tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/05/2011 : LYDIA LUNCH - 13.13

LYDIA LUNCH

13.13

MusicCD
New wavePunk

[82/100]   

Le Son Du Maquis
23/05/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

A classic album by Auntie Lydia is (finally) rereleased on vinyl and CD. "13.13" was the second full length album by Lydia Lunch and is perhaps her most influential one. Many artists followed her style or would definitely work with her afterwards. The list is just too long: Nick Cave, Einstürzende Neubauten, The Swans, Sonic Youth, Foetus... the alternative trendsetters of the early eighties came together rather quickly. For many later goth acts, this punk star was a real example.

"13.13" is a true punk/wave pearl. The typical (alternative) eighties guitars are provided with beautiful lyrics , half singing, half screaming. The lyrics are almost poems, but Mrs. Lunch spits them out, steeped in aggression, paranoia and disgust.

This aggression, paranoia and disgust are to date still the recurring characteristics, both in her musical performances and her spoken word tours. (Grab the chance if you ever have the chance to see one of her spoken word performances, even though as a man you must be able to collect a lot, since Lydia helds that half of the population responsible for all the sorrows).

Anyway, it has resisted the classic test of time. Probably also by its diversity. While the first songs still float on strong guitar riffs and aggressive, accusatory and with fear overloaded lyrics (witness the stunning "Stares to Nowhere"), this changes completely with the melancholy, profoundly sad piano playing within "Dance of the Dead Children", delicious.

This melancholy mixed with a disappointed sad nature continues in "Suicide Ocean”. But then, the bile spewing punk star may return to the stage with "Lock Your Door" wherein she wishes me to die with a simple but oh so effective interplay between the guitar and simple bass lines and the marvelous, tremendous drums

Once this music was a reaction against..., well, actually against almost everything. Yet this 30 years old music remains still modern. After several times being cursed and wished to death through the songs, Ms. Lunch ends with the description of her fear of my company ("Afraid of Your Company"), although her lyrics and aggressive guitar make me think that it probably is more her own confused mind instead of the fear of someone else.

A Masterly album, and now thanks to Le Son du Maquis finally back available on CD & vinyl!

Lydia, I’m NOT afraid of your company (although your lyrics still scare me…)

 

The plastic crumbles and the walls fall in

The sidewalk's melting I begin to spin

You know where I'm going and

You know where I've been

My mind's exploding like it's never been

The sidewalk's melting I begin to spin

I can't look down, I might fall in

I'm looking up but I'm feeling down

I'm standing still but still falling down

The plastic crumbles and the walls fall in

The sidewalk's melting I begin to spin

I'm looking up but I'm feeling down

I'm standing still but still falling down

On the stares that lead to Nowhere

I'm staring into Nowhere

On the stares that lead to Nowhere

(“Stares to Nowhere”)

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


NL

Een klassieker van Tante Lydia wordt (eindelijk) terug gereleased op vinyl en CD. “13.13” was de tweede langspeler van Lydia Lunch en is allicht haar meest invloedrijke album. Veel artiesten volgden haar stijl of wilden nadien absoluut met haar samenwerken. Het lijstje is gewoon té lang: Nick Cave, Einstürzende Neubauten, The Swans, Sonic Youth, Foetus… de alternatieve smaakmakers van de prille jaren tachtig vonden elkaar snel. Ook voor vele latere goth acts is deze punkster een waar voorbeeld.

“13.13” mag dan ook een punk/wave parel genoemd worden. De typische (alternatieve) jaren tachtig gitaren worden half zingend, half schreeuwend van mooie lyrics voorzien. Het zijn haast gedichten, maar mevrouw Lunch spuwt ze uit, doordrenkt van agressie, paranoia en weerzin.

Die agressie, paranoia en weerzin zijn tot op heden de terugkerende karakteristieken, zowel in haar muzikale performances alsook tijdens haar spoken word tours. (grijp de kans als je haar eens spoken word bezig kan zien, super de moeite, al moet je als man wel een en ander kunnen incasseren, daar nogal wat schulden bij die helft van de bevolking worden gelegd).

Maar goed, deze klassieker heeft de tand des tijds weerstaan. Allicht ook door de diversiteit. Daar waar de eerste songs nog drijven op stevige gitaarriffs en agressieve, beschuldigende en met angst overladen teksten (getuige het schitterende “Stares to Nowhere”) wordt de toonaard 180° gedraaid met het melancholische, intrieste pianospel van “Dance of The Dead Children”, heerlijk.

Deze melancholie vermengd met een intrieste teleurgesteldheid zet zich voort in “Suicide Ocean”. Maar daarna mag de galuitspuwende punkster terug het podium op met “Lock your door” waarin ze me dood wenst met een eenvoudig doch o zo efficiënt samenspel tussen die eenvoudige bass- en gitaarlijnen en die meesterlijke drumpartijen.

Destijds was dit een afzetten tegen…, tsja, eigenlijk tegen ongeveer alles. Maar toch blijft deze 30 jaar oude muziek het nog steeds doen, en na me doorheen de nummers meermaals vervloekt en doodgewenst te hebben eindigt mevrouw Lunch met de angst voor mijn gezelschap (“Afraid of Your Company”), al wijst haar tekst en agressieve gitaar meer op een eigen verward brein dan de angst voor een ander gezelschap.

Magistraal plaatje, en nu dankzij Le Son du Maquis ook eindelijk terug te verkrijgen !

Lydia, I’m NOT afraid of your company (although your lyrics still scare me…)

 

The plastic crumbles and the walls fall in

The sidewalk's melting I begin to spin

You know where I'm going and

You know where I've been

My mind's exploding like it's never been

The sidewalk's melting I begin to spin

I can't look down, I might fall in

I'm looking up but I'm feeling down

I'm standing still but still falling down

The plastic crumbles and the walls fall in

The sidewalk's melting I begin to spin

I'm looking up but I'm feeling down

I'm standing still but still falling down

On the stares that lead to Nowhere

I'm staring into Nowhere

On the stares that lead to Nowhere

(“Stares to Nowhere”)

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


Music reviews

15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies
14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow
14
10
IN DEED
Everest - Expanded Edition
13
10
REACTOR7X
Are You My Bitch
13
10
WALTER CELI
Blend

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses
10
10
PET SHOP BOYS
Domino Dancing (Extended Version)
09
10
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love