tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/05/2011 : FELIX MARC - Parallel worlds

FELIX MARC

Parallel worlds

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[71/100]   

Infacted Recordings
23/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Is there still good synthpop being made these days? Well, seeing the huge amount of garbage we get it’s quite difficult to answer this in a positive way but luckily enough for us it are always those exceptions to the rule.

We’re not telling you that Felix Marc (known from Diorama and Frozen Plasma) is doing something new but at least he has the talent to pen down a tune that sticks in the head. So yes, this is definitely more than just someone who is satisfied by sounding like some inferior Depeche Mode.

"Parallel worlds" is the following up from "Pathways" that got released in 2008.

The nice thing about this man is that he manages to combine his synthsound with some critical eye towards our society.

Besides, to quote Depeche Mode again. Just like them, Felix Marc likes to give his synthpop tunes quite contemporary sound, which sometimes results in a futurepopthing like "Moscow Paris".

"Parallell worlds" is a very nice synthpop record and as most of these records seem to have the obligatory cover from the 80’s, Felix chooses for "Mystify" from INXS on here.

And are there any good synthpop albums being made these days? Of course….

Didier BECU
23/05/2011


NL

Wordt er nog goede synhtpop gemaakt? Rekening houdend met de hoge dosis rommel die we de laatste tijd te horen kregen, zouden we eerder twijfelachtig staan tegenover een positief antwoord maar gelukkig zijn het zoals steeds de uitzonderingen die de regel bevestigen.

Niet dat deze Felix Marc (bekend van Diorama en Frozen Plasma) ook maar iets nieuws doet, maar hij bezit tenminste wel het fijne talent om een song neer te pennen die memorabel is. En neen, het is meer dan zomaar een inferieur doorslagje van Depeche Mode.

"Parallel worlds" is na zijn in 2008 verschenen debuut "Pathways" de tweede uit Felix’s carriere geworden.

Het leuke aan diens muziek is trouwens dat hij naast catchy songs,zijn lichtvoetige synthpop ook nog mooi weet te omkleden met een gezonde portie maatschappijkritiek.

Trouwens, om nog maar eens Depeche Mode aan te halen: net als de beroemde synthpoppers verkiest Felix Marc het om zijn popdeuntjes van een hedendaags geluid te voorzien, waarbij een nummer als "Moscow Paris" zelfs futurepopneigingen krijgt.

Een synthpopplaat dus om u tegen te zeggen en omdat die dingen meestal een cover uit de 80’s bevatten is dat in het geval van deze "Parallell worlds" "Mystify" van INXS geworden.

En, worden er nu vandaag nog goede synthpop platen gemaakt? Natuurlijk...

Didier BECU
23/05/2011


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis