tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/02/2015 : SIMUS - Vox Vult

SIMUS

Vox Vult

MusicCD
MetalProg

[65/100]   

BAKERTEAM RECORDS
07/02/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

An Italian band that has been around since 2008 and only now has released its first album. After some listening sessions I miss a particular identity. They just have put some elements of prog- and nu-metal together, but there is a lack of a personal style. The guitar parts are somewhat too predictable, just like the vocals. Fortunately, the voice is not really that bad, but as for the lyrics there is nothing to be excited about. So it will be a difficult task to rise above mediocrity and stand out among the many other releases we receive day in day out.

There are some good moments hidden on this record though. Giano is a beautiful and dark starter. Planet Caiak has (at least until the chorus starts) echoes of early Zornik and Billy Talent. The Soul Maker is build up in a nice way, but is destroyed by the banal chorus. Bitter Taste is a good song, but (again) with a text full of clichés. The Golden Pendulum Valve is progressive and fascinating, despite the duration of ten minutes.

If they ever want to make a good album, they better start developing their own sound.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/02/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GsN_DDR6aDE

NL

Een Italiaanse band die sedert 2008 bezig is en die nu pas z'n eerste album heeft uitgebracht. Na wat luisterbeurten mis ik vooral een eigen identiteit. Men heeft wat elementen uit zowel prog als de nu-metal samengevoegd, maar van een eigen stijl is geen sprake. De gitaarpartijen zijn wat voorspelbaar en mogen hier en daar best wat snediger klinken, net als de zanglijnen. Gelukkig is de stem niet echt slecht, maar qua teksten is het allesbehalve spannend. Dat wordt dus moeilijk om boven de middelmaat uit te stijgen en op te vallen tussen de vele releases.

Toch zitten er hier en daar enkele goede momenten op deze plaat verborgen. Giano is een mooie en donkere beginnummer. Planet Caiak heeft tot aan het refrein zelfs iets weg van de vroegere Zornik en Billy Talent. The Soulmaker heeft een geslaagde opbouw en dito tussenstuk, maar een banaal refrein. Bitter Taste is wel een goeie song, maar met een tekst die bol staat van clichés. Afsluiter The Golden Pendulum is een progressief muziekstuk dat er best mag wezen en dat ondanks zijn tien minuten blijft boeien.

Om een echt knap album af te leveren zal men nog grondig aan het songwerk moeten sleutelen, alsook aan het ontwikkelen van een eigen geluid.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/02/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GsN_DDR6aDE

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag