tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : HEIMATAERDE - Hick Hack Hackebeil

HEIMATAERDE

Hick Hack Hackebeil

MusicCD (EP)
Dark ElectroEBMElectro

[83/100]   

Out Of Line
10/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Templars of Heimataerde are back with their typical mix of electro, medieval music and dark beats on the new single Hick Hack Hackebeil, a taster for the new album that will follow. For fans who want this mini-CD: it comes in a hand-numbered and strictly limited edition (and yes, what would you think...): 666 copies.

We get the single in three versions: the album version, the radio edit and the version. They remain true to their style, because we hear a kind of combination of a folk song and a nursery rhyme. We also hear a little girl singing along in the choruses... Hick Hack Hackebeil: unconventional and non-comformistic as we know Heimataerde. A solid beat, ominous roaring guitars deep in the background and a handful of medieval-looking tools for a hip but dark song.

The radio edit is slightly shorter, the album version challenges us to keep dancing as the song lasts more than four and a half minutes. And it is no surprise that the club edit is provided with an even catchier beat rhythm, slightly faster and more electronic-tinged. The song is also slightly more angular and more EBM.

Besides three remixes of the single, we also hear an old Jewish song : Tsur Mishelo. It does sound a bit more oriental because of the female voice, supported by a fairly rapid rhythmic beat and blissful guitar work, which gives the cheerful sounding song a more ominous character.

In pure Heimataerde tradition we hear an old pilgrim song: Stella Splendens. A musical piece. As in the old days, a bagpipe combo is present, the beat continues as usual, and the guitars are given a significant role. Heavier drums add a extra twist to the song.

Another beautiful contribution of the knights of electro. The harbinger of what will undoubtedly be a good album if similar to this limited mini-CD.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


NL

De tempeliers van Heimataerde zijn terug met hun typerende mix van electro, middeleeuwse muziek en donkere beats op de nieuwe single Hick Hack Hackebeil, een voorproefje voor het nieuwe album dat erop zal volgen. Voor de fans die deze mini-cd willen hebben: hij komt in een handgenummerde en strikt gelimiteerde versie van (ja wat dachten jullie???): 666 exemplaren.

We krijgen de single in drie versies: de album versie, de radio-edit en de club-versie. Ze blijven trouw aan hun stijl, want we krijgen een soort combinatie van een volkslied en kinderliedje. We horen ook een klein meisje meezingen in de refreinen... Hick Hack Hackebeil: onconventioneel en non-comformistisch zoals we Heimataerde kennen. Een stevige beat, onheilspellend ronkende gitaren diep op de achtergrond en een handvol middeleeuws aandoende instrumenten maken er een heupwiegend maar donker nummer van.

De radio-edit is iets korter, de albumversie daagt ons uit om ons vrolijk dansje vol te houden, want de song duurt ruim 4 en een halve minuut. En zal het iemand verbazen dat de club-edit voorzien is van een nog aanstekelijker beatritme, iets sneller en meer electronica-getint. Het nummer is ook iets hoekiger en meer EBM qua stijl.

Naast drie remixes van de single, is er ook nog een oud-joodse song in een nieuw jasje: Tsur Mishelo. Die doet qua sound eerder oosters aan, door de vrouwelijke stem, ondersteund door een vrij snelle ritmische beat. Ook hier weer zalig gitaarwerk ter versterking, dat de vrolijk klinkende song een meer onheilspellend karakter geeft.

In ware Heimataerde-traditie horen we nog een oude pelgrim-song: Stella Splendens. Een puur muzikaal stukje. Als van ouds komt een doedelzakcombo aangestormd, de beat blijft zoals gewoonlijk doordrammen, en ook hier krijgen de gitaren een rol van betekenis. Het zwaardere tromgeroffel geeft een extra draai aan de song.

Alweer mooi werk van de ridders van de electro. Een voorbode van wat ongetwijfeld een goéd album moét worden als het in het verlengde ligt van wat deze gelimiteerde mini-cd ons brengt.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : HEIMATAERDE - Hick Hack Hackebeil 10/12/2016 : HEIMATAERDE - Hick Hack Hackebeil

 

Next reviews
CECILIA BJARGO (DER BLAUE REITER + ARCANA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
LESLIE BENSON (THE SWEETEST CONDITION) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
TIM MUDDIMAN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MIRA, UN LOBO! • Heart Beats Slow
BEN CHATWIN • Heat & Entropy
TRACY HOWE (RATIONAL YOUTH) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
CHIRON • Eve
NOTHING BUT NOISE VS PROTHESE • Music For Muted TV 2
DISCOVER NEW MUSIC • BEATASTIC
INFINITE SPECTRUM • Haunter of the Dark

 

Other reviews from HEIMATAERDE
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
HEIMATAERDE • Kaltwaerts

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM + ELECTRO
MILDREDA • I was never really there
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DECODED FEEDBACK • Dark Passenger
FORMSHIFT FT. NEON ELECTRONICS • Crash/Overtime
ENTRZELLE, STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER, THE PSYCHIC FORCE, XMH, ZOMBIE GIRL • EP
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL • Germany (2015)

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files

 

Same genre: EBM
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
JIHAD • Retrospekt
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
12
09
SPANKRAGHT
N16