tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/12/2016 : SAMARIS - Antwerp, Trix (15/06/2016)

SAMARIS

Antwerp, Trix (15/06/2016)

Concert
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

An evening of fragile pop, that’s probably the best way to describe the gig in Antwerp last Wednesday. The support act was an international collective from Brussels, the headliner one of the leading bands of the Icelandic electro scene.

Lomboy is the side project of the Austrian Tanja Frinta of Lonely Drifter Karen. This band is almost ten years on Crammed Discs and you can hear that in the music of Lomboy. Everything is wrong (but in the good sense of the word), as both hairstyles and outfits make you think of 1983. Tanja is dressed as an air hostess, while the rest of the band looks as a rock band of the 80s on the cover of some teen mag. The music is just what you make of it. One will hear influences from Les Disques du Crepuscule (think Mikado or Isabelle Antenna), others will see this sugar-sweet pop (they even use the back of irons as percussion instruments!) as a version of The Cardigans with surf guitars. Whatever you think of it, for half an hour the venue was transformed into an azure Hawaiian beach.

Samaris also sounds bitter sweet, but with a completely different concept. The promotional staff of the Antwerp venue hit the nail on the head by recommending this concert to Björk fans, but front woman Jófríður Ákadóttir (the names are not that simple!) is more than just a copy of the Icelandic star.

After a long bus trip, the trio was tired, but it started the set with great enthusiasm by playing a cover of Mum. An Icelandic band we must discover, said Jófríður. Not very surprising, as Gunnar Tynes helped Samaris during the very first recordings. The combination of a heavenly voice, a clarinet (Áslaug Rún Magnúsdóttir) and danceable electronics (Kári Steinþórsson) sounds utterly impossible, unless you’re Samaris.

Perhaps it is typical for Icelanders, but the charming English of Jófríður sounded very funny. An ideal interlude (as well as the birthday song for the sound engineer, sung by the audience) for the fairytale electropop that is somewhere between Sigur Rós and Röyksopp. Quite easy to digest, but every note is an intelligent one!

Besides playing a few classics (one featured an Icelandic poem about a governor who is an alcoholic), the majority of the set was taken from the new record Black Lights, which they rehearsed while touring. Not that we noticed any difference. The gig had an intense beauty we actually do not see enough. Mission accomplished, although it could have lasted a little longer.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Een avondje fragiele pop, zo kon je het best het aardig gevulde onderonsje in de Trix omschrijven. Het voorprogramma was een internationaal collectief uit Brussel, de hoofdact één van de toonaangevende bands uit de IJslandse elektroscène.

Lomboy is het zijproject van de Oostenrijkse Tanja Frinta van Lonely Drifter Karen. Deze band zit al bijna tien jaar op Crammed Discs en dat hoor je aan Lomboy. Alles is fout (maar dan wel in de goede zin van het woord), zowel de kapsels als de outfits doen je aan 1983 denken. Tanja is gekleed als airhostess, de rest van de band als een popgroep die in de jaren 80 de cover van de Joepie sierde. De muziek is maar hoe je het bekijkt. De ene zal er invloeden van Les Disques Du Crépuscule in horen (denk aan Mikado of Isabelle Antenna), de andere zal deze zeemzoete pop (ze gebruiken zelfs strijkijzers als slaginstrument!) gewoon als een flauwe versie van The Cardigans met surfgitaren beschouwen. Wat je er ook van denkt, de Trix werd er toch voor een halfuurtje tot een azuurblauw Hawaiiaans strand door omgetoverd.

Minstens even suikerachtig, doch met een volledig ander concept, klinkt Samaris. De mensen van de Trix sloegen de nagel op de kop door dit concert aan te raden voor Björk-fans, toch is frontvrouw Jófríður Ákadóttir (eenvoudig zijn de namen niet!) meer dan zo maar een doorslagje van de IJslandse ster.

Het trio was na een lange busreis wel wat vermoeid, maar begon met veel enthousiasme het concert met een cover van Mum. Een band die we volgens Jófríður absoluut dienen te ontdekken. Zeer verwonderlijk is dat niet, Gunnar Tynes hielp mee aan de allereerste opnames van deze IJslandse muzikanten. De combinatie van een hemelse stem, klarinet (Áslaug Rún Magnúsdóttir) en dansbare elektronica (Kári Steinþórsson) klinkt wel volslagen onmogelijk, maar dat is wel buiten Samaris gerekend.

Misschien is het typisch voor IJslanders, maar het charmante Engels van Jófríður klonk zeer grappig. Een ideale afwisseling (alsook een door de zaal meegebruld verjaardaglied voor de geluidstechnieker) voor de sprookjesachtige elektropop die zich ergens tussen Sigur Rós en Röyksopp bevindt. Uiterst toegankelijk, maar over iedere noot is er zeer goed nagedacht!

Naast het spelen van een paar klassiekers (zo was er eentje met een IJslands gedicht over een gouverneur die aan de drank zit), kwam het overgrote deel van de set uit de nieuwe plaat Black Lights, die de drie tijdens het toeren hadden ingestudeerd. Niet dat we daar ook maar iets van merkten. Het optreden was braaf, maar bezat een intense schoonheid zoals we eigenlijk veel te weinig zien. Missie geslaagd, ook al had het best wat langer mogen duren.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa