tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/01/2016 : EMBASSY OF SILENCE - Verisimilitude

EMBASSY OF SILENCE

Verisimilitude

MusicCD
MetalProgSymphonic Metal

[76/100]   

Inverse Records
02/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Some releases reach us a bit later than others. This album by Embassy Of Silence was released at the end of August, but we think it’s still worthwhile to say something about it.

These Finns make female fronted metal rock with a progressive and symphonic touch. Perhaps you think of bands like Epica and Within Temptation, but that’s not exactly how you have to categorize them. In 2007 Ines Lukkanen was a guest singer with Saattue, she has a strong voice that sounds more rock.

The songs are well constructed, albeit a little bit too predictable. A perfect example is the opener Shame, Spin & Click.Timble is a ballad that reminds me of Nightwish. Absurdoscope has an interesting guitar riff with beautiful keyboards.

Flamer is characterized by some flamenco influences. The chorus is a bit too ordinary to my taste, although it remains one of the better songs. Moths begins with atmospheric synths and guitars, but after a while you hear a Hank Marvin-like guitar riff (you know, that guy of The Shadows!). Ines' voice is different here than on the previous tracks, while the chorus sounds very much like Within Temptation, complemented with a razor sharp guitar solo. Perhaps, a not so typical song, nevertheless one of my favourites.

Of Matters And The Dark Energy can tempt me as well. However, Ines uses the high voice here, and that’s not exactly her forte, although there are some nice elements in this track like the violin. Dear Mr. Steele is a tribute to the deceased singer of Type O Negative.

When you see the cover, you suspect that this album will be goth metal, but musically they have more in common with symphonic and progressive metal.

Wim GUILLEMYN
02/01/2016


NL

Sommige releases bereiken ons wat later dan andere. Dit album van Embassy Of Silence kwam eind augustus uit, toch loont het de moeite om er het één en ander over te vertellen.

Deze Finnen maken female fronted metalrock met een progressieve en symfonische inslag. Misschien denk je meteen aan bands als Epica en Within Temptation, toch moeten we dit idee wat afzwakken. Ines Lukkanen, die in 2007 nog gastzangeres bij Saattue was, heeft een sterke stem die meer rockt en minder de hogere regionen opzoekt dan de eerder aangehaalde voorbeelden.

De songs zijn vakkundig gemaakt. Soms een beetje voorspelbaar, zoals bijv. de opener Shame, Spin & Click.Timble, een ballade die wat aan Nightwish doet denken. Een mooi uitgewerkte song. Absurdoscope heeft een lekker vette riff met mooie keyboards. De zang begint met een weids effect, maar evolueert tijdens het refrein naar rock. Sterk nummer.

Flamer valt op door de korte flamenco-achtige overgang. Het refrein is wat te gewoon, toch is het één van de betere nummers. Moths begint heel sfeerrijk met synths en gitaar. Een Hank Marvin-achtige (je weet wel, The Shadows) gitaarriedel trekt daarna het nummer op gang. De stem van Ines klinkt hier anders dan op de vorige nummers. Het refrein kon zo uit de Within Temptation-stal komen. Een snedige gitaarsolo sluit het nummer af. Misschien een atypisch nummer, desalniettemin toch één van mijn favorieten. Ook het donkere Of Matters And Dark Energy kan mij bekoren. De hoge zangstem vind ik wat minder geslaagd. Het is nu eenmaal niet haar sterkste kant, ofschoon er leuke elementen in het nummer zitten, zoals bijv. de viool. Dear Mr. Steele is een ode aan de overleden zanger van Type o Negative, ook al merk je daar in de song niets van.

Als je de hoes ziet zou je vermoeden dat het om gothmetal gaat, maar muzikaal hebben ze meer gemeen met symfonische en progressieve metal.

Wim GUILLEMYN
02/01/2016


02/01/2016 : EMBASSY OF SILENCE - Verisimilitude 02/01/2016 : EMBASSY OF SILENCE - Verisimilitude

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...
01
02
Luna Del Luna Addresses Trauma And Abuse With Debut EP

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky
31
01
MIREXXX
Nine angles