tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

23/05/2011 : RED ZEBRA - THIEVES OF SILENCE | SINT NIKLAAS | OJC KOMPAS | 21/05/2011 | So this is Belgium...

RED ZEBRA

THIEVES OF SILENCE

SINT NIKLAAS

OJC KOMPAS

21/05/2011

So this is Belgium...

Concert


[3/100]
23/05/2011, Didier BECU

Today was a very important day for Peter Slabbynck, frontman of Red Zebra as this was something like a new start for him. Here at Peek-A-Boo we want to keep things sober and what has happened between Peter and his old bandmates isn’t our issue. This is about music and that’s why we were there.

But before we switch to the post-punklegend from Brugge we first had to witness some three young boys from Brussels named Thieves Of Silence. You won’t find their name in the so called serious press but in a pure DIY-way, Paul Paccaud and his friends made it already as support for post-punk legends De Brassers and Gang Of Four. While we’re waiting for their debutalbum they can already claim that the famous cherry on this year’s cake will be an appearance at Shadowplayfestival.
Call me a fan or whatever (a groupie I’m not) but every time I see this threesome performing, I get the distinct impression that they’re getting stronger and stronger.
Bands who are playing post-punk might be hip in 2011 but here in Belgium nobody does it better than them, even much better than tons of crap that gets aired on the likes of Studio Brussel (Belgium’s so called alternative radiostation).
These youngsters share an admiration for 80’s heroes and backed with a drum machine and old synthsounds, they let you relive the finest moments of what once was known as 80’s post-punk.I once told this to Paul but he tried to deny it, Thieves Of Silence do capture the same essential sound as Wire had in the 80’s. They can deny it as much as they want, it’s a compliment and these three boys have something magical about them: everyone who saw them once, fell in love with them.If we ruled the world we would crown them as the next big thing or perhaps more: simply the big thing.

Once Red Zebra were the next big thing as well but things have changed. They had one of the most known Belgian songs ever (“I can’t live in a living room”) but how genius this song might be, it also transformed itself into a curse. Recently that same radio station we already mentioned, refused to give airplay to their newest single “No kitchen in the house”. It’s thisradiostation that keeps on playing their old hit over and over again.
Respecting your classics is a grace but it becomes quite annoying if they got stuck in the past, not?
But this is not about the short-sighted opinion from our so called progressive alternative (haha!) radiostation, this is about the future of Red Zebra.
This show was played in front of a selected few (in a manner of speaking, mind you) as this was the try out of what Red Zebra would be in the future. The day before Peter asked me to keep in mind that it is a totally new band and that it would be unfair to judge them to the previous persons who were in Red Zebra all those years ago. A very fair thing to say and what we saw at the Kompas looks more than promising. Somewhere (according to other visitors as well) we heard them as the punks they once were.
Some bands suffer from stagefright but from the very first song, Ski Patrol's “Agent Orange”, we saw a band that were confident that they will be the Red Zebra we will see in the future.
Perhaps, it’s not a bad thing to stick on the punky edge as it were songs like “I got a microphone you don’t”, “Paradise lost”, “The art of conversation” or the new single that scored best. We saw an emotional Peter on stage and as we’re used to, we got some classics like “Bela Lugosi’s dead” by Bauhaus or closing song “Digital” by Joy Division.

As said before, we don’t care about what has happened (we leave such things for the tabloids) but what we saw at the Kompas made us believe that there’s definitely some future for this Red Zebra.

Didier BECU
23/05/2011


Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
The Jesus and Mary Chain have signed to London-based independent label Fuzz Club Records.
21
01
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
'Giving Ground”…and Gaining It: The First Sisterhood Single, 36 ago, 20 January 1986
19
01
Electronic Band LUSCIOUS APPARATUS Addresses Domestic Violence With New Single, 'Infiltrate'
19
01
On this day, 31 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
20
01
FAUNLET
Anatomy
19
01
PSY'AVIAH FT MARIEKE LIGHTBAND
The Great Disconnect
18
01
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
17
01
MATT HART
Decimate
16
01
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
15
01
FATAL CASUALTIES
No Heaven