tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : INFINITE SPECTRUM - Haunter of the Dark

INFINITE SPECTRUM

Haunter of the Dark

MusicCD
ProgProg Rockprogressive metal

[90/100]   

Sensory Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Infinite Spectrum is a progressive metal band from NYC with a theatrical influence. Musical examples are Dream Theater, Symphony X, Yes or Rush. Haunter of the Dark is based on a short story by H. P. Lovecraft. There are already countless songs or albums based on his texts like Dream Theater (Systematic Chaos), Metallica (The Call of Ktulu), Iced Earth or 349. So nothing new, but apparently the work of this author is very inspiring.

Infinite Spectrum surprised me because of its variety, the beautifully constructed concept album and its versatility. The songs have a time range from four to eighteen minutes. The clean vocals have a high quality. The guitar work is excellent, and the drums pushes the songs to different sides. Atmospheric synths and keys support the tracks.

The album opens with a Prologue and concludes with an Epilogue. Both are short cinematic pieces.

Federal Hill is a beautiful song and contains many elements: folk, catchy vocals, orchestrations and some delicate rhythms, just as inThe Stranger Things I've Learned that has become a sensitive ballad. The spirit of Ayreon is never far away.

There are also some darker and heavier tracks such as: The Calling, Haunter of the Dark or Fear with some intense drums. The Church and 2:12 AM are two tracks of ten minutes and more, they go in different directions just as a long prog song has to. I didn't notice any weak track on here, and the production is also a winner.

Infinite Spectrum presents an album that shows how a good prog rock album should sound like : diverse, entertaining and surprising at times. For fans of Dream Theater, Transatlantic and The Flower Kings.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Infinite Spectrum is een progressieve metal band uit NYC dat een zekere theatrale invloed uitstraalt. Hun muzikale voorbeelden zijn Dream Theater, Symphony X, Yes en Rush. Haunter of the Dark is gebaseerd op een kort verhaal van H.P. Lovecraft. Er zijn al talloze songs of albums gemaakt op basis van teksten van deze auteur. Ik denk aan Dream Theater (Systematic Chaos), Metallica (The Call of Ktulu), Iced Earth of 1349. Op zich dus niets nieuws, blijkbaar werkt het oeuvre van deze auteur heel inspirerend.

Infinite spectrum verrast mij vanwege hun variatie, hun mooi opgebouwde conceptalbum en hun veelzijdigheid. De songs variëren van vier tot achttien minuten. De cleane vocals zijn van hoog niveau. Het gitaarwerk is uitmuntend, alsook de drums die de songs verschillende kanten opstuwt. Sfeervolle synths en keys ondersteunen de tracks.

Het album opent met een Prologue en sluit af met een Epilogue. Beiden zijn korte cinematografische stukken, en is vooral sfeerscheppend.

Federal Hill bevat allerlei elementen: folk, catchy zang, orchestraties en fijne ritmes. De geest van Ayreon is niet ver weg. Ook in The Stranger Things i’ve Learned dat een gevoelige ballade is geworden. Er zitten ook enkele donkerder en zwaardere songs tussen zoals: The Calling, Haunter of the Dark en Fear met heftig drumwerk.
The Church en 2:12 AM zijn twee tracks van tien minuten en meer. Zwakke composities staan er niet op en de productie is tevens dik in orde.

Een progrockalbum zoals goede progrock dient te klinken: afwisselend, onderhoudend en bij momenten verrassend. Voor de liefhebbers van Dream Theater, Transatlantic en The Flower Kings.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?