tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ODDLAND - Origin

ODDLAND

Origin

MusicCD
progressive metal

[75/100]   

Sensory Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

For fifteen years these Finns are working in the music business. They started as a rock-oriented band, influenced by grunge and drifted slowly towards progressive metal. Still, it took until 2012 before the debut albumThe Treachery of Senses was released by Century Media after winning a contest (the band made some demos before). The new album Origen is released by Sensory Records. The music will appeal to lovers of Opeth, Devin Townsend...

The vocals of Sakari Ojanen are almost completely clean and remind us of the sound of Akerfeldt (Opeth). The mix and mastering were done by Daniel Bergstrand (Meshuggah, In Flames, Devin Townsend...) and he makes the album sound darker and harder than the debut. The tracks are firm with banging drums. An improvement compared to The Treachery of Senses? Not necessarily, but the result is a colder sounding album with less space for warmth and emotion. It sounds less organic, but certain songs are definitely worth exploring.

Untrue has a nice intro, consisting of synths and guitars, nice riffs and vocals. Hidden begins with a large piano, synth strings and metal violence. On Thanatos we hear intriguing guitar lines. Ojanen has nice atmospheric vocals.

With the album Origin,Oddland moves away from progressive rock in the direction of progressive metal. Personally, I like the debut album more because it sounds more natural and consistent. Listen to it!

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Zo’n vijftien jaar timmert de Finse Band aan de muzikale weg. Wat begon als een op rock gerichte project, aanleunend bij grunge, evolueerde langzaam in de richting de progressieve metal. Toch duurde het tot 2012 vooraleer het debuutalbum The Treachery of Senses verscheen (eerder waren er wel enkele demo’s gemaakt). Die plaat kwam, vanwege het winnen van een contest, uit via Century Media. Voor de nieuwe plaat heeft de band getekend bij Sensory Records. De muziek zal liefhebbers van Opeth, Devin Townsend, etc. wel aanspreken.

De vocals van Sakari Ojanen zijn bijna helemaal clean en hebben nu en dan de klankkleur van Akerfeldt (Opeth). De mix en mastering is van de hand van Daniel Bergstrand (o.a. Meshuggah, In Flames, Devin Townsend…). Daardoor klinkt het geheel wat donkerder en harder in vergelijking met het debuut. De tracks klinken dus potiger en de drums knallen ferm. Is dat een verbetering i.v.m. The Treachery of Senses? Niet noodzakelijk. Het zorgt oer wel voor dat het album wat killer klinkt en dat er minder ruimte voor warmte en emotie lijkt te zijn. Let wel, muzikaal zit alles goed en stevig in elkaar maar het klinkt minder organisch dan op het debuut. Naargelang je smaak zal je dat meer of minder kunnen appreciëren.

Een aantal songs zijn zeker het ontdekken waard. Untrue heeft een mooie intro bestaande uit synths en gitaren, mooie riffs en zang. Hidden begint met een uitgebreid pianospel en synthstrijkers. Afwisselend met het metalgeweld levert dat een interessante song op. Op Thanatos horen we veel intrigerende gitaarlijntjes. De vocals van Ojanen zijn dikwijls de moeite en klinken vrij wijds. Ze vormen een beetje een tegengewicht voor de muziek.

Met Origin heb ik de indruk dat de band verder van progressieve rock en iets meer in de richting van progressieve metal opschuift. Persoonlijk heb ik iets mer voorkeur voor het debuut omdat het consistenter en natuurlijker klinkt, maar het is aan jullie om dat voor jezelf uit te maken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

22
07
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Pink Obsession
11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

22
07
L'AME IMMORTELLE
Amphi
22
07
PINK TURNS BLUE
Amphi
22
07
HENRIC DE LA COUR
Amphi
22
07
BLUTENGEL
Amphi
22
07
LORD OF THE LOST
Amphi
22
07
HOCICO
Amphi
22
07
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
07
LIZARD SMILE
Silence In Your Eyes
21
07
MINUIT MACHINE
BATTLES
20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf