tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : EDENSONG - Years in the Garden of Years

EDENSONG

Years in the Garden of Years

MusicCD
Prog Rock

[80/100]   

Laser's Edge
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

It took five years to write and recording this concept album. An eternity in the music industry. A concept album with a theme: time in all its facets. Seventy minutes of music and ten songs.

This quintet from NYC sounds like a classic prog rock band with some contemporary keys. The five professional artists, each with a different musical background, give the music as much diverse perspectives. Flute, guitar, keyboards, bass and percussion play an important role in the music. It doesn't sounds like folk music, however, because all sounds are solid. The mix and the transitions in the songs are pretty interesting and sometimes surprising. I think of End Times in Retrospect, an instrumental song that goes everywhere and puts you on the wrong foot again and again. The most appealing songs contain melancholy and reverie like The Hollowed: nicely displayed with humming. Generations floats on a very present rumbling bass that makes for a very nice effect. End song Yawn of a Blink is a fine prog rocker which reminiscent me of Porcupine Tree.

This is a good and pleasant prog rock album by Edensong. The mastering was done by Bob Katz (Ben Kinsley, Steve Hackett, Gram Parsons...) and everything is wrapped in tasteful artwork. For lovers of traditional prog rock.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Het heeft vijf jaar gekost om deze conceptplaat te schrijven en op te nemen. Een eeuwigheid in muziekland. Een conceptplaat met als hoofdthema: de tijd. Zeventig minuten muziek, netjes verdeelt over tien songs.

Het kwintet uit NYC klinkt als een klassieke progrockband, met hier en daar wat eigentijdse toetsen. De vijf professionele artiesten met elk een verschillende muzikale achtergrond, geven de muziek op die manier diverse invalshoeken. De fluit speelt net als de gitaar, de toetsen, de bas en de percussie een belangrijk rol in de muziek. Dat wil niet zeggen dat het als folk klinkt, want het geheel is stevig genoeg om niet als halfzacht te worden beschouwd. De mix en de overgangen in de songs zijn interessant en soms verrassend. Ik denk dan aan End Times in Retrospect: een instrumentale track die alle kanten uitgaat en je telkens op het verkeerde been zet. De tracks die het meest aanspreken bevatten wat melancholie en mijmering (The Hollowed) mooi weergegeven aan de hand van geneurie. Generations drijft op een heel aanwezige brommende bas, wat resulteert in een heel mooi effect. Afsluiter Yawn of a Blink is een fijne progrocker die wat aan Porcupine Tree doet denken.

Met dit album levert Edensong een erg goed en aangenaam progrockalbum af. De mastering was in handen van Bob Katz (o.a. Ben Kinsley, Steve Hackett, Gram Parsons,…) en alles is gehuld in smaakvol artwork. Voor de liefhebbers van traditionele progrock.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
10
09
AUSTRA
Utopia
09
09
ROSA CRVX
Omnes