tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

23/08/2019 : PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 - Harbringer

PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1

Harbringer

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Dark ElectroEBMElectro

[83/100]   

Digital World Audio
23/08/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

These gentlemen of Preemptive Strike 0.1 are coming from the Greek island Crete. Founded in 2002 with the mission to deliver powerful, melodic EBM while not shying away from giving Eastern elements and traditional Greek instruments a place in their compositions. They even have sometimes recording-sessions with musicians from the metal scene and meanwhile released seven full-length albums, three EPs and one 7".

This is their latest work, the EP Harbringer, released by Digital World Audio. It is immediately clear: the danceable factor is fully present. The first song 'Harbringer' is dark electro with strong beats, distorted vocals - which immediately adds the necessary aggression - and is reminiscent of the music of acts such as Hocico.

'Somatic Mutations Respawn' shifts some gears down, but remains edgy enough to stick on you. 'Teratogenesis' has a rather old-school EBM content. The repetitive stomping goes through the melody and is peppered with other electronics, but remains rather straight forward. The aggression and tension in the vocals remain of an unprecedented high level.

'The Era Of Entomocracy' is already the last song on this EP and has again a solid electro base, without being extremely of the foreground. A danceable track from start to finish.

Conclusion: Its about time these guys make the crossing from Crete to our regions. It's a genre that works very well in Germany but still deserves more attention in our little Belgium. So I wish...

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
23/08/2019


NL

Ze komen van het Griekse eiland Kreta, de heerschappen van Preemptive Strike 0.1 In 2002 opgericht met als missie het afleveren van krachtige, melodieuze EBM. En daarbij schuwen ze niet om oosterse elementen en traditionele Griekse instrumenten een plaats te geven in hun muziek. En ze gaan al eens opnemen met muzikanten die uit de metalscène komen. Ze brachten al 7 volwaardige albums, drie EP’s en een 7” uit. Hun nieuwste release is hun EP Harbringer, die verschijnt op Digital World Audio.

Het is meteen duidelijk: het dansbare is volmondig aanwezig. Harbringer is dark electro met stevige beats, stem met distortie -dewelke het geheel meteen de nodige agressie meegeeft- en het neigt naar de muziek van grootheden zoals Hocico.
Somatic Mutations Respawn schakelt een aantal versnellingen lager qua tempo, maar blijft scherp genoeg om te beklijven. Teratogenesis heeft een eerder oldschool EBM gehalte. Het repetitief stompende in de melodie wordt doorspekt met andere electro, maar blijft toch vrij hoekig. De agressie in de zang blijft van een ongekend hoog niveau.
The Era Of Entomocracy is de laatste song op deze EP. Dit nummer heeft weer een stevige electro-basis, zonder extreem hard te zijn. Dansbaar van begin tot einde.

Conclusie: tijd dat ze eens de oversteek maken van Kreta naar onze contreien. In een genre dat het in het buitenland nog wel doet, maar in Belgenlandje meer plaats zou mogen krijgen. I wish….

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
23/08/2019


 

Next reviews
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
LES NEGRESSES VERTES • Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
AUGER • From Now On I
XTORT • Nothing is real
LORD OF THE LOST • 'Till death do us part

 

Other reviews from PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM + ELECTRO
MILDREDA • I was never really there
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DECODED FEEDBACK • Dark Passenger
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil
FORMSHIFT FT. NEON ELECTRONICS • Crash/Overtime
ENTRZELLE, STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER, THE PSYCHIC FORCE, XMH, ZOMBIE GIRL • EP
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL • Germany (2015)

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul

 

Same genre: EBM
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
JIHAD • Retrospekt
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day
19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us