tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/05/2011 : ]CYLIX[ - Alpha

]CYLIX[

Alpha

MusicCD
EBMSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[65/100]   

Life Is Painful Records
18/05/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

]CYLIX[ is a band from Greece that was started by 2 dj’s from the Electro/Goth scene, Plasma G and DV/H, in 2000. It still is a duo today, but now with Plasma G and a guy called “Harry”.

Talking about their musical influences they refer to bands like DE/VISION, Mesh and the awesome band Neuroticfish. I think you can add a little VNV NATION and a lot of Depeche Mode. They describe themselves as a Synthpop Swedish style/EBM band.

“Alpha” is their first album and it appeared in 2010 on the German label “Life is Painful”, that also features bands like Dupont, Estrange (check it out) and Restricted Area.

EBM? Not really. There’s far more Synthpop here. Some may consider this a plus. Not me, I’m afraid. Too much “pop” here. Personally I like the darker, rougher, riskier and more original stuff. Why not in Greek, I wonder. That could be a way to be more original. And Greek can work. Have a listen to great Greek punk bands like Ex-Humans, Panx Romana, and Stress!

Best songs? 

“Enter”, “So Much for Love” and “Deepest Fear”, have dancefloor potential. “Exit” is also an interesting track.

Should you buy this? If you’re into Synthpop you won’t be disappointed. And there are a couple of really good tracks on this CD. Personally I would rather spend my money on something by Neuroticfish, “a greater good, history 1998-2008” for instance.

There is some Belgian input here. Len Lemaire , Ex FRONT 242-member, now Implant, mastered this CD.

Didier PIETERS
18/05/2011


NL

]CYLIX[ uit Griekenland werd in 2000 gevormd door 2 dj’s uit de electro/goth scene, Plasma G en DV/H. Het is nu nog steeds een duo, maar bestaand uit Plasma G en ene “Harry”.

Als het gaat over hun muzikale invloeden refereren ze in hun bio zelf naar bands als DE/VISION, Mesh en het sublieme neuroticfish. Doe daar wat mij betreft een snuifje VNV NATION en een fikse scheut Depeche Mode bij.

Het zijn dus Grieken en ze omschrijven zichzelf als een synthpop Zweedse stijl/EBM band.

“Alpha” is hun eerste album(2010) en werd uitgebracht op het Duitse label “Life is Painful” van onder andere ook Dupont, Estrange (check it out) en Restricted Area.

De nadruk ligt zwaar op synthpop en relatief weinig op EBM. Voor sommige mensen is dit misschien juist een plus. Ik vind het (bijna) allemaal net iets te poppy. Voor mij mag de sound iets donkerder, rauwer, gevaarlijker en vooral: origineler! Waarom niet in het Grieks bijvoorbeeld? Ook een manier om origineel uit de hoek te komen. En het werkt. Luister eens naar interessante oude Griekse punkbands als Ex-Humans, Panx Romana, en Stress. Geweldige stuff!

Beste songs? 

“Enter”, “So Much for Love” en “Deepest Fear”. Niet toevallig de nummers met uitgesproken dansvloerpotentieel en meer naar EBM neigend. Ook “Exit” is een boeiende track.

Moet je dit kopen? Liefhebbers van het synthpopgenre zullen niet teleurgesteld zijn. En er staan een paar echt goede songs op. Ikzelf zou mijn zuurverdiende Eurocentjes echter liever uitgeven aan een CD van neuroticfish, aan “a greater good, history 1998-2008” bijvoorbeeld.

Voor de feitenjagers: er werkte ook een Belg mee aan deze CD (mastering): Ex FRONT 242-lid Len Lemeire, nu Implant.

Didier PIETERS
18/05/2011


Music reviews

22
10
VEDA RAYS
For The Rest To Rest
20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
10
DAVID J
Interview with David J
20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
ADULT.
Heartbreak (Live @ MOOGFEST SOUND LAB)
21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido