tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this mp3/download review

11/12/2016 : LEAETHER STRIP - Reptile Man Drop: A Tribute To Simple Minds

LEAETHER STRIP

Reptile Man Drop: A Tribute To Simple Minds

MusicMP3/Download
EBMSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[77/100]   
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course Leather Strip fans know that Kurt and Claus like to rework their favorite songs which are often from the 80s. Most of the time, the classics are treated with a contemporary electronic sound, or in other words: transformed to the Leather Strip universe. Not so long ago, the duo released some EPs featuring songs by Talk Talk and Depeche Mode. Simple Minds is next.

A wonderful choice as Simple Minds is one of the most groundbreaking bands from the 80s. It is no exaggeration to state that 80's music would have sounded completely different without the Scots.

Claus has never hidden his love for Simple Minds and Reptile Man Drop has become a tribute to Jim Kerr’s band.

You hear six songs on this EP. According to Claus your never have to try to make the original better, simply because that never works. On a cover you should treat the songs with love and put your own personality in it. That is surely why this release is another winner.

Especially on Waterfront you hear that. On the original, the pounding guitars rule, in the version of Claus and Kurt (how could it be otherwise) the synths rule, and so the song gets a brand new life. That is also the case for 30 Frames A Second and Life In A Day as these classics suddenly sound like Depeche Mode songs. Daring, but what a result!

Talking about being a daredevil! It takes a lot of guts to rework indestructible classics like Celebrate, Love Song or I Travel, but how difficult the task was, the covers are superb. Which bands are next, Kurt and Claus?

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Fans van Leather Strip weten dat Claus en Kurt ervan houden om hun lievelingssongs (die vaak uit de jaren 80 stammen) een eigentijds elektronisch kleedje te geven. Zeg maar de Leather Strip-stempel. Niet zo lang geleden verschenen er ep’s met daarop songs van Talk Talk, en nu is Simple Minds aan de beurt.

Een heerlijke keuze, want Simple Minds blijft één van de meest baanbrekende bands uit de jaren 80. Het is trouwens geen overdrijving om te stellen dat de muziek uit de jaren 80 er zonder de Schotten helemaal anders zou uitzien.

Claus heeft zijn liefde voor Simple Minds niet onder stoelen en banken gestoken en Reptile Man Drop is dan ook een eerbetoon aan de band van Jim Kerr geworden.

Je hoort zes songs. Volgens Claus moet je nooit proberen om een origineel te overtreffen (dat lukt overigens toch nooit), wel moet je de songs met liefde behandelen en je er je eigen ik in stoppen. Daar is hij op deze Simple Minds-cd weer fantastisch in geslaagd.

Vooral in Waterfront valt dat op. Op het origineel zijn het vooral de beukende gitaren die de scepter zwaaien, bij Claus en Kurt zijn het (hoe kan het ook anders) de synths, waardoor de klassieker een nieuw leven gaat leiden. Dat geldt ook voor 30 Frames A Second en Life In A Day, waardoor de Simple Minds-songs in een Leather Strip-versie bijna als Depeche Mode-songs klinken. Gedurfd, maar wat een resultaat. Over durf gesproken! Het vergt heel wat lef om onverwoestbare klassiekers als Celebrate, Love Song of I Travel naar je eigen hand te zetten, maar hoe moeilijk de opdracht ook was, wederom covers om van te genieten. Welke bands staan er nog in de wachtrij, Claus en Kurt?

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
PANTSERFABRIEK • Krachtpatser
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
PET SHOP BOYS • Super
MAD ABOUT MOUNTAINS • Radio Harlaz
MESH • Looking Skyward
BLACK MARBLE • It's Immaterial
DR. ARTHUR KRAUSE • The Only Time She Moves
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)

 

Other reviews from LEAETHER STRIP
LEAETHER STRIP • Nothing's Impossible
LEAETHER STRIP • Talk Talk Revisited
LEAETHER STRIP • Sex Dwarf EP
LEAETHER STRIP • Seasons change - I don't

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
N3VOA • Wasted Memories
PARA NORMAL • The Cold Room
ADVANCED ART • Archive
CYFERDYNE • Keep Your Silence
OBJECT • Mechanisms Of Faith
RESTRICTED AREA • Core Excess / Underdog E.P
]CYLIX[ • Alpha

 

Same genre: EBM
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
PARRALOX • Subculture
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words

Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On