tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ODDLAND - Origin

ODDLAND

Origin

MusicCD
progressive metal

[75/100]   

Sensory Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

For fifteen years these Finns are working in the music business. They started as a rock-oriented band, influenced by grunge and drifted slowly towards progressive metal. Still, it took until 2012 before the debut albumThe Treachery of Senses was released by Century Media after winning a contest (the band made some demos before). The new album Origen is released by Sensory Records. The music will appeal to lovers of Opeth, Devin Townsend...

The vocals of Sakari Ojanen are almost completely clean and remind us of the sound of Akerfeldt (Opeth). The mix and mastering were done by Daniel Bergstrand (Meshuggah, In Flames, Devin Townsend...) and he makes the album sound darker and harder than the debut. The tracks are firm with banging drums. An improvement compared to The Treachery of Senses? Not necessarily, but the result is a colder sounding album with less space for warmth and emotion. It sounds less organic, but certain songs are definitely worth exploring.

Untrue has a nice intro, consisting of synths and guitars, nice riffs and vocals. Hidden begins with a large piano, synth strings and metal violence. On Thanatos we hear intriguing guitar lines. Ojanen has nice atmospheric vocals.

With the album Origin,Oddland moves away from progressive rock in the direction of progressive metal. Personally, I like the debut album more because it sounds more natural and consistent. Listen to it!

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Zo’n vijftien jaar timmert de Finse Band aan de muzikale weg. Wat begon als een op rock gerichte project, aanleunend bij grunge, evolueerde langzaam in de richting de progressieve metal. Toch duurde het tot 2012 vooraleer het debuutalbum The Treachery of Senses verscheen (eerder waren er wel enkele demo’s gemaakt). Die plaat kwam, vanwege het winnen van een contest, uit via Century Media. Voor de nieuwe plaat heeft de band getekend bij Sensory Records. De muziek zal liefhebbers van Opeth, Devin Townsend, etc. wel aanspreken.

De vocals van Sakari Ojanen zijn bijna helemaal clean en hebben nu en dan de klankkleur van Akerfeldt (Opeth). De mix en mastering is van de hand van Daniel Bergstrand (o.a. Meshuggah, In Flames, Devin Townsend…). Daardoor klinkt het geheel wat donkerder en harder in vergelijking met het debuut. De tracks klinken dus potiger en de drums knallen ferm. Is dat een verbetering i.v.m. The Treachery of Senses? Niet noodzakelijk. Het zorgt oer wel voor dat het album wat killer klinkt en dat er minder ruimte voor warmte en emotie lijkt te zijn. Let wel, muzikaal zit alles goed en stevig in elkaar maar het klinkt minder organisch dan op het debuut. Naargelang je smaak zal je dat meer of minder kunnen appreciëren.

Een aantal songs zijn zeker het ontdekken waard. Untrue heeft een mooie intro bestaande uit synths en gitaren, mooie riffs en zang. Hidden begint met een uitgebreid pianospel en synthstrijkers. Afwisselend met het metalgeweld levert dat een interessante song op. Op Thanatos horen we veel intrigerende gitaarlijntjes. De vocals van Ojanen zijn dikwijls de moeite en klinken vrij wijds. Ze vormen een beetje een tegengewicht voor de muziek.

Met Origin heb ik de indruk dat de band verder van progressieve rock en iets meer in de richting van progressieve metal opschuift. Persoonlijk heb ik iets mer voorkeur voor het debuut omdat het consistenter en natuurlijker klinkt, maar het is aan jullie om dat voor jezelf uit te maken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night
20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
04
Dive releases Let Me In 12' vinyl on Out Of Line
25
04
Suicide Commando returns with a hard-hitting club EP release. “Death Will Find You”!
24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
04
GUNMAKER
Trust Me Or Lie
26
04
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
25
04
DIVE
Bloodmoney
24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only
21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos