tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : EDENSONG - Years in the Garden of Years

EDENSONG

Years in the Garden of Years

MusicCD
Prog Rock

[80/100]   

Laser's Edge
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

It took five years to write and recording this concept album. An eternity in the music industry. A concept album with a theme: time in all its facets. Seventy minutes of music and ten songs.

This quintet from NYC sounds like a classic prog rock band with some contemporary keys. The five professional artists, each with a different musical background, give the music as much diverse perspectives. Flute, guitar, keyboards, bass and percussion play an important role in the music. It doesn't sounds like folk music, however, because all sounds are solid. The mix and the transitions in the songs are pretty interesting and sometimes surprising. I think of End Times in Retrospect, an instrumental song that goes everywhere and puts you on the wrong foot again and again. The most appealing songs contain melancholy and reverie like The Hollowed: nicely displayed with humming. Generations floats on a very present rumbling bass that makes for a very nice effect. End song Yawn of a Blink is a fine prog rocker which reminiscent me of Porcupine Tree.

This is a good and pleasant prog rock album by Edensong. The mastering was done by Bob Katz (Ben Kinsley, Steve Hackett, Gram Parsons...) and everything is wrapped in tasteful artwork. For lovers of traditional prog rock.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Het heeft vijf jaar gekost om deze conceptplaat te schrijven en op te nemen. Een eeuwigheid in muziekland. Een conceptplaat met als hoofdthema: de tijd. Zeventig minuten muziek, netjes verdeelt over tien songs.

Het kwintet uit NYC klinkt als een klassieke progrockband, met hier en daar wat eigentijdse toetsen. De vijf professionele artiesten met elk een verschillende muzikale achtergrond, geven de muziek op die manier diverse invalshoeken. De fluit speelt net als de gitaar, de toetsen, de bas en de percussie een belangrijk rol in de muziek. Dat wil niet zeggen dat het als folk klinkt, want het geheel is stevig genoeg om niet als halfzacht te worden beschouwd. De mix en de overgangen in de songs zijn interessant en soms verrassend. Ik denk dan aan End Times in Retrospect: een instrumentale track die alle kanten uitgaat en je telkens op het verkeerde been zet. De tracks die het meest aanspreken bevatten wat melancholie en mijmering (The Hollowed) mooi weergegeven aan de hand van geneurie. Generations drijft op een heel aanwezige brommende bas, wat resulteert in een heel mooi effect. Afsluiter Yawn of a Blink is een fijne progrocker die wat aan Porcupine Tree doet denken.

Met dit album levert Edensong een erg goed en aangenaam progrockalbum af. De mastering was in handen van Bob Katz (o.a. Ben Kinsley, Steve Hackett, Gram Parsons,…) en alles is gehuld in smaakvol artwork. Voor de liefhebbers van traditionele progrock.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night
20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
04
Dive releases Let Me In 12' vinyl on Out Of Line
25
04
Suicide Commando returns with a hard-hitting club EP release. “Death Will Find You”!
24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
04
GUNMAKER
Trust Me Or Lie
26
04
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
25
04
DIVE
Bloodmoney
24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only
21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos