tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ODDLAND - Origin

ODDLAND

Origin

MusicCD
progressive metal

[75/100]   

Sensory Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

For fifteen years these Finns are working in the music business. They started as a rock-oriented band, influenced by grunge and drifted slowly towards progressive metal. Still, it took until 2012 before the debut albumThe Treachery of Senses was released by Century Media after winning a contest (the band made some demos before). The new album Origen is released by Sensory Records. The music will appeal to lovers of Opeth, Devin Townsend...

The vocals of Sakari Ojanen are almost completely clean and remind us of the sound of Akerfeldt (Opeth). The mix and mastering were done by Daniel Bergstrand (Meshuggah, In Flames, Devin Townsend...) and he makes the album sound darker and harder than the debut. The tracks are firm with banging drums. An improvement compared to The Treachery of Senses? Not necessarily, but the result is a colder sounding album with less space for warmth and emotion. It sounds less organic, but certain songs are definitely worth exploring.

Untrue has a nice intro, consisting of synths and guitars, nice riffs and vocals. Hidden begins with a large piano, synth strings and metal violence. On Thanatos we hear intriguing guitar lines. Ojanen has nice atmospheric vocals.

With the album Origin,Oddland moves away from progressive rock in the direction of progressive metal. Personally, I like the debut album more because it sounds more natural and consistent. Listen to it!

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Zo’n vijftien jaar timmert de Finse Band aan de muzikale weg. Wat begon als een op rock gerichte project, aanleunend bij grunge, evolueerde langzaam in de richting de progressieve metal. Toch duurde het tot 2012 vooraleer het debuutalbum The Treachery of Senses verscheen (eerder waren er wel enkele demo’s gemaakt). Die plaat kwam, vanwege het winnen van een contest, uit via Century Media. Voor de nieuwe plaat heeft de band getekend bij Sensory Records. De muziek zal liefhebbers van Opeth, Devin Townsend, etc. wel aanspreken.

De vocals van Sakari Ojanen zijn bijna helemaal clean en hebben nu en dan de klankkleur van Akerfeldt (Opeth). De mix en mastering is van de hand van Daniel Bergstrand (o.a. Meshuggah, In Flames, Devin Townsend…). Daardoor klinkt het geheel wat donkerder en harder in vergelijking met het debuut. De tracks klinken dus potiger en de drums knallen ferm. Is dat een verbetering i.v.m. The Treachery of Senses? Niet noodzakelijk. Het zorgt oer wel voor dat het album wat killer klinkt en dat er minder ruimte voor warmte en emotie lijkt te zijn. Let wel, muzikaal zit alles goed en stevig in elkaar maar het klinkt minder organisch dan op het debuut. Naargelang je smaak zal je dat meer of minder kunnen appreciëren.

Een aantal songs zijn zeker het ontdekken waard. Untrue heeft een mooie intro bestaande uit synths en gitaren, mooie riffs en zang. Hidden begint met een uitgebreid pianospel en synthstrijkers. Afwisselend met het metalgeweld levert dat een interessante song op. Op Thanatos horen we veel intrigerende gitaarlijntjes. De vocals van Ojanen zijn dikwijls de moeite en klinken vrij wijds. Ze vormen een beetje een tegengewicht voor de muziek.

Met Origin heb ik de indruk dat de band verder van progressieve rock en iets meer in de richting van progressieve metal opschuift. Persoonlijk heb ik iets mer voorkeur voor het debuut omdat het consistenter en natuurlijker klinkt, maar het is aan jullie om dat voor jezelf uit te maken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline