tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/05/2011 : LYDIA LUNCH - 13.13

LYDIA LUNCH

13.13

MusicCD
New wavePunk

[82/100]   

Le Son Du Maquis
23/05/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

A classic album by Auntie Lydia is (finally) rereleased on vinyl and CD. "13.13" was the second full length album by Lydia Lunch and is perhaps her most influential one. Many artists followed her style or would definitely work with her afterwards. The list is just too long: Nick Cave, Einstürzende Neubauten, The Swans, Sonic Youth, Foetus... the alternative trendsetters of the early eighties came together rather quickly. For many later goth acts, this punk star was a real example.

"13.13" is a true punk/wave pearl. The typical (alternative) eighties guitars are provided with beautiful lyrics , half singing, half screaming. The lyrics are almost poems, but Mrs. Lunch spits them out, steeped in aggression, paranoia and disgust.

This aggression, paranoia and disgust are to date still the recurring characteristics, both in her musical performances and her spoken word tours. (Grab the chance if you ever have the chance to see one of her spoken word performances, even though as a man you must be able to collect a lot, since Lydia helds that half of the population responsible for all the sorrows).

Anyway, it has resisted the classic test of time. Probably also by its diversity. While the first songs still float on strong guitar riffs and aggressive, accusatory and with fear overloaded lyrics (witness the stunning "Stares to Nowhere"), this changes completely with the melancholy, profoundly sad piano playing within "Dance of the Dead Children", delicious.

This melancholy mixed with a disappointed sad nature continues in "Suicide Ocean”. But then, the bile spewing punk star may return to the stage with "Lock Your Door" wherein she wishes me to die with a simple but oh so effective interplay between the guitar and simple bass lines and the marvelous, tremendous drums

Once this music was a reaction against..., well, actually against almost everything. Yet this 30 years old music remains still modern. After several times being cursed and wished to death through the songs, Ms. Lunch ends with the description of her fear of my company ("Afraid of Your Company"), although her lyrics and aggressive guitar make me think that it probably is more her own confused mind instead of the fear of someone else.

A Masterly album, and now thanks to Le Son du Maquis finally back available on CD & vinyl!

Lydia, I’m NOT afraid of your company (although your lyrics still scare me…)

 

The plastic crumbles and the walls fall in

The sidewalk's melting I begin to spin

You know where I'm going and

You know where I've been

My mind's exploding like it's never been

The sidewalk's melting I begin to spin

I can't look down, I might fall in

I'm looking up but I'm feeling down

I'm standing still but still falling down

The plastic crumbles and the walls fall in

The sidewalk's melting I begin to spin

I'm looking up but I'm feeling down

I'm standing still but still falling down

On the stares that lead to Nowhere

I'm staring into Nowhere

On the stares that lead to Nowhere

(“Stares to Nowhere”)

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


NL

Een klassieker van Tante Lydia wordt (eindelijk) terug gereleased op vinyl en CD. “13.13” was de tweede langspeler van Lydia Lunch en is allicht haar meest invloedrijke album. Veel artiesten volgden haar stijl of wilden nadien absoluut met haar samenwerken. Het lijstje is gewoon té lang: Nick Cave, Einstürzende Neubauten, The Swans, Sonic Youth, Foetus… de alternatieve smaakmakers van de prille jaren tachtig vonden elkaar snel. Ook voor vele latere goth acts is deze punkster een waar voorbeeld.

“13.13” mag dan ook een punk/wave parel genoemd worden. De typische (alternatieve) jaren tachtig gitaren worden half zingend, half schreeuwend van mooie lyrics voorzien. Het zijn haast gedichten, maar mevrouw Lunch spuwt ze uit, doordrenkt van agressie, paranoia en weerzin.

Die agressie, paranoia en weerzin zijn tot op heden de terugkerende karakteristieken, zowel in haar muzikale performances alsook tijdens haar spoken word tours. (grijp de kans als je haar eens spoken word bezig kan zien, super de moeite, al moet je als man wel een en ander kunnen incasseren, daar nogal wat schulden bij die helft van de bevolking worden gelegd).

Maar goed, deze klassieker heeft de tand des tijds weerstaan. Allicht ook door de diversiteit. Daar waar de eerste songs nog drijven op stevige gitaarriffs en agressieve, beschuldigende en met angst overladen teksten (getuige het schitterende “Stares to Nowhere”) wordt de toonaard 180° gedraaid met het melancholische, intrieste pianospel van “Dance of The Dead Children”, heerlijk.

Deze melancholie vermengd met een intrieste teleurgesteldheid zet zich voort in “Suicide Ocean”. Maar daarna mag de galuitspuwende punkster terug het podium op met “Lock your door” waarin ze me dood wenst met een eenvoudig doch o zo efficiënt samenspel tussen die eenvoudige bass- en gitaarlijnen en die meesterlijke drumpartijen.

Destijds was dit een afzetten tegen…, tsja, eigenlijk tegen ongeveer alles. Maar toch blijft deze 30 jaar oude muziek het nog steeds doen, en na me doorheen de nummers meermaals vervloekt en doodgewenst te hebben eindigt mevrouw Lunch met de angst voor mijn gezelschap (“Afraid of Your Company”), al wijst haar tekst en agressieve gitaar meer op een eigen verward brein dan de angst voor een ander gezelschap.

Magistraal plaatje, en nu dankzij Le Son du Maquis ook eindelijk terug te verkrijgen !

Lydia, I’m NOT afraid of your company (although your lyrics still scare me…)

 

The plastic crumbles and the walls fall in

The sidewalk's melting I begin to spin

You know where I'm going and

You know where I've been

My mind's exploding like it's never been

The sidewalk's melting I begin to spin

I can't look down, I might fall in

I'm looking up but I'm feeling down

I'm standing still but still falling down

The plastic crumbles and the walls fall in

The sidewalk's melting I begin to spin

I'm looking up but I'm feeling down

I'm standing still but still falling down

On the stares that lead to Nowhere

I'm staring into Nowhere

On the stares that lead to Nowhere

(“Stares to Nowhere”)

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)