tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DEVILDRIVER - Trust No One

DEVILDRIVER

Trust No One

MusicCD
Death MetalGroove Metal

[82/100]   

Napalm Records
11/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Do you like chunky music that awakens the beast in you? DevilDriver might be something for you then. DevilDriver from Santa Barbara, California is the band of Dez Fafara who you possibly know from Coal Chamber. DevilDriver is formed in 2002 and is known to be one of the most touring bands in the world. That way they collected multiple fans. Lately they also played on Belgian soil. The band left a strong impression at the Alcatraz Festival, so I heard. With The Last Kind Words, Pray For Villains, Beast and Winter Kills they released several successful albums.

After guitarist Jeff Kendrick and drummer John Boecklin left the future looked dark and uncertain.”Clouds over California”. The fans worried but luckily Dez Fafara wasn’t willing to throw in the towel. He hits back strong with a new formation.

Since the departure of Kendrick and Boecklin Dez Fafara is the only remaining original member. He and his longterm partner in crime Mike Spreitzer are supplemented by Neil Tiemann and ex-Chimaira drummer Austin D’Amond. Despite the revamped line-up we hear the familiar DevilDriver sound on Trust No One. On the band’s 7th effort we hear their distinctive mix of groove metal and melodic death metal.

Testimony Of Truth is a great opening track with melodic guitar lines, blastbeats and Dez Fafara who sounds aggressive as usual. Bad Deeds sounds trashy and into your face. Single My Night Sky is a hard-hitting mid-tempo tune. On This Deception you hear thunderous drums. It’s an applicable song title that fits in the theme of the album. Also on the title track D’Amond displays his talent.

The highlights are lead single Daybreak with a nice breakdown to unleash hell subsequently – this song is composed by newcomer Tiemann by the way – and Above It All, a straightforward groove metal track that starts slow and lets the beast loose.

Trust No One, but you can rely on DevilDriver for your share of high standard metal without compromises. Biting powerchords, melodic solos and terrific double bass drumming. If you don’t trust me, find out yourself!

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


NL

Hou je van loeiharde muziek die het beest in jou los maakt? Dan is DevilDriver misschien wel iets voor jou. DevilDriver is de band rond Dez Fafara die eerder naam maakte met Coal Chamber. DevilDriver werd in 2002 opgericht in Santa Barbara, Californië. De band staat erom bekend vaak te touren. Op die manier wisten ze een schare trouwe fans te verzamelen.

Laatst waren ze ook te zien op Belgische bodem. Ook op Alcatraz lieten ze naar verluidt een sterke indruk na. Met The Last Kind Words, Pray For Villains, Beast en Winter Kills heeft de groep een rits succesvolle platen op zijn actief.

Na het vertrek van gitarist Jeff Kendrick en drummer John Boecklin zag de toekomst er zwart en onzeker uit. “Clouds Over California”. De fans zaten met de handen in het (lange) haar. Dez Fafara was echter niet bereid de handdoek in de ring te gooien. Hij slaat sterk terug met een nieuwe formatie.

Na het vertek van Kendrick en Boecklin is Dez Fafara het enig overblijvend origineel bandlid. Hij en langdurig collaborator Mike Spreitzer worden aangevuld met Neil Tiemann en ex-Chimaira drummer Austin D’Amond. Ondanks de hernieuwde line-up horen we op Trust No One, hun 7e inmiddels, het vertrouwde DevilDriver geluid. Hun kenmerkend mix van groove metal en melodische death metal.

Testimony Of Truth is een geslaagde openingstrack met melodische gitaarlijnen, blastbeats en Dez Fafara die agressief klinkt als vanouds. Bad Deeds klinkt trashy en zeer into your face. Single My Night Sky is een snoeiharde mid-tempo knaller. Op This Deception hoor je donderende drums. Het is een toepasselijke titel die perfect past in het thema van het album. Ook op de titelsong etaleert D’Amond zijn talent.

Hoogtepunten zijn leadsingle Daybreak met een break waarna de hel losbarst -een song die trouwens gecomponeerd is door nieuweling Tiemann – en Above It All. Een rechttoe rechtaan groove metal track die traag begint om daarna het beest los te laten.

Ook al kan je niemand vertrouwen, DevilDriver staat garant voor een portie compromisloze metal van de bovenste plank. Bijtende powerchords, melodische solos en heerlijke dubbel bass drums. Op mijn oordeel hoef je niet te vertrouwen, ontdek het zelf!

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel