tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/05/2011 : ]CYLIX[ - Alpha

]CYLIX[

Alpha

MusicCD
EBMSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[65/100]   

Life Is Painful Records
18/05/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

]CYLIX[ is a band from Greece that was started by 2 dj’s from the Electro/Goth scene, Plasma G and DV/H, in 2000. It still is a duo today, but now with Plasma G and a guy called “Harry”.

Talking about their musical influences they refer to bands like DE/VISION, Mesh and the awesome band Neuroticfish. I think you can add a little VNV NATION and a lot of Depeche Mode. They describe themselves as a Synthpop Swedish style/EBM band.

“Alpha” is their first album and it appeared in 2010 on the German label “Life is Painful”, that also features bands like Dupont, Estrange (check it out) and Restricted Area.

EBM? Not really. There’s far more Synthpop here. Some may consider this a plus. Not me, I’m afraid. Too much “pop” here. Personally I like the darker, rougher, riskier and more original stuff. Why not in Greek, I wonder. That could be a way to be more original. And Greek can work. Have a listen to great Greek punk bands like Ex-Humans, Panx Romana, and Stress!

Best songs? 

“Enter”, “So Much for Love” and “Deepest Fear”, have dancefloor potential. “Exit” is also an interesting track.

Should you buy this? If you’re into Synthpop you won’t be disappointed. And there are a couple of really good tracks on this CD. Personally I would rather spend my money on something by Neuroticfish, “a greater good, history 1998-2008” for instance.

There is some Belgian input here. Len Lemaire , Ex FRONT 242-member, now Implant, mastered this CD.

Didier PIETERS
18/05/2011


NL

]CYLIX[ uit Griekenland werd in 2000 gevormd door 2 dj’s uit de electro/goth scene, Plasma G en DV/H. Het is nu nog steeds een duo, maar bestaand uit Plasma G en ene “Harry”.

Als het gaat over hun muzikale invloeden refereren ze in hun bio zelf naar bands als DE/VISION, Mesh en het sublieme neuroticfish. Doe daar wat mij betreft een snuifje VNV NATION en een fikse scheut Depeche Mode bij.

Het zijn dus Grieken en ze omschrijven zichzelf als een synthpop Zweedse stijl/EBM band.

“Alpha” is hun eerste album(2010) en werd uitgebracht op het Duitse label “Life is Painful” van onder andere ook Dupont, Estrange (check it out) en Restricted Area.

De nadruk ligt zwaar op synthpop en relatief weinig op EBM. Voor sommige mensen is dit misschien juist een plus. Ik vind het (bijna) allemaal net iets te poppy. Voor mij mag de sound iets donkerder, rauwer, gevaarlijker en vooral: origineler! Waarom niet in het Grieks bijvoorbeeld? Ook een manier om origineel uit de hoek te komen. En het werkt. Luister eens naar interessante oude Griekse punkbands als Ex-Humans, Panx Romana, en Stress. Geweldige stuff!

Beste songs? 

“Enter”, “So Much for Love” en “Deepest Fear”. Niet toevallig de nummers met uitgesproken dansvloerpotentieel en meer naar EBM neigend. Ook “Exit” is een boeiende track.

Moet je dit kopen? Liefhebbers van het synthpopgenre zullen niet teleurgesteld zijn. En er staan een paar echt goede songs op. Ikzelf zou mijn zuurverdiende Eurocentjes echter liever uitgeven aan een CD van neuroticfish, aan “a greater good, history 1998-2008” bijvoorbeeld.

Voor de feitenjagers: er werkte ook een Belg mee aan deze CD (mastering): Ex FRONT 242-lid Len Lemeire, nu Implant.

Didier PIETERS
18/05/2011


Music reviews

06
06
I LIKE TRAINS
The Truth
05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
06
D.A.F.
Als wär's das letzte Mal (Boys Noize Remix) - Official Video
06
06
PSYCHE
The Things That Dreams Are Made Of (Party Monster Mix)
05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted