tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

23/08/2019 : PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 - Harbringer

PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1

Harbringer

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Dark ElectroEBMElectro

[83/100]   

Digital World Audio
23/08/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

These gentlemen of Preemptive Strike 0.1 are coming from the Greek island Crete. Founded in 2002 with the mission to deliver powerful, melodic EBM while not shying away from giving Eastern elements and traditional Greek instruments a place in their compositions. They even have sometimes recording-sessions with musicians from the metal scene and meanwhile released seven full-length albums, three EPs and one 7".

This is their latest work, the EP Harbringer, released by Digital World Audio. It is immediately clear: the danceable factor is fully present. The first song 'Harbringer' is dark electro with strong beats, distorted vocals - which immediately adds the necessary aggression - and is reminiscent of the music of acts such as Hocico.

'Somatic Mutations Respawn' shifts some gears down, but remains edgy enough to stick on you. 'Teratogenesis' has a rather old-school EBM content. The repetitive stomping goes through the melody and is peppered with other electronics, but remains rather straight forward. The aggression and tension in the vocals remain of an unprecedented high level.

'The Era Of Entomocracy' is already the last song on this EP and has again a solid electro base, without being extremely of the foreground. A danceable track from start to finish.

Conclusion: Its about time these guys make the crossing from Crete to our regions. It's a genre that works very well in Germany but still deserves more attention in our little Belgium. So I wish...

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
23/08/2019


NL

Ze komen van het Griekse eiland Kreta, de heerschappen van Preemptive Strike 0.1 In 2002 opgericht met als missie het afleveren van krachtige, melodieuze EBM. En daarbij schuwen ze niet om oosterse elementen en traditionele Griekse instrumenten een plaats te geven in hun muziek. En ze gaan al eens opnemen met muzikanten die uit de metalscène komen. Ze brachten al 7 volwaardige albums, drie EP’s en een 7” uit. Hun nieuwste release is hun EP Harbringer, die verschijnt op Digital World Audio.

Het is meteen duidelijk: het dansbare is volmondig aanwezig. Harbringer is dark electro met stevige beats, stem met distortie -dewelke het geheel meteen de nodige agressie meegeeft- en het neigt naar de muziek van grootheden zoals Hocico.
Somatic Mutations Respawn schakelt een aantal versnellingen lager qua tempo, maar blijft scherp genoeg om te beklijven. Teratogenesis heeft een eerder oldschool EBM gehalte. Het repetitief stompende in de melodie wordt doorspekt met andere electro, maar blijft toch vrij hoekig. De agressie in de zang blijft van een ongekend hoog niveau.
The Era Of Entomocracy is de laatste song op deze EP. Dit nummer heeft weer een stevige electro-basis, zonder extreem hard te zijn. Dansbaar van begin tot einde.

Conclusie: tijd dat ze eens de oversteek maken van Kreta naar onze contreien. In een genre dat het in het buitenland nog wel doet, maar in Belgenlandje meer plaats zou mogen krijgen. I wish….

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
23/08/2019


 

Next reviews
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
LES NEGRESSES VERTES • Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
AUGER • From Now On I
XTORT • Nothing is real
LORD OF THE LOST • 'Till death do us part

 

Other reviews from PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM + ELECTRO
MILDREDA • I was never really there
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DECODED FEEDBACK • Dark Passenger
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil
FORMSHIFT FT. NEON ELECTRONICS • Crash/Overtime
ENTRZELLE, STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER, THE PSYCHIC FORCE, XMH, ZOMBIE GIRL • EP
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL • Germany (2015)

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files

 

Same genre: EBM
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
JIHAD • Retrospekt
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)