tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : CULTURE SHOCK - Attention Span

CULTURE SHOCK

Attention Span

MusicCD
PunkSka

[80/100]   

Alternative Tentacles Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Maybe you do not know, but Culture Shock is a real punk legend. This band started in 1986 with Dick Lucas who previously did the vocals for Subhumans. The band was together for four years and was labeled as a bunch of positive anarchists. They sang about everything that’s wrong in this cruel world, but always with a smile. And who knows, maybe you can achieve more than with a fist.

In 1989 Lucas disbanded the band and founded Citizen Fish, but as the interest grew again because of the release of a compilation, Dick decided to reunite Culture Shock with his Citizen Fish-mate Jasper by touring and recording a new album.

What can you say about it? And When there's no need for it, we'll take the politics out of music, Lucas sings at the end of Things To Do. Real punks indeed never give up, even though they realize that all their punk ideals are gone and that capitalism always will rule this globe. Call it naive or if you want pathetic, the fact remains that this sort of attitude in ska punk form always results in sublime music.

In a record time of about 30 minutes, ten songs are rammed down your throat, which would surprise the Hollywood punkers of Green Day. Ska punk of the best level, and even if you found masses of records like these in the 80s, it’s still superb stuff!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Misschien weet je het niet, maar met Culture Shock heb je meteen een punklegende in huis en dat hoor je. Deze band is immers al bezig sinds 1986 met Dick Lucas die eerder de vocalen deed bij Subhumans. De band bestond vier jaar en ze werden steeds bestempeld als positieve anarchisten. Ze hekelden alle ongerijmdheden in deze wrede wereld, maar deden dat altijd met een glimlach. En wie weet kom je daar verder mee dan met de vuist.

In 1989 ontbond Lucas de band en richtte hij Citizen Fish op, maar door de interesse die ontstond door het uitbrengen van een verzamelaar, besloot Dick om samen met zijn Citizen Fish-maatje Jasper Culture Shock opnieuw leven in te blazen door te touren en een nieuw album op te nemen.

Tja, wat moet je erover zeggen? And when there’s no need for it, we’ll take the politics out of music, zingt Lucas op het einde van Things To Do. Echte punkers geven inderdaad nooit op, zelfs al beseffen ze dat al hun punkidealen al lang opgeborgen zijn en dat het kapitalisme eeuwig zal overheersen. Noem het naïef of zo je wil pathetisch, het blijft een feit dat dit soort attitude in skapunkvorm nog steeds sublieme muziek oplevert.

In een recordtempo van zo’n 30 minuten tijd worden tien songs door je strot geramd die de Hollywoodpunkers van Green Day zouden laten verstommen. Skapunk van het allerbeste niveau, ook al vond je dit soort platen in de jaren 80 bij de vleet. Desalniettemin blijft het steengoed!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life