tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : PERPETUAL ESCAPE - Into My Dreams

PERPETUAL ESCAPE

Into My Dreams

MusicCD
Prog Rockprogressive metal

[85/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

There’s a lot of progressive rock and metal these days. That means you have to separate the wheat from the chaff. Some bands use clichés to come up with an original face, while others try to think outside the boxes. From the introductory instrumental song, Wisdom of a Child, you hear this band has more to offer than the average band in the genre.

A beautiful guitar line, spread on a bed of keys, somewhere between Pink Floyd and Gary Moore. A strong start. Sin Six is ​​a rather common and predictable song. Although it contains a beautiful alternation between the male and female vocals, the song doesn't have that little bit of extra. Luckily it is not representative for the rest of the album.

Outer Heaven begins with the moody sounds of playing children in a garden and then a kind of news flash. The vocals of Anaïs are better than in the previous song. The composition is also stronger. Fine guitar work with some rough licks.

These Days has a lot of rhythm changes. Roots of Mankind has a beautiful structure. Anaïs’ voice is very thin and the band sometimes sounds grungy. The vocals of Laurent Weiss fits very well with the mood of the song.

The Tale of the Lost Souls is a good uptempo and catchy track which begins quietly with a rich atmosphere and extended intro. You Are the One starts out as an indie / alternative rock song. Duty and Memories begins with a heavy riff, a humming bass and Anaïs voice is distorted. For the rest it is mediocre song.

Into My Dreams is a seventeen minute epic that starts with a moody intro that features great guitar work, just like we heard on Wisdom of a Child. The song features an extended guitar solo. A solo in which the melody and atmosphere is important. It is also reminiscent to Pink Floyd.

Perpetual Escape has come up with a fine, self-produced debut.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Het aanbod in de progressieve rock en metal is groot. Dat betekent dat je het kaf van het koren wel eens moet scheiden. Een aantal bands gebruiken clichés uit het genre om zich een gezicht aan te meten, terwijl anderen proberen om toch wat buiten die hokjes te denken.

Vanaf de inleidende instrumentale song Wisdom of a Child hoor je al dat deze band meer in zijn mars heeft dan de doorsneeband uit het genre. We krijgen hier een mooie gitaarlijn, gespreid op een bedje van keys dat ergens tussen de geest van Pink Floyd en Gary Moore i ronddwaalt. Sterk begin.

Sin Six is een eerder doordeweekse en voorspelbare song. Weliswaar catchy en voorzien van een mooie afwisseling tussen de mannelijke en vrouwelijke vocals, toch niet echt dat beetje extra. Jammer dat ze deze song uitkozen voor een video. Gelukkig is de song niet representatief voor de rest van het album.

Outer Heaven begint met stemmige geluiden van spelende kinderen om dan via een soort van nieuwsverslag over te gaan tot de eigenlijke song die voorzien is van een snedige riff. De zang van Anaïs komt hier beter tot zijn recht dan in de vorige song. Ook de compositie is sterker. Fijn gitaarwerk met hier en daar wat ruwe licks.

These Days is een aangename en sterke song met nogal wat ritme veranderingen waardoor de song verschillende kanten uitgaat zonder dat het geforceerd klinkt. Roots of Mankind heeft een mooie opbouw. Anaïs zingt heel ijl en muzikaal klinkt de band hier bij momenten wat grungy. De zang van Laurent Weiss past heel goed bij de sfeer van de song.

The Tale of the Lost Souls is een uptempo en goed in het gehoor liggende track dat nochtans rustig begint met een sfeerrijke en uitgebouwde intro. You Are the One begint als een indie/alternative rock song. Een beetje K’s Choice achterna.

Duty and Memories begint met een heavy riff, een brommende bas en Anaïs stem die wat vervormt klinkt. Voor de rest een eerder middelmatige song. Afsluiter Into My Dreams is een zeventien minuten durende epos, een beetje in de lijn van wat we op Wisdom of a Child hoorden. De song is voorzien van een uitgebreide gitaarsolo. Het vormt ook de overgang naar het volgende deel van de song dat qua sfeer wat aan Pink Floyd doet denken, een indrukwekkende compositie.

Perpetual Escape levert hier een fijn, zelf geproduceerd, debuut af. Ze onderscheiden zich hiermee alvast van de middenmoot dankzij het fijne drumwerk, gitaarspel en de vocals. Benieuwd hoever ze nog kunnen groeien.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis