tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/12/2015 : EXUVIATED - Last Call To The Void

EXUVIATED

Last Call To The Void

MusicCD
Death Metal

[80/100]   

Spinal Records
29/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Last months we’re spoiled with excellent Belgian metal releases: after Komah, Temptations For The Weak, Hell City and Ython, Exuviated has a new album out! And yes, it’s fantastic!

The band is based in Marche-en-Famenne and started around 2008, was very quickly noticed and played at the prestigious Wacken Open Air in 2012. Since their first album (Orphan Morpheus from 2012), their fan base has grown and their reputation as an excellent live band.

With their second album the fan base probably will grow again. Before we start saying some things about the music, we give some attention to the very nice artwork that contains a beautiful photo book and lyrics.

Musically you notice that the drums and the bass are more present on this new album. The guitars make the song colourful and because of the way the drums are mixed, it feels like they do what normally guitar riffs do! Add the superb bass, and you get a very solid sound, completed with the grunts and growls of singer Jean Philippe Sonnet. Personally, I like the alternation with clean vocals, but in the case of Exuviated that is no problem!

The songs contain some fine rhythm changes. The Open Mouth Of Decay is a good example: heavy riffs, tempo changes and good vocals. The same can be said about Secret Passenger, Under A Black Veil, Ode To The Wind. The Death Will Be Spread and Fallen Angel.

Last Call To The Void is a superb album, and we’re sure that Exuviated is ready for a higher level!

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/12/2015


NL

We worden de laatste maanden echt wel verwend door de Belgische metalscène: na Komah, Temptations For The Weak, Hell City en Ython, is er nu een nieuw album van Exuviated. Wederom kunnen we spreken van een ferme schijf!

De band komt uit Marche-en-Famenne en ontstond ergens rond 2008, om vervolgens heel vlug te worden opgemerkt, wat uiteindelijk resulteerde in een plaats op Wacken Open Air in 2012. Sinds de eerste cd (Orphan Morpheus uit 2012) groeide de fanbasis alsmaar, alsook hun reputatie als liveband, ook in Vlaanderen.

Met dit tweede album zal hun aanhang waarschijnlijk nog groeien. Last Call To The Void is immers een potig album met heel mooi artwork, een prachtig fotoboekje en lyrics. Wat opvalt is dat de drums en de bas op deze tweede plaat heel nadrukkelijk aanwezig zijn. De drums zijn heel goed gemixt: massief en met veel nuancering. De gitaren geven kleur aan de songs, terwijl de drums eerder dienst doen als snijdende gitaarriffs. Samen met de bas vormen ze een hecht geheel. De grunts en growls van zanger Jean Philippe Sonnet klinken goed. Persoonlijk hou ik er meer van als dat wordt afgewisseld met cleane zangpartijen, maar in het geval van Exuviated is dat niet eens zo erg!

De songs zijn snedig en bevatten soms fijne ritmewisselingen. The Open Mouth of Decay is daar een mooi voorbeeld van: heftige riffs, tempowissels en een goede zang. Op Secret Passenger zijn het vooral de gitaren die de song inkleuren. Dat zorgt voor een vrij melodisch resultaat. Dat geldt tevens voor Under A Black Veil of Ode To The Wind. Ook The Death Will Be Spread en Fallen Angel zijn het vermelden waard.

Met Last Call To The Void zou Exuviated wel eens op een hoger niveau kunnen meespelen!

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/12/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation