tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : GARBAGE - Strange Little Birds

GARBAGE

Strange Little Birds

MusicCD
Indie

[88/100]   

Stun Volume
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

What do we still know about Garbage? Well, the group made many unforgettable songs (I Think I'm Paranoid to name one). Of course Garbage was built around super producer Butch Vig, who gave himself a statue by producing Nevermind by Nirvana. But let's be honest, it was also the band with a front woman who gave many young guys wet pants.

Four years ago Garbage released the album Not Your Kind Of People, and even the biggest fans lost a lot of enthusiasm then. But now there is a new one and, according to Shirley Manson you won’t doubt one second: Strange Little Birds is at least as good as the debut album from 1995 which everyone has in his collection.

Indeed, a better way to promote your sixth album isn’t possible. And yet, after listening it appears like if pretty Shirley is right! And that without too much effort, because Shirley Manson, Duke Erikson, Steve Marker and Butch Vig don’t think it’s necessary to reinvent themselves, they just follow the road they took in 1995. Nothing more. People who are keen on criticism, can start by saying Strange Little Birds doesn’t offer anything new. Perhaps true, but you can block their mouths by saying this is indie pop of the highest level.

Just as they did twenty years ago, the Americans make alternative pop with a high Gothic content. Even though the songs are easy to sing along, the mystical (say erotic) voice of Shirley makes the music a tad black. Beautiful examples are Empty or Blackout, which could have been on the classic Version 2.0.

On the fantastic If I Lost You and Night Drive Loneliness the band experiments with electronics that is linked with Massive Attack’s later work. A song that has a title like Eventhough Our Love Is Doomed need not many explanations: a menacing background noise and Shirley who sounds as Kaa (the tempting, but dangerous serpent Mowgli met during his jungle adventure). Sublime, and probably the best Garbage song in years! And the magic does not stop, the melody of Magnetized sounds somewhat familiar, but it is at least as good as Only Happy When It Rains.

This brilliant band is still able to compose tracks that stick in your head, even though they’re sometimes bombastic (We Never Tell or So We Can Stay Alive). Garbage is back, although they probably will not win any new fans with Strange Little Birds. But then again...

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Wat herinneren we ons nog van Garbage? Wel, een band die heel wat onvergetelijke songs leverde (I Think I’m Paranoid om er maar eentje aan te halen). Ook was het natuurlijk de groep waarin superproducer Butch Vig zat, en met de productie van Nevermind van Nirvana zichzelf een standbeeld schonk. Maar laten we vooral eerlijk blijven, het was ook de formatie met een frontvrouw die menig jonge kerels een natte broek bezorgde.

Vier jaar geleden verscheen het album Not Your Kind Of People, en zelfs de allergrootste fans waren op dat moment heel wat enthousiasme kwijt. Maar nu is er de nieuwe, en volgens Shirley Manson dien je er geen seconde aan te twijfelen: Strange Little Birds is minstens even goed als het debuut uit 1995 dat iedereen wel in zijn collectie heeft.

Inderdaad, betere promopraat kun je voor je zesde plaat niet verzinnen. En toch, na de beluistering ervan blijkt mooie Shirley nog gelijk te hebben ook! Zonder veel moeite, want Shirley Manson, Duke Erikson, Steve Marker en Butch Vig hebben niet de minste inspanning geleverd om zichzelf her uit te vinden, maar gewoon de weg van 1995 blijven volgen. Meer niet. Mensen die graag op alles en nog wat kritiek hebben, kunnen dan ook brandhout maken van Strange Little Birds door te stellen dat deze nieuwe plaat niks nieuws biedt. Zonder veel moeite kun je hun wel het deksel op de neus duwen: dit is namelijk indiepop van het allerhoogste niveau.

Net zoals ze dat twintig jaar geleden deden, maken deze Amerikanen alternatieve pop met een hoog gothicgehalte. Ook al zijn de liedjes meezingbaar, zoals steeds gemakkelijk verteerbaar, zorgt de mystieke (zeg maar erotische) stem van Shirley ervoor dat de muziek een tikkeltje zwart blinkt. Mooie voorbeelden hiervan zijn Empty of Blackout, die even goed op de klassieker Version 2.0 konden staan.

In het fantastische If I Lost You en Night Drive Loneliness jongleert de band met aangename elektronica die nauw bij het latere werk van Massive Attack aanleunt. Een song met een titel als Even Though Our Love Is Doomed hoeft geen woord uitleg, dreigende achtergrondgeluiden en met een Shirley die even verleidelijk (maar tevens gevaarlijk) als Kaa klinkt, de slang die Mowgli tijdens zijn jungleavontuur ontmoette. Subliem, en waarschijnlijk het beste Garbage-nummer in jaren! En de magie houdt maar niet op, het melodietje van Magnetized klinkt wel wat bekend in de oren, toch is het minstens even straf als Only Happy When It Rains.

Rimpeltjes zijn er wel bijgekomen, toch staat Garbage er opnieuw, hoewel hun dit waarschijnlijk maar weinig moeite heeft gekost. Garbage is immers nog altijd die briljante band gebleven die tracks kan componeren die in je hoofd blijven hangen, ook al maken ze het soms wat bombastisch (We Never Tell of So We Can Stay Alive). Garbage is terug, ofschoon ze wellicht geen nieuwe fans met Strange Little Birds zullen winnen.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas, Mr Lawrence
23
09
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
22
09
BLACK LINE
Snap
21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6