tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : GOUDI - Midnight Fever

GOUDI

Midnight Fever

MusicCD
New waveRock

[77/100]   

Citysound
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

These are busy times for Pierre Goudesone. There’s the forthcoming new album by Flesh & Fell, the new wave band that gained him international fame in the 80s, but there is also a new record by his solo project Goudi. Pierre likes to call himself an outsider in the Belgian music scene, and even if everyone wishes to say this, in his case it’s true. Midnight Fever is Goudi's third album, a dark pop album which can best be compared to The Idiot by Iggy Pop.

High On You is contemporary new wave pop, and you hear that Pierre plays in Flesh & Fell, although he still does his own thing with those influences. A musician should never avoid difficulties, and on the second track, the now Brussels-based musician covers Dock Of The Bay by Otis Redding. Not an easy task, because you can spoil it easily. But not Goudi. We won’t claim that the cover version is better than the original, but we say that he gives the song an extra value. Black Heart is a fine example of dark pop, while @ my House tends more to rock.

In Desire Pierre flirts with psycedelica, while Let's Spread Love has echoes of Ziggy Stardust. He does the same with Boys & Girls, but the song gets unexpected Stooges-guitars.

So Pristine is the single from this new album, and it can be described as a perfect new wave rock song. Kind of quirky, and perhaps Goudi’s style is best recognizable in the ending song: Untamed.

With Midnight Fever, Goudi certainly has not chosen the easiest path, but it’s a fascinating record, one with a very own style. For fans of better the new wave rock: this is your chance!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Het zijn drukke tijden voor Pierre Goudesone. Binnenkort verschijnt de nieuwste langspeler van zijn geesteskind Flesh & Fell waarmee hij in de jaren 80 internationale bekendheid verwierf, maar hij is er ook met een nieuwe van zijn soloproject Goudi. Zelf noemt Pierre zich graag het buitenbeentje in het Belgische muzieklandschap, en hoe graag iedereen zich deze titel toewenst, is dat in zijn geval ook zo. Midnight Fever is Goudi’s derde plaat, een donkere popplaat die het best kan worden vergeleken met The Idiot van Iggy Pop.

High On You is eigentijdse newwavepop, en je hoort hier duidelijk dat Pierre ook in Flesh & Fell speelt, hoewel hij er toch zijn eigen ding mee doet. Een muzikant mag nooit een moeilijk parcours ontwijken, en als tweede track durft de Oostendenaar (die tegenwoordig in Brussel woont) het aan om Dock Of The Bay van Otis Redding te spelen. Geen gemakkelijke keuze, want je kan ermee op je bek gaan. Niet Goudi. Beweren dat de cover beter is dan het origineel, doet geen mens, wel zeggen we dat Goudi meerwaarde biedt. Black Heart is een mooi staaltje van donkere pop, terwijl @My House meer naar rock neigt.

In Desire wordt er met psycedelica geflirt zonder dat de muziek al te moeilijk wordt, terwijl Let’s Spread Love echo’s van Ziggy Stardust bevat. Dat geldtook voor Boys & Girls, maar het wordt op eigenzinnige wijze met scherpe Stooges-gitaren gemengd.

So Pristine is de single uit dit nieuwe album, gewoon heerlijke newwaverock. Eigenzinnig, net zoals de afsluiter van dit album: Untamed.

Goudi heeft met Midnight Fever zeker niet de gemakkelijkste weg gekozen, een boeiende plaat, maar eentje met een zeer eigen wil. Fijnproevers van de betere newwaverock, dit is jullie kans!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis