tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ODDLAND - Origin

ODDLAND

Origin

MusicCD
progressive metal

[75/100]   

Sensory Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

For fifteen years these Finns are working in the music business. They started as a rock-oriented band, influenced by grunge and drifted slowly towards progressive metal. Still, it took until 2012 before the debut albumThe Treachery of Senses was released by Century Media after winning a contest (the band made some demos before). The new album Origen is released by Sensory Records. The music will appeal to lovers of Opeth, Devin Townsend...

The vocals of Sakari Ojanen are almost completely clean and remind us of the sound of Akerfeldt (Opeth). The mix and mastering were done by Daniel Bergstrand (Meshuggah, In Flames, Devin Townsend...) and he makes the album sound darker and harder than the debut. The tracks are firm with banging drums. An improvement compared to The Treachery of Senses? Not necessarily, but the result is a colder sounding album with less space for warmth and emotion. It sounds less organic, but certain songs are definitely worth exploring.

Untrue has a nice intro, consisting of synths and guitars, nice riffs and vocals. Hidden begins with a large piano, synth strings and metal violence. On Thanatos we hear intriguing guitar lines. Ojanen has nice atmospheric vocals.

With the album Origin,Oddland moves away from progressive rock in the direction of progressive metal. Personally, I like the debut album more because it sounds more natural and consistent. Listen to it!

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Zo’n vijftien jaar timmert de Finse Band aan de muzikale weg. Wat begon als een op rock gerichte project, aanleunend bij grunge, evolueerde langzaam in de richting de progressieve metal. Toch duurde het tot 2012 vooraleer het debuutalbum The Treachery of Senses verscheen (eerder waren er wel enkele demo’s gemaakt). Die plaat kwam, vanwege het winnen van een contest, uit via Century Media. Voor de nieuwe plaat heeft de band getekend bij Sensory Records. De muziek zal liefhebbers van Opeth, Devin Townsend, etc. wel aanspreken.

De vocals van Sakari Ojanen zijn bijna helemaal clean en hebben nu en dan de klankkleur van Akerfeldt (Opeth). De mix en mastering is van de hand van Daniel Bergstrand (o.a. Meshuggah, In Flames, Devin Townsend…). Daardoor klinkt het geheel wat donkerder en harder in vergelijking met het debuut. De tracks klinken dus potiger en de drums knallen ferm. Is dat een verbetering i.v.m. The Treachery of Senses? Niet noodzakelijk. Het zorgt oer wel voor dat het album wat killer klinkt en dat er minder ruimte voor warmte en emotie lijkt te zijn. Let wel, muzikaal zit alles goed en stevig in elkaar maar het klinkt minder organisch dan op het debuut. Naargelang je smaak zal je dat meer of minder kunnen appreciëren.

Een aantal songs zijn zeker het ontdekken waard. Untrue heeft een mooie intro bestaande uit synths en gitaren, mooie riffs en zang. Hidden begint met een uitgebreid pianospel en synthstrijkers. Afwisselend met het metalgeweld levert dat een interessante song op. Op Thanatos horen we veel intrigerende gitaarlijntjes. De vocals van Ojanen zijn dikwijls de moeite en klinken vrij wijds. Ze vormen een beetje een tegengewicht voor de muziek.

Met Origin heb ik de indruk dat de band verder van progressieve rock en iets meer in de richting van progressieve metal opschuift. Persoonlijk heb ik iets mer voorkeur voor het debuut omdat het consistenter en natuurlijker klinkt, maar het is aan jullie om dat voor jezelf uit te maken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet