tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : THE AGNES CIRCLE - Modern Idea

THE AGNES CIRCLE

Modern Idea

MusicCD (EP)
DarkwavePost Punk

[70/100]   

Manic Depression
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

It remains incredible to see what an influence Joy Division or The Cure had and still have. That is also the case with this London-based post-punk/darkwave band The Agnes Circle.

The Modern Idea EP has lots of new ideas, but many influences from the aforementioned bands as well. For the fans of this genre, that’s of course good news. In four songs we hear typical wave/goth bass, dark and almost emotionless vocals, combined with post-punk guitars. Ceramics is a nice opener. Sister Flux sounds dark and is a mix of The Sisters Of Mercy and Joy Division. Venetian Boy seems to be an original song: well-constructed with melancholic vocals. The guitar work on Yan'an Memory refers (again) to The Sisters of Mercy.

We hear post-punk that refers to the original bands of the genre, perhaps a bit too much. However, I hear some good elements and I hope that the next release will contain more individuality.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Nog steeds valt op welke invloed een band zoals Joy Division of The Cure had en nog steeds heeft. Ook zo met deze post-punk/darkwaveband The Agnes Circle uit London, die sterk is beïnvloed door deze bands.

De ep Modern Idea puilt niet meteen uit van nieuwe ideeën, maar eerder van goed gebrachte invloeden van genoemde bands. Voor liefhebbers van dit genre goed nieuws dus. In vier songs horen we typische wave/gothic basklanken, donkere en haast emotieloze zang in combinatie met post-punkgitaarwerk. Ceramics is een aardige opener. Sister Flux klinkt donker en is een mengeling van The Sisters Of Mercy en Joy Division. Venetian Boy lijkt mij hun origineelste song te zijn: voorzichtig opgebouwd met een melancholische zang. Het gitaarwerk op Yan’an Memory refereert te sterk aan The Sisters of Mercy. De zang vind ik daarentegen mooi en aangenaam qua klank.

We horen geregeld post-punk die aan de oerbands van het genre refereert. Op dit debuut is dat nog wat te nadrukkelijk aanwezig. Ik hoor een aantal goede elementen en ik mag hopen dat het volgend werk wat meer eigenheid bevat, zodat de capaciteit en de muziek beter tot hun recht komen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6
18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel
17
09
SYDNEY VALETTE
Précipice
16
09
HELDMACHINE
Die Braut, das Meer