tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/02/2015 : SIMUS - Vox Vult

SIMUS

Vox Vult

MusicCD
MetalProg

[65/100]   

BAKERTEAM RECORDS
07/02/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

An Italian band that has been around since 2008 and only now has released its first album. After some listening sessions I miss a particular identity. They just have put some elements of prog- and nu-metal together, but there is a lack of a personal style. The guitar parts are somewhat too predictable, just like the vocals. Fortunately, the voice is not really that bad, but as for the lyrics there is nothing to be excited about. So it will be a difficult task to rise above mediocrity and stand out among the many other releases we receive day in day out.

There are some good moments hidden on this record though. Giano is a beautiful and dark starter. Planet Caiak has (at least until the chorus starts) echoes of early Zornik and Billy Talent. The Soul Maker is build up in a nice way, but is destroyed by the banal chorus. Bitter Taste is a good song, but (again) with a text full of clichés. The Golden Pendulum Valve is progressive and fascinating, despite the duration of ten minutes.

If they ever want to make a good album, they better start developing their own sound.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/02/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GsN_DDR6aDE

NL

Een Italiaanse band die sedert 2008 bezig is en die nu pas z'n eerste album heeft uitgebracht. Na wat luisterbeurten mis ik vooral een eigen identiteit. Men heeft wat elementen uit zowel prog als de nu-metal samengevoegd, maar van een eigen stijl is geen sprake. De gitaarpartijen zijn wat voorspelbaar en mogen hier en daar best wat snediger klinken, net als de zanglijnen. Gelukkig is de stem niet echt slecht, maar qua teksten is het allesbehalve spannend. Dat wordt dus moeilijk om boven de middelmaat uit te stijgen en op te vallen tussen de vele releases.

Toch zitten er hier en daar enkele goede momenten op deze plaat verborgen. Giano is een mooie en donkere beginnummer. Planet Caiak heeft tot aan het refrein zelfs iets weg van de vroegere Zornik en Billy Talent. The Soulmaker heeft een geslaagde opbouw en dito tussenstuk, maar een banaal refrein. Bitter Taste is wel een goeie song, maar met een tekst die bol staat van clichés. Afsluiter The Golden Pendulum is een progressief muziekstuk dat er best mag wezen en dat ondanks zijn tien minuten blijft boeien.

Om een echt knap album af te leveren zal men nog grondig aan het songwerk moeten sleutelen, alsook aan het ontwikkelen van een eigen geluid.

Wim GUILLEMYN
07/02/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GsN_DDR6aDE

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design