tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DEVILDRIVER - Trust No One

DEVILDRIVER

Trust No One

MusicCD
Death MetalGroove Metal

[82/100]   

Napalm Records
11/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Do you like chunky music that awakens the beast in you? DevilDriver might be something for you then. DevilDriver from Santa Barbara, California is the band of Dez Fafara who you possibly know from Coal Chamber. DevilDriver is formed in 2002 and is known to be one of the most touring bands in the world. That way they collected multiple fans. Lately they also played on Belgian soil. The band left a strong impression at the Alcatraz Festival, so I heard. With The Last Kind Words, Pray For Villains, Beast and Winter Kills they released several successful albums.

After guitarist Jeff Kendrick and drummer John Boecklin left the future looked dark and uncertain.”Clouds over California”. The fans worried but luckily Dez Fafara wasn’t willing to throw in the towel. He hits back strong with a new formation.

Since the departure of Kendrick and Boecklin Dez Fafara is the only remaining original member. He and his longterm partner in crime Mike Spreitzer are supplemented by Neil Tiemann and ex-Chimaira drummer Austin D’Amond. Despite the revamped line-up we hear the familiar DevilDriver sound on Trust No One. On the band’s 7th effort we hear their distinctive mix of groove metal and melodic death metal.

Testimony Of Truth is a great opening track with melodic guitar lines, blastbeats and Dez Fafara who sounds aggressive as usual. Bad Deeds sounds trashy and into your face. Single My Night Sky is a hard-hitting mid-tempo tune. On This Deception you hear thunderous drums. It’s an applicable song title that fits in the theme of the album. Also on the title track D’Amond displays his talent.

The highlights are lead single Daybreak with a nice breakdown to unleash hell subsequently – this song is composed by newcomer Tiemann by the way – and Above It All, a straightforward groove metal track that starts slow and lets the beast loose.

Trust No One, but you can rely on DevilDriver for your share of high standard metal without compromises. Biting powerchords, melodic solos and terrific double bass drumming. If you don’t trust me, find out yourself!

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


NL

Hou je van loeiharde muziek die het beest in jou los maakt? Dan is DevilDriver misschien wel iets voor jou. DevilDriver is de band rond Dez Fafara die eerder naam maakte met Coal Chamber. DevilDriver werd in 2002 opgericht in Santa Barbara, Californië. De band staat erom bekend vaak te touren. Op die manier wisten ze een schare trouwe fans te verzamelen.

Laatst waren ze ook te zien op Belgische bodem. Ook op Alcatraz lieten ze naar verluidt een sterke indruk na. Met The Last Kind Words, Pray For Villains, Beast en Winter Kills heeft de groep een rits succesvolle platen op zijn actief.

Na het vertrek van gitarist Jeff Kendrick en drummer John Boecklin zag de toekomst er zwart en onzeker uit. “Clouds Over California”. De fans zaten met de handen in het (lange) haar. Dez Fafara was echter niet bereid de handdoek in de ring te gooien. Hij slaat sterk terug met een nieuwe formatie.

Na het vertek van Kendrick en Boecklin is Dez Fafara het enig overblijvend origineel bandlid. Hij en langdurig collaborator Mike Spreitzer worden aangevuld met Neil Tiemann en ex-Chimaira drummer Austin D’Amond. Ondanks de hernieuwde line-up horen we op Trust No One, hun 7e inmiddels, het vertrouwde DevilDriver geluid. Hun kenmerkend mix van groove metal en melodische death metal.

Testimony Of Truth is een geslaagde openingstrack met melodische gitaarlijnen, blastbeats en Dez Fafara die agressief klinkt als vanouds. Bad Deeds klinkt trashy en zeer into your face. Single My Night Sky is een snoeiharde mid-tempo knaller. Op This Deception hoor je donderende drums. Het is een toepasselijke titel die perfect past in het thema van het album. Ook op de titelsong etaleert D’Amond zijn talent.

Hoogtepunten zijn leadsingle Daybreak met een break waarna de hel losbarst -een song die trouwens gecomponeerd is door nieuweling Tiemann – en Above It All. Een rechttoe rechtaan groove metal track die traag begint om daarna het beest los te laten.

Ook al kan je niemand vertrouwen, DevilDriver staat garant voor een portie compromisloze metal van de bovenste plank. Bijtende powerchords, melodische solos en heerlijke dubbel bass drums. Op mijn oordeel hoef je niet te vertrouwen, ontdek het zelf!

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


Music reviews

03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair
28
04
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE
DIAMONDS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!
20
05
40 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury
22
05
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE
Awake
21
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House