tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

04/12/2015 : THE GURU GURU - Hole In The Ground

THE GURU GURU

Hole In The Ground

MusicCD (EP)
Noisepsychotic rock

[80/100]   

Consouling Agency
04/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This single by the Belgian noise psychotic rock band The Guru Guru is the second release since 2014. At the same time, this quintet releases a split single with Brutus. But first we take a look at Hole In The Ground, the single that includes two songs.

It's always nice to hear rock-oriented music with a personal recognizable style. It even gets better when the band is trying to avoid the clichés of the genre and makes something new, and The Guru Guru manages to do so.

Hole in the Ground floats on a fat bass, warped singing, musical outbursts and unexpected rhythm transitions. It’s complete madness. A song with a touch of Pixies, and as they themselves say, complemented with some DNA of Sonic Youth. As a single it is perhaps too intense to be played on the radio, but live it must be a stunner.

Their second song Backdoor begins somewhat quiet, but the voice betrays that this won’t last long. The song is built up pretty well, as the heavy sounding guitar slowly enters the song.For me, Backdoor would have been a better choice for the single because it is a powerful song!

Meanwhile, the band already performed this summer at Pukkelpop and Rock Herk. A band to keep an eye on.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/12/2015


NL

Deze single van de Belgische noise psychotic rockband The Guru Guru is de tweede release sedert 2014. Tegelijkertijd brengt dit vijftal ook een split single uit met de band Brutus. Maar eerst gaan we deze single, die uit twee songs bestaat, eens van dichterbij bekijken.

Het is altijd leuk om rockgeoriënteerde muziek te horen met een eigen en herkenbare stijl. Nog leuker wordt het als de band probeert om de clichés van het genre te ontwijken en er zelf iets nieuws mee maakt en daar is The Guru Guru behoorlijk in geslaagd.

Hole in the Ground drijft op een vette bas, verknipte zang, muzikale uitbarstingen en onverwachte ritmeovergangen. Waanzin ten top. Een nummer met de razernij van Pixies en zoals ze zelf zeggen, met wat DNA van Sonic Youth. Als single misschien wat te heftig om de radio te halen, maar live moet het een knaller zijn.

Hun tweede nummer Backdoor begint enigszins rustig, maar de zang verraadt dat dit niet lang zal duren. Het nummer is vrij goed opgebouwd. De heavy klinkende gitaarlijn komt langzaam het nummer binnen. Een goed beheerste song dat op het juiste moment ontploft en dan weer tot rust komt. Wat mij betreft heeft deze single meer aspiraties dan de eerste track. Een sterk nummer!

Intussen heeft de band deze zomer ook al op Pukkelpop en Rock Herk gestaan. Een band dus om in het oog te houden.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/12/2015


Music reviews

18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding
05
03
I AM A ROCKETSHIP
Mind Grafitti

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win
15
03
'Locating Silver Lake': Digital movie release on March 22 - DVD coming soon!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love
12
03
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Eye on you (Fan made video)