tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/01/2016 : EMBASSY OF SILENCE - Verisimilitude

EMBASSY OF SILENCE

Verisimilitude

MusicCD
MetalProgSymphonic Metal

[76/100]   

Inverse Records
02/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Some releases reach us a bit later than others. This album by Embassy Of Silence was released at the end of August, but we think it’s still worthwhile to say something about it.

These Finns make female fronted metal rock with a progressive and symphonic touch. Perhaps you think of bands like Epica and Within Temptation, but that’s not exactly how you have to categorize them. In 2007 Ines Lukkanen was a guest singer with Saattue, she has a strong voice that sounds more rock.

The songs are well constructed, albeit a little bit too predictable. A perfect example is the opener Shame, Spin & Click.Timble is a ballad that reminds me of Nightwish. Absurdoscope has an interesting guitar riff with beautiful keyboards.

Flamer is characterized by some flamenco influences. The chorus is a bit too ordinary to my taste, although it remains one of the better songs. Moths begins with atmospheric synths and guitars, but after a while you hear a Hank Marvin-like guitar riff (you know, that guy of The Shadows!). Ines' voice is different here than on the previous tracks, while the chorus sounds very much like Within Temptation, complemented with a razor sharp guitar solo. Perhaps, a not so typical song, nevertheless one of my favourites.

Of Matters And The Dark Energy can tempt me as well. However, Ines uses the high voice here, and that’s not exactly her forte, although there are some nice elements in this track like the violin. Dear Mr. Steele is a tribute to the deceased singer of Type O Negative.

When you see the cover, you suspect that this album will be goth metal, but musically they have more in common with symphonic and progressive metal.

Wim GUILLEMYN
02/01/2016


NL

Sommige releases bereiken ons wat later dan andere. Dit album van Embassy Of Silence kwam eind augustus uit, toch loont het de moeite om er het één en ander over te vertellen.

Deze Finnen maken female fronted metalrock met een progressieve en symfonische inslag. Misschien denk je meteen aan bands als Epica en Within Temptation, toch moeten we dit idee wat afzwakken. Ines Lukkanen, die in 2007 nog gastzangeres bij Saattue was, heeft een sterke stem die meer rockt en minder de hogere regionen opzoekt dan de eerder aangehaalde voorbeelden.

De songs zijn vakkundig gemaakt. Soms een beetje voorspelbaar, zoals bijv. de opener Shame, Spin & Click.Timble, een ballade die wat aan Nightwish doet denken. Een mooi uitgewerkte song. Absurdoscope heeft een lekker vette riff met mooie keyboards. De zang begint met een weids effect, maar evolueert tijdens het refrein naar rock. Sterk nummer.

Flamer valt op door de korte flamenco-achtige overgang. Het refrein is wat te gewoon, toch is het één van de betere nummers. Moths begint heel sfeerrijk met synths en gitaar. Een Hank Marvin-achtige (je weet wel, The Shadows) gitaarriedel trekt daarna het nummer op gang. De stem van Ines klinkt hier anders dan op de vorige nummers. Het refrein kon zo uit de Within Temptation-stal komen. Een snedige gitaarsolo sluit het nummer af. Misschien een atypisch nummer, desalniettemin toch één van mijn favorieten. Ook het donkere Of Matters And Dark Energy kan mij bekoren. De hoge zangstem vind ik wat minder geslaagd. Het is nu eenmaal niet haar sterkste kant, ofschoon er leuke elementen in het nummer zitten, zoals bijv. de viool. Dear Mr. Steele is een ode aan de overleden zanger van Type o Negative, ook al merk je daar in de song niets van.

Als je de hoes ziet zou je vermoeden dat het om gothmetal gaat, maar muzikaal hebben ze meer gemeen met symfonische en progressieve metal.

Wim GUILLEMYN
02/01/2016


02/01/2016 : EMBASSY OF SILENCE - Verisimilitude 02/01/2016 : EMBASSY OF SILENCE - Verisimilitude

Music reviews

13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju
10
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
You, Vicious!
09
11
VIRGIN PRUNES
Hérésie
08
11
HATCHLING
Alpha

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!
09
11
Today, 37 years ago, Men At Work released their debut album Business As Usual!
08
11
This month its 31 years since Canadian industrial band Front Line Assembly released their first official album, The Initial Command!

Concert reviews

06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'
07
11
BRIX AND THE EXTRICATED
Interview with Brix Smith-Start

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)
11
11
DUSK
EPOKA 3000 (extended version)
10
11
PARADOX OBSCUR
Afterlife Effect (Official Video)
09
11
MEANDER
This is Meander.