tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/05/2011 : LYDIA LUNCH - 13.13

LYDIA LUNCH

13.13

MusicCD
New wavePunk

[82/100]   

Le Son Du Maquis
23/05/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

A classic album by Auntie Lydia is (finally) rereleased on vinyl and CD. "13.13" was the second full length album by Lydia Lunch and is perhaps her most influential one. Many artists followed her style or would definitely work with her afterwards. The list is just too long: Nick Cave, Einstürzende Neubauten, The Swans, Sonic Youth, Foetus... the alternative trendsetters of the early eighties came together rather quickly. For many later goth acts, this punk star was a real example.

"13.13" is a true punk/wave pearl. The typical (alternative) eighties guitars are provided with beautiful lyrics , half singing, half screaming. The lyrics are almost poems, but Mrs. Lunch spits them out, steeped in aggression, paranoia and disgust.

This aggression, paranoia and disgust are to date still the recurring characteristics, both in her musical performances and her spoken word tours. (Grab the chance if you ever have the chance to see one of her spoken word performances, even though as a man you must be able to collect a lot, since Lydia helds that half of the population responsible for all the sorrows).

Anyway, it has resisted the classic test of time. Probably also by its diversity. While the first songs still float on strong guitar riffs and aggressive, accusatory and with fear overloaded lyrics (witness the stunning "Stares to Nowhere"), this changes completely with the melancholy, profoundly sad piano playing within "Dance of the Dead Children", delicious.

This melancholy mixed with a disappointed sad nature continues in "Suicide Ocean”. But then, the bile spewing punk star may return to the stage with "Lock Your Door" wherein she wishes me to die with a simple but oh so effective interplay between the guitar and simple bass lines and the marvelous, tremendous drums

Once this music was a reaction against..., well, actually against almost everything. Yet this 30 years old music remains still modern. After several times being cursed and wished to death through the songs, Ms. Lunch ends with the description of her fear of my company ("Afraid of Your Company"), although her lyrics and aggressive guitar make me think that it probably is more her own confused mind instead of the fear of someone else.

A Masterly album, and now thanks to Le Son du Maquis finally back available on CD & vinyl!

Lydia, I’m NOT afraid of your company (although your lyrics still scare me…)

 

The plastic crumbles and the walls fall in

The sidewalk's melting I begin to spin

You know where I'm going and

You know where I've been

My mind's exploding like it's never been

The sidewalk's melting I begin to spin

I can't look down, I might fall in

I'm looking up but I'm feeling down

I'm standing still but still falling down

The plastic crumbles and the walls fall in

The sidewalk's melting I begin to spin

I'm looking up but I'm feeling down

I'm standing still but still falling down

On the stares that lead to Nowhere

I'm staring into Nowhere

On the stares that lead to Nowhere

(“Stares to Nowhere”)

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


NL

Een klassieker van Tante Lydia wordt (eindelijk) terug gereleased op vinyl en CD. “13.13” was de tweede langspeler van Lydia Lunch en is allicht haar meest invloedrijke album. Veel artiesten volgden haar stijl of wilden nadien absoluut met haar samenwerken. Het lijstje is gewoon té lang: Nick Cave, Einstürzende Neubauten, The Swans, Sonic Youth, Foetus… de alternatieve smaakmakers van de prille jaren tachtig vonden elkaar snel. Ook voor vele latere goth acts is deze punkster een waar voorbeeld.

“13.13” mag dan ook een punk/wave parel genoemd worden. De typische (alternatieve) jaren tachtig gitaren worden half zingend, half schreeuwend van mooie lyrics voorzien. Het zijn haast gedichten, maar mevrouw Lunch spuwt ze uit, doordrenkt van agressie, paranoia en weerzin.

Die agressie, paranoia en weerzin zijn tot op heden de terugkerende karakteristieken, zowel in haar muzikale performances alsook tijdens haar spoken word tours. (grijp de kans als je haar eens spoken word bezig kan zien, super de moeite, al moet je als man wel een en ander kunnen incasseren, daar nogal wat schulden bij die helft van de bevolking worden gelegd).

Maar goed, deze klassieker heeft de tand des tijds weerstaan. Allicht ook door de diversiteit. Daar waar de eerste songs nog drijven op stevige gitaarriffs en agressieve, beschuldigende en met angst overladen teksten (getuige het schitterende “Stares to Nowhere”) wordt de toonaard 180° gedraaid met het melancholische, intrieste pianospel van “Dance of The Dead Children”, heerlijk.

Deze melancholie vermengd met een intrieste teleurgesteldheid zet zich voort in “Suicide Ocean”. Maar daarna mag de galuitspuwende punkster terug het podium op met “Lock your door” waarin ze me dood wenst met een eenvoudig doch o zo efficiënt samenspel tussen die eenvoudige bass- en gitaarlijnen en die meesterlijke drumpartijen.

Destijds was dit een afzetten tegen…, tsja, eigenlijk tegen ongeveer alles. Maar toch blijft deze 30 jaar oude muziek het nog steeds doen, en na me doorheen de nummers meermaals vervloekt en doodgewenst te hebben eindigt mevrouw Lunch met de angst voor mijn gezelschap (“Afraid of Your Company”), al wijst haar tekst en agressieve gitaar meer op een eigen verward brein dan de angst voor een ander gezelschap.

Magistraal plaatje, en nu dankzij Le Son du Maquis ook eindelijk terug te verkrijgen !

Lydia, I’m NOT afraid of your company (although your lyrics still scare me…)

 

The plastic crumbles and the walls fall in

The sidewalk's melting I begin to spin

You know where I'm going and

You know where I've been

My mind's exploding like it's never been

The sidewalk's melting I begin to spin

I can't look down, I might fall in

I'm looking up but I'm feeling down

I'm standing still but still falling down

The plastic crumbles and the walls fall in

The sidewalk's melting I begin to spin

I'm looking up but I'm feeling down

I'm standing still but still falling down

On the stares that lead to Nowhere

I'm staring into Nowhere

On the stares that lead to Nowhere

(“Stares to Nowhere”)

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
Today, 44 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
79 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
30 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Rabbit Junk Brings Fatalism And Frustration To 'Apocalypse For Beginners'
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
46 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2

PHOTOS

08
12
TARJA TURUNEN
Christuskirche Bochum
05
12
SONAR
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TEST DEPT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
RADICAL G
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
FIX8:SED8
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TC75
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
SOFT RIOT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
12
HELENA HAUFF
Sworn To Secrecy Part II
07
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
06
12
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
05
12
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
04
12
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
03
12
GOOSE
Synrise
02
12
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks