tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

23/05/2011 : MATHON - Terrestre

MATHON

Terrestre

MusicVinyl
AmbientExperimental

[73/100]   
23/05/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Mathon, the Swiss trio composed of Pete Leuenberger, Roger Thomas Stucki & Augustini, brings a sort of experimental ambient. For this 12 " vinyl they have worked with guest musicians for every song. It is also accompanied by a DVD.

Musically the whole work drifts quietly and brings us a relaxing sort of trance. The variety of sounds constitutes a whole and works so well. Sounds that remind me of didgeridoo, violin, acoustic guitar, dripping water, rasp on a metal plate, squeezing a balloon, it might (probably) be all just imagination but the variety of accompanying sounds holds my attention.

It is not an innovative sound, but a good sound collage, which I can perfectly enjoy while reading a good book, or when looking at a slow sunset. The heavily ambient tinted piano playing reminds me rather of the easy to find, ten a penny, relaxation CDs, but the additional and more experimental sound layers still can make it interesting.

"Parsec"is the best song, for me at last, a touching song, with the combination of bubbles, bells, transformed women's voices, bizarre crackling and a quiet rippling but constructive rhythm and a multitude of inexplicable electronic sounds (why do I keep thinking about some kind of robot-frog?). Great song.

The accompanying DVD can tempt me less. The images do not fit to the music. They are indeed produced and executed beautifully (except the first, boring version of Parsec by Magdesign video), but they give little added value to the music.

A pretty album for those who prefer a semi-experimental relaxing ambient approach!

 

www.mathonmusic.ch

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


NL

Mathon, het Zwitserse trio bestaande uit Pete Leuenberger, Roger Stucki & Thomas Augustini, brengt een soort experimentele ambient. Voor deze 12” vinyl hebben ze voor elk nummer samengewerkt met gastmuzikanten & het geheel is ook nog eens vergezeld van een DVD.

Muzikaal kabbelt het geheel rustig voort en brengt het een soort van relaxerende trance teweeg. De veelvoud aan geluiden vormt een geheel en werkt zo ook. Geluiden die me doen denken aan didgeridoo, violen, akoestische gitaar, gedruppel van water, gerasp op een metalen plaat, knijpen in een ballon, het is misschien (allicht) allemaal maar verbeelding maar de veelvoud aan begeleidende geluiden houdt mijn aandacht vast.

Het is geen vernieuwend geluid, maar wel een mooie geluidscollage, die me perfect kan begeleiden bij het lezen van een mooi boek, of het genieten van een langzame zonsondergang. Het sterk ambient getinte pianospel doet me eerder denken aan wat je terug vindt op dertien-in-een-dozijn relax-cd’s, maar de bovenliggend, meer experimentele geluidslagen maken het toch boeiend.

“Parsec” is het nummer dat er voor mij uitsteekt, een aangrijpend nummer, met de combinatie van bellen, klokken, getransformeerde vrouwenstemmen, gong, bizar gekraak en een rustig voortkabbelend doch opbouwend ritme en een resem onduidbare elektronische geluiden (waarom denk ik in godsnaam aan een robot-kikker?). Prachtig nummer.

De begeleidende DVD kan me minder bekoren. De beelden passen voor mij niet bij de muziek. Ze zijn weliswaar knap in elkaar gezet (buiten de eerste, saaie versie bij Parsec door Magdesign video), maar geven me weinig toegevoegde waarde bij de muziek.

Een mooi plaatje voor zij die graag met semi-experimentele inslag relaxerende ambient horen!

www.mathonmusic.ch

Ward DE PRINS
23/05/2011


 

Next reviews
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • The strange familiar EP
LYDIA LUNCH • 13.13
TYSKE LUDDER • Diaspora
HUMINOIDA • Whiter Album
THE EXPLODING BOY • The black album
RED ZEBRA • THIEVES OF SILENCE | SINT NIKLAAS | OJC KOMPAS | 21/05/2011 | So this is Belgium...
PETER MURPHY • Ninth
RED ZEBRA | PORTRAIT BIZARRE • No Kitchen In The House | Jesus Fell Off My Wall
UMBERTO ECO • The Prague Cemetery | De begraafplaats van Praag
]CYLIX[ • Alpha

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + EXPERIMENTAL
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MISE EN ABYME • Crimini d’Odio
THOMAS BRINKMANN • What You Hear (is what you hear)
ZONE DEMERSALE • Figura
KINGSTUX • Red & Blue
KINE • Meditations In April Green
GEORGE SARAH • Timelapse
KARSTEN PFLUM • Sleepwald
LINGOUF • Terre De Pierres
7JK • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall