tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : GARBAGE - Strange Little Birds

GARBAGE

Strange Little Birds

MusicCD
Indie

[88/100]   

Stun Volume
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

What do we still know about Garbage? Well, the group made many unforgettable songs (I Think I'm Paranoid to name one). Of course Garbage was built around super producer Butch Vig, who gave himself a statue by producing Nevermind by Nirvana. But let's be honest, it was also the band with a front woman who gave many young guys wet pants.

Four years ago Garbage released the album Not Your Kind Of People, and even the biggest fans lost a lot of enthusiasm then. But now there is a new one and, according to Shirley Manson you won’t doubt one second: Strange Little Birds is at least as good as the debut album from 1995 which everyone has in his collection.

Indeed, a better way to promote your sixth album isn’t possible. And yet, after listening it appears like if pretty Shirley is right! And that without too much effort, because Shirley Manson, Duke Erikson, Steve Marker and Butch Vig don’t think it’s necessary to reinvent themselves, they just follow the road they took in 1995. Nothing more. People who are keen on criticism, can start by saying Strange Little Birds doesn’t offer anything new. Perhaps true, but you can block their mouths by saying this is indie pop of the highest level.

Just as they did twenty years ago, the Americans make alternative pop with a high Gothic content. Even though the songs are easy to sing along, the mystical (say erotic) voice of Shirley makes the music a tad black. Beautiful examples are Empty or Blackout, which could have been on the classic Version 2.0.

On the fantastic If I Lost You and Night Drive Loneliness the band experiments with electronics that is linked with Massive Attack’s later work. A song that has a title like Eventhough Our Love Is Doomed need not many explanations: a menacing background noise and Shirley who sounds as Kaa (the tempting, but dangerous serpent Mowgli met during his jungle adventure). Sublime, and probably the best Garbage song in years! And the magic does not stop, the melody of Magnetized sounds somewhat familiar, but it is at least as good as Only Happy When It Rains.

This brilliant band is still able to compose tracks that stick in your head, even though they’re sometimes bombastic (We Never Tell or So We Can Stay Alive). Garbage is back, although they probably will not win any new fans with Strange Little Birds. But then again...

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Wat herinneren we ons nog van Garbage? Wel, een band die heel wat onvergetelijke songs leverde (I Think I’m Paranoid om er maar eentje aan te halen). Ook was het natuurlijk de groep waarin superproducer Butch Vig zat, en met de productie van Nevermind van Nirvana zichzelf een standbeeld schonk. Maar laten we vooral eerlijk blijven, het was ook de formatie met een frontvrouw die menig jonge kerels een natte broek bezorgde.

Vier jaar geleden verscheen het album Not Your Kind Of People, en zelfs de allergrootste fans waren op dat moment heel wat enthousiasme kwijt. Maar nu is er de nieuwe, en volgens Shirley Manson dien je er geen seconde aan te twijfelen: Strange Little Birds is minstens even goed als het debuut uit 1995 dat iedereen wel in zijn collectie heeft.

Inderdaad, betere promopraat kun je voor je zesde plaat niet verzinnen. En toch, na de beluistering ervan blijkt mooie Shirley nog gelijk te hebben ook! Zonder veel moeite, want Shirley Manson, Duke Erikson, Steve Marker en Butch Vig hebben niet de minste inspanning geleverd om zichzelf her uit te vinden, maar gewoon de weg van 1995 blijven volgen. Meer niet. Mensen die graag op alles en nog wat kritiek hebben, kunnen dan ook brandhout maken van Strange Little Birds door te stellen dat deze nieuwe plaat niks nieuws biedt. Zonder veel moeite kun je hun wel het deksel op de neus duwen: dit is namelijk indiepop van het allerhoogste niveau.

Net zoals ze dat twintig jaar geleden deden, maken deze Amerikanen alternatieve pop met een hoog gothicgehalte. Ook al zijn de liedjes meezingbaar, zoals steeds gemakkelijk verteerbaar, zorgt de mystieke (zeg maar erotische) stem van Shirley ervoor dat de muziek een tikkeltje zwart blinkt. Mooie voorbeelden hiervan zijn Empty of Blackout, die even goed op de klassieker Version 2.0 konden staan.

In het fantastische If I Lost You en Night Drive Loneliness jongleert de band met aangename elektronica die nauw bij het latere werk van Massive Attack aanleunt. Een song met een titel als Even Though Our Love Is Doomed hoeft geen woord uitleg, dreigende achtergrondgeluiden en met een Shirley die even verleidelijk (maar tevens gevaarlijk) als Kaa klinkt, de slang die Mowgli tijdens zijn jungleavontuur ontmoette. Subliem, en waarschijnlijk het beste Garbage-nummer in jaren! En de magie houdt maar niet op, het melodietje van Magnetized klinkt wel wat bekend in de oren, toch is het minstens even straf als Only Happy When It Rains.

Rimpeltjes zijn er wel bijgekomen, toch staat Garbage er opnieuw, hoewel hun dit waarschijnlijk maar weinig moeite heeft gekost. Garbage is immers nog altijd die briljante band gebleven die tracks kan componeren die in je hoofd blijven hangen, ook al maken ze het soms wat bombastisch (We Never Tell of So We Can Stay Alive). Garbage is terug, ofschoon ze wellicht geen nieuwe fans met Strange Little Birds zullen winnen.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
11
FILTER
Hey Man, Nice Shot
20
11
COLD CAVE
Villains Of The Moon
19
11
HYPERMOND.
Double
19
11
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON:
Caught In Winters Weave
19
11
NITZER EBB
Llive at Kulttempel in Oberhausen, Germany - 15.11.2019
18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other