tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DEATH - Scream Bloody Gore

DEATH

Scream Bloody Gore

MusicCD
Death Metal

[80/100]   

Relapse Records
11/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Relapse Records re-issues a re-mastered version of the nearly 30 year old cult classic Scream Bloody Gore with a lot of bonus content. Death’s game-changing debut album Scream Bloody Gore is heralded to be the first true death metal album. The band from Orlando, Florida, was a pioneering force and is considered to be one of the most influential bands in heavy metal. Evil Chuck is often referred to as the godfather of death metal. Death ceased to exist after Chuck Schuldiner died in 2001. The remaining members still perform as Death: DTA (Death To All).

Scream Bloody Gore kicks of with Infernal Death, which is building up pace after a slow start. Die! Die! Die, Chuck Schuldiner savagely screams. Not a low-tone growl like you hear nowadays, rather brutal mid-tone vocals. Some tracks remind me of Slayer: trashy riffs, pounding drums and multiple tempo shifts. But Death sounds even more brutal.

My personal favourites are Evil Dead with its eerie melodic intro, and the title track with its bloody and funny over the top lyrics: decapitated head licking your cunt…

The songs on Scream Bloody Gore are quite simple. Later outputs such as the more progressive Individual Thought Patterns and Symbolic appealed more to me with strong technical guitar work. Scream Bloody Gore sounds primitive and raw compared to those albums. The drumming lacks some variation. But anyhow, Scream Bloody Gore is a quintessential album for the collection of extreme metal fans. A cornerstone in the history of death metal.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


NL

Relapse Records geeft de geremasterde versie van de bijna 30 oude cultklassieker Scream Bloody Gore opnieuw uit met bonusmateriaal. Het vernieuwende debuut van Death wordt beschouwd als het eerste deathmetalalbum. De band uit Orlando, Florida was een pionier en wordt gezien als één van de meest invloedrijke bands van de heavy metal. Evil Chuck wordt vaak de godvader van de death metal genoemd. Death hield op te bestaan toen Chuck Schuldiner overleed in 2001. De overblijvende bandleden treden nog op als Death: DTA (Death To All).

Scream Bloody Gore start met Infernal Death. Na een trage start wordt het tempo opgedreven. Die! Die! Die!, schreeuwt Chuck Schuldiner woest. Geen laag gegrom zoals je dat tegenwoordig hoort, eerder brutaal geschreeuw. Sommige tracks herinneren me aan Slayer: trashy riffs, beukende drums en talrijke tempowisselingen. Maar Death klinkt nog brutaler.

Mijn persoonlijke favorieten zijn Evil Dead met zijn ijzingwekkende, melodische intro, en de titeltrack met de buitensporig bloederige tekst: Decapitated head licking your cunt…

De composities op Scream Bloody Gore zijn eerder eenvoudig. Latere, progressievere albums zoal Individual Thought Patterns en Symbolic spraken me meer aan met technische sterke gitaarwerk. Scream Bloody Gore klinkt primitiever en ruwer ten opzichte van die platen. De drums zouden ook wat gevarieerder mogen klinken. Maar hoe dan ook is deze Scream Bloody Gore een album dat thuishoort in de collectie van elke deathmetalfan. Een richtinggevend album in de geschiedenis van het genre.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination