tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

23/05/2011 : RED ZEBRA - THIEVES OF SILENCE | SINT NIKLAAS | OJC KOMPAS | 21/05/2011 | So this is Belgium...

RED ZEBRA

THIEVES OF SILENCE

SINT NIKLAAS

OJC KOMPAS

21/05/2011

So this is Belgium...

Concert


[3/100]
23/05/2011, Didier BECU

Today was a very important day for Peter Slabbynck, frontman of Red Zebra as this was something like a new start for him. Here at Peek-A-Boo we want to keep things sober and what has happened between Peter and his old bandmates isn’t our issue. This is about music and that’s why we were there.

But before we switch to the post-punklegend from Brugge we first had to witness some three young boys from Brussels named Thieves Of Silence. You won’t find their name in the so called serious press but in a pure DIY-way, Paul Paccaud and his friends made it already as support for post-punk legends De Brassers and Gang Of Four. While we’re waiting for their debutalbum they can already claim that the famous cherry on this year’s cake will be an appearance at Shadowplayfestival.
Call me a fan or whatever (a groupie I’m not) but every time I see this threesome performing, I get the distinct impression that they’re getting stronger and stronger.
Bands who are playing post-punk might be hip in 2011 but here in Belgium nobody does it better than them, even much better than tons of crap that gets aired on the likes of Studio Brussel (Belgium’s so called alternative radiostation).
These youngsters share an admiration for 80’s heroes and backed with a drum machine and old synthsounds, they let you relive the finest moments of what once was known as 80’s post-punk.I once told this to Paul but he tried to deny it, Thieves Of Silence do capture the same essential sound as Wire had in the 80’s. They can deny it as much as they want, it’s a compliment and these three boys have something magical about them: everyone who saw them once, fell in love with them.If we ruled the world we would crown them as the next big thing or perhaps more: simply the big thing.

Once Red Zebra were the next big thing as well but things have changed. They had one of the most known Belgian songs ever (“I can’t live in a living room”) but how genius this song might be, it also transformed itself into a curse. Recently that same radio station we already mentioned, refused to give airplay to their newest single “No kitchen in the house”. It’s thisradiostation that keeps on playing their old hit over and over again.
Respecting your classics is a grace but it becomes quite annoying if they got stuck in the past, not?
But this is not about the short-sighted opinion from our so called progressive alternative (haha!) radiostation, this is about the future of Red Zebra.
This show was played in front of a selected few (in a manner of speaking, mind you) as this was the try out of what Red Zebra would be in the future. The day before Peter asked me to keep in mind that it is a totally new band and that it would be unfair to judge them to the previous persons who were in Red Zebra all those years ago. A very fair thing to say and what we saw at the Kompas looks more than promising. Somewhere (according to other visitors as well) we heard them as the punks they once were.
Some bands suffer from stagefright but from the very first song, Ski Patrol's “Agent Orange”, we saw a band that were confident that they will be the Red Zebra we will see in the future.
Perhaps, it’s not a bad thing to stick on the punky edge as it were songs like “I got a microphone you don’t”, “Paradise lost”, “The art of conversation” or the new single that scored best. We saw an emotional Peter on stage and as we’re used to, we got some classics like “Bela Lugosi’s dead” by Bauhaus or closing song “Digital” by Joy Division.

As said before, we don’t care about what has happened (we leave such things for the tabloids) but what we saw at the Kompas made us believe that there’s definitely some future for this Red Zebra.

Didier BECU
23/05/2011


Music reviews

13
08
KRALLICE
Mass Cathexis
09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
08
MICK HARRIS (SCORN,LULL,EX-NAPALM DEATH...)
'I still see myself as a bit of a punk...'
10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
SEPTEMBER 87
Bad Dream Baby
13
08
KING DALTON
When The Bad Is Gone
12
08
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
11
08
JACK MANIAC
No Fate
10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED