tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016)

DYSCORDIA

Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016)

Concert
progressive metal 09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Dyscordia released a new and good album. At De Kreun in Kortrijk, a release party was set up with Fields of Troy and Thurisaz as support acts.

Fields Of Troy opened the evening. This young band from Torhout did a perfect job and played some songs from the brand new EP Hardship (keep an eye on our pages). The band played a solid set. Especially 402 was strong.

Then it was time for Thurisaz. Last year the band released the brilliant The Pulse of Mourning. An energetic set was played, probably because of the limited playing time. So, no fragile or slowly accumulated songs of the latest album. In the beginning the band searched for the right sound, but when Switch To Red started, the venue was on fire!

Finally, it was time for the main act of the evening: Dyscordia, as always accompanied by lots of fans, but there were a lot of other people as well. The stage was decorated in a charming way with a canvas. Two songs from the new album Words In Ruin were played (Harlequin's Grief and Bail Me Out), but also well-known songs like From Sight To Black and In Solitude, interspersed with new tracks like Reveries (which is actually an older track), Masquerade, A Perfect Day and Chthonic Star.

There was also an acoustic moment (Sacred Soil of Souls). The drumming was sublime, played at a high level and he provided the engine of the band. Piet Overstijns was delighted and made a lot of contact with the public. Additionally, some T-shirts were thrown into the audience for free. We heard a beautiful and balanced set, followed by an encore. Dyscordia has grown and is ready for more. That is obvious.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Dyscordia heeft een nieuw en goed album uit. Om die release wat luister bij te zetten, was een optreden in De Kreun gepland met twee bands in het voorprogramma: Fields of Troy en Thurisaz. Een mooi programma tegen een heel democratische prijs.

Het was even zoeken om de auto kwijt te raken en De Kreun terug te vinden. Maar eenmaal aangekomen, was het duidelijk dat De Kreun volgelopen was voor dit concert.

Fields Of Troy mocht de avond openen. Deze jonge Torhoutse band kweet zich goed van zijn taak en stelde enkele songs van de gloednieuwe ep Hardship voor (waarover later meer in PAB). De band speelde een stevige set. Vooral 402 vond ik sterk.

Daarna was het tijd voor Thurisaz. Verleden jaar bracht deze band het schitterende The Pulse of Mourning uit. Hij koos in De Kreun voor een energieke set, wellicht wegens de beperkte speeltijd. Dus geen breekbare of langzaam opgebouwde nummers uit hun laatste album. Het was eerst wat zoeken naar het juiste geluid, maar vanaf Switch To Red kwam de zaal helemaal onder stoom. Een pittige set.

Ten slotte was het de beurt aan de hoofdact van de avond: Dyscordia, zoals steeds vergezelt van een horde fans, maar er was ook veel ander volk. Het podium was op een sfeervolle manier met canvas ingericht zodat o.a. de gear niet zichtbaar was. We hoorden twee songs uit het nieuw album Words In Ruin, met name Harlequin’s Grief en Bail Me Out, en bekende tracks zoals From Sight To Black en In Solitude, afgewisseld met nieuw werk zoals Reveries (dat eigenlijk een oudere track is), Masquerade, A Perfect Day en Chthonic Star. Een akoestische moment (Sacred Soil of Souls) passeerde ook de revue. Het drumwerk was subliem en fungeerde als de motor van de band. Er werd op hoog niveau gespeeld. Piet Overstijns was in zijn nopjes en maakte veel contact met het publiek. Daarnaast werden enkele T-shirts met gratis cd in het publiek geworpen. We hoorden een mooie en evenwichtige set, gevolgd door een encore. Dyscordia is volwassen geworden en klaar voor meer. Dat is duidelijk.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016) 09/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016)

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures