tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/12/2016 : LEAETHER STRIP - Reptile Man Drop: A Tribute To Simple Minds

LEAETHER STRIP

Reptile Man Drop: A Tribute To Simple Minds

MusicDigital
EBMSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[77/100]   
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course Leather Strip fans know that Kurt and Claus like to rework their favorite songs which are often from the 80s. Most of the time, the classics are treated with a contemporary electronic sound, or in other words: transformed to the Leather Strip universe. Not so long ago, the duo released some EPs featuring songs by Talk Talk and Depeche Mode. Simple Minds is next.

A wonderful choice as Simple Minds is one of the most groundbreaking bands from the 80s. It is no exaggeration to state that 80's music would have sounded completely different without the Scots.

Claus has never hidden his love for Simple Minds and Reptile Man Drop has become a tribute to Jim Kerr’s band.

You hear six songs on this EP. According to Claus your never have to try to make the original better, simply because that never works. On a cover you should treat the songs with love and put your own personality in it. That is surely why this release is another winner.

Especially on Waterfront you hear that. On the original, the pounding guitars rule, in the version of Claus and Kurt (how could it be otherwise) the synths rule, and so the song gets a brand new life. That is also the case for 30 Frames A Second and Life In A Day as these classics suddenly sound like Depeche Mode songs. Daring, but what a result!

Talking about being a daredevil! It takes a lot of guts to rework indestructible classics like Celebrate, Love Song or I Travel, but how difficult the task was, the covers are superb. Which bands are next, Kurt and Claus?

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Fans van Leather Strip weten dat Claus en Kurt ervan houden om hun lievelingssongs (die vaak uit de jaren 80 stammen) een eigentijds elektronisch kleedje te geven. Zeg maar de Leather Strip-stempel. Niet zo lang geleden verschenen er ep’s met daarop songs van Talk Talk, en nu is Simple Minds aan de beurt.

Een heerlijke keuze, want Simple Minds blijft één van de meest baanbrekende bands uit de jaren 80. Het is trouwens geen overdrijving om te stellen dat de muziek uit de jaren 80 er zonder de Schotten helemaal anders zou uitzien.

Claus heeft zijn liefde voor Simple Minds niet onder stoelen en banken gestoken en Reptile Man Drop is dan ook een eerbetoon aan de band van Jim Kerr geworden.

Je hoort zes songs. Volgens Claus moet je nooit proberen om een origineel te overtreffen (dat lukt overigens toch nooit), wel moet je de songs met liefde behandelen en je er je eigen ik in stoppen. Daar is hij op deze Simple Minds-cd weer fantastisch in geslaagd.

Vooral in Waterfront valt dat op. Op het origineel zijn het vooral de beukende gitaren die de scepter zwaaien, bij Claus en Kurt zijn het (hoe kan het ook anders) de synths, waardoor de klassieker een nieuw leven gaat leiden. Dat geldt ook voor 30 Frames A Second en Life In A Day, waardoor de Simple Minds-songs in een Leather Strip-versie bijna als Depeche Mode-songs klinken. Gedurfd, maar wat een resultaat. Over durf gesproken! Het vergt heel wat lef om onverwoestbare klassiekers als Celebrate, Love Song of I Travel naar je eigen hand te zetten, maar hoe moeilijk de opdracht ook was, wederom covers om van te genieten. Welke bands staan er nog in de wachtrij, Claus en Kurt?

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
PANTSERFABRIEK • Krachtpatser
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
PET SHOP BOYS • Super
MAD ABOUT MOUNTAINS • Radio Harlaz
MESH • Looking Skyward
BLACK MARBLE • It's Immaterial
DR. ARTHUR KRAUSE • The Only Time She Moves
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)

 

Other reviews from LEAETHER STRIP
LEAETHER STRIP • World Molæster
LEAETHER STRIP • Nothing's Impossible
LEAETHER STRIP • Talk Talk Revisited
LEAETHER STRIP • Sex Dwarf EP
LEAETHER STRIP • Seasons change - I don't

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
N3VOA • Wasted Memories
PARA NORMAL • The Cold Room
ADVANCED ART • Archive
CYFERDYNE • Keep Your Silence
OBJECT • Mechanisms Of Faith
RESTRICTED AREA • Core Excess / Underdog E.P
]CYLIX[ • Alpha

 

Same genre: EBM
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell