tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THYX - Headless

THYX

Headless

MusicCD
Electro PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[81/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

It’s always a bonus if an album starts with a hell of a song, and that’s exactly how to describe Not My Deal. It’s a weird track that comes close to a synthetic version of prog rock, but with an irresistible synth pop melody that will move you to tears. The only factor you need to accept to enjoy it, is the fact that it’s sung with a vocoder. We already can see some fans laughing, as Thyx is indeed the side-project of Stefan Poiss Markus who is the mastermind of mind.in.a.box: the techno pop band which made a trademark of its vocoder use. And yes, you get these vocoders on almost every Thyx-track as well, and it works!

Don’t Get Alive is a futuristic song that halfway gets a seductive Kraftwerk-pattern. Call it future pop or whatever, we just stick to the terms of enchanting music which throws its arms around your soul.

Headless is a bit different, simply because the industrial Laibach-like approach gives it an aggressive touch. No worries if this is not what you have in mind as the pounding beats last for a few minutes only. Soon after Doomed breaks your heart (again). The vocoders dominate the song, and although it’s not that easy to find a proper description for this Gothic Eurodisco (ha!), I guess at the end of the day it will please Pet Shop Boys-fans who except a dark touch.

Gravity has, just as the title suggest, a spacey atmosphere. The song gives you the feeling like if you’re drifting among the stars, staring into the big nothing, the feeling of being indestructible and being lost at the same time. Superb!

Talking about space! A.I. has the sort of beginning that comes straight out of Spiral by Vangelis. Even if some people will raise their eyebrows for saying it, Pink Floyd is not that far away.

Thyx also pleases the fan of danceable synth pop. The best the band has to offer is Forgotten II : a high rhythm, the beats are what you actually call beats and all Thyx demands is to follow your body, the music will do the rest.

There’s definitely an 80s-element in Thyx, even a bit cheesy at times, but it never fails. For some strange reasons, The Phial would fit perfect on the Footloose-soundtrack. And okay, it’s maybe not exactly the most hip example to come up with, at least they knew how to write tunes then, and so does Thyx.

An album that’s surely recommended if you like mind.in.a.box, or if you don’t know them: Headless is worth giving a try if you want something completely very different!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
BLACK MOUNTAIN • IV
AUTOGEN • Antigen
SIEGFRIED K • Part II
AXIOME • L’avenir est un cerf teint
OPPENHEIMER MKII • Another Nightmare
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
CLAUDIA BRUCKEN • Combined
GARBAGE • Strange Little Birds

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO POP + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
CHROM • Peak And Decay
THE SWEETEST CONDITION • Edge Of The World
BEBORN BETON • A Worthy Compensation
BLUTENGEL • Asche zu Asche
PSY'AVIAH • The Xenogamous Endeavour
TECHNOMANCER • D-MN

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On

Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover