tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : GOUDI - Midnight Fever

GOUDI

Midnight Fever

MusicCD
New waveRock

[77/100]   

Citysound
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

These are busy times for Pierre Goudesone. There’s the forthcoming new album by Flesh & Fell, the new wave band that gained him international fame in the 80s, but there is also a new record by his solo project Goudi. Pierre likes to call himself an outsider in the Belgian music scene, and even if everyone wishes to say this, in his case it’s true. Midnight Fever is Goudi's third album, a dark pop album which can best be compared to The Idiot by Iggy Pop.

High On You is contemporary new wave pop, and you hear that Pierre plays in Flesh & Fell, although he still does his own thing with those influences. A musician should never avoid difficulties, and on the second track, the now Brussels-based musician covers Dock Of The Bay by Otis Redding. Not an easy task, because you can spoil it easily. But not Goudi. We won’t claim that the cover version is better than the original, but we say that he gives the song an extra value. Black Heart is a fine example of dark pop, while @ my House tends more to rock.

In Desire Pierre flirts with psycedelica, while Let's Spread Love has echoes of Ziggy Stardust. He does the same with Boys & Girls, but the song gets unexpected Stooges-guitars.

So Pristine is the single from this new album, and it can be described as a perfect new wave rock song. Kind of quirky, and perhaps Goudi’s style is best recognizable in the ending song: Untamed.

With Midnight Fever, Goudi certainly has not chosen the easiest path, but it’s a fascinating record, one with a very own style. For fans of better the new wave rock: this is your chance!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Het zijn drukke tijden voor Pierre Goudesone. Binnenkort verschijnt de nieuwste langspeler van zijn geesteskind Flesh & Fell waarmee hij in de jaren 80 internationale bekendheid verwierf, maar hij is er ook met een nieuwe van zijn soloproject Goudi. Zelf noemt Pierre zich graag het buitenbeentje in het Belgische muzieklandschap, en hoe graag iedereen zich deze titel toewenst, is dat in zijn geval ook zo. Midnight Fever is Goudi’s derde plaat, een donkere popplaat die het best kan worden vergeleken met The Idiot van Iggy Pop.

High On You is eigentijdse newwavepop, en je hoort hier duidelijk dat Pierre ook in Flesh & Fell speelt, hoewel hij er toch zijn eigen ding mee doet. Een muzikant mag nooit een moeilijk parcours ontwijken, en als tweede track durft de Oostendenaar (die tegenwoordig in Brussel woont) het aan om Dock Of The Bay van Otis Redding te spelen. Geen gemakkelijke keuze, want je kan ermee op je bek gaan. Niet Goudi. Beweren dat de cover beter is dan het origineel, doet geen mens, wel zeggen we dat Goudi meerwaarde biedt. Black Heart is een mooi staaltje van donkere pop, terwijl @My House meer naar rock neigt.

In Desire wordt er met psycedelica geflirt zonder dat de muziek al te moeilijk wordt, terwijl Let’s Spread Love echo’s van Ziggy Stardust bevat. Dat geldtook voor Boys & Girls, maar het wordt op eigenzinnige wijze met scherpe Stooges-gitaren gemengd.

So Pristine is de single uit dit nieuwe album, gewoon heerlijke newwaverock. Eigenzinnig, net zoals de afsluiter van dit album: Untamed.

Goudi heeft met Midnight Fever zeker niet de gemakkelijkste weg gekozen, een boeiende plaat, maar eentje met een zeer eigen wil. Fijnproevers van de betere newwaverock, dit is jullie kans!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 27 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You