tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : GOUDI - Midnight Fever

GOUDI

Midnight Fever

MusicCD
New waveRock

[77/100]   

Citysound
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

These are busy times for Pierre Goudesone. There’s the forthcoming new album by Flesh & Fell, the new wave band that gained him international fame in the 80s, but there is also a new record by his solo project Goudi. Pierre likes to call himself an outsider in the Belgian music scene, and even if everyone wishes to say this, in his case it’s true. Midnight Fever is Goudi's third album, a dark pop album which can best be compared to The Idiot by Iggy Pop.

High On You is contemporary new wave pop, and you hear that Pierre plays in Flesh & Fell, although he still does his own thing with those influences. A musician should never avoid difficulties, and on the second track, the now Brussels-based musician covers Dock Of The Bay by Otis Redding. Not an easy task, because you can spoil it easily. But not Goudi. We won’t claim that the cover version is better than the original, but we say that he gives the song an extra value. Black Heart is a fine example of dark pop, while @ my House tends more to rock.

In Desire Pierre flirts with psycedelica, while Let's Spread Love has echoes of Ziggy Stardust. He does the same with Boys & Girls, but the song gets unexpected Stooges-guitars.

So Pristine is the single from this new album, and it can be described as a perfect new wave rock song. Kind of quirky, and perhaps Goudi’s style is best recognizable in the ending song: Untamed.

With Midnight Fever, Goudi certainly has not chosen the easiest path, but it’s a fascinating record, one with a very own style. For fans of better the new wave rock: this is your chance!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Het zijn drukke tijden voor Pierre Goudesone. Binnenkort verschijnt de nieuwste langspeler van zijn geesteskind Flesh & Fell waarmee hij in de jaren 80 internationale bekendheid verwierf, maar hij is er ook met een nieuwe van zijn soloproject Goudi. Zelf noemt Pierre zich graag het buitenbeentje in het Belgische muzieklandschap, en hoe graag iedereen zich deze titel toewenst, is dat in zijn geval ook zo. Midnight Fever is Goudi’s derde plaat, een donkere popplaat die het best kan worden vergeleken met The Idiot van Iggy Pop.

High On You is eigentijdse newwavepop, en je hoort hier duidelijk dat Pierre ook in Flesh & Fell speelt, hoewel hij er toch zijn eigen ding mee doet. Een muzikant mag nooit een moeilijk parcours ontwijken, en als tweede track durft de Oostendenaar (die tegenwoordig in Brussel woont) het aan om Dock Of The Bay van Otis Redding te spelen. Geen gemakkelijke keuze, want je kan ermee op je bek gaan. Niet Goudi. Beweren dat de cover beter is dan het origineel, doet geen mens, wel zeggen we dat Goudi meerwaarde biedt. Black Heart is een mooi staaltje van donkere pop, terwijl @My House meer naar rock neigt.

In Desire wordt er met psycedelica geflirt zonder dat de muziek al te moeilijk wordt, terwijl Let’s Spread Love echo’s van Ziggy Stardust bevat. Dat geldtook voor Boys & Girls, maar het wordt op eigenzinnige wijze met scherpe Stooges-gitaren gemengd.

So Pristine is de single uit dit nieuwe album, gewoon heerlijke newwaverock. Eigenzinnig, net zoals de afsluiter van dit album: Untamed.

Goudi heeft met Midnight Fever zeker niet de gemakkelijkste weg gekozen, een boeiende plaat, maar eentje met een zeer eigen wil. Fijnproevers van de betere newwaverock, dit is jullie kans!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
TOOL
Schism
26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots