tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : EDENSONG - Years in the Garden of Years

EDENSONG

Years in the Garden of Years

MusicCD
Prog Rock

[80/100]   

Laser's Edge
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

It took five years to write and recording this concept album. An eternity in the music industry. A concept album with a theme: time in all its facets. Seventy minutes of music and ten songs.

This quintet from NYC sounds like a classic prog rock band with some contemporary keys. The five professional artists, each with a different musical background, give the music as much diverse perspectives. Flute, guitar, keyboards, bass and percussion play an important role in the music. It doesn't sounds like folk music, however, because all sounds are solid. The mix and the transitions in the songs are pretty interesting and sometimes surprising. I think of End Times in Retrospect, an instrumental song that goes everywhere and puts you on the wrong foot again and again. The most appealing songs contain melancholy and reverie like The Hollowed: nicely displayed with humming. Generations floats on a very present rumbling bass that makes for a very nice effect. End song Yawn of a Blink is a fine prog rocker which reminiscent me of Porcupine Tree.

This is a good and pleasant prog rock album by Edensong. The mastering was done by Bob Katz (Ben Kinsley, Steve Hackett, Gram Parsons...) and everything is wrapped in tasteful artwork. For lovers of traditional prog rock.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Het heeft vijf jaar gekost om deze conceptplaat te schrijven en op te nemen. Een eeuwigheid in muziekland. Een conceptplaat met als hoofdthema: de tijd. Zeventig minuten muziek, netjes verdeelt over tien songs.

Het kwintet uit NYC klinkt als een klassieke progrockband, met hier en daar wat eigentijdse toetsen. De vijf professionele artiesten met elk een verschillende muzikale achtergrond, geven de muziek op die manier diverse invalshoeken. De fluit speelt net als de gitaar, de toetsen, de bas en de percussie een belangrijk rol in de muziek. Dat wil niet zeggen dat het als folk klinkt, want het geheel is stevig genoeg om niet als halfzacht te worden beschouwd. De mix en de overgangen in de songs zijn interessant en soms verrassend. Ik denk dan aan End Times in Retrospect: een instrumentale track die alle kanten uitgaat en je telkens op het verkeerde been zet. De tracks die het meest aanspreken bevatten wat melancholie en mijmering (The Hollowed) mooi weergegeven aan de hand van geneurie. Generations drijft op een heel aanwezige brommende bas, wat resulteert in een heel mooi effect. Afsluiter Yawn of a Blink is een fijne progrocker die wat aan Porcupine Tree doet denken.

Met dit album levert Edensong een erg goed en aangenaam progrockalbum af. De mastering was in handen van Bob Katz (o.a. Ben Kinsley, Steve Hackett, Gram Parsons,…) en alles is gehuld in smaakvol artwork. Voor de liefhebbers van traditionele progrock.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL