tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ODDLAND - Origin

ODDLAND

Origin

MusicCD
progressive metal

[75/100]   

Sensory Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

For fifteen years these Finns are working in the music business. They started as a rock-oriented band, influenced by grunge and drifted slowly towards progressive metal. Still, it took until 2012 before the debut albumThe Treachery of Senses was released by Century Media after winning a contest (the band made some demos before). The new album Origen is released by Sensory Records. The music will appeal to lovers of Opeth, Devin Townsend...

The vocals of Sakari Ojanen are almost completely clean and remind us of the sound of Akerfeldt (Opeth). The mix and mastering were done by Daniel Bergstrand (Meshuggah, In Flames, Devin Townsend...) and he makes the album sound darker and harder than the debut. The tracks are firm with banging drums. An improvement compared to The Treachery of Senses? Not necessarily, but the result is a colder sounding album with less space for warmth and emotion. It sounds less organic, but certain songs are definitely worth exploring.

Untrue has a nice intro, consisting of synths and guitars, nice riffs and vocals. Hidden begins with a large piano, synth strings and metal violence. On Thanatos we hear intriguing guitar lines. Ojanen has nice atmospheric vocals.

With the album Origin,Oddland moves away from progressive rock in the direction of progressive metal. Personally, I like the debut album more because it sounds more natural and consistent. Listen to it!

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Zo’n vijftien jaar timmert de Finse Band aan de muzikale weg. Wat begon als een op rock gerichte project, aanleunend bij grunge, evolueerde langzaam in de richting de progressieve metal. Toch duurde het tot 2012 vooraleer het debuutalbum The Treachery of Senses verscheen (eerder waren er wel enkele demo’s gemaakt). Die plaat kwam, vanwege het winnen van een contest, uit via Century Media. Voor de nieuwe plaat heeft de band getekend bij Sensory Records. De muziek zal liefhebbers van Opeth, Devin Townsend, etc. wel aanspreken.

De vocals van Sakari Ojanen zijn bijna helemaal clean en hebben nu en dan de klankkleur van Akerfeldt (Opeth). De mix en mastering is van de hand van Daniel Bergstrand (o.a. Meshuggah, In Flames, Devin Townsend…). Daardoor klinkt het geheel wat donkerder en harder in vergelijking met het debuut. De tracks klinken dus potiger en de drums knallen ferm. Is dat een verbetering i.v.m. The Treachery of Senses? Niet noodzakelijk. Het zorgt oer wel voor dat het album wat killer klinkt en dat er minder ruimte voor warmte en emotie lijkt te zijn. Let wel, muzikaal zit alles goed en stevig in elkaar maar het klinkt minder organisch dan op het debuut. Naargelang je smaak zal je dat meer of minder kunnen appreciëren.

Een aantal songs zijn zeker het ontdekken waard. Untrue heeft een mooie intro bestaande uit synths en gitaren, mooie riffs en zang. Hidden begint met een uitgebreid pianospel en synthstrijkers. Afwisselend met het metalgeweld levert dat een interessante song op. Op Thanatos horen we veel intrigerende gitaarlijntjes. De vocals van Ojanen zijn dikwijls de moeite en klinken vrij wijds. Ze vormen een beetje een tegengewicht voor de muziek.

Met Origin heb ik de indruk dat de band verder van progressieve rock en iets meer in de richting van progressieve metal opschuift. Persoonlijk heb ik iets mer voorkeur voor het debuut omdat het consistenter en natuurlijker klinkt, maar het is aan jullie om dat voor jezelf uit te maken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection