tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : BEN CHATWIN - Heat & Entropy

BEN CHATWIN

Heat & Entropy

MusicCD
AmbientNeoclassical

[84/100]   

Ba Da Bing Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

I admit, I have a soft spot for ambient. Even if I’m aware that most artists are just copying classic Eno-sounds, I fall for it, and it happens (even if it’s once in a while) that I discover composers who do it differently, and add something new to the genre.

So far I never heard from the Edinburgh-based composer Ben Chatwin, or neither of his project Talvihorros, even if he’s a quite known underground artist in the Scottish neoclassical world.

His newest album Heat & Entropy is the second one under his own name and it is a real gem in the genre. He likes to experiment with his piano, like attaching metal on the strings so they have a more percussive sound. By using some unusual instruments like a bowed mandolin, or a dulctione which is a 19th century keyboard with hammers, Chatwin creates a whole unique world of piano compositions that comes close to early 4-AD artists, especially what Pieter Nooten did on Sleeps With The Fishes.

By reading all this, you might think this is music only will be liked by neoclassical fanatics, but that’s not the case. If you’re just after some beauty in music, then you definitely find it here.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 27 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
03
0KONTROL
Gologramma
08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies