tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DEATH - Scream Bloody Gore

DEATH

Scream Bloody Gore

MusicCD
Death Metal

[80/100]   

Relapse Records
11/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Relapse Records re-issues a re-mastered version of the nearly 30 year old cult classic Scream Bloody Gore with a lot of bonus content. Death’s game-changing debut album Scream Bloody Gore is heralded to be the first true death metal album. The band from Orlando, Florida, was a pioneering force and is considered to be one of the most influential bands in heavy metal. Evil Chuck is often referred to as the godfather of death metal. Death ceased to exist after Chuck Schuldiner died in 2001. The remaining members still perform as Death: DTA (Death To All).

Scream Bloody Gore kicks of with Infernal Death, which is building up pace after a slow start. Die! Die! Die, Chuck Schuldiner savagely screams. Not a low-tone growl like you hear nowadays, rather brutal mid-tone vocals. Some tracks remind me of Slayer: trashy riffs, pounding drums and multiple tempo shifts. But Death sounds even more brutal.

My personal favourites are Evil Dead with its eerie melodic intro, and the title track with its bloody and funny over the top lyrics: decapitated head licking your cunt…

The songs on Scream Bloody Gore are quite simple. Later outputs such as the more progressive Individual Thought Patterns and Symbolic appealed more to me with strong technical guitar work. Scream Bloody Gore sounds primitive and raw compared to those albums. The drumming lacks some variation. But anyhow, Scream Bloody Gore is a quintessential album for the collection of extreme metal fans. A cornerstone in the history of death metal.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


NL

Relapse Records geeft de geremasterde versie van de bijna 30 oude cultklassieker Scream Bloody Gore opnieuw uit met bonusmateriaal. Het vernieuwende debuut van Death wordt beschouwd als het eerste deathmetalalbum. De band uit Orlando, Florida was een pionier en wordt gezien als één van de meest invloedrijke bands van de heavy metal. Evil Chuck wordt vaak de godvader van de death metal genoemd. Death hield op te bestaan toen Chuck Schuldiner overleed in 2001. De overblijvende bandleden treden nog op als Death: DTA (Death To All).

Scream Bloody Gore start met Infernal Death. Na een trage start wordt het tempo opgedreven. Die! Die! Die!, schreeuwt Chuck Schuldiner woest. Geen laag gegrom zoals je dat tegenwoordig hoort, eerder brutaal geschreeuw. Sommige tracks herinneren me aan Slayer: trashy riffs, beukende drums en talrijke tempowisselingen. Maar Death klinkt nog brutaler.

Mijn persoonlijke favorieten zijn Evil Dead met zijn ijzingwekkende, melodische intro, en de titeltrack met de buitensporig bloederige tekst: Decapitated head licking your cunt…

De composities op Scream Bloody Gore zijn eerder eenvoudig. Latere, progressievere albums zoal Individual Thought Patterns en Symbolic spraken me meer aan met technische sterke gitaarwerk. Scream Bloody Gore klinkt primitiever en ruwer ten opzichte van die platen. De drums zouden ook wat gevarieerder mogen klinken. Maar hoe dan ook is deze Scream Bloody Gore een album dat thuishoort in de collectie van elke deathmetalfan. Een richtinggevend album in de geschiedenis van het genre.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey