tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/01/2016 : EMBASSY OF SILENCE - Verisimilitude

EMBASSY OF SILENCE

Verisimilitude

MusicCD
MetalProgSymphonic Metal

[76/100]   

Inverse Records
02/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Some releases reach us a bit later than others. This album by Embassy Of Silence was released at the end of August, but we think it’s still worthwhile to say something about it.

These Finns make female fronted metal rock with a progressive and symphonic touch. Perhaps you think of bands like Epica and Within Temptation, but that’s not exactly how you have to categorize them. In 2007 Ines Lukkanen was a guest singer with Saattue, she has a strong voice that sounds more rock.

The songs are well constructed, albeit a little bit too predictable. A perfect example is the opener Shame, Spin & Click.Timble is a ballad that reminds me of Nightwish. Absurdoscope has an interesting guitar riff with beautiful keyboards.

Flamer is characterized by some flamenco influences. The chorus is a bit too ordinary to my taste, although it remains one of the better songs. Moths begins with atmospheric synths and guitars, but after a while you hear a Hank Marvin-like guitar riff (you know, that guy of The Shadows!). Ines' voice is different here than on the previous tracks, while the chorus sounds very much like Within Temptation, complemented with a razor sharp guitar solo. Perhaps, a not so typical song, nevertheless one of my favourites.

Of Matters And The Dark Energy can tempt me as well. However, Ines uses the high voice here, and that’s not exactly her forte, although there are some nice elements in this track like the violin. Dear Mr. Steele is a tribute to the deceased singer of Type O Negative.

When you see the cover, you suspect that this album will be goth metal, but musically they have more in common with symphonic and progressive metal.

Wim GUILLEMYN
02/01/2016


NL

Sommige releases bereiken ons wat later dan andere. Dit album van Embassy Of Silence kwam eind augustus uit, toch loont het de moeite om er het één en ander over te vertellen.

Deze Finnen maken female fronted metalrock met een progressieve en symfonische inslag. Misschien denk je meteen aan bands als Epica en Within Temptation, toch moeten we dit idee wat afzwakken. Ines Lukkanen, die in 2007 nog gastzangeres bij Saattue was, heeft een sterke stem die meer rockt en minder de hogere regionen opzoekt dan de eerder aangehaalde voorbeelden.

De songs zijn vakkundig gemaakt. Soms een beetje voorspelbaar, zoals bijv. de opener Shame, Spin & Click.Timble, een ballade die wat aan Nightwish doet denken. Een mooi uitgewerkte song. Absurdoscope heeft een lekker vette riff met mooie keyboards. De zang begint met een weids effect, maar evolueert tijdens het refrein naar rock. Sterk nummer.

Flamer valt op door de korte flamenco-achtige overgang. Het refrein is wat te gewoon, toch is het één van de betere nummers. Moths begint heel sfeerrijk met synths en gitaar. Een Hank Marvin-achtige (je weet wel, The Shadows) gitaarriedel trekt daarna het nummer op gang. De stem van Ines klinkt hier anders dan op de vorige nummers. Het refrein kon zo uit de Within Temptation-stal komen. Een snedige gitaarsolo sluit het nummer af. Misschien een atypisch nummer, desalniettemin toch één van mijn favorieten. Ook het donkere Of Matters And Dark Energy kan mij bekoren. De hoge zangstem vind ik wat minder geslaagd. Het is nu eenmaal niet haar sterkste kant, ofschoon er leuke elementen in het nummer zitten, zoals bijv. de viool. Dear Mr. Steele is een ode aan de overleden zanger van Type o Negative, ook al merk je daar in de song niets van.

Als je de hoes ziet zou je vermoeden dat het om gothmetal gaat, maar muzikaal hebben ze meer gemeen met symfonische en progressieve metal.

Wim GUILLEMYN
02/01/2016


02/01/2016 : EMBASSY OF SILENCE - Verisimilitude 02/01/2016 : EMBASSY OF SILENCE - Verisimilitude

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995