tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : EDENSONG - Years in the Garden of Years

EDENSONG

Years in the Garden of Years

MusicCD
Prog Rock

[80/100]   

Laser's Edge
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

It took five years to write and recording this concept album. An eternity in the music industry. A concept album with a theme: time in all its facets. Seventy minutes of music and ten songs.

This quintet from NYC sounds like a classic prog rock band with some contemporary keys. The five professional artists, each with a different musical background, give the music as much diverse perspectives. Flute, guitar, keyboards, bass and percussion play an important role in the music. It doesn't sounds like folk music, however, because all sounds are solid. The mix and the transitions in the songs are pretty interesting and sometimes surprising. I think of End Times in Retrospect, an instrumental song that goes everywhere and puts you on the wrong foot again and again. The most appealing songs contain melancholy and reverie like The Hollowed: nicely displayed with humming. Generations floats on a very present rumbling bass that makes for a very nice effect. End song Yawn of a Blink is a fine prog rocker which reminiscent me of Porcupine Tree.

This is a good and pleasant prog rock album by Edensong. The mastering was done by Bob Katz (Ben Kinsley, Steve Hackett, Gram Parsons...) and everything is wrapped in tasteful artwork. For lovers of traditional prog rock.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Het heeft vijf jaar gekost om deze conceptplaat te schrijven en op te nemen. Een eeuwigheid in muziekland. Een conceptplaat met als hoofdthema: de tijd. Zeventig minuten muziek, netjes verdeelt over tien songs.

Het kwintet uit NYC klinkt als een klassieke progrockband, met hier en daar wat eigentijdse toetsen. De vijf professionele artiesten met elk een verschillende muzikale achtergrond, geven de muziek op die manier diverse invalshoeken. De fluit speelt net als de gitaar, de toetsen, de bas en de percussie een belangrijk rol in de muziek. Dat wil niet zeggen dat het als folk klinkt, want het geheel is stevig genoeg om niet als halfzacht te worden beschouwd. De mix en de overgangen in de songs zijn interessant en soms verrassend. Ik denk dan aan End Times in Retrospect: een instrumentale track die alle kanten uitgaat en je telkens op het verkeerde been zet. De tracks die het meest aanspreken bevatten wat melancholie en mijmering (The Hollowed) mooi weergegeven aan de hand van geneurie. Generations drijft op een heel aanwezige brommende bas, wat resulteert in een heel mooi effect. Afsluiter Yawn of a Blink is een fijne progrocker die wat aan Porcupine Tree doet denken.

Met dit album levert Edensong een erg goed en aangenaam progrockalbum af. De mastering was in handen van Bob Katz (o.a. Ben Kinsley, Steve Hackett, Gram Parsons,…) en alles is gehuld in smaakvol artwork. Voor de liefhebbers van traditionele progrock.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
NOISE
Quiet
25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis