tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : CULTURE SHOCK - Attention Span

CULTURE SHOCK

Attention Span

MusicCD
PunkSka

[80/100]   

Alternative Tentacles Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Maybe you do not know, but Culture Shock is a real punk legend. This band started in 1986 with Dick Lucas who previously did the vocals for Subhumans. The band was together for four years and was labeled as a bunch of positive anarchists. They sang about everything that’s wrong in this cruel world, but always with a smile. And who knows, maybe you can achieve more than with a fist.

In 1989 Lucas disbanded the band and founded Citizen Fish, but as the interest grew again because of the release of a compilation, Dick decided to reunite Culture Shock with his Citizen Fish-mate Jasper by touring and recording a new album.

What can you say about it? And When there's no need for it, we'll take the politics out of music, Lucas sings at the end of Things To Do. Real punks indeed never give up, even though they realize that all their punk ideals are gone and that capitalism always will rule this globe. Call it naive or if you want pathetic, the fact remains that this sort of attitude in ska punk form always results in sublime music.

In a record time of about 30 minutes, ten songs are rammed down your throat, which would surprise the Hollywood punkers of Green Day. Ska punk of the best level, and even if you found masses of records like these in the 80s, it’s still superb stuff!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Misschien weet je het niet, maar met Culture Shock heb je meteen een punklegende in huis en dat hoor je. Deze band is immers al bezig sinds 1986 met Dick Lucas die eerder de vocalen deed bij Subhumans. De band bestond vier jaar en ze werden steeds bestempeld als positieve anarchisten. Ze hekelden alle ongerijmdheden in deze wrede wereld, maar deden dat altijd met een glimlach. En wie weet kom je daar verder mee dan met de vuist.

In 1989 ontbond Lucas de band en richtte hij Citizen Fish op, maar door de interesse die ontstond door het uitbrengen van een verzamelaar, besloot Dick om samen met zijn Citizen Fish-maatje Jasper Culture Shock opnieuw leven in te blazen door te touren en een nieuw album op te nemen.

Tja, wat moet je erover zeggen? And when there’s no need for it, we’ll take the politics out of music, zingt Lucas op het einde van Things To Do. Echte punkers geven inderdaad nooit op, zelfs al beseffen ze dat al hun punkidealen al lang opgeborgen zijn en dat het kapitalisme eeuwig zal overheersen. Noem het naïef of zo je wil pathetisch, het blijft een feit dat dit soort attitude in skapunkvorm nog steeds sublieme muziek oplevert.

In een recordtempo van zo’n 30 minuten tijd worden tien songs door je strot geramd die de Hollywoodpunkers van Green Day zouden laten verstommen. Skapunk van het allerbeste niveau, ook al vond je dit soort platen in de jaren 80 bij de vleet. Desalniettemin blijft het steengoed!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation