tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : THE AGNES CIRCLE - Modern Idea

THE AGNES CIRCLE

Modern Idea

MusicCD (EP)
DarkwavePost Punk

[70/100]   

Manic Depression
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

It remains incredible to see what an influence Joy Division or The Cure had and still have. That is also the case with this London-based post-punk/darkwave band The Agnes Circle.

The Modern Idea EP has lots of new ideas, but many influences from the aforementioned bands as well. For the fans of this genre, that’s of course good news. In four songs we hear typical wave/goth bass, dark and almost emotionless vocals, combined with post-punk guitars. Ceramics is a nice opener. Sister Flux sounds dark and is a mix of The Sisters Of Mercy and Joy Division. Venetian Boy seems to be an original song: well-constructed with melancholic vocals. The guitar work on Yan'an Memory refers (again) to The Sisters of Mercy.

We hear post-punk that refers to the original bands of the genre, perhaps a bit too much. However, I hear some good elements and I hope that the next release will contain more individuality.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Nog steeds valt op welke invloed een band zoals Joy Division of The Cure had en nog steeds heeft. Ook zo met deze post-punk/darkwaveband The Agnes Circle uit London, die sterk is beïnvloed door deze bands.

De ep Modern Idea puilt niet meteen uit van nieuwe ideeën, maar eerder van goed gebrachte invloeden van genoemde bands. Voor liefhebbers van dit genre goed nieuws dus. In vier songs horen we typische wave/gothic basklanken, donkere en haast emotieloze zang in combinatie met post-punkgitaarwerk. Ceramics is een aardige opener. Sister Flux klinkt donker en is een mengeling van The Sisters Of Mercy en Joy Division. Venetian Boy lijkt mij hun origineelste song te zijn: voorzichtig opgebouwd met een melancholische zang. Het gitaarwerk op Yan’an Memory refereert te sterk aan The Sisters of Mercy. De zang vind ik daarentegen mooi en aangenaam qua klank.

We horen geregeld post-punk die aan de oerbands van het genre refereert. Op dit debuut is dat nog wat te nadrukkelijk aanwezig. Ik hoor een aantal goede elementen en ik mag hopen dat het volgend werk wat meer eigenheid bevat, zodat de capaciteit en de muziek beter tot hun recht komen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS
06
01
KMFDM
Paradise

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall