tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/05/2011 : LYDIA LUNCH - 13.13

LYDIA LUNCH

13.13

MusicCD
New wavePunk

[82/100]   

Le Son Du Maquis
23/05/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

A classic album by Auntie Lydia is (finally) rereleased on vinyl and CD. "13.13" was the second full length album by Lydia Lunch and is perhaps her most influential one. Many artists followed her style or would definitely work with her afterwards. The list is just too long: Nick Cave, Einstürzende Neubauten, The Swans, Sonic Youth, Foetus... the alternative trendsetters of the early eighties came together rather quickly. For many later goth acts, this punk star was a real example.

"13.13" is a true punk/wave pearl. The typical (alternative) eighties guitars are provided with beautiful lyrics , half singing, half screaming. The lyrics are almost poems, but Mrs. Lunch spits them out, steeped in aggression, paranoia and disgust.

This aggression, paranoia and disgust are to date still the recurring characteristics, both in her musical performances and her spoken word tours. (Grab the chance if you ever have the chance to see one of her spoken word performances, even though as a man you must be able to collect a lot, since Lydia helds that half of the population responsible for all the sorrows).

Anyway, it has resisted the classic test of time. Probably also by its diversity. While the first songs still float on strong guitar riffs and aggressive, accusatory and with fear overloaded lyrics (witness the stunning "Stares to Nowhere"), this changes completely with the melancholy, profoundly sad piano playing within "Dance of the Dead Children", delicious.

This melancholy mixed with a disappointed sad nature continues in "Suicide Ocean”. But then, the bile spewing punk star may return to the stage with "Lock Your Door" wherein she wishes me to die with a simple but oh so effective interplay between the guitar and simple bass lines and the marvelous, tremendous drums

Once this music was a reaction against..., well, actually against almost everything. Yet this 30 years old music remains still modern. After several times being cursed and wished to death through the songs, Ms. Lunch ends with the description of her fear of my company ("Afraid of Your Company"), although her lyrics and aggressive guitar make me think that it probably is more her own confused mind instead of the fear of someone else.

A Masterly album, and now thanks to Le Son du Maquis finally back available on CD & vinyl!

Lydia, I’m NOT afraid of your company (although your lyrics still scare me…)

 

The plastic crumbles and the walls fall in

The sidewalk's melting I begin to spin

You know where I'm going and

You know where I've been

My mind's exploding like it's never been

The sidewalk's melting I begin to spin

I can't look down, I might fall in

I'm looking up but I'm feeling down

I'm standing still but still falling down

The plastic crumbles and the walls fall in

The sidewalk's melting I begin to spin

I'm looking up but I'm feeling down

I'm standing still but still falling down

On the stares that lead to Nowhere

I'm staring into Nowhere

On the stares that lead to Nowhere

(“Stares to Nowhere”)

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


NL

Een klassieker van Tante Lydia wordt (eindelijk) terug gereleased op vinyl en CD. “13.13” was de tweede langspeler van Lydia Lunch en is allicht haar meest invloedrijke album. Veel artiesten volgden haar stijl of wilden nadien absoluut met haar samenwerken. Het lijstje is gewoon té lang: Nick Cave, Einstürzende Neubauten, The Swans, Sonic Youth, Foetus… de alternatieve smaakmakers van de prille jaren tachtig vonden elkaar snel. Ook voor vele latere goth acts is deze punkster een waar voorbeeld.

“13.13” mag dan ook een punk/wave parel genoemd worden. De typische (alternatieve) jaren tachtig gitaren worden half zingend, half schreeuwend van mooie lyrics voorzien. Het zijn haast gedichten, maar mevrouw Lunch spuwt ze uit, doordrenkt van agressie, paranoia en weerzin.

Die agressie, paranoia en weerzin zijn tot op heden de terugkerende karakteristieken, zowel in haar muzikale performances alsook tijdens haar spoken word tours. (grijp de kans als je haar eens spoken word bezig kan zien, super de moeite, al moet je als man wel een en ander kunnen incasseren, daar nogal wat schulden bij die helft van de bevolking worden gelegd).

Maar goed, deze klassieker heeft de tand des tijds weerstaan. Allicht ook door de diversiteit. Daar waar de eerste songs nog drijven op stevige gitaarriffs en agressieve, beschuldigende en met angst overladen teksten (getuige het schitterende “Stares to Nowhere”) wordt de toonaard 180° gedraaid met het melancholische, intrieste pianospel van “Dance of The Dead Children”, heerlijk.

Deze melancholie vermengd met een intrieste teleurgesteldheid zet zich voort in “Suicide Ocean”. Maar daarna mag de galuitspuwende punkster terug het podium op met “Lock your door” waarin ze me dood wenst met een eenvoudig doch o zo efficiënt samenspel tussen die eenvoudige bass- en gitaarlijnen en die meesterlijke drumpartijen.

Destijds was dit een afzetten tegen…, tsja, eigenlijk tegen ongeveer alles. Maar toch blijft deze 30 jaar oude muziek het nog steeds doen, en na me doorheen de nummers meermaals vervloekt en doodgewenst te hebben eindigt mevrouw Lunch met de angst voor mijn gezelschap (“Afraid of Your Company”), al wijst haar tekst en agressieve gitaar meer op een eigen verward brein dan de angst voor een ander gezelschap.

Magistraal plaatje, en nu dankzij Le Son du Maquis ook eindelijk terug te verkrijgen !

Lydia, I’m NOT afraid of your company (although your lyrics still scare me…)

 

The plastic crumbles and the walls fall in

The sidewalk's melting I begin to spin

You know where I'm going and

You know where I've been

My mind's exploding like it's never been

The sidewalk's melting I begin to spin

I can't look down, I might fall in

I'm looking up but I'm feeling down

I'm standing still but still falling down

The plastic crumbles and the walls fall in

The sidewalk's melting I begin to spin

I'm looking up but I'm feeling down

I'm standing still but still falling down

On the stares that lead to Nowhere

I'm staring into Nowhere

On the stares that lead to Nowhere

(“Stares to Nowhere”)

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
10
43 years Never Mind The Bollocks!
28
10
On this day, 32 years ago, Front 242 released Front By Front!
24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
10
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
27
10
NO MORE
Turnaround
26
10
DEVO
Beautiful World
25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)