tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : PERPETUAL ESCAPE - Into My Dreams

PERPETUAL ESCAPE

Into My Dreams

MusicCD
Prog Rockprogressive metal

[85/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

There’s a lot of progressive rock and metal these days. That means you have to separate the wheat from the chaff. Some bands use clichés to come up with an original face, while others try to think outside the boxes. From the introductory instrumental song, Wisdom of a Child, you hear this band has more to offer than the average band in the genre.

A beautiful guitar line, spread on a bed of keys, somewhere between Pink Floyd and Gary Moore. A strong start. Sin Six is ​​a rather common and predictable song. Although it contains a beautiful alternation between the male and female vocals, the song doesn't have that little bit of extra. Luckily it is not representative for the rest of the album.

Outer Heaven begins with the moody sounds of playing children in a garden and then a kind of news flash. The vocals of Anaïs are better than in the previous song. The composition is also stronger. Fine guitar work with some rough licks.

These Days has a lot of rhythm changes. Roots of Mankind has a beautiful structure. Anaïs’ voice is very thin and the band sometimes sounds grungy. The vocals of Laurent Weiss fits very well with the mood of the song.

The Tale of the Lost Souls is a good uptempo and catchy track which begins quietly with a rich atmosphere and extended intro. You Are the One starts out as an indie / alternative rock song. Duty and Memories begins with a heavy riff, a humming bass and Anaïs voice is distorted. For the rest it is mediocre song.

Into My Dreams is a seventeen minute epic that starts with a moody intro that features great guitar work, just like we heard on Wisdom of a Child. The song features an extended guitar solo. A solo in which the melody and atmosphere is important. It is also reminiscent to Pink Floyd.

Perpetual Escape has come up with a fine, self-produced debut.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Het aanbod in de progressieve rock en metal is groot. Dat betekent dat je het kaf van het koren wel eens moet scheiden. Een aantal bands gebruiken clichés uit het genre om zich een gezicht aan te meten, terwijl anderen proberen om toch wat buiten die hokjes te denken.

Vanaf de inleidende instrumentale song Wisdom of a Child hoor je al dat deze band meer in zijn mars heeft dan de doorsneeband uit het genre. We krijgen hier een mooie gitaarlijn, gespreid op een bedje van keys dat ergens tussen de geest van Pink Floyd en Gary Moore i ronddwaalt. Sterk begin.

Sin Six is een eerder doordeweekse en voorspelbare song. Weliswaar catchy en voorzien van een mooie afwisseling tussen de mannelijke en vrouwelijke vocals, toch niet echt dat beetje extra. Jammer dat ze deze song uitkozen voor een video. Gelukkig is de song niet representatief voor de rest van het album.

Outer Heaven begint met stemmige geluiden van spelende kinderen om dan via een soort van nieuwsverslag over te gaan tot de eigenlijke song die voorzien is van een snedige riff. De zang van Anaïs komt hier beter tot zijn recht dan in de vorige song. Ook de compositie is sterker. Fijn gitaarwerk met hier en daar wat ruwe licks.

These Days is een aangename en sterke song met nogal wat ritme veranderingen waardoor de song verschillende kanten uitgaat zonder dat het geforceerd klinkt. Roots of Mankind heeft een mooie opbouw. Anaïs zingt heel ijl en muzikaal klinkt de band hier bij momenten wat grungy. De zang van Laurent Weiss past heel goed bij de sfeer van de song.

The Tale of the Lost Souls is een uptempo en goed in het gehoor liggende track dat nochtans rustig begint met een sfeerrijke en uitgebouwde intro. You Are the One begint als een indie/alternative rock song. Een beetje K’s Choice achterna.

Duty and Memories begint met een heavy riff, een brommende bas en Anaïs stem die wat vervormt klinkt. Voor de rest een eerder middelmatige song. Afsluiter Into My Dreams is een zeventien minuten durende epos, een beetje in de lijn van wat we op Wisdom of a Child hoorden. De song is voorzien van een uitgebreide gitaarsolo. Het vormt ook de overgang naar het volgende deel van de song dat qua sfeer wat aan Pink Floyd doet denken, een indrukwekkende compositie.

Perpetual Escape levert hier een fijn, zelf geproduceerd, debuut af. Ze onderscheiden zich hiermee alvast van de middenmoot dankzij het fijne drumwerk, gitaarspel en de vocals. Benieuwd hoever ze nog kunnen groeien.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!
10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls