tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : EDENSONG - Years in the Garden of Years

EDENSONG

Years in the Garden of Years

MusicCD
Prog Rock

[80/100]   

Laser's Edge
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

It took five years to write and recording this concept album. An eternity in the music industry. A concept album with a theme: time in all its facets. Seventy minutes of music and ten songs.

This quintet from NYC sounds like a classic prog rock band with some contemporary keys. The five professional artists, each with a different musical background, give the music as much diverse perspectives. Flute, guitar, keyboards, bass and percussion play an important role in the music. It doesn't sounds like folk music, however, because all sounds are solid. The mix and the transitions in the songs are pretty interesting and sometimes surprising. I think of End Times in Retrospect, an instrumental song that goes everywhere and puts you on the wrong foot again and again. The most appealing songs contain melancholy and reverie like The Hollowed: nicely displayed with humming. Generations floats on a very present rumbling bass that makes for a very nice effect. End song Yawn of a Blink is a fine prog rocker which reminiscent me of Porcupine Tree.

This is a good and pleasant prog rock album by Edensong. The mastering was done by Bob Katz (Ben Kinsley, Steve Hackett, Gram Parsons...) and everything is wrapped in tasteful artwork. For lovers of traditional prog rock.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Het heeft vijf jaar gekost om deze conceptplaat te schrijven en op te nemen. Een eeuwigheid in muziekland. Een conceptplaat met als hoofdthema: de tijd. Zeventig minuten muziek, netjes verdeelt over tien songs.

Het kwintet uit NYC klinkt als een klassieke progrockband, met hier en daar wat eigentijdse toetsen. De vijf professionele artiesten met elk een verschillende muzikale achtergrond, geven de muziek op die manier diverse invalshoeken. De fluit speelt net als de gitaar, de toetsen, de bas en de percussie een belangrijk rol in de muziek. Dat wil niet zeggen dat het als folk klinkt, want het geheel is stevig genoeg om niet als halfzacht te worden beschouwd. De mix en de overgangen in de songs zijn interessant en soms verrassend. Ik denk dan aan End Times in Retrospect: een instrumentale track die alle kanten uitgaat en je telkens op het verkeerde been zet. De tracks die het meest aanspreken bevatten wat melancholie en mijmering (The Hollowed) mooi weergegeven aan de hand van geneurie. Generations drijft op een heel aanwezige brommende bas, wat resulteert in een heel mooi effect. Afsluiter Yawn of a Blink is een fijne progrocker die wat aan Porcupine Tree doet denken.

Met dit album levert Edensong een erg goed en aangenaam progrockalbum af. De mastering was in handen van Bob Katz (o.a. Ben Kinsley, Steve Hackett, Gram Parsons,…) en alles is gehuld in smaakvol artwork. Voor de liefhebbers van traditionele progrock.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo