tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : CULTURE SHOCK - Attention Span

CULTURE SHOCK

Attention Span

MusicCD
PunkSka

[80/100]   

Alternative Tentacles Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Maybe you do not know, but Culture Shock is a real punk legend. This band started in 1986 with Dick Lucas who previously did the vocals for Subhumans. The band was together for four years and was labeled as a bunch of positive anarchists. They sang about everything that’s wrong in this cruel world, but always with a smile. And who knows, maybe you can achieve more than with a fist.

In 1989 Lucas disbanded the band and founded Citizen Fish, but as the interest grew again because of the release of a compilation, Dick decided to reunite Culture Shock with his Citizen Fish-mate Jasper by touring and recording a new album.

What can you say about it? And When there's no need for it, we'll take the politics out of music, Lucas sings at the end of Things To Do. Real punks indeed never give up, even though they realize that all their punk ideals are gone and that capitalism always will rule this globe. Call it naive or if you want pathetic, the fact remains that this sort of attitude in ska punk form always results in sublime music.

In a record time of about 30 minutes, ten songs are rammed down your throat, which would surprise the Hollywood punkers of Green Day. Ska punk of the best level, and even if you found masses of records like these in the 80s, it’s still superb stuff!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Misschien weet je het niet, maar met Culture Shock heb je meteen een punklegende in huis en dat hoor je. Deze band is immers al bezig sinds 1986 met Dick Lucas die eerder de vocalen deed bij Subhumans. De band bestond vier jaar en ze werden steeds bestempeld als positieve anarchisten. Ze hekelden alle ongerijmdheden in deze wrede wereld, maar deden dat altijd met een glimlach. En wie weet kom je daar verder mee dan met de vuist.

In 1989 ontbond Lucas de band en richtte hij Citizen Fish op, maar door de interesse die ontstond door het uitbrengen van een verzamelaar, besloot Dick om samen met zijn Citizen Fish-maatje Jasper Culture Shock opnieuw leven in te blazen door te touren en een nieuw album op te nemen.

Tja, wat moet je erover zeggen? And when there’s no need for it, we’ll take the politics out of music, zingt Lucas op het einde van Things To Do. Echte punkers geven inderdaad nooit op, zelfs al beseffen ze dat al hun punkidealen al lang opgeborgen zijn en dat het kapitalisme eeuwig zal overheersen. Noem het naïef of zo je wil pathetisch, het blijft een feit dat dit soort attitude in skapunkvorm nog steeds sublieme muziek oplevert.

In een recordtempo van zo’n 30 minuten tijd worden tien songs door je strot geramd die de Hollywoodpunkers van Green Day zouden laten verstommen. Skapunk van het allerbeste niveau, ook al vond je dit soort platen in de jaren 80 bij de vleet. Desalniettemin blijft het steengoed!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me