tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DEVILDRIVER - Trust No One

DEVILDRIVER

Trust No One

MusicCD
Death MetalGroove Metal

[82/100]   

Napalm Records
11/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Do you like chunky music that awakens the beast in you? DevilDriver might be something for you then. DevilDriver from Santa Barbara, California is the band of Dez Fafara who you possibly know from Coal Chamber. DevilDriver is formed in 2002 and is known to be one of the most touring bands in the world. That way they collected multiple fans. Lately they also played on Belgian soil. The band left a strong impression at the Alcatraz Festival, so I heard. With The Last Kind Words, Pray For Villains, Beast and Winter Kills they released several successful albums.

After guitarist Jeff Kendrick and drummer John Boecklin left the future looked dark and uncertain.”Clouds over California”. The fans worried but luckily Dez Fafara wasn’t willing to throw in the towel. He hits back strong with a new formation.

Since the departure of Kendrick and Boecklin Dez Fafara is the only remaining original member. He and his longterm partner in crime Mike Spreitzer are supplemented by Neil Tiemann and ex-Chimaira drummer Austin D’Amond. Despite the revamped line-up we hear the familiar DevilDriver sound on Trust No One. On the band’s 7th effort we hear their distinctive mix of groove metal and melodic death metal.

Testimony Of Truth is a great opening track with melodic guitar lines, blastbeats and Dez Fafara who sounds aggressive as usual. Bad Deeds sounds trashy and into your face. Single My Night Sky is a hard-hitting mid-tempo tune. On This Deception you hear thunderous drums. It’s an applicable song title that fits in the theme of the album. Also on the title track D’Amond displays his talent.

The highlights are lead single Daybreak with a nice breakdown to unleash hell subsequently – this song is composed by newcomer Tiemann by the way – and Above It All, a straightforward groove metal track that starts slow and lets the beast loose.

Trust No One, but you can rely on DevilDriver for your share of high standard metal without compromises. Biting powerchords, melodic solos and terrific double bass drumming. If you don’t trust me, find out yourself!

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


NL

Hou je van loeiharde muziek die het beest in jou los maakt? Dan is DevilDriver misschien wel iets voor jou. DevilDriver is de band rond Dez Fafara die eerder naam maakte met Coal Chamber. DevilDriver werd in 2002 opgericht in Santa Barbara, Californië. De band staat erom bekend vaak te touren. Op die manier wisten ze een schare trouwe fans te verzamelen.

Laatst waren ze ook te zien op Belgische bodem. Ook op Alcatraz lieten ze naar verluidt een sterke indruk na. Met The Last Kind Words, Pray For Villains, Beast en Winter Kills heeft de groep een rits succesvolle platen op zijn actief.

Na het vertrek van gitarist Jeff Kendrick en drummer John Boecklin zag de toekomst er zwart en onzeker uit. “Clouds Over California”. De fans zaten met de handen in het (lange) haar. Dez Fafara was echter niet bereid de handdoek in de ring te gooien. Hij slaat sterk terug met een nieuwe formatie.

Na het vertek van Kendrick en Boecklin is Dez Fafara het enig overblijvend origineel bandlid. Hij en langdurig collaborator Mike Spreitzer worden aangevuld met Neil Tiemann en ex-Chimaira drummer Austin D’Amond. Ondanks de hernieuwde line-up horen we op Trust No One, hun 7e inmiddels, het vertrouwde DevilDriver geluid. Hun kenmerkend mix van groove metal en melodische death metal.

Testimony Of Truth is een geslaagde openingstrack met melodische gitaarlijnen, blastbeats en Dez Fafara die agressief klinkt als vanouds. Bad Deeds klinkt trashy en zeer into your face. Single My Night Sky is een snoeiharde mid-tempo knaller. Op This Deception hoor je donderende drums. Het is een toepasselijke titel die perfect past in het thema van het album. Ook op de titelsong etaleert D’Amond zijn talent.

Hoogtepunten zijn leadsingle Daybreak met een break waarna de hel losbarst -een song die trouwens gecomponeerd is door nieuweling Tiemann – en Above It All. Een rechttoe rechtaan groove metal track die traag begint om daarna het beest los te laten.

Ook al kan je niemand vertrouwen, DevilDriver staat garant voor een portie compromisloze metal van de bovenste plank. Bijtende powerchords, melodische solos en heerlijke dubbel bass drums. Op mijn oordeel hoef je niet te vertrouwen, ontdek het zelf!

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On