tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : CULTURE SHOCK - Attention Span

CULTURE SHOCK

Attention Span

MusicCD
PunkSka

[80/100]   

Alternative Tentacles Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Maybe you do not know, but Culture Shock is a real punk legend. This band started in 1986 with Dick Lucas who previously did the vocals for Subhumans. The band was together for four years and was labeled as a bunch of positive anarchists. They sang about everything that’s wrong in this cruel world, but always with a smile. And who knows, maybe you can achieve more than with a fist.

In 1989 Lucas disbanded the band and founded Citizen Fish, but as the interest grew again because of the release of a compilation, Dick decided to reunite Culture Shock with his Citizen Fish-mate Jasper by touring and recording a new album.

What can you say about it? And When there's no need for it, we'll take the politics out of music, Lucas sings at the end of Things To Do. Real punks indeed never give up, even though they realize that all their punk ideals are gone and that capitalism always will rule this globe. Call it naive or if you want pathetic, the fact remains that this sort of attitude in ska punk form always results in sublime music.

In a record time of about 30 minutes, ten songs are rammed down your throat, which would surprise the Hollywood punkers of Green Day. Ska punk of the best level, and even if you found masses of records like these in the 80s, it’s still superb stuff!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Misschien weet je het niet, maar met Culture Shock heb je meteen een punklegende in huis en dat hoor je. Deze band is immers al bezig sinds 1986 met Dick Lucas die eerder de vocalen deed bij Subhumans. De band bestond vier jaar en ze werden steeds bestempeld als positieve anarchisten. Ze hekelden alle ongerijmdheden in deze wrede wereld, maar deden dat altijd met een glimlach. En wie weet kom je daar verder mee dan met de vuist.

In 1989 ontbond Lucas de band en richtte hij Citizen Fish op, maar door de interesse die ontstond door het uitbrengen van een verzamelaar, besloot Dick om samen met zijn Citizen Fish-maatje Jasper Culture Shock opnieuw leven in te blazen door te touren en een nieuw album op te nemen.

Tja, wat moet je erover zeggen? And when there’s no need for it, we’ll take the politics out of music, zingt Lucas op het einde van Things To Do. Echte punkers geven inderdaad nooit op, zelfs al beseffen ze dat al hun punkidealen al lang opgeborgen zijn en dat het kapitalisme eeuwig zal overheersen. Noem het naïef of zo je wil pathetisch, het blijft een feit dat dit soort attitude in skapunkvorm nog steeds sublieme muziek oplevert.

In een recordtempo van zo’n 30 minuten tijd worden tien songs door je strot geramd die de Hollywoodpunkers van Green Day zouden laten verstommen. Skapunk van het allerbeste niveau, ook al vond je dit soort platen in de jaren 80 bij de vleet. Desalniettemin blijft het steengoed!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition
13
03
STEREOSEAT
Heavenly Creatures

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 32 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s exactly 30 years ago that Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...
03
03
DAVID SARDY
Producer David Sardy on his work with The Who, Oasis, Marilyn Manson and scoring work.
17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes
25
03
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins
24
03
KRANKLAND
In the Realms of the Unreal
23
03
A;GRUMH
Danger Zone