tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/12/2015 : EXUVIATED - Last Call To The Void

EXUVIATED

Last Call To The Void

MusicCD
Death Metal

[80/100]   

Spinal Records
29/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Last months we’re spoiled with excellent Belgian metal releases: after Komah, Temptations For The Weak, Hell City and Ython, Exuviated has a new album out! And yes, it’s fantastic!

The band is based in Marche-en-Famenne and started around 2008, was very quickly noticed and played at the prestigious Wacken Open Air in 2012. Since their first album (Orphan Morpheus from 2012), their fan base has grown and their reputation as an excellent live band.

With their second album the fan base probably will grow again. Before we start saying some things about the music, we give some attention to the very nice artwork that contains a beautiful photo book and lyrics.

Musically you notice that the drums and the bass are more present on this new album. The guitars make the song colourful and because of the way the drums are mixed, it feels like they do what normally guitar riffs do! Add the superb bass, and you get a very solid sound, completed with the grunts and growls of singer Jean Philippe Sonnet. Personally, I like the alternation with clean vocals, but in the case of Exuviated that is no problem!

The songs contain some fine rhythm changes. The Open Mouth Of Decay is a good example: heavy riffs, tempo changes and good vocals. The same can be said about Secret Passenger, Under A Black Veil, Ode To The Wind. The Death Will Be Spread and Fallen Angel.

Last Call To The Void is a superb album, and we’re sure that Exuviated is ready for a higher level!

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/12/2015


NL

We worden de laatste maanden echt wel verwend door de Belgische metalscène: na Komah, Temptations For The Weak, Hell City en Ython, is er nu een nieuw album van Exuviated. Wederom kunnen we spreken van een ferme schijf!

De band komt uit Marche-en-Famenne en ontstond ergens rond 2008, om vervolgens heel vlug te worden opgemerkt, wat uiteindelijk resulteerde in een plaats op Wacken Open Air in 2012. Sinds de eerste cd (Orphan Morpheus uit 2012) groeide de fanbasis alsmaar, alsook hun reputatie als liveband, ook in Vlaanderen.

Met dit tweede album zal hun aanhang waarschijnlijk nog groeien. Last Call To The Void is immers een potig album met heel mooi artwork, een prachtig fotoboekje en lyrics. Wat opvalt is dat de drums en de bas op deze tweede plaat heel nadrukkelijk aanwezig zijn. De drums zijn heel goed gemixt: massief en met veel nuancering. De gitaren geven kleur aan de songs, terwijl de drums eerder dienst doen als snijdende gitaarriffs. Samen met de bas vormen ze een hecht geheel. De grunts en growls van zanger Jean Philippe Sonnet klinken goed. Persoonlijk hou ik er meer van als dat wordt afgewisseld met cleane zangpartijen, maar in het geval van Exuviated is dat niet eens zo erg!

De songs zijn snedig en bevatten soms fijne ritmewisselingen. The Open Mouth of Decay is daar een mooi voorbeeld van: heftige riffs, tempowissels en een goede zang. Op Secret Passenger zijn het vooral de gitaren die de song inkleuren. Dat zorgt voor een vrij melodisch resultaat. Dat geldt tevens voor Under A Black Veil of Ode To The Wind. Ook The Death Will Be Spread en Fallen Angel zijn het vermelden waard.

Met Last Call To The Void zou Exuviated wel eens op een hoger niveau kunnen meespelen!

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/12/2015


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)