tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/05/2011 : LUUP - Meadow Rituals

LUUP

Meadow Rituals

MusicCD
AmbientNeoclassicalPost Rock

[80/100]   
23/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Luup is an international band that counts 19 members and every one of them can look back on a rich musical past, where they played with acts like Peter Hammill, Current 93, Lisa O Piu or even Peter Gabriel. The centre of this band though is fluteplayer Stelios Romaliadis.

"Meadow Rituals" is meant to be eight paeans that tries to unite man’s overwhelming distance from nature and his inner self. Difficult words for describing a cd that simply can be labeled as beautiful and where experimental, neoclassical and folk come together.

It’s even the kind of record that makes you think from the very beginning that it could fit quite well on the Prikosnovénie-label. Sometimes the music is very classical and we simply can’t help it by comparing a track like "Ritual of Apollo & Dionysus" to the fairy tale sounds of Tsjaikovsky.

All songs are rather quiet and give you some meditative feel without getting boring. You definitely can hear some influences from new age and old school ambients but you can also describe it just with these words : pure class.

The cd comes in a tall 6 panel deluxe custom sleeve where as the 12” vinyl LP is limited to 500 copies and contains one song less.

Didier BECU
23/05/2011


NL

De groep Luup bestaat zomaar eventjes uit 19 leden en allen hebben ze een zeer rijk muzikaal verleden achter zich met collaboraties die gaan van Peter Hammill, Current 93, Lisa O Piu tot zelfs Peter Gabriel. Centrale figuur van deze bende is echter fluitspeler Stelios Romaliadis die met "Meadow Rituals" 8 lofzangen wou neerzetten.

Bedoeling is om in muziek de afstand tussen de natuur en het eigen ik te overbruggen. Moeilijke woorden voor een cd waarvan het resultaat gewoon als prachtig kan omschreven worden en waar experiment, neoklassiek en folk elkaar treffen.

Het is zelfs zo’n plaatje die je vanaf het begin doet besluiten dat dit het soort release is die niet zou misstaan op Prikosnovénie. Soms gaat deze muziek zeer de klassieke kant op waarbij je een nummer als "Ritual of Apollo & Dionysus" niet meer kan onderbrengen in de categorie van een Russische sprookjescomponist als Tsjaikovsky.

De nummers zijn stuk voor stuk rustig en geven je een meditatief gevoel zonder dat het saai wordt. Je hoort wel dat er her en der new age en old school ambientsferen in de muziek verwerkt zitten maar door het hoog kwalitatief gehalte ga je al gauw Luup tout court omschrijven als pure klasse.

Deze cd werd in een zesdelige panelconstructie uitgebracht met op cd uitvoering één nummer meer dan op de gelimiteerde vinyluitvoering.

Absoluut een must voor wie van dit soort muziek houdt.

Didier BECU
23/05/2011


 

Next reviews
COLD COLD GROUND • This side of depravity
EDGAR WAPPENHALTER, URPF LANZE & HELLVETE • Split ep
BLACK WEDDING • Black Wedding
FELIX MARC • Parallel worlds
XEX • Group:xex
SOL INVICTUS • The Cruellest Month
MATHON • Terrestre
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • The strange familiar EP
LYDIA LUNCH • 13.13
TYSKE LUDDER • Diaspora

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

Music reviews

18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse