tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : CHIRON - Eve

CHIRON

Eve

MusicCD


[90/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

Listening to Chiron always makes me smile, even if at times it seems more like a cynical smile. This Australian band should have been huge, but only reached the hearts of underground fans. The band has the perfect singer (Michael Aliani who you might know as the first singer of the goth act Ikon), a bassist whose play sends you shivers down your spine (Ikon’s original bass player Dino Molinaro) and the most essential of everything: Chiron writes songs that stick on your mind. Let’s go back to 1999 when Eve was released, Chiron’s very first album.

No Order is a rather strange start for an album. Impossible to give it a certain style, not that there’s any need for, as quality is the only thing we want. But I truly admit, I have become a fan of Michael’s music because of its melancholy, and that’s what I want to hear. No worries, as the next song Ascent is classic goth rock, but miles away from your usual Sisters Of Mercy or Mission-clone. This is just music that’s written by someone whose heart was bleeding, transforming his torments in musical notes.

It’s followed by Point Of No Return. Another distressing sledgehammer, but the tune is written in such a poppy way that you can’t help yourself than singing it the whole day. A dark gem!

Can I say it? Yes, I simply have to, but Close My Eyes sounds a bit like The Cure. A track that could have been on The Head On The Door.

The six minutes-long Scream is something completely different, the jazzy atmosphere makes me think of Tuxedomoon, and I’m almost sure Holy Wars was an influence when Michael wrote this epic. It’s the lament of someone lost. Something completely different from Night In Cairo that can be best described as perfect wave pop, all done in 3 minutes.

“I wish I was clean of it all, I wish it didn’t happen, but I’m cursed” sings Michael in the heartbreaking Forgotten: goth rock (or if you prefer dark pop) that leaves a mark on your soul.

The title track Eve is an instrumental one. Do I hear some echoes from Bowie’s Low? I really do, and it’s another reason to embrace Chiron.

In a way, Burn has a funky feel...at least if you agree a drum computer can make funk.
Lost In Time places your face back in the unavoidable mirror that reveals the hard truth, time to watch yourself (again) and thinking about everything...

The album (I almost wrote the word “classic”, and why not?) ends with Hate. The song has a real anger, and if PIL and Nine Inch Nails would make a baby, then this could be it!

Eve...is well, a classic album!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing