tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : PERPETUAL ESCAPE - Into My Dreams

PERPETUAL ESCAPE

Into My Dreams

MusicCD
Prog Rockprogressive metal

[85/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

There’s a lot of progressive rock and metal these days. That means you have to separate the wheat from the chaff. Some bands use clichés to come up with an original face, while others try to think outside the boxes. From the introductory instrumental song, Wisdom of a Child, you hear this band has more to offer than the average band in the genre.

A beautiful guitar line, spread on a bed of keys, somewhere between Pink Floyd and Gary Moore. A strong start. Sin Six is ​​a rather common and predictable song. Although it contains a beautiful alternation between the male and female vocals, the song doesn't have that little bit of extra. Luckily it is not representative for the rest of the album.

Outer Heaven begins with the moody sounds of playing children in a garden and then a kind of news flash. The vocals of Anaïs are better than in the previous song. The composition is also stronger. Fine guitar work with some rough licks.

These Days has a lot of rhythm changes. Roots of Mankind has a beautiful structure. Anaïs’ voice is very thin and the band sometimes sounds grungy. The vocals of Laurent Weiss fits very well with the mood of the song.

The Tale of the Lost Souls is a good uptempo and catchy track which begins quietly with a rich atmosphere and extended intro. You Are the One starts out as an indie / alternative rock song. Duty and Memories begins with a heavy riff, a humming bass and Anaïs voice is distorted. For the rest it is mediocre song.

Into My Dreams is a seventeen minute epic that starts with a moody intro that features great guitar work, just like we heard on Wisdom of a Child. The song features an extended guitar solo. A solo in which the melody and atmosphere is important. It is also reminiscent to Pink Floyd.

Perpetual Escape has come up with a fine, self-produced debut.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Het aanbod in de progressieve rock en metal is groot. Dat betekent dat je het kaf van het koren wel eens moet scheiden. Een aantal bands gebruiken clichés uit het genre om zich een gezicht aan te meten, terwijl anderen proberen om toch wat buiten die hokjes te denken.

Vanaf de inleidende instrumentale song Wisdom of a Child hoor je al dat deze band meer in zijn mars heeft dan de doorsneeband uit het genre. We krijgen hier een mooie gitaarlijn, gespreid op een bedje van keys dat ergens tussen de geest van Pink Floyd en Gary Moore i ronddwaalt. Sterk begin.

Sin Six is een eerder doordeweekse en voorspelbare song. Weliswaar catchy en voorzien van een mooie afwisseling tussen de mannelijke en vrouwelijke vocals, toch niet echt dat beetje extra. Jammer dat ze deze song uitkozen voor een video. Gelukkig is de song niet representatief voor de rest van het album.

Outer Heaven begint met stemmige geluiden van spelende kinderen om dan via een soort van nieuwsverslag over te gaan tot de eigenlijke song die voorzien is van een snedige riff. De zang van Anaïs komt hier beter tot zijn recht dan in de vorige song. Ook de compositie is sterker. Fijn gitaarwerk met hier en daar wat ruwe licks.

These Days is een aangename en sterke song met nogal wat ritme veranderingen waardoor de song verschillende kanten uitgaat zonder dat het geforceerd klinkt. Roots of Mankind heeft een mooie opbouw. Anaïs zingt heel ijl en muzikaal klinkt de band hier bij momenten wat grungy. De zang van Laurent Weiss past heel goed bij de sfeer van de song.

The Tale of the Lost Souls is een uptempo en goed in het gehoor liggende track dat nochtans rustig begint met een sfeerrijke en uitgebouwde intro. You Are the One begint als een indie/alternative rock song. Een beetje K’s Choice achterna.

Duty and Memories begint met een heavy riff, een brommende bas en Anaïs stem die wat vervormt klinkt. Voor de rest een eerder middelmatige song. Afsluiter Into My Dreams is een zeventien minuten durende epos, een beetje in de lijn van wat we op Wisdom of a Child hoorden. De song is voorzien van een uitgebreide gitaarsolo. Het vormt ook de overgang naar het volgende deel van de song dat qua sfeer wat aan Pink Floyd doet denken, een indrukwekkende compositie.

Perpetual Escape levert hier een fijn, zelf geproduceerd, debuut af. Ze onderscheiden zich hiermee alvast van de middenmoot dankzij het fijne drumwerk, gitaarspel en de vocals. Benieuwd hoever ze nog kunnen groeien.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!
29
08
41 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag
15
09
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Die Interimsliebenden