tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/12/2016 : LEAETHER STRIP - Reptile Man Drop: A Tribute To Simple Minds

LEAETHER STRIP

Reptile Man Drop: A Tribute To Simple Minds

MusicDigital
EBMSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[77/100]   
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course Leather Strip fans know that Kurt and Claus like to rework their favorite songs which are often from the 80s. Most of the time, the classics are treated with a contemporary electronic sound, or in other words: transformed to the Leather Strip universe. Not so long ago, the duo released some EPs featuring songs by Talk Talk and Depeche Mode. Simple Minds is next.

A wonderful choice as Simple Minds is one of the most groundbreaking bands from the 80s. It is no exaggeration to state that 80's music would have sounded completely different without the Scots.

Claus has never hidden his love for Simple Minds and Reptile Man Drop has become a tribute to Jim Kerr’s band.

You hear six songs on this EP. According to Claus your never have to try to make the original better, simply because that never works. On a cover you should treat the songs with love and put your own personality in it. That is surely why this release is another winner.

Especially on Waterfront you hear that. On the original, the pounding guitars rule, in the version of Claus and Kurt (how could it be otherwise) the synths rule, and so the song gets a brand new life. That is also the case for 30 Frames A Second and Life In A Day as these classics suddenly sound like Depeche Mode songs. Daring, but what a result!

Talking about being a daredevil! It takes a lot of guts to rework indestructible classics like Celebrate, Love Song or I Travel, but how difficult the task was, the covers are superb. Which bands are next, Kurt and Claus?

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Fans van Leather Strip weten dat Claus en Kurt ervan houden om hun lievelingssongs (die vaak uit de jaren 80 stammen) een eigentijds elektronisch kleedje te geven. Zeg maar de Leather Strip-stempel. Niet zo lang geleden verschenen er ep’s met daarop songs van Talk Talk, en nu is Simple Minds aan de beurt.

Een heerlijke keuze, want Simple Minds blijft één van de meest baanbrekende bands uit de jaren 80. Het is trouwens geen overdrijving om te stellen dat de muziek uit de jaren 80 er zonder de Schotten helemaal anders zou uitzien.

Claus heeft zijn liefde voor Simple Minds niet onder stoelen en banken gestoken en Reptile Man Drop is dan ook een eerbetoon aan de band van Jim Kerr geworden.

Je hoort zes songs. Volgens Claus moet je nooit proberen om een origineel te overtreffen (dat lukt overigens toch nooit), wel moet je de songs met liefde behandelen en je er je eigen ik in stoppen. Daar is hij op deze Simple Minds-cd weer fantastisch in geslaagd.

Vooral in Waterfront valt dat op. Op het origineel zijn het vooral de beukende gitaren die de scepter zwaaien, bij Claus en Kurt zijn het (hoe kan het ook anders) de synths, waardoor de klassieker een nieuw leven gaat leiden. Dat geldt ook voor 30 Frames A Second en Life In A Day, waardoor de Simple Minds-songs in een Leather Strip-versie bijna als Depeche Mode-songs klinken. Gedurfd, maar wat een resultaat. Over durf gesproken! Het vergt heel wat lef om onverwoestbare klassiekers als Celebrate, Love Song of I Travel naar je eigen hand te zetten, maar hoe moeilijk de opdracht ook was, wederom covers om van te genieten. Welke bands staan er nog in de wachtrij, Claus en Kurt?

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
PANTSERFABRIEK • Krachtpatser
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
PET SHOP BOYS • Super
MAD ABOUT MOUNTAINS • Radio Harlaz
MESH • Looking Skyward
BLACK MARBLE • It's Immaterial
DR. ARTHUR KRAUSE • The Only Time She Moves
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)

 

Other reviews from LEAETHER STRIP
LEAETHER STRIP • World Molæster
LEAETHER STRIP • Nothing's Impossible
LEAETHER STRIP • Talk Talk Revisited
LEAETHER STRIP • Sex Dwarf EP
LEAETHER STRIP • Seasons change - I don't

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
N3VOA • Wasted Memories
PARA NORMAL • The Cold Room
ADVANCED ART • Archive
CYFERDYNE • Keep Your Silence
OBJECT • Mechanisms Of Faith
RESTRICTED AREA • Core Excess / Underdog E.P
]CYLIX[ • Alpha

 

Same genre: EBM
YOUR ENEMY • Broken Toys
DARKVOLT • Electric Angel
CELLDOD • Pandoras Ask
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI • ELECTRO au BNR
THE WEATHERMEN • PIAS 40
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX • PIAS40
SKINNY PUPPY • PIAS 40
BHPL • II
PLASTIKSTROM • Eskalation
ULTRA SUNN • Kill Your Idols

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality

Music reviews

10
05
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Fear And Cufre
09
05
NEL & JP
Desinterersse
07
05
DARKEST NIGHT 2024
30
04
ATTRITION
The Black Maria
26
04
HYBRYDS
Mythopia, the sequel
25
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Elysium

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 34 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 37 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
EVA X Drops Her 'Dopamine Blind' Video; A Nighttime Escape Story
08
05
44 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 46 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
05
XTR HUMAN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist, XTR Human
09
05
THE RED MOON MACABRE
Resurrected after 32 years in 2021, now very active again. Interview with Renzo Tellez, founder of the classic Goth Rock band ‘The Red Moon Macabre’.
06
05
NOW AFTER NOTHING
An Interview With Darkwave Band, NOW AFTER NOTHING
10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.

PHOTOS

14
05
CHRISTIAN DEATH
Rockpalast Bochum Matrix
16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
FRACTIONAL
Magasin4 Anderlecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
SCHWEFELGELB
Zu Zweit
17
05
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
16
05
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
15
05
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
14
05
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
13
05
MASSIVE ATTACK
Teardrop
12
05
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust