tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/12/2015 : ELDRITCH - Underlying Issues

ELDRITCH

Underlying Issues

MusicCD
MetalProg

[75/100]   

Scarlet Records
07/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

No, it is not new work of Andrew Eldritch. The goth scene can calm again. In fact Eldritch is an Italian progressive power metal band. This release is the band's tenth album.

The latest record sounds heavier and more compact than the previous album Tasting The Tears. The keyboards are much more intertwined with the other instruments, while on the previous album they were sometimes disturbing. Here this problem is resolved and everything is perfectly balanced.

At times you can hear some excellent and solid guitar work. The keyboards are also very enjoyable. The voice of Terence Holler is decent as well, and they surely aren’t bad songwriters. So, you ear an enjoyable album with a witty and mainstream sounds. That is both an advantage and a disadvantage. It is quite predictable, but the workmanship is of high quality. Perhaps, putting the singing more in the foreground would be a better idea.

Excellent songs are: All And More (clever intro) Changing Blood and Danger Zone (both powerful songs), To The Moon and Back (a delicious intro with synths and guitar, fine vocals and a great guitar solo). Certainly better than the previous one, and it surely gets them a bit closer to the top.

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/12/2015


NL

Neen, het gaat niet om werk van Andrew Eldritch. De gothscène mag dus kalmeren. Het gaat hier namelijk om de gelijknamige Italiaanse progressieve powermetalband. Met deze release is die aan hun tiende album toe.

De nieuwste worp klinkt steviger en compacter dan het vorige album Tasting The Tears. De keyboards zijn veel meer verweven met de andere instrumenten, terwijl die op de vorige plaat soms te storend aanwezig waren. Hier is dit euvel opgelost en is alles perfect in balans.

Bij momenten hoor je heel excellent en massief gitaarspe. De keyboards zijn ook zeer genietbaar. De zang van Terence Holler is zeer degelijk. Daarnaast zijn het ook geen slechte songschrijvers. Hierdoor krijg je een genietbaar album dat tamelijk snedig en mainstream klinkt. Dat is zowel hun voor- als nadeel. Het is qua vorm redelijk voorspelbaar, maar het vakmanschap is van hoge kwaliteit. Misschien zou men de zang nu en dan wat meer op de voorgrond kunnen mixen zodat die wat beter overkomt.

Geslaagde songs zijn: All and More (knappe intro), Changing Blood en Danger Zone (beide vinnige songs), To The Moon and Back (een heerlijke intro met synths en gitaar, alsook fijne vocals en een fantastische gitaarsolo).

Een band die misschien via deze release een stapje hoger kan geraken. Zeker beter dan hun vorige. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/12/2015


 

Next reviews
KOMMANDO • Skull Snake
WILDNORTHE • Awe
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality
GARADH • Need A Change
QUEEN KWONG, LUSHES • Ghent, De Charlatan (05/12/2015)
THE BONES • Flash The Leather
ALESSANDRA GISMONDI (SCHONWALD) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Eclipse-Das Schwarze Denkmal
TENEK • Smoke & Mirrors
KISSING PARTY • Looking Back it was Romantic but at the Time I was Suffocating

 

Same combination of genres: METAL + PROG
EMBASSY OF SILENCE • Verisimilitude
OPETH • Brussels, AB (15/10/2015)
NAïVE • Altra
EREB ALTOR • Nattram
THURISAZ, DYSCORDIA, ITCHILIEN, VERMILION • Thurisaz releaseparty 3 april 2015, JH Den Tap Kuurne.
THURISAZ • The Pulse Of Mourning
SIMUS • Vox Vult
STEVEN WILSON • Review of the concert at Het Depot in Leuven on 24th October 2013
STEVEN WILSON • Review of the concert in Antwerp on 12 March 2013
ANATHEMA • Weather Systems

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

 

Same genre: PROG
NOSOUND • Scintilla
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
INFINITE SPECTRUM • Haunter of the Dark
ILL WICKER • Untamed
IRRADIANCE • Dissidence
VLY • I/Time
KRAKOW • Amaran
IRIS DIVINE • Karma Sown
HASSE FRöBERG & MUSICAL COMPANION • HMFC
ISOLE • The Calm Hunter

Music reviews

22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 35 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
Mountains Crave
21
04
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
20
04
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
19
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl