tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

23/05/2011 : MATHON - Terrestre

MATHON

Terrestre

MusicVinyl
AmbientExperimental

[73/100]   
23/05/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Mathon, the Swiss trio composed of Pete Leuenberger, Roger Thomas Stucki & Augustini, brings a sort of experimental ambient. For this 12 " vinyl they have worked with guest musicians for every song. It is also accompanied by a DVD.

Musically the whole work drifts quietly and brings us a relaxing sort of trance. The variety of sounds constitutes a whole and works so well. Sounds that remind me of didgeridoo, violin, acoustic guitar, dripping water, rasp on a metal plate, squeezing a balloon, it might (probably) be all just imagination but the variety of accompanying sounds holds my attention.

It is not an innovative sound, but a good sound collage, which I can perfectly enjoy while reading a good book, or when looking at a slow sunset. The heavily ambient tinted piano playing reminds me rather of the easy to find, ten a penny, relaxation CDs, but the additional and more experimental sound layers still can make it interesting.

"Parsec"is the best song, for me at last, a touching song, with the combination of bubbles, bells, transformed women's voices, bizarre crackling and a quiet rippling but constructive rhythm and a multitude of inexplicable electronic sounds (why do I keep thinking about some kind of robot-frog?). Great song.

The accompanying DVD can tempt me less. The images do not fit to the music. They are indeed produced and executed beautifully (except the first, boring version of Parsec by Magdesign video), but they give little added value to the music.

A pretty album for those who prefer a semi-experimental relaxing ambient approach!

 

www.mathonmusic.ch

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


NL

Mathon, het Zwitserse trio bestaande uit Pete Leuenberger, Roger Stucki & Thomas Augustini, brengt een soort experimentele ambient. Voor deze 12” vinyl hebben ze voor elk nummer samengewerkt met gastmuzikanten & het geheel is ook nog eens vergezeld van een DVD.

Muzikaal kabbelt het geheel rustig voort en brengt het een soort van relaxerende trance teweeg. De veelvoud aan geluiden vormt een geheel en werkt zo ook. Geluiden die me doen denken aan didgeridoo, violen, akoestische gitaar, gedruppel van water, gerasp op een metalen plaat, knijpen in een ballon, het is misschien (allicht) allemaal maar verbeelding maar de veelvoud aan begeleidende geluiden houdt mijn aandacht vast.

Het is geen vernieuwend geluid, maar wel een mooie geluidscollage, die me perfect kan begeleiden bij het lezen van een mooi boek, of het genieten van een langzame zonsondergang. Het sterk ambient getinte pianospel doet me eerder denken aan wat je terug vindt op dertien-in-een-dozijn relax-cd’s, maar de bovenliggend, meer experimentele geluidslagen maken het toch boeiend.

“Parsec” is het nummer dat er voor mij uitsteekt, een aangrijpend nummer, met de combinatie van bellen, klokken, getransformeerde vrouwenstemmen, gong, bizar gekraak en een rustig voortkabbelend doch opbouwend ritme en een resem onduidbare elektronische geluiden (waarom denk ik in godsnaam aan een robot-kikker?). Prachtig nummer.

De begeleidende DVD kan me minder bekoren. De beelden passen voor mij niet bij de muziek. Ze zijn weliswaar knap in elkaar gezet (buiten de eerste, saaie versie bij Parsec door Magdesign video), maar geven me weinig toegevoegde waarde bij de muziek.

Een mooi plaatje voor zij die graag met semi-experimentele inslag relaxerende ambient horen!

www.mathonmusic.ch

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


 

Next reviews
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • The strange familiar EP
LYDIA LUNCH • 13.13
TYSKE LUDDER • Diaspora
HUMINOIDA • Whiter Album
THE EXPLODING BOY • The black album
RED ZEBRA • THIEVES OF SILENCE | SINT NIKLAAS | OJC KOMPAS | 21/05/2011 | So this is Belgium...
PETER MURPHY • Ninth
RED ZEBRA | PORTRAIT BIZARRE • No Kitchen In The House | Jesus Fell Off My Wall
UMBERTO ECO • The Prague Cemetery | De begraafplaats van Praag
]CYLIX[ • Alpha

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + EXPERIMENTAL
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MISE EN ABYME • Crimini d’Odio
THOMAS BRINKMANN • What You Hear (is what you hear)
ZONE DEMERSALE • Figura
KINGSTUX • Red & Blue
KINE • Meditations In April Green
GEORGE SARAH • Timelapse
KARSTEN PFLUM • Sleepwald
LINGOUF • Terre De Pierres
7JK • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
09
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM
Command Control
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Mag 7
26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back