tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : CULTURE SHOCK - Attention Span

CULTURE SHOCK

Attention Span

MusicCD
PunkSka

[80/100]   

Alternative Tentacles Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Maybe you do not know, but Culture Shock is a real punk legend. This band started in 1986 with Dick Lucas who previously did the vocals for Subhumans. The band was together for four years and was labeled as a bunch of positive anarchists. They sang about everything that’s wrong in this cruel world, but always with a smile. And who knows, maybe you can achieve more than with a fist.

In 1989 Lucas disbanded the band and founded Citizen Fish, but as the interest grew again because of the release of a compilation, Dick decided to reunite Culture Shock with his Citizen Fish-mate Jasper by touring and recording a new album.

What can you say about it? And When there's no need for it, we'll take the politics out of music, Lucas sings at the end of Things To Do. Real punks indeed never give up, even though they realize that all their punk ideals are gone and that capitalism always will rule this globe. Call it naive or if you want pathetic, the fact remains that this sort of attitude in ska punk form always results in sublime music.

In a record time of about 30 minutes, ten songs are rammed down your throat, which would surprise the Hollywood punkers of Green Day. Ska punk of the best level, and even if you found masses of records like these in the 80s, it’s still superb stuff!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Misschien weet je het niet, maar met Culture Shock heb je meteen een punklegende in huis en dat hoor je. Deze band is immers al bezig sinds 1986 met Dick Lucas die eerder de vocalen deed bij Subhumans. De band bestond vier jaar en ze werden steeds bestempeld als positieve anarchisten. Ze hekelden alle ongerijmdheden in deze wrede wereld, maar deden dat altijd met een glimlach. En wie weet kom je daar verder mee dan met de vuist.

In 1989 ontbond Lucas de band en richtte hij Citizen Fish op, maar door de interesse die ontstond door het uitbrengen van een verzamelaar, besloot Dick om samen met zijn Citizen Fish-maatje Jasper Culture Shock opnieuw leven in te blazen door te touren en een nieuw album op te nemen.

Tja, wat moet je erover zeggen? And when there’s no need for it, we’ll take the politics out of music, zingt Lucas op het einde van Things To Do. Echte punkers geven inderdaad nooit op, zelfs al beseffen ze dat al hun punkidealen al lang opgeborgen zijn en dat het kapitalisme eeuwig zal overheersen. Noem het naïef of zo je wil pathetisch, het blijft een feit dat dit soort attitude in skapunkvorm nog steeds sublieme muziek oplevert.

In een recordtempo van zo’n 30 minuten tijd worden tien songs door je strot geramd die de Hollywoodpunkers van Green Day zouden laten verstommen. Skapunk van het allerbeste niveau, ook al vond je dit soort platen in de jaren 80 bij de vleet. Desalniettemin blijft het steengoed!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet