tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : PERPETUAL ESCAPE - Into My Dreams

PERPETUAL ESCAPE

Into My Dreams

MusicCD
Prog Rockprogressive metal

[85/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

There’s a lot of progressive rock and metal these days. That means you have to separate the wheat from the chaff. Some bands use clichés to come up with an original face, while others try to think outside the boxes. From the introductory instrumental song, Wisdom of a Child, you hear this band has more to offer than the average band in the genre.

A beautiful guitar line, spread on a bed of keys, somewhere between Pink Floyd and Gary Moore. A strong start. Sin Six is ​​a rather common and predictable song. Although it contains a beautiful alternation between the male and female vocals, the song doesn't have that little bit of extra. Luckily it is not representative for the rest of the album.

Outer Heaven begins with the moody sounds of playing children in a garden and then a kind of news flash. The vocals of Anaïs are better than in the previous song. The composition is also stronger. Fine guitar work with some rough licks.

These Days has a lot of rhythm changes. Roots of Mankind has a beautiful structure. Anaïs’ voice is very thin and the band sometimes sounds grungy. The vocals of Laurent Weiss fits very well with the mood of the song.

The Tale of the Lost Souls is a good uptempo and catchy track which begins quietly with a rich atmosphere and extended intro. You Are the One starts out as an indie / alternative rock song. Duty and Memories begins with a heavy riff, a humming bass and Anaïs voice is distorted. For the rest it is mediocre song.

Into My Dreams is a seventeen minute epic that starts with a moody intro that features great guitar work, just like we heard on Wisdom of a Child. The song features an extended guitar solo. A solo in which the melody and atmosphere is important. It is also reminiscent to Pink Floyd.

Perpetual Escape has come up with a fine, self-produced debut.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Het aanbod in de progressieve rock en metal is groot. Dat betekent dat je het kaf van het koren wel eens moet scheiden. Een aantal bands gebruiken clichés uit het genre om zich een gezicht aan te meten, terwijl anderen proberen om toch wat buiten die hokjes te denken.

Vanaf de inleidende instrumentale song Wisdom of a Child hoor je al dat deze band meer in zijn mars heeft dan de doorsneeband uit het genre. We krijgen hier een mooie gitaarlijn, gespreid op een bedje van keys dat ergens tussen de geest van Pink Floyd en Gary Moore i ronddwaalt. Sterk begin.

Sin Six is een eerder doordeweekse en voorspelbare song. Weliswaar catchy en voorzien van een mooie afwisseling tussen de mannelijke en vrouwelijke vocals, toch niet echt dat beetje extra. Jammer dat ze deze song uitkozen voor een video. Gelukkig is de song niet representatief voor de rest van het album.

Outer Heaven begint met stemmige geluiden van spelende kinderen om dan via een soort van nieuwsverslag over te gaan tot de eigenlijke song die voorzien is van een snedige riff. De zang van Anaïs komt hier beter tot zijn recht dan in de vorige song. Ook de compositie is sterker. Fijn gitaarwerk met hier en daar wat ruwe licks.

These Days is een aangename en sterke song met nogal wat ritme veranderingen waardoor de song verschillende kanten uitgaat zonder dat het geforceerd klinkt. Roots of Mankind heeft een mooie opbouw. Anaïs zingt heel ijl en muzikaal klinkt de band hier bij momenten wat grungy. De zang van Laurent Weiss past heel goed bij de sfeer van de song.

The Tale of the Lost Souls is een uptempo en goed in het gehoor liggende track dat nochtans rustig begint met een sfeerrijke en uitgebouwde intro. You Are the One begint als een indie/alternative rock song. Een beetje K’s Choice achterna.

Duty and Memories begint met een heavy riff, een brommende bas en Anaïs stem die wat vervormt klinkt. Voor de rest een eerder middelmatige song. Afsluiter Into My Dreams is een zeventien minuten durende epos, een beetje in de lijn van wat we op Wisdom of a Child hoorden. De song is voorzien van een uitgebreide gitaarsolo. Het vormt ook de overgang naar het volgende deel van de song dat qua sfeer wat aan Pink Floyd doet denken, een indrukwekkende compositie.

Perpetual Escape levert hier een fijn, zelf geproduceerd, debuut af. Ze onderscheiden zich hiermee alvast van de middenmoot dankzij het fijne drumwerk, gitaarspel en de vocals. Benieuwd hoever ze nog kunnen groeien.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland