tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/12/2015 : EXUVIATED - Last Call To The Void

EXUVIATED

Last Call To The Void

MusicCD
Death Metal

[80/100]   

Spinal Records
29/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Last months we’re spoiled with excellent Belgian metal releases: after Komah, Temptations For The Weak, Hell City and Ython, Exuviated has a new album out! And yes, it’s fantastic!

The band is based in Marche-en-Famenne and started around 2008, was very quickly noticed and played at the prestigious Wacken Open Air in 2012. Since their first album (Orphan Morpheus from 2012), their fan base has grown and their reputation as an excellent live band.

With their second album the fan base probably will grow again. Before we start saying some things about the music, we give some attention to the very nice artwork that contains a beautiful photo book and lyrics.

Musically you notice that the drums and the bass are more present on this new album. The guitars make the song colourful and because of the way the drums are mixed, it feels like they do what normally guitar riffs do! Add the superb bass, and you get a very solid sound, completed with the grunts and growls of singer Jean Philippe Sonnet. Personally, I like the alternation with clean vocals, but in the case of Exuviated that is no problem!

The songs contain some fine rhythm changes. The Open Mouth Of Decay is a good example: heavy riffs, tempo changes and good vocals. The same can be said about Secret Passenger, Under A Black Veil, Ode To The Wind. The Death Will Be Spread and Fallen Angel.

Last Call To The Void is a superb album, and we’re sure that Exuviated is ready for a higher level!

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/12/2015


NL

We worden de laatste maanden echt wel verwend door de Belgische metalscène: na Komah, Temptations For The Weak, Hell City en Ython, is er nu een nieuw album van Exuviated. Wederom kunnen we spreken van een ferme schijf!

De band komt uit Marche-en-Famenne en ontstond ergens rond 2008, om vervolgens heel vlug te worden opgemerkt, wat uiteindelijk resulteerde in een plaats op Wacken Open Air in 2012. Sinds de eerste cd (Orphan Morpheus uit 2012) groeide de fanbasis alsmaar, alsook hun reputatie als liveband, ook in Vlaanderen.

Met dit tweede album zal hun aanhang waarschijnlijk nog groeien. Last Call To The Void is immers een potig album met heel mooi artwork, een prachtig fotoboekje en lyrics. Wat opvalt is dat de drums en de bas op deze tweede plaat heel nadrukkelijk aanwezig zijn. De drums zijn heel goed gemixt: massief en met veel nuancering. De gitaren geven kleur aan de songs, terwijl de drums eerder dienst doen als snijdende gitaarriffs. Samen met de bas vormen ze een hecht geheel. De grunts en growls van zanger Jean Philippe Sonnet klinken goed. Persoonlijk hou ik er meer van als dat wordt afgewisseld met cleane zangpartijen, maar in het geval van Exuviated is dat niet eens zo erg!

De songs zijn snedig en bevatten soms fijne ritmewisselingen. The Open Mouth of Decay is daar een mooi voorbeeld van: heftige riffs, tempowissels en een goede zang. Op Secret Passenger zijn het vooral de gitaren die de song inkleuren. Dat zorgt voor een vrij melodisch resultaat. Dat geldt tevens voor Under A Black Veil of Ode To The Wind. Ook The Death Will Be Spread en Fallen Angel zijn het vermelden waard.

Met Last Call To The Void zou Exuviated wel eens op een hoger niveau kunnen meespelen!

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/12/2015


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell