tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

23/05/2011 : RED ZEBRA - THIEVES OF SILENCE | SINT NIKLAAS | OJC KOMPAS | 21/05/2011 | So this is Belgium...

RED ZEBRA

THIEVES OF SILENCE

SINT NIKLAAS

OJC KOMPAS

21/05/2011

So this is Belgium...

Concert


[3/100]
23/05/2011, Didier BECU

Today was a very important day for Peter Slabbynck, frontman of Red Zebra as this was something like a new start for him. Here at Peek-A-Boo we want to keep things sober and what has happened between Peter and his old bandmates isn’t our issue. This is about music and that’s why we were there.

But before we switch to the post-punklegend from Brugge we first had to witness some three young boys from Brussels named Thieves Of Silence. You won’t find their name in the so called serious press but in a pure DIY-way, Paul Paccaud and his friends made it already as support for post-punk legends De Brassers and Gang Of Four. While we’re waiting for their debutalbum they can already claim that the famous cherry on this year’s cake will be an appearance at Shadowplayfestival.
Call me a fan or whatever (a groupie I’m not) but every time I see this threesome performing, I get the distinct impression that they’re getting stronger and stronger.
Bands who are playing post-punk might be hip in 2011 but here in Belgium nobody does it better than them, even much better than tons of crap that gets aired on the likes of Studio Brussel (Belgium’s so called alternative radiostation).
These youngsters share an admiration for 80’s heroes and backed with a drum machine and old synthsounds, they let you relive the finest moments of what once was known as 80’s post-punk.I once told this to Paul but he tried to deny it, Thieves Of Silence do capture the same essential sound as Wire had in the 80’s. They can deny it as much as they want, it’s a compliment and these three boys have something magical about them: everyone who saw them once, fell in love with them.If we ruled the world we would crown them as the next big thing or perhaps more: simply the big thing.

Once Red Zebra were the next big thing as well but things have changed. They had one of the most known Belgian songs ever (“I can’t live in a living room”) but how genius this song might be, it also transformed itself into a curse. Recently that same radio station we already mentioned, refused to give airplay to their newest single “No kitchen in the house”. It’s thisradiostation that keeps on playing their old hit over and over again.
Respecting your classics is a grace but it becomes quite annoying if they got stuck in the past, not?
But this is not about the short-sighted opinion from our so called progressive alternative (haha!) radiostation, this is about the future of Red Zebra.
This show was played in front of a selected few (in a manner of speaking, mind you) as this was the try out of what Red Zebra would be in the future. The day before Peter asked me to keep in mind that it is a totally new band and that it would be unfair to judge them to the previous persons who were in Red Zebra all those years ago. A very fair thing to say and what we saw at the Kompas looks more than promising. Somewhere (according to other visitors as well) we heard them as the punks they once were.
Some bands suffer from stagefright but from the very first song, Ski Patrol's “Agent Orange”, we saw a band that were confident that they will be the Red Zebra we will see in the future.
Perhaps, it’s not a bad thing to stick on the punky edge as it were songs like “I got a microphone you don’t”, “Paradise lost”, “The art of conversation” or the new single that scored best. We saw an emotional Peter on stage and as we’re used to, we got some classics like “Bela Lugosi’s dead” by Bauhaus or closing song “Digital” by Joy Division.

As said before, we don’t care about what has happened (we leave such things for the tabloids) but what we saw at the Kompas made us believe that there’s definitely some future for this Red Zebra.

Didier BECU
23/05/2011


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
10
Producer & This Mortal Coil co-founder John Fryer releases 'These Mortal Covers' LP!
28
10
43 years Never Mind The Bollocks!
28
10
On this day, 32 years ago, Front 242 released Front By Front!
24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
10
VIOLENT VICKIE
Under The Gun
29
10
STACIAN
Telephonix
28
10
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
27
10
NO MORE
Turnaround
26
10
DEVO
Beautiful World
25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit