tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/01/2016 : ADVANCED ART - Archive

ADVANCED ART

Archive

MusicCD
EBMSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[87/100]   

EK Product
10/01/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Finnish EBM from the early 90s? Yes, from 1985 to 1995 Advanced Art was part of the Finnish EBM scene. The duo released two albums on Poko Records, in 1993 Product and a year later Force. Now the Italian label EK comes up with the compilation Archive.

This release includes two CDs. Forward includes 17 songs. Some are taken from the two albums, others from the two EPs Scar and Time. The second CD Backwards contains 20 tracks: demos, remixes, singles and some live recordings. A must-have for true fans, but also for EBM-lovers. Despite the fact that the tracks are more than two decades old, they still sound fantastic!

The driving force in Advanced Art is the hard straightforward percussion that is layered with fast synth sequences. Very strange, as it sounds both hard and soft. No frills, just a cold monotone sound with tight bass lines, maintaining both the harmony and melody.

From Nothing To NothingWake Up'Til I Beg For MercyNo-Answers No- SolutionsLiesFlesh, and Pretender (94 mix) are true EBM-pearls. The drum machines produce deafening rhythms from their electronic brains. This is pure EBM!

Tear Open These ScarsForce MajeureNo FutureLife Before Death tend to sound more as synthpop. My brain spontaneously thinks of Depeche Mode. Some Time and Blind have incredible hard drums, while the vocoders give it a harsh electro touch.

On the second disc (Backward) there are songs that keep you awake. I Am The Labyrinth is very hard electro. The live tracks are nice, after all a lot of people probably never got the chance to see this duo on stage. The unpolished and rough demos are worth listening to, as you notice the evolution of a track. But, it’s nothing more than that. By adding the singles, we get the chance to discover the earlier work of Advanced Art that sounds more synth pop than EBM.

Archive is a nice compilation of the (short) career of Advanced Art. Many big EBM acts saw this Finnish band as a teacher, or at least as an example! Their sound is pure, and for me it is a very nice introduction!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/01/2016


NL

Finse EBM uit de vroege jaren 90? Jawel, van 1985 tot 1995 behoorde Advanced Art tot de Finse EBM-scène. Het duo bracht op Poko Records twee albums uit: in 1993 was er Product en een jaartje later Force. Nu komt het Italiaanse EK Product met de compilatie Archive op de proppen.

Deze release bestaat uit twee cd’s. Forward telt 17 nummers met daarop een aantal uit de twee albums, alsook een selectie uit de twee ep’s Scar en Time. De tweede cd Backward telt 20 tracks. Het gaat om demo’s, remixen, singles en wat concertopnames. Een hebbeding voor de fans van het eerste uur dus, alhoewel evenzeer voor de liefhebbers van het genre. Ondanks het feit dat de tracks al meer dan twee decennia oud zijn, klinken ze verdomd lekker!

De drijvende kracht is de harde rechttoe rechtaan percussie die met snelle synthsequenties wordt besprenkeld. Heel bizar, het klinkt immers zowel hard als zacht. Geen tierelantijntjes, maar gewoon een koude monotone klank vol strakke baslijnen, met behoud van zowel harmonie als melodie.

From Nothing To Nothing, Wake Up, 'Til I Beg For Mercy, No answers-No Solutions, Lies, Flesh, en Pretender (94 mix) zijn ware EBM-parels. De drummachines jagen loeiharde ritmes uit hun elektronische brein. Dit is pure EBM! 

Tear Open These Scars, Force Majeure, No Future, Life Before Death neigen naar synthpop. Spontaan denkt mijn brein aan Depeche Mode. Some Time en Blind klinken door de ongelooflijke dreunen op de drums en de stemvervormers wat meer harshelectro-achtig.

Op het tweede schijfje (Backward) staan er nummers die je wakker houden. I Am The Labyrinth is snoeiharde elektro. De livetracks zijn leuk omdat heel wat mensen wellicht nooit de kans kregen om dit duo op een podium te zien. Ook de ongepolijste en ruwere demo’s zijn de moeite waard, op een leuke manier hoor je de evolutie die een nummer doormaakt, ook al is het niet meer dan dat. Door het toevoegen van de singles krijgen we de kans om het vroegere werk van Advanced Art te leren kennen dat veel meer synthpop dan EBM is.

Archive is een mooi overzicht van de (te korte) carrière van Advanced Art. Heel wat grote namen uit de EBM-scène zagen in deze Finse band wellicht een leermeester of ten minste een voorbeeld. Hun geluid is puur en wat mij betreft, een heel leuke kennismaking!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/01/2016


Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life