tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : THE AGNES CIRCLE - Modern Idea

THE AGNES CIRCLE

Modern Idea

MusicCD (EP)
DarkwavePost Punk

[70/100]   

Manic Depression
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

It remains incredible to see what an influence Joy Division or The Cure had and still have. That is also the case with this London-based post-punk/darkwave band The Agnes Circle.

The Modern Idea EP has lots of new ideas, but many influences from the aforementioned bands as well. For the fans of this genre, that’s of course good news. In four songs we hear typical wave/goth bass, dark and almost emotionless vocals, combined with post-punk guitars. Ceramics is a nice opener. Sister Flux sounds dark and is a mix of The Sisters Of Mercy and Joy Division. Venetian Boy seems to be an original song: well-constructed with melancholic vocals. The guitar work on Yan'an Memory refers (again) to The Sisters of Mercy.

We hear post-punk that refers to the original bands of the genre, perhaps a bit too much. However, I hear some good elements and I hope that the next release will contain more individuality.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Nog steeds valt op welke invloed een band zoals Joy Division of The Cure had en nog steeds heeft. Ook zo met deze post-punk/darkwaveband The Agnes Circle uit London, die sterk is beïnvloed door deze bands.

De ep Modern Idea puilt niet meteen uit van nieuwe ideeën, maar eerder van goed gebrachte invloeden van genoemde bands. Voor liefhebbers van dit genre goed nieuws dus. In vier songs horen we typische wave/gothic basklanken, donkere en haast emotieloze zang in combinatie met post-punkgitaarwerk. Ceramics is een aardige opener. Sister Flux klinkt donker en is een mengeling van The Sisters Of Mercy en Joy Division. Venetian Boy lijkt mij hun origineelste song te zijn: voorzichtig opgebouwd met een melancholische zang. Het gitaarwerk op Yan’an Memory refereert te sterk aan The Sisters of Mercy. De zang vind ik daarentegen mooi en aangenaam qua klank.

We horen geregeld post-punk die aan de oerbands van het genre refereert. Op dit debuut is dat nog wat te nadrukkelijk aanwezig. Ik hoor een aantal goede elementen en ik mag hopen dat het volgend werk wat meer eigenheid bevat, zodat de capaciteit en de muziek beter tot hun recht komen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real