tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/12/2016 : LEAETHER STRIP - Reptile Man Drop: A Tribute To Simple Minds

LEAETHER STRIP

Reptile Man Drop: A Tribute To Simple Minds

MusicDigital
EBMSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[77/100]   
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course Leather Strip fans know that Kurt and Claus like to rework their favorite songs which are often from the 80s. Most of the time, the classics are treated with a contemporary electronic sound, or in other words: transformed to the Leather Strip universe. Not so long ago, the duo released some EPs featuring songs by Talk Talk and Depeche Mode. Simple Minds is next.

A wonderful choice as Simple Minds is one of the most groundbreaking bands from the 80s. It is no exaggeration to state that 80's music would have sounded completely different without the Scots.

Claus has never hidden his love for Simple Minds and Reptile Man Drop has become a tribute to Jim Kerr’s band.

You hear six songs on this EP. According to Claus your never have to try to make the original better, simply because that never works. On a cover you should treat the songs with love and put your own personality in it. That is surely why this release is another winner.

Especially on Waterfront you hear that. On the original, the pounding guitars rule, in the version of Claus and Kurt (how could it be otherwise) the synths rule, and so the song gets a brand new life. That is also the case for 30 Frames A Second and Life In A Day as these classics suddenly sound like Depeche Mode songs. Daring, but what a result!

Talking about being a daredevil! It takes a lot of guts to rework indestructible classics like Celebrate, Love Song or I Travel, but how difficult the task was, the covers are superb. Which bands are next, Kurt and Claus?

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Fans van Leather Strip weten dat Claus en Kurt ervan houden om hun lievelingssongs (die vaak uit de jaren 80 stammen) een eigentijds elektronisch kleedje te geven. Zeg maar de Leather Strip-stempel. Niet zo lang geleden verschenen er ep’s met daarop songs van Talk Talk, en nu is Simple Minds aan de beurt.

Een heerlijke keuze, want Simple Minds blijft één van de meest baanbrekende bands uit de jaren 80. Het is trouwens geen overdrijving om te stellen dat de muziek uit de jaren 80 er zonder de Schotten helemaal anders zou uitzien.

Claus heeft zijn liefde voor Simple Minds niet onder stoelen en banken gestoken en Reptile Man Drop is dan ook een eerbetoon aan de band van Jim Kerr geworden.

Je hoort zes songs. Volgens Claus moet je nooit proberen om een origineel te overtreffen (dat lukt overigens toch nooit), wel moet je de songs met liefde behandelen en je er je eigen ik in stoppen. Daar is hij op deze Simple Minds-cd weer fantastisch in geslaagd.

Vooral in Waterfront valt dat op. Op het origineel zijn het vooral de beukende gitaren die de scepter zwaaien, bij Claus en Kurt zijn het (hoe kan het ook anders) de synths, waardoor de klassieker een nieuw leven gaat leiden. Dat geldt ook voor 30 Frames A Second en Life In A Day, waardoor de Simple Minds-songs in een Leather Strip-versie bijna als Depeche Mode-songs klinken. Gedurfd, maar wat een resultaat. Over durf gesproken! Het vergt heel wat lef om onverwoestbare klassiekers als Celebrate, Love Song of I Travel naar je eigen hand te zetten, maar hoe moeilijk de opdracht ook was, wederom covers om van te genieten. Welke bands staan er nog in de wachtrij, Claus en Kurt?

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
PANTSERFABRIEK • Krachtpatser
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
PET SHOP BOYS • Super
MAD ABOUT MOUNTAINS • Radio Harlaz
MESH • Looking Skyward
BLACK MARBLE • It's Immaterial
DR. ARTHUR KRAUSE • The Only Time She Moves
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)

 

Other reviews from LEAETHER STRIP
LEAETHER STRIP • World Molæster
LEAETHER STRIP • Nothing's Impossible
LEAETHER STRIP • Talk Talk Revisited
LEAETHER STRIP • Sex Dwarf EP
LEAETHER STRIP • Seasons change - I don't

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
N3VOA • Wasted Memories
PARA NORMAL • The Cold Room
ADVANCED ART • Archive
CYFERDYNE • Keep Your Silence
OBJECT • Mechanisms Of Faith
RESTRICTED AREA • Core Excess / Underdog E.P
]CYLIX[ • Alpha

 

Same genre: EBM
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate

Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void