tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/01/2016 : EMBASSY OF SILENCE - Verisimilitude

EMBASSY OF SILENCE

Verisimilitude

MusicCD
MetalProgSymphonic Metal

[76/100]   

Inverse Records
02/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Some releases reach us a bit later than others. This album by Embassy Of Silence was released at the end of August, but we think it’s still worthwhile to say something about it.

These Finns make female fronted metal rock with a progressive and symphonic touch. Perhaps you think of bands like Epica and Within Temptation, but that’s not exactly how you have to categorize them. In 2007 Ines Lukkanen was a guest singer with Saattue, she has a strong voice that sounds more rock.

The songs are well constructed, albeit a little bit too predictable. A perfect example is the opener Shame, Spin & Click.Timble is a ballad that reminds me of Nightwish. Absurdoscope has an interesting guitar riff with beautiful keyboards.

Flamer is characterized by some flamenco influences. The chorus is a bit too ordinary to my taste, although it remains one of the better songs. Moths begins with atmospheric synths and guitars, but after a while you hear a Hank Marvin-like guitar riff (you know, that guy of The Shadows!). Ines' voice is different here than on the previous tracks, while the chorus sounds very much like Within Temptation, complemented with a razor sharp guitar solo. Perhaps, a not so typical song, nevertheless one of my favourites.

Of Matters And The Dark Energy can tempt me as well. However, Ines uses the high voice here, and that’s not exactly her forte, although there are some nice elements in this track like the violin. Dear Mr. Steele is a tribute to the deceased singer of Type O Negative.

When you see the cover, you suspect that this album will be goth metal, but musically they have more in common with symphonic and progressive metal.

Wim GUILLEMYN
02/01/2016


NL

Sommige releases bereiken ons wat later dan andere. Dit album van Embassy Of Silence kwam eind augustus uit, toch loont het de moeite om er het één en ander over te vertellen.

Deze Finnen maken female fronted metalrock met een progressieve en symfonische inslag. Misschien denk je meteen aan bands als Epica en Within Temptation, toch moeten we dit idee wat afzwakken. Ines Lukkanen, die in 2007 nog gastzangeres bij Saattue was, heeft een sterke stem die meer rockt en minder de hogere regionen opzoekt dan de eerder aangehaalde voorbeelden.

De songs zijn vakkundig gemaakt. Soms een beetje voorspelbaar, zoals bijv. de opener Shame, Spin & Click.Timble, een ballade die wat aan Nightwish doet denken. Een mooi uitgewerkte song. Absurdoscope heeft een lekker vette riff met mooie keyboards. De zang begint met een weids effect, maar evolueert tijdens het refrein naar rock. Sterk nummer.

Flamer valt op door de korte flamenco-achtige overgang. Het refrein is wat te gewoon, toch is het één van de betere nummers. Moths begint heel sfeerrijk met synths en gitaar. Een Hank Marvin-achtige (je weet wel, The Shadows) gitaarriedel trekt daarna het nummer op gang. De stem van Ines klinkt hier anders dan op de vorige nummers. Het refrein kon zo uit de Within Temptation-stal komen. Een snedige gitaarsolo sluit het nummer af. Misschien een atypisch nummer, desalniettemin toch één van mijn favorieten. Ook het donkere Of Matters And Dark Energy kan mij bekoren. De hoge zangstem vind ik wat minder geslaagd. Het is nu eenmaal niet haar sterkste kant, ofschoon er leuke elementen in het nummer zitten, zoals bijv. de viool. Dear Mr. Steele is een ode aan de overleden zanger van Type o Negative, ook al merk je daar in de song niets van.

Als je de hoes ziet zou je vermoeden dat het om gothmetal gaat, maar muzikaal hebben ze meer gemeen met symfonische en progressieve metal.

Wim GUILLEMYN
02/01/2016


02/01/2016 : EMBASSY OF SILENCE - Verisimilitude 02/01/2016 : EMBASSY OF SILENCE - Verisimilitude

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
01
'Giving Ground”…and Gaining It: The First Sisterhood Single, 36 ago, 20 January 1986
19
01
Electronic Band LUSCIOUS APPARATUS Addresses Domestic Violence With New Single, 'Infiltrate'
19
01
On this day, 31 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
Horror Punk Band CUT LIKE THIS Personifies Insomnia With Latest Single, 'The Boogeyman' Featuring ANGELSPIT
18
01
On this day, 42 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
FREDRIK CROONA Condemns The Vain With New Project & Debut Single, 'Scum'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
FAUNLET
Anatomy
19
01
PSY'AVIAH FT MARIEKE LIGHTBAND
The Great Disconnect
18
01
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
17
01
MATT HART
Decimate
16
01
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
15
01
FATAL CASUALTIES
No Heaven
14
01
DI*OVE
Please Stop!