tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/12/2015 : KISSING PARTY - Looking Back it was Romantic but at the Time I was Suffocating

KISSING PARTY

Looking Back it was Romantic but at the Time I was Suffocating

MusicCD
Alternative RockGlamrockIndie RockRock

[80/100]   

Hot Congress Records
06/12/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Kissing Party is a band from Denver (USA). In 2006, the debut album Hold Your Hour and Have Another was released. Meanwhile we received a copy of the band’s fifth album Looking Back it was Romantic but at the Time I was Suffocating, released by Hot Congress Records. It contains 15 short compositions about love, peace and reflection. They are well-crafted little powerhouses of pop music that even the most cynical and jaded music fan can love, the Denver Post reported following the release of the album, and that's enough to make us curious!

The least you can say about Looking Back Romantic but it was at the Time I was Suffocating is that it is a very diverse album, caught between rock, punk and pop. The intros are very original and the punkish songs are played on guitars and drums. In Tomorrow and Tomorrow and Tomorrow we hear the soft voice of Deirdre Sage, while in Right Out of Real Life Gregory Dolan is the singer. The Swimming Pool has the same pace, but the vocals are sung by both vocalists, supported by whining guitars and heavy drums. The track sounds less hectic, while the bell-like guitars in Justine, coupled with less emphatic vocals, push the material in the direction of pop music. A beautiful song. New Glue and Michigan Madonna are similar compositions, in which the voices of Deirdre and Gregory temper the violence of the guitars quite a bit. Sometimes we hear the English punk band Shopping, but Gregory Dolan's voice very often takes us to the land of The Smiths as well.

You Can’t Have Everyone is the first ballad on this album. Gregory Dolan's voice sounds wonderful and touching. The guitars have stowed their punk sound and are humming along in a soft way, while the bass guitar is painting a dark canvas on the background. A Vain Victory grows effortlessly into a beautiful pop song, starring Deirdre and Gregory, and bell-like guitars that create a light and cheerful atmosphere. In Skinhead Jen the pace is raised, but Gregory's rather quiet vocals, combined with wonderful buzzing guitars, make it a nice mid-tempo ballad. A favorite. Stabs and Happiness is of the same kind. Deirdre Sage sounds fragile and innocent, and she leaves room for the instrumental interpretation of minimalist electric and acoustic guitars. Very nice.

Trash gets emphatic dark guitars, making the track develop into the first real rock ballad on the album. In Two Boys Gregory Dolan sounds like Morrissey, while his voice has a different tone in the enigmatic I Live with the Mystery. A nice track, but unfortunately too short, though it is completed with a beautiful and extended outro. Night of the Pigs sounds subdued and dreamy, with melodic guitars and beautiful harmonies, while Deirde Sage finishes the album in a wonderful way: You're Gonna Wonder is an acoustic track full of warmth and melancholy, supported by buzzing synths (violins?). Very nice.

Kissing Party uses a very diverse route between Tomorrow and Tomorrow and Tomorrow and You're Gonna Wonder, but after a few spins it all seems to fit together perfectly, and indeed, it all sounds irresistible.

Tracklisting:
1 Tomorrow and Tomorrow and Tomorrow
2 Right Out of Real Life
3 The Swimming Pool
4 Justine
5 New Glue
6 Michigan Madonna
7 You Can’t have everyone
8 A Vain Victory
9 Skinhead Jen
0 Stabs and Happiness
1 Trash
2 Two Boys
3 I Live with the Mystery
4 Night of the Pigs
5 You’re Gonna Wonder

http://kissingparty.bandcamp.com/album/looking-back-it-was-romantic-but-at-the-time-i-was-suffocating

William LIÉNARD
06/12/2015


NL

Kissing Party is een band uit Denver (USA). In 2006 debuteerde het gezelschap met Hold Your Hour and Have Another, en ondertussen is het vijfde album door Hot Congress Records uitgebracht. Het bevat 15 korte composities over liefde, vrede en reflectie, die zich situeren tussen rock, punk en pop. Het zijn goed gemaakte kleine krachtpatsers van de popmuziek waarvan zelfs de meest cynische muziekliefhebber kan houden, schreef de Denver Post naar aanleiding van de release van het album en dat is voldoende om ons nieuwsgierig te maken!

Het minste wat je van Looking Back it was Romantic but at the Time I was Suffocating kan zeggen is dat het een zeer gevarieerd album. De intro’s zijn meestal zeer origineel, de punkachtige songs hebben eenvoudige bezetting van gitaren en drums. In Tomorrow and Tomorrow and Tomorrow horen we de eerder zachte stem Deirdre Sage, in Right Out of Real Life neemt Gregory Dolan de vocalen voor z’n rekening. The Swimming Pool gaat op hetzelfde tempo door, maar de vocalen worden door beide vocalisten gezongen. Opnieuw zijn jengelden gitaren en heftig drumwerk van de partij, maar de song klinkt minder hectisch, terwijl de belachtige gitaren in Justine, gekoppeld aan minder nadrukkelijke vocalen, het materiaal al een flink stuk in de richting van popmuziek duwen. Mooie song overigens. New Glue en Michigan Madonna zijn gelijksoortige composities, waarbij het opvalt dat de stemmen van Deirdre en Gregory het geweld van de gitaren een flink stuk temperen. De Engelse band Shopping komt ons voor de geest, maar Gregory Dolans stem voert ons ook in hoge mate mee naar het land van The Smiths.

You Can’t Have Everyone is de eerste ballade op dit album. Gregory Dolans stem klinkt wondermooi en ontwapenend, terwijl de gitaren hun punkgeluid hebben opgeborgen en bijna zachtjes mee neuriën, terwijl de basgitaar een donker canvas schildert op de achtergrond. A Vain Victory groeit moeiteloos uit tot een mooie popsong met Deirdre en Gregory in de hoofdrol, en bel-achtige gitaren die een vederlichte en opgewekte sfeer creëren. Met een titel zoals Skinhead Jen moet het tempo uiteraard omhoog, maar Gregory’s eerder rustige vocalen, gecombineerd met prachtig zoemende gitaren, maken er een mooie mid-tempo ballade van. Een favoriet. Stabs and Happiness is van hetzelfde soort. Deirdre Sage klinkt breekbaar en onschuldig en laat ruimte voor de instrumentale invulling van minimalistische elektrische en akoestische gitaar. Heel erg mooi.

Trash krijgt nadrukkelijke donkere gitaren, waardoor de track uitgroeit tot de eerste echte rockballade op dit album, terwijl Gregory Dolan in Two Boys meer dan ooit als Morrissey klinkt, en weer heel anders in I Live with the Mystery. Een mooie track, maar jammer genoeg te kort naar onze smaak, al breidt hij er wel een mooi uitro aan. Night of the Pigs klinkt ingetogen en dromerig met melodieuze gitaren en een mooie samenzang, en met You’re Gonna Wonder sluit Deirdre Sage dit album op een prachtige manier af: een akoestische track vol warmte en weemoed met zoemende synths (of zijn het violen?) ter ondersteuning. Heel mooi.

Kissing Party legt een heel divers traject af tussen Tomorrow and Tomorrow and Tomorrow en You’re Gonna Wonder, maar na meerdere beluisteringen blijkt het allemaal perfect bij elkaar te passen, en het klinkt inderdaad allemaal onweerstaanbaar.

William LIÉNARD
06/12/2015


06/12/2015 : KISSING PARTY - Looking Back it was Romantic but at the Time I was Suffocating 06/12/2015 : KISSING PARTY - Looking Back it was Romantic but at the Time I was Suffocating

 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)
ORDER OF VICTORY & SACRIS TANDEM • Strength Of Materials
LINGOUF • Oeuvre au Noir
KAOS! • Moments Of Perfection
THE GURU GURU / BRUTUS • split out 10 inch
LATE NIGHT VENTURE • Tychonians
THE GURU GURU • Hole In The Ground
CHVE • Rasa
HEMGRAVEN • Saudade
NEON SHUDDER • O-8015

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
PAUL MCCANN • Here Comes The Rapture
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
THE VELVET UNDERGROUND • White Light/White Heat
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb

 

Same genre: GLAMROCK
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
GHOST • Popestar
DAVID BOWIE • Pin Ups
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
DAVID BOWIE • Five Years 1969 - 1973
MATT ROCK • Get Blank
JACK • The Jazz Age

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin
SWITCHFOOT • When the Light Shines Through
EVIL SUPERSTARS • Mechelen, Kerk Cultuurcentrum (04/06/2016)

 

Same genre: ROCK
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked