tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/05/2011 : LUUP - Meadow Rituals

LUUP

Meadow Rituals

MusicCD
AmbientNeoclassicalPost Rock

[80/100]   
23/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Luup is an international band that counts 19 members and every one of them can look back on a rich musical past, where they played with acts like Peter Hammill, Current 93, Lisa O Piu or even Peter Gabriel. The centre of this band though is fluteplayer Stelios Romaliadis.

"Meadow Rituals" is meant to be eight paeans that tries to unite man’s overwhelming distance from nature and his inner self. Difficult words for describing a cd that simply can be labeled as beautiful and where experimental, neoclassical and folk come together.

It’s even the kind of record that makes you think from the very beginning that it could fit quite well on the Prikosnovénie-label. Sometimes the music is very classical and we simply can’t help it by comparing a track like "Ritual of Apollo & Dionysus" to the fairy tale sounds of Tsjaikovsky.

All songs are rather quiet and give you some meditative feel without getting boring. You definitely can hear some influences from new age and old school ambients but you can also describe it just with these words : pure class.

The cd comes in a tall 6 panel deluxe custom sleeve where as the 12” vinyl LP is limited to 500 copies and contains one song less.

Didier BECU
23/05/2011


NL

De groep Luup bestaat zomaar eventjes uit 19 leden en allen hebben ze een zeer rijk muzikaal verleden achter zich met collaboraties die gaan van Peter Hammill, Current 93, Lisa O Piu tot zelfs Peter Gabriel. Centrale figuur van deze bende is echter fluitspeler Stelios Romaliadis die met "Meadow Rituals" 8 lofzangen wou neerzetten.

Bedoeling is om in muziek de afstand tussen de natuur en het eigen ik te overbruggen. Moeilijke woorden voor een cd waarvan het resultaat gewoon als prachtig kan omschreven worden en waar experiment, neoklassiek en folk elkaar treffen.

Het is zelfs zo’n plaatje die je vanaf het begin doet besluiten dat dit het soort release is die niet zou misstaan op Prikosnovénie. Soms gaat deze muziek zeer de klassieke kant op waarbij je een nummer als "Ritual of Apollo & Dionysus" niet meer kan onderbrengen in de categorie van een Russische sprookjescomponist als Tsjaikovsky.

De nummers zijn stuk voor stuk rustig en geven je een meditatief gevoel zonder dat het saai wordt. Je hoort wel dat er her en der new age en old school ambientsferen in de muziek verwerkt zitten maar door het hoog kwalitatief gehalte ga je al gauw Luup tout court omschrijven als pure klasse.

Deze cd werd in een zesdelige panelconstructie uitgebracht met op cd uitvoering één nummer meer dan op de gelimiteerde vinyluitvoering.

Absoluut een must voor wie van dit soort muziek houdt.

Didier BECU
23/05/2011


 

Next reviews
COLD COLD GROUND • This side of depravity
EDGAR WAPPENHALTER, URPF LANZE & HELLVETE • Split ep
BLACK WEDDING • Black Wedding
FELIX MARC • Parallel worlds
XEX • Group:xex
SOL INVICTUS • The Cruellest Month
MATHON • Terrestre
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • The strange familiar EP
LYDIA LUNCH • 13.13
TYSKE LUDDER • Diaspora

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)