tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/12/2015 : EXUVIATED - Last Call To The Void

EXUVIATED

Last Call To The Void

MusicCD
Death Metal

[80/100]   

Spinal Records
29/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Last months we’re spoiled with excellent Belgian metal releases: after Komah, Temptations For The Weak, Hell City and Ython, Exuviated has a new album out! And yes, it’s fantastic!

The band is based in Marche-en-Famenne and started around 2008, was very quickly noticed and played at the prestigious Wacken Open Air in 2012. Since their first album (Orphan Morpheus from 2012), their fan base has grown and their reputation as an excellent live band.

With their second album the fan base probably will grow again. Before we start saying some things about the music, we give some attention to the very nice artwork that contains a beautiful photo book and lyrics.

Musically you notice that the drums and the bass are more present on this new album. The guitars make the song colourful and because of the way the drums are mixed, it feels like they do what normally guitar riffs do! Add the superb bass, and you get a very solid sound, completed with the grunts and growls of singer Jean Philippe Sonnet. Personally, I like the alternation with clean vocals, but in the case of Exuviated that is no problem!

The songs contain some fine rhythm changes. The Open Mouth Of Decay is a good example: heavy riffs, tempo changes and good vocals. The same can be said about Secret Passenger, Under A Black Veil, Ode To The Wind. The Death Will Be Spread and Fallen Angel.

Last Call To The Void is a superb album, and we’re sure that Exuviated is ready for a higher level!

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/12/2015


NL

We worden de laatste maanden echt wel verwend door de Belgische metalscène: na Komah, Temptations For The Weak, Hell City en Ython, is er nu een nieuw album van Exuviated. Wederom kunnen we spreken van een ferme schijf!

De band komt uit Marche-en-Famenne en ontstond ergens rond 2008, om vervolgens heel vlug te worden opgemerkt, wat uiteindelijk resulteerde in een plaats op Wacken Open Air in 2012. Sinds de eerste cd (Orphan Morpheus uit 2012) groeide de fanbasis alsmaar, alsook hun reputatie als liveband, ook in Vlaanderen.

Met dit tweede album zal hun aanhang waarschijnlijk nog groeien. Last Call To The Void is immers een potig album met heel mooi artwork, een prachtig fotoboekje en lyrics. Wat opvalt is dat de drums en de bas op deze tweede plaat heel nadrukkelijk aanwezig zijn. De drums zijn heel goed gemixt: massief en met veel nuancering. De gitaren geven kleur aan de songs, terwijl de drums eerder dienst doen als snijdende gitaarriffs. Samen met de bas vormen ze een hecht geheel. De grunts en growls van zanger Jean Philippe Sonnet klinken goed. Persoonlijk hou ik er meer van als dat wordt afgewisseld met cleane zangpartijen, maar in het geval van Exuviated is dat niet eens zo erg!

De songs zijn snedig en bevatten soms fijne ritmewisselingen. The Open Mouth of Decay is daar een mooi voorbeeld van: heftige riffs, tempowissels en een goede zang. Op Secret Passenger zijn het vooral de gitaren die de song inkleuren. Dat zorgt voor een vrij melodisch resultaat. Dat geldt tevens voor Under A Black Veil of Ode To The Wind. Ook The Death Will Be Spread en Fallen Angel zijn het vermelden waard.

Met Last Call To The Void zou Exuviated wel eens op een hoger niveau kunnen meespelen!

Wim GUILLEMYN
29/12/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless
20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten