer Eva. Her beautiful, slightly nasal voice lifts most of the songs to a higher level.

On the next track Puppet Dance we get cheerful future pop: rhythmic synths with many 80's influences, they certainly have listened to bands like Yazoo or Eurythmics. Lyrically KAOS! offers stories about alienation, isolation and the permanent pursuit of happiness.

On Confinement this band proves that it has have much more to offer, perfect analogue sounds with some dark electronics, or minimal wave that meets synthpop, beautiful lyrics, and again those sublime vocals. The German song Zurück spontaneously reminds me of Constance Rudert, and the song would fit perfectly on a Blutengel album.

This Swedish band surprised me in a very positive way. The versatility of these five songs, the inspired texts, and above all the vocal qualities of Eve! We can’t wait to hear more!

 

Peter HESELMANS
04/12/2015


NL

Het Stockholmse duo KAOS! brengt ons, na het debuutalbum uit 2013, Moments of Perfection met daarop vijf nieuwe synthpopnummers. Deze band bestaat uit Eva Kaxe (zang) en Kristian Oscarsson (synths).

Opener What Have I Done start met donkere, zelfs minimale elektrogeluiden, tot de song langzaam naar een dansbaar, uptempo refrein evolueert, met toch wel een hoofdrol voor zangeres Eva. Haar prachtige, lichtjes nasale stem tillen de meeste songs toch naar een hoger niveau.

Vrolijke futurepop hoor je op de volgende track Puppet Dance, ritmische synths met veel jaren-80-invloeden, er is zeker veel geluisterd naar bands zoals Yazoo of Eurythmics. Tekstueel brengt KAOS! verhalen over vervreemding en isolatie, en het permanent nastreven van geluk.

Met Confinement bewijst deze band dat hijveel in zijn mars heeft, perfecte analoge klanken met de nodige donkere elektronica, of minimal wave met een synhtpopjasje, de prachtige tekst en alweer de sublieme vocals. Eva heeft echter nog meer te bieden, het Duitse nummer Zuruck doet me spontaan denken aan Constance Rudert en zou niet misstaan op een album van Blutengel.

Deze Zweedse band heeft me positief verrast. Door de veelzijdigheid van deze vijf songs, de geïnspireerde teksten, en vooral de vocale kwaliteiten van Eva kunnen we niet wachten om meer te horen!

Peter HESELMANS
04/12/2015


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning