tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DEVILDRIVER - Trust No One

DEVILDRIVER

Trust No One

MusicCD
Death MetalGroove Metal

[82/100]   

Napalm Records
11/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Do you like chunky music that awakens the beast in you? DevilDriver might be something for you then. DevilDriver from Santa Barbara, California is the band of Dez Fafara who you possibly know from Coal Chamber. DevilDriver is formed in 2002 and is known to be one of the most touring bands in the world. That way they collected multiple fans. Lately they also played on Belgian soil. The band left a strong impression at the Alcatraz Festival, so I heard. With The Last Kind Words, Pray For Villains, Beast and Winter Kills they released several successful albums.

After guitarist Jeff Kendrick and drummer John Boecklin left the future looked dark and uncertain.”Clouds over California”. The fans worried but luckily Dez Fafara wasn’t willing to throw in the towel. He hits back strong with a new formation.

Since the departure of Kendrick and Boecklin Dez Fafara is the only remaining original member. He and his longterm partner in crime Mike Spreitzer are supplemented by Neil Tiemann and ex-Chimaira drummer Austin D’Amond. Despite the revamped line-up we hear the familiar DevilDriver sound on Trust No One. On the band’s 7th effort we hear their distinctive mix of groove metal and melodic death metal.

Testimony Of Truth is a great opening track with melodic guitar lines, blastbeats and Dez Fafara who sounds aggressive as usual. Bad Deeds sounds trashy and into your face. Single My Night Sky is a hard-hitting mid-tempo tune. On This Deception you hear thunderous drums. It’s an applicable song title that fits in the theme of the album. Also on the title track D’Amond displays his talent.

The highlights are lead single Daybreak with a nice breakdown to unleash hell subsequently – this song is composed by newcomer Tiemann by the way – and Above It All, a straightforward groove metal track that starts slow and lets the beast loose.

Trust No One, but you can rely on DevilDriver for your share of high standard metal without compromises. Biting powerchords, melodic solos and terrific double bass drumming. If you don’t trust me, find out yourself!

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


NL

Hou je van loeiharde muziek die het beest in jou los maakt? Dan is DevilDriver misschien wel iets voor jou. DevilDriver is de band rond Dez Fafara die eerder naam maakte met Coal Chamber. DevilDriver werd in 2002 opgericht in Santa Barbara, Californië. De band staat erom bekend vaak te touren. Op die manier wisten ze een schare trouwe fans te verzamelen.

Laatst waren ze ook te zien op Belgische bodem. Ook op Alcatraz lieten ze naar verluidt een sterke indruk na. Met The Last Kind Words, Pray For Villains, Beast en Winter Kills heeft de groep een rits succesvolle platen op zijn actief.

Na het vertrek van gitarist Jeff Kendrick en drummer John Boecklin zag de toekomst er zwart en onzeker uit. “Clouds Over California”. De fans zaten met de handen in het (lange) haar. Dez Fafara was echter niet bereid de handdoek in de ring te gooien. Hij slaat sterk terug met een nieuwe formatie.

Na het vertek van Kendrick en Boecklin is Dez Fafara het enig overblijvend origineel bandlid. Hij en langdurig collaborator Mike Spreitzer worden aangevuld met Neil Tiemann en ex-Chimaira drummer Austin D’Amond. Ondanks de hernieuwde line-up horen we op Trust No One, hun 7e inmiddels, het vertrouwde DevilDriver geluid. Hun kenmerkend mix van groove metal en melodische death metal.

Testimony Of Truth is een geslaagde openingstrack met melodische gitaarlijnen, blastbeats en Dez Fafara die agressief klinkt als vanouds. Bad Deeds klinkt trashy en zeer into your face. Single My Night Sky is een snoeiharde mid-tempo knaller. Op This Deception hoor je donderende drums. Het is een toepasselijke titel die perfect past in het thema van het album. Ook op de titelsong etaleert D’Amond zijn talent.

Hoogtepunten zijn leadsingle Daybreak met een break waarna de hel losbarst -een song die trouwens gecomponeerd is door nieuweling Tiemann – en Above It All. Een rechttoe rechtaan groove metal track die traag begint om daarna het beest los te laten.

Ook al kan je niemand vertrouwen, DevilDriver staat garant voor een portie compromisloze metal van de bovenste plank. Bijtende powerchords, melodische solos en heerlijke dubbel bass drums. Op mijn oordeel hoef je niet te vertrouwen, ontdek het zelf!

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face