tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/05/2011 : ]CYLIX[ - Alpha

]CYLIX[

Alpha

MusicCD
EBMSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[65/100]   

Life Is Painful Records
18/05/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

]CYLIX[ is a band from Greece that was started by 2 dj’s from the Electro/Goth scene, Plasma G and DV/H, in 2000. It still is a duo today, but now with Plasma G and a guy called “Harry”.

Talking about their musical influences they refer to bands like DE/VISION, Mesh and the awesome band Neuroticfish. I think you can add a little VNV NATION and a lot of Depeche Mode. They describe themselves as a Synthpop Swedish style/EBM band.

“Alpha” is their first album and it appeared in 2010 on the German label “Life is Painful”, that also features bands like Dupont, Estrange (check it out) and Restricted Area.

EBM? Not really. There’s far more Synthpop here. Some may consider this a plus. Not me, I’m afraid. Too much “pop” here. Personally I like the darker, rougher, riskier and more original stuff. Why not in Greek, I wonder. That could be a way to be more original. And Greek can work. Have a listen to great Greek punk bands like Ex-Humans, Panx Romana, and Stress!

Best songs? 

“Enter”, “So Much for Love” and “Deepest Fear”, have dancefloor potential. “Exit” is also an interesting track.

Should you buy this? If you’re into Synthpop you won’t be disappointed. And there are a couple of really good tracks on this CD. Personally I would rather spend my money on something by Neuroticfish, “a greater good, history 1998-2008” for instance.

There is some Belgian input here. Len Lemaire , Ex FRONT 242-member, now Implant, mastered this CD.

Didier PIETERS
18/05/2011


NL

]CYLIX[ uit Griekenland werd in 2000 gevormd door 2 dj’s uit de electro/goth scene, Plasma G en DV/H. Het is nu nog steeds een duo, maar bestaand uit Plasma G en ene “Harry”.

Als het gaat over hun muzikale invloeden refereren ze in hun bio zelf naar bands als DE/VISION, Mesh en het sublieme neuroticfish. Doe daar wat mij betreft een snuifje VNV NATION en een fikse scheut Depeche Mode bij.

Het zijn dus Grieken en ze omschrijven zichzelf als een synthpop Zweedse stijl/EBM band.

“Alpha” is hun eerste album(2010) en werd uitgebracht op het Duitse label “Life is Painful” van onder andere ook Dupont, Estrange (check it out) en Restricted Area.

De nadruk ligt zwaar op synthpop en relatief weinig op EBM. Voor sommige mensen is dit misschien juist een plus. Ik vind het (bijna) allemaal net iets te poppy. Voor mij mag de sound iets donkerder, rauwer, gevaarlijker en vooral: origineler! Waarom niet in het Grieks bijvoorbeeld? Ook een manier om origineel uit de hoek te komen. En het werkt. Luister eens naar interessante oude Griekse punkbands als Ex-Humans, Panx Romana, en Stress. Geweldige stuff!

Beste songs? 

“Enter”, “So Much for Love” en “Deepest Fear”. Niet toevallig de nummers met uitgesproken dansvloerpotentieel en meer naar EBM neigend. Ook “Exit” is een boeiende track.

Moet je dit kopen? Liefhebbers van het synthpopgenre zullen niet teleurgesteld zijn. En er staan een paar echt goede songs op. Ikzelf zou mijn zuurverdiende Eurocentjes echter liever uitgeven aan een CD van neuroticfish, aan “a greater good, history 1998-2008” bijvoorbeeld.

Voor de feitenjagers: er werkte ook een Belg mee aan deze CD (mastering): Ex FRONT 242-lid Len Lemeire, nu Implant.

Didier PIETERS
18/05/2011


Music reviews

20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle
15
04
PSY'AVIAH
Lightflare

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days
14
04
Mourners release their first songs!
13
04
Empirion sign with Dependent
12
04
Nox Interna will release their EP 'A Minor Road' in May 2018

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos
21
04
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
20
04
MIDAS FALL
Glue
19
04
0KONTROL
Limbo
18
04
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
17
04
LANA DEL RABIES
Vicious End
16
04
DIAMOND BLACK
Ghost in the Glass