tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : BEN CHATWIN - Heat & Entropy

BEN CHATWIN

Heat & Entropy

MusicCD
AmbientNeoclassical

[84/100]   

Ba Da Bing Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

I admit, I have a soft spot for ambient. Even if I’m aware that most artists are just copying classic Eno-sounds, I fall for it, and it happens (even if it’s once in a while) that I discover composers who do it differently, and add something new to the genre.

So far I never heard from the Edinburgh-based composer Ben Chatwin, or neither of his project Talvihorros, even if he’s a quite known underground artist in the Scottish neoclassical world.

His newest album Heat & Entropy is the second one under his own name and it is a real gem in the genre. He likes to experiment with his piano, like attaching metal on the strings so they have a more percussive sound. By using some unusual instruments like a bowed mandolin, or a dulctione which is a 19th century keyboard with hammers, Chatwin creates a whole unique world of piano compositions that comes close to early 4-AD artists, especially what Pieter Nooten did on Sleeps With The Fishes.

By reading all this, you might think this is music only will be liked by neoclassical fanatics, but that’s not the case. If you’re just after some beauty in music, then you definitely find it here.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
TRACY HOWE (RATIONAL YOUTH) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
CHIRON • Eve
NOTHING BUT NOISE VS PROTHESE • Music For Muted TV 2
DISCOVER NEW MUSIC • BEATASTIC
INFINITE SPECTRUM • Haunter of the Dark
SEVEN EYED CROW • Dark Ways to the Sun
AMAUTICA • Rectificando El Sueño (EP)
VAGUE • In The Meantime
XENO & OAKLANDER • Topiary
TORQUE ORDER • Metal Machines

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + NEOCLASSICAL
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
GLACIS • Love, If You Love Me, Lie Beside Me Now
DARK AWAKE • Imago Typhonis
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
LUUP • Meadow Rituals

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite

Music reviews

09
04
DDDJMX
Oceaned
31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
04
Rabia Sorda strikes back with new single!
06
04
Blutengel and Hocico, have recorded the single 'Obscured' in collaboration!
04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
04
NZ
Attitude And Passion
30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

09
04
DAVID A. LINE
Der dunkelste Tag
08
04
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
07
04
HAUSCHKA
My Kids Live On Mars
06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]