tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : THE AGNES CIRCLE - Modern Idea

THE AGNES CIRCLE

Modern Idea

MusicCD (EP)
DarkwavePost Punk

[70/100]   

Manic Depression
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

It remains incredible to see what an influence Joy Division or The Cure had and still have. That is also the case with this London-based post-punk/darkwave band The Agnes Circle.

The Modern Idea EP has lots of new ideas, but many influences from the aforementioned bands as well. For the fans of this genre, that’s of course good news. In four songs we hear typical wave/goth bass, dark and almost emotionless vocals, combined with post-punk guitars. Ceramics is a nice opener. Sister Flux sounds dark and is a mix of The Sisters Of Mercy and Joy Division. Venetian Boy seems to be an original song: well-constructed with melancholic vocals. The guitar work on Yan'an Memory refers (again) to The Sisters of Mercy.

We hear post-punk that refers to the original bands of the genre, perhaps a bit too much. However, I hear some good elements and I hope that the next release will contain more individuality.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Nog steeds valt op welke invloed een band zoals Joy Division of The Cure had en nog steeds heeft. Ook zo met deze post-punk/darkwaveband The Agnes Circle uit London, die sterk is beïnvloed door deze bands.

De ep Modern Idea puilt niet meteen uit van nieuwe ideeën, maar eerder van goed gebrachte invloeden van genoemde bands. Voor liefhebbers van dit genre goed nieuws dus. In vier songs horen we typische wave/gothic basklanken, donkere en haast emotieloze zang in combinatie met post-punkgitaarwerk. Ceramics is een aardige opener. Sister Flux klinkt donker en is een mengeling van The Sisters Of Mercy en Joy Division. Venetian Boy lijkt mij hun origineelste song te zijn: voorzichtig opgebouwd met een melancholische zang. Het gitaarwerk op Yan’an Memory refereert te sterk aan The Sisters of Mercy. De zang vind ik daarentegen mooi en aangenaam qua klank.

We horen geregeld post-punk die aan de oerbands van het genre refereert. Op dit debuut is dat nog wat te nadrukkelijk aanwezig. Ik hoor een aantal goede elementen en ik mag hopen dat het volgend werk wat meer eigenheid bevat, zodat de capaciteit en de muziek beter tot hun recht komen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap