tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016)

DYSCORDIA

Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016)

Concert
progressive metal 09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Dyscordia released a new and good album. At De Kreun in Kortrijk, a release party was set up with Fields of Troy and Thurisaz as support acts.

Fields Of Troy opened the evening. This young band from Torhout did a perfect job and played some songs from the brand new EP Hardship (keep an eye on our pages). The band played a solid set. Especially 402 was strong.

Then it was time for Thurisaz. Last year the band released the brilliant The Pulse of Mourning. An energetic set was played, probably because of the limited playing time. So, no fragile or slowly accumulated songs of the latest album. In the beginning the band searched for the right sound, but when Switch To Red started, the venue was on fire!

Finally, it was time for the main act of the evening: Dyscordia, as always accompanied by lots of fans, but there were a lot of other people as well. The stage was decorated in a charming way with a canvas. Two songs from the new album Words In Ruin were played (Harlequin's Grief and Bail Me Out), but also well-known songs like From Sight To Black and In Solitude, interspersed with new tracks like Reveries (which is actually an older track), Masquerade, A Perfect Day and Chthonic Star.

There was also an acoustic moment (Sacred Soil of Souls). The drumming was sublime, played at a high level and he provided the engine of the band. Piet Overstijns was delighted and made a lot of contact with the public. Additionally, some T-shirts were thrown into the audience for free. We heard a beautiful and balanced set, followed by an encore. Dyscordia has grown and is ready for more. That is obvious.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Dyscordia heeft een nieuw en goed album uit. Om die release wat luister bij te zetten, was een optreden in De Kreun gepland met twee bands in het voorprogramma: Fields of Troy en Thurisaz. Een mooi programma tegen een heel democratische prijs.

Het was even zoeken om de auto kwijt te raken en De Kreun terug te vinden. Maar eenmaal aangekomen, was het duidelijk dat De Kreun volgelopen was voor dit concert.

Fields Of Troy mocht de avond openen. Deze jonge Torhoutse band kweet zich goed van zijn taak en stelde enkele songs van de gloednieuwe ep Hardship voor (waarover later meer in PAB). De band speelde een stevige set. Vooral 402 vond ik sterk.

Daarna was het tijd voor Thurisaz. Verleden jaar bracht deze band het schitterende The Pulse of Mourning uit. Hij koos in De Kreun voor een energieke set, wellicht wegens de beperkte speeltijd. Dus geen breekbare of langzaam opgebouwde nummers uit hun laatste album. Het was eerst wat zoeken naar het juiste geluid, maar vanaf Switch To Red kwam de zaal helemaal onder stoom. Een pittige set.

Ten slotte was het de beurt aan de hoofdact van de avond: Dyscordia, zoals steeds vergezelt van een horde fans, maar er was ook veel ander volk. Het podium was op een sfeervolle manier met canvas ingericht zodat o.a. de gear niet zichtbaar was. We hoorden twee songs uit het nieuw album Words In Ruin, met name Harlequin’s Grief en Bail Me Out, en bekende tracks zoals From Sight To Black en In Solitude, afgewisseld met nieuw werk zoals Reveries (dat eigenlijk een oudere track is), Masquerade, A Perfect Day en Chthonic Star. Een akoestische moment (Sacred Soil of Souls) passeerde ook de revue. Het drumwerk was subliem en fungeerde als de motor van de band. Er werd op hoog niveau gespeeld. Piet Overstijns was in zijn nopjes en maakte veel contact met het publiek. Daarnaast werden enkele T-shirts met gratis cd in het publiek geworpen. We hoorden een mooie en evenwichtige set, gevolgd door een encore. Dyscordia is volwassen geworden en klaar voor meer. Dat is duidelijk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016)

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day
19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)