tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/01/2016 : EMBASSY OF SILENCE - Verisimilitude

EMBASSY OF SILENCE

Verisimilitude

MusicCD
MetalProgSymphonic Metal

[76/100]   

Inverse Records
02/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Some releases reach us a bit later than others. This album by Embassy Of Silence was released at the end of August, but we think it’s still worthwhile to say something about it.

These Finns make female fronted metal rock with a progressive and symphonic touch. Perhaps you think of bands like Epica and Within Temptation, but that’s not exactly how you have to categorize them. In 2007 Ines Lukkanen was a guest singer with Saattue, she has a strong voice that sounds more rock.

The songs are well constructed, albeit a little bit too predictable. A perfect example is the opener Shame, Spin & Click.Timble is a ballad that reminds me of Nightwish. Absurdoscope has an interesting guitar riff with beautiful keyboards.

Flamer is characterized by some flamenco influences. The chorus is a bit too ordinary to my taste, although it remains one of the better songs. Moths begins with atmospheric synths and guitars, but after a while you hear a Hank Marvin-like guitar riff (you know, that guy of The Shadows!). Ines' voice is different here than on the previous tracks, while the chorus sounds very much like Within Temptation, complemented with a razor sharp guitar solo. Perhaps, a not so typical song, nevertheless one of my favourites.

Of Matters And The Dark Energy can tempt me as well. However, Ines uses the high voice here, and that’s not exactly her forte, although there are some nice elements in this track like the violin. Dear Mr. Steele is a tribute to the deceased singer of Type O Negative.

When you see the cover, you suspect that this album will be goth metal, but musically they have more in common with symphonic and progressive metal.

Wim GUILLEMYN
02/01/2016


NL

Sommige releases bereiken ons wat later dan andere. Dit album van Embassy Of Silence kwam eind augustus uit, toch loont het de moeite om er het één en ander over te vertellen.

Deze Finnen maken female fronted metalrock met een progressieve en symfonische inslag. Misschien denk je meteen aan bands als Epica en Within Temptation, toch moeten we dit idee wat afzwakken. Ines Lukkanen, die in 2007 nog gastzangeres bij Saattue was, heeft een sterke stem die meer rockt en minder de hogere regionen opzoekt dan de eerder aangehaalde voorbeelden.

De songs zijn vakkundig gemaakt. Soms een beetje voorspelbaar, zoals bijv. de opener Shame, Spin & Click.Timble, een ballade die wat aan Nightwish doet denken. Een mooi uitgewerkte song. Absurdoscope heeft een lekker vette riff met mooie keyboards. De zang begint met een weids effect, maar evolueert tijdens het refrein naar rock. Sterk nummer.

Flamer valt op door de korte flamenco-achtige overgang. Het refrein is wat te gewoon, toch is het één van de betere nummers. Moths begint heel sfeerrijk met synths en gitaar. Een Hank Marvin-achtige (je weet wel, The Shadows) gitaarriedel trekt daarna het nummer op gang. De stem van Ines klinkt hier anders dan op de vorige nummers. Het refrein kon zo uit de Within Temptation-stal komen. Een snedige gitaarsolo sluit het nummer af. Misschien een atypisch nummer, desalniettemin toch één van mijn favorieten. Ook het donkere Of Matters And Dark Energy kan mij bekoren. De hoge zangstem vind ik wat minder geslaagd. Het is nu eenmaal niet haar sterkste kant, ofschoon er leuke elementen in het nummer zitten, zoals bijv. de viool. Dear Mr. Steele is een ode aan de overleden zanger van Type o Negative, ook al merk je daar in de song niets van.

Als je de hoes ziet zou je vermoeden dat het om gothmetal gaat, maar muzikaal hebben ze meer gemeen met symfonische en progressieve metal.

Wim GUILLEMYN
02/01/2016


02/01/2016 : EMBASSY OF SILENCE - Verisimilitude 02/01/2016 : EMBASSY OF SILENCE - Verisimilitude

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless