tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : INFINITE SPECTRUM - Haunter of the Dark

INFINITE SPECTRUM

Haunter of the Dark

MusicCD
ProgProg Rockprogressive metal

[90/100]   

Sensory Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Infinite Spectrum is a progressive metal band from NYC with a theatrical influence. Musical examples are Dream Theater, Symphony X, Yes or Rush. Haunter of the Dark is based on a short story by H. P. Lovecraft. There are already countless songs or albums based on his texts like Dream Theater (Systematic Chaos), Metallica (The Call of Ktulu), Iced Earth or 349. So nothing new, but apparently the work of this author is very inspiring.

Infinite Spectrum surprised me because of its variety, the beautifully constructed concept album and its versatility. The songs have a time range from four to eighteen minutes. The clean vocals have a high quality. The guitar work is excellent, and the drums pushes the songs to different sides. Atmospheric synths and keys support the tracks.

The album opens with a Prologue and concludes with an Epilogue. Both are short cinematic pieces.

Federal Hill is a beautiful song and contains many elements: folk, catchy vocals, orchestrations and some delicate rhythms, just as inThe Stranger Things I've Learned that has become a sensitive ballad. The spirit of Ayreon is never far away.

There are also some darker and heavier tracks such as: The Calling, Haunter of the Dark or Fear with some intense drums. The Church and 2:12 AM are two tracks of ten minutes and more, they go in different directions just as a long prog song has to. I didn't notice any weak track on here, and the production is also a winner.

Infinite Spectrum presents an album that shows how a good prog rock album should sound like : diverse, entertaining and surprising at times. For fans of Dream Theater, Transatlantic and The Flower Kings.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Infinite Spectrum is een progressieve metal band uit NYC dat een zekere theatrale invloed uitstraalt. Hun muzikale voorbeelden zijn Dream Theater, Symphony X, Yes en Rush. Haunter of the Dark is gebaseerd op een kort verhaal van H.P. Lovecraft. Er zijn al talloze songs of albums gemaakt op basis van teksten van deze auteur. Ik denk aan Dream Theater (Systematic Chaos), Metallica (The Call of Ktulu), Iced Earth of 1349. Op zich dus niets nieuws, blijkbaar werkt het oeuvre van deze auteur heel inspirerend.

Infinite spectrum verrast mij vanwege hun variatie, hun mooi opgebouwde conceptalbum en hun veelzijdigheid. De songs variëren van vier tot achttien minuten. De cleane vocals zijn van hoog niveau. Het gitaarwerk is uitmuntend, alsook de drums die de songs verschillende kanten opstuwt. Sfeervolle synths en keys ondersteunen de tracks.

Het album opent met een Prologue en sluit af met een Epilogue. Beiden zijn korte cinematografische stukken, en is vooral sfeerscheppend.

Federal Hill bevat allerlei elementen: folk, catchy zang, orchestraties en fijne ritmes. De geest van Ayreon is niet ver weg. Ook in The Stranger Things i’ve Learned dat een gevoelige ballade is geworden. Er zitten ook enkele donkerder en zwaardere songs tussen zoals: The Calling, Haunter of the Dark en Fear met heftig drumwerk.
The Church en 2:12 AM zijn twee tracks van tien minuten en meer. Zwakke composities staan er niet op en de productie is tevens dik in orde.

Een progrockalbum zoals goede progrock dient te klinken: afwisselend, onderhoudend en bij momenten verrassend. Voor de liefhebbers van Dream Theater, Transatlantic en The Flower Kings.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

05
04
KALTE NACHT
The Last Breath
02
04
LOVATARAXX
Tilda Vaast
14
03
THEN COMES SILENCE
Trickery
13
03
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT
Remixes
27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 38 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
39 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
15
04
On this day, 23 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
37 years ago MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
11
04
LIVERNOIS Addresses The Human Reaction To Trauma With ':ablation:'

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.
03
04
FRONTAL BOUNDARY
An Interview With Harsh Electro Band, Frontal Boundary
20
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
An Interview With Bestial Mouths
19
03
TVASHTAR
We never insisted on being an all-female band.

PHOTOS

16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
FRACTIONAL
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
O VEUX
Wasted Night #5 Borgloon

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
ANIMACHINES
Pandemia
20
04
CHAOS RESEARCH
In Power we entrust the Love advocated
19
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
18
04
COCAINE PISS
The Dancer
17
04
CHMCL STR8JCKT
Dressed to Kill
16
04
30,000 MONKIES
Coproliet
15
04
WIM MERTENS
Struggle For Pleasure