tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : GOUDI - Midnight Fever

GOUDI

Midnight Fever

MusicCD
New waveRock

[77/100]   

Citysound
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

These are busy times for Pierre Goudesone. There’s the forthcoming new album by Flesh & Fell, the new wave band that gained him international fame in the 80s, but there is also a new record by his solo project Goudi. Pierre likes to call himself an outsider in the Belgian music scene, and even if everyone wishes to say this, in his case it’s true. Midnight Fever is Goudi's third album, a dark pop album which can best be compared to The Idiot by Iggy Pop.

High On You is contemporary new wave pop, and you hear that Pierre plays in Flesh & Fell, although he still does his own thing with those influences. A musician should never avoid difficulties, and on the second track, the now Brussels-based musician covers Dock Of The Bay by Otis Redding. Not an easy task, because you can spoil it easily. But not Goudi. We won’t claim that the cover version is better than the original, but we say that he gives the song an extra value. Black Heart is a fine example of dark pop, while @ my House tends more to rock.

In Desire Pierre flirts with psycedelica, while Let's Spread Love has echoes of Ziggy Stardust. He does the same with Boys & Girls, but the song gets unexpected Stooges-guitars.

So Pristine is the single from this new album, and it can be described as a perfect new wave rock song. Kind of quirky, and perhaps Goudi’s style is best recognizable in the ending song: Untamed.

With Midnight Fever, Goudi certainly has not chosen the easiest path, but it’s a fascinating record, one with a very own style. For fans of better the new wave rock: this is your chance!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Het zijn drukke tijden voor Pierre Goudesone. Binnenkort verschijnt de nieuwste langspeler van zijn geesteskind Flesh & Fell waarmee hij in de jaren 80 internationale bekendheid verwierf, maar hij is er ook met een nieuwe van zijn soloproject Goudi. Zelf noemt Pierre zich graag het buitenbeentje in het Belgische muzieklandschap, en hoe graag iedereen zich deze titel toewenst, is dat in zijn geval ook zo. Midnight Fever is Goudi’s derde plaat, een donkere popplaat die het best kan worden vergeleken met The Idiot van Iggy Pop.

High On You is eigentijdse newwavepop, en je hoort hier duidelijk dat Pierre ook in Flesh & Fell speelt, hoewel hij er toch zijn eigen ding mee doet. Een muzikant mag nooit een moeilijk parcours ontwijken, en als tweede track durft de Oostendenaar (die tegenwoordig in Brussel woont) het aan om Dock Of The Bay van Otis Redding te spelen. Geen gemakkelijke keuze, want je kan ermee op je bek gaan. Niet Goudi. Beweren dat de cover beter is dan het origineel, doet geen mens, wel zeggen we dat Goudi meerwaarde biedt. Black Heart is een mooi staaltje van donkere pop, terwijl @My House meer naar rock neigt.

In Desire wordt er met psycedelica geflirt zonder dat de muziek al te moeilijk wordt, terwijl Let’s Spread Love echo’s van Ziggy Stardust bevat. Dat geldtook voor Boys & Girls, maar het wordt op eigenzinnige wijze met scherpe Stooges-gitaren gemengd.

So Pristine is de single uit dit nieuwe album, gewoon heerlijke newwaverock. Eigenzinnig, net zoals de afsluiter van dit album: Untamed.

Goudi heeft met Midnight Fever zeker niet de gemakkelijkste weg gekozen, een boeiende plaat, maar eentje met een zeer eigen wil. Fijnproevers van de betere newwaverock, dit is jullie kans!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?