tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DEVILDRIVER - Trust No One

DEVILDRIVER

Trust No One

MusicCD
Death MetalGroove Metal

[82/100]   

Napalm Records
11/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Do you like chunky music that awakens the beast in you? DevilDriver might be something for you then. DevilDriver from Santa Barbara, California is the band of Dez Fafara who you possibly know from Coal Chamber. DevilDriver is formed in 2002 and is known to be one of the most touring bands in the world. That way they collected multiple fans. Lately they also played on Belgian soil. The band left a strong impression at the Alcatraz Festival, so I heard. With The Last Kind Words, Pray For Villains, Beast and Winter Kills they released several successful albums.

After guitarist Jeff Kendrick and drummer John Boecklin left the future looked dark and uncertain.”Clouds over California”. The fans worried but luckily Dez Fafara wasn’t willing to throw in the towel. He hits back strong with a new formation.

Since the departure of Kendrick and Boecklin Dez Fafara is the only remaining original member. He and his longterm partner in crime Mike Spreitzer are supplemented by Neil Tiemann and ex-Chimaira drummer Austin D’Amond. Despite the revamped line-up we hear the familiar DevilDriver sound on Trust No One. On the band’s 7th effort we hear their distinctive mix of groove metal and melodic death metal.

Testimony Of Truth is a great opening track with melodic guitar lines, blastbeats and Dez Fafara who sounds aggressive as usual. Bad Deeds sounds trashy and into your face. Single My Night Sky is a hard-hitting mid-tempo tune. On This Deception you hear thunderous drums. It’s an applicable song title that fits in the theme of the album. Also on the title track D’Amond displays his talent.

The highlights are lead single Daybreak with a nice breakdown to unleash hell subsequently – this song is composed by newcomer Tiemann by the way – and Above It All, a straightforward groove metal track that starts slow and lets the beast loose.

Trust No One, but you can rely on DevilDriver for your share of high standard metal without compromises. Biting powerchords, melodic solos and terrific double bass drumming. If you don’t trust me, find out yourself!

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


NL

Hou je van loeiharde muziek die het beest in jou los maakt? Dan is DevilDriver misschien wel iets voor jou. DevilDriver is de band rond Dez Fafara die eerder naam maakte met Coal Chamber. DevilDriver werd in 2002 opgericht in Santa Barbara, Californië. De band staat erom bekend vaak te touren. Op die manier wisten ze een schare trouwe fans te verzamelen.

Laatst waren ze ook te zien op Belgische bodem. Ook op Alcatraz lieten ze naar verluidt een sterke indruk na. Met The Last Kind Words, Pray For Villains, Beast en Winter Kills heeft de groep een rits succesvolle platen op zijn actief.

Na het vertrek van gitarist Jeff Kendrick en drummer John Boecklin zag de toekomst er zwart en onzeker uit. “Clouds Over California”. De fans zaten met de handen in het (lange) haar. Dez Fafara was echter niet bereid de handdoek in de ring te gooien. Hij slaat sterk terug met een nieuwe formatie.

Na het vertek van Kendrick en Boecklin is Dez Fafara het enig overblijvend origineel bandlid. Hij en langdurig collaborator Mike Spreitzer worden aangevuld met Neil Tiemann en ex-Chimaira drummer Austin D’Amond. Ondanks de hernieuwde line-up horen we op Trust No One, hun 7e inmiddels, het vertrouwde DevilDriver geluid. Hun kenmerkend mix van groove metal en melodische death metal.

Testimony Of Truth is een geslaagde openingstrack met melodische gitaarlijnen, blastbeats en Dez Fafara die agressief klinkt als vanouds. Bad Deeds klinkt trashy en zeer into your face. Single My Night Sky is een snoeiharde mid-tempo knaller. Op This Deception hoor je donderende drums. Het is een toepasselijke titel die perfect past in het thema van het album. Ook op de titelsong etaleert D’Amond zijn talent.

Hoogtepunten zijn leadsingle Daybreak met een break waarna de hel losbarst -een song die trouwens gecomponeerd is door nieuweling Tiemann – en Above It All. Een rechttoe rechtaan groove metal track die traag begint om daarna het beest los te laten.

Ook al kan je niemand vertrouwen, DevilDriver staat garant voor een portie compromisloze metal van de bovenste plank. Bijtende powerchords, melodische solos en heerlijke dubbel bass drums. Op mijn oordeel hoef je niet te vertrouwen, ontdek het zelf!

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell