tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/12/2016 : LEAETHER STRIP - Reptile Man Drop: A Tribute To Simple Minds

LEAETHER STRIP

Reptile Man Drop: A Tribute To Simple Minds

MusicDigital
EBMSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[77/100]   
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course Leather Strip fans know that Kurt and Claus like to rework their favorite songs which are often from the 80s. Most of the time, the classics are treated with a contemporary electronic sound, or in other words: transformed to the Leather Strip universe. Not so long ago, the duo released some EPs featuring songs by Talk Talk and Depeche Mode. Simple Minds is next.

A wonderful choice as Simple Minds is one of the most groundbreaking bands from the 80s. It is no exaggeration to state that 80's music would have sounded completely different without the Scots.

Claus has never hidden his love for Simple Minds and Reptile Man Drop has become a tribute to Jim Kerr’s band.

You hear six songs on this EP. According to Claus your never have to try to make the original better, simply because that never works. On a cover you should treat the songs with love and put your own personality in it. That is surely why this release is another winner.

Especially on Waterfront you hear that. On the original, the pounding guitars rule, in the version of Claus and Kurt (how could it be otherwise) the synths rule, and so the song gets a brand new life. That is also the case for 30 Frames A Second and Life In A Day as these classics suddenly sound like Depeche Mode songs. Daring, but what a result!

Talking about being a daredevil! It takes a lot of guts to rework indestructible classics like Celebrate, Love Song or I Travel, but how difficult the task was, the covers are superb. Which bands are next, Kurt and Claus?

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Fans van Leather Strip weten dat Claus en Kurt ervan houden om hun lievelingssongs (die vaak uit de jaren 80 stammen) een eigentijds elektronisch kleedje te geven. Zeg maar de Leather Strip-stempel. Niet zo lang geleden verschenen er ep’s met daarop songs van Talk Talk, en nu is Simple Minds aan de beurt.

Een heerlijke keuze, want Simple Minds blijft één van de meest baanbrekende bands uit de jaren 80. Het is trouwens geen overdrijving om te stellen dat de muziek uit de jaren 80 er zonder de Schotten helemaal anders zou uitzien.

Claus heeft zijn liefde voor Simple Minds niet onder stoelen en banken gestoken en Reptile Man Drop is dan ook een eerbetoon aan de band van Jim Kerr geworden.

Je hoort zes songs. Volgens Claus moet je nooit proberen om een origineel te overtreffen (dat lukt overigens toch nooit), wel moet je de songs met liefde behandelen en je er je eigen ik in stoppen. Daar is hij op deze Simple Minds-cd weer fantastisch in geslaagd.

Vooral in Waterfront valt dat op. Op het origineel zijn het vooral de beukende gitaren die de scepter zwaaien, bij Claus en Kurt zijn het (hoe kan het ook anders) de synths, waardoor de klassieker een nieuw leven gaat leiden. Dat geldt ook voor 30 Frames A Second en Life In A Day, waardoor de Simple Minds-songs in een Leather Strip-versie bijna als Depeche Mode-songs klinken. Gedurfd, maar wat een resultaat. Over durf gesproken! Het vergt heel wat lef om onverwoestbare klassiekers als Celebrate, Love Song of I Travel naar je eigen hand te zetten, maar hoe moeilijk de opdracht ook was, wederom covers om van te genieten. Welke bands staan er nog in de wachtrij, Claus en Kurt?

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
PANTSERFABRIEK • Krachtpatser
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
PET SHOP BOYS • Super
MAD ABOUT MOUNTAINS • Radio Harlaz
MESH • Looking Skyward
BLACK MARBLE • It's Immaterial
DR. ARTHUR KRAUSE • The Only Time She Moves
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)

 

Other reviews from LEAETHER STRIP
LEAETHER STRIP • World Molæster
LEAETHER STRIP • Nothing's Impossible
LEAETHER STRIP • Talk Talk Revisited
LEAETHER STRIP • Sex Dwarf EP
LEAETHER STRIP • Seasons change - I don't

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
N3VOA • Wasted Memories
PARA NORMAL • The Cold Room
ADVANCED ART • Archive
CYFERDYNE • Keep Your Silence
OBJECT • Mechanisms Of Faith
RESTRICTED AREA • Core Excess / Underdog E.P
]CYLIX[ • Alpha

 

Same genre: EBM
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane