tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DEATH - Scream Bloody Gore

DEATH

Scream Bloody Gore

MusicCD
Death Metal

[80/100]   

Relapse Records
11/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Relapse Records re-issues a re-mastered version of the nearly 30 year old cult classic Scream Bloody Gore with a lot of bonus content. Death’s game-changing debut album Scream Bloody Gore is heralded to be the first true death metal album. The band from Orlando, Florida, was a pioneering force and is considered to be one of the most influential bands in heavy metal. Evil Chuck is often referred to as the godfather of death metal. Death ceased to exist after Chuck Schuldiner died in 2001. The remaining members still perform as Death: DTA (Death To All).

Scream Bloody Gore kicks of with Infernal Death, which is building up pace after a slow start. Die! Die! Die, Chuck Schuldiner savagely screams. Not a low-tone growl like you hear nowadays, rather brutal mid-tone vocals. Some tracks remind me of Slayer: trashy riffs, pounding drums and multiple tempo shifts. But Death sounds even more brutal.

My personal favourites are Evil Dead with its eerie melodic intro, and the title track with its bloody and funny over the top lyrics: decapitated head licking your cunt…

The songs on Scream Bloody Gore are quite simple. Later outputs such as the more progressive Individual Thought Patterns and Symbolic appealed more to me with strong technical guitar work. Scream Bloody Gore sounds primitive and raw compared to those albums. The drumming lacks some variation. But anyhow, Scream Bloody Gore is a quintessential album for the collection of extreme metal fans. A cornerstone in the history of death metal.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


NL

Relapse Records geeft de geremasterde versie van de bijna 30 oude cultklassieker Scream Bloody Gore opnieuw uit met bonusmateriaal. Het vernieuwende debuut van Death wordt beschouwd als het eerste deathmetalalbum. De band uit Orlando, Florida was een pionier en wordt gezien als één van de meest invloedrijke bands van de heavy metal. Evil Chuck wordt vaak de godvader van de death metal genoemd. Death hield op te bestaan toen Chuck Schuldiner overleed in 2001. De overblijvende bandleden treden nog op als Death: DTA (Death To All).

Scream Bloody Gore start met Infernal Death. Na een trage start wordt het tempo opgedreven. Die! Die! Die!, schreeuwt Chuck Schuldiner woest. Geen laag gegrom zoals je dat tegenwoordig hoort, eerder brutaal geschreeuw. Sommige tracks herinneren me aan Slayer: trashy riffs, beukende drums en talrijke tempowisselingen. Maar Death klinkt nog brutaler.

Mijn persoonlijke favorieten zijn Evil Dead met zijn ijzingwekkende, melodische intro, en de titeltrack met de buitensporig bloederige tekst: Decapitated head licking your cunt…

De composities op Scream Bloody Gore zijn eerder eenvoudig. Latere, progressievere albums zoal Individual Thought Patterns en Symbolic spraken me meer aan met technische sterke gitaarwerk. Scream Bloody Gore klinkt primitiever en ruwer ten opzichte van die platen. De drums zouden ook wat gevarieerder mogen klinken. Maar hoe dan ook is deze Scream Bloody Gore een album dat thuishoort in de collectie van elke deathmetalfan. Een richtinggevend album in de geschiedenis van het genre.

Benny CALUWE
11/12/2016


Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life