tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/02/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - The Reverb Conspiracy Vol 3

VARIOUS ARTISTS

The Reverb Conspiracy Vol 3

MusicCD
Psych RockPsychedelic

[85/100]   

Fuzz Club
04/02/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the third compilation of the European Fuzz Club Records and the US-based The Reverberation Appreciation Society. It’s a compilation of songs that can be compared to the likes of Primal Scream, The Jesus & Mary Chain or Kula Shaker. In other words: psychedelica combined with rock 'n roll, noise, blues, krautrock, electronica... This compilation is representative for both the diversity and quality in this scene.

The cover is designed by the Icelandic artist Jon Saemundur aka Nonni Dead (member of the Dead Skeletons). It definitely pays to visit his site: http://www.dead.is/.

We hear fifteen songs of rather unknownbands, at least for me. What is definitely worth a listen on this compilation?

Opener The Oscillation with No Place Go. Or Holy Science with Moon: a six-minute song with a psychedelic guitar, gurgling vocals and an up-tempo rhythm. History of Colour TV’s Sudden Lines is a wonderfully dreamy song that is based on keys and is reminiscent of what The Cure did on Desintegration. Singapore Sling offers a nice track (You Drive Me Insane) in the tradition of The Jesus & Mary Chain: rock 'n roll combined with noise and feedback. Sound Sweet Sound with Death's On The Way. Camera is more psychedelic with krautrock influences. Very beautiful. Lola Colt creates with Away From The Water a dark atmosphere that is a bit like Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds.

The rest of the compilation is certainly not bad, but consists of songs that have too many similarities with older examples, Meltdown Corp by New Candys sounds a bit too much like The Stooges' I Wanna Be Your Dog. But no complaints, as this is a varied collection.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/02/2015


NL

Dit is de derde compilatie die het Europese Fuzz Club Records en het Amerikaanse The Reverberation Appreciation Society samen uitbrengen. De eerste uitgave van the Reverb Conspiracy was een belangrijk moment voor de nieuwe Europese psychedelische stroming. Het echte keerpunt kwam er met de gelijknamige tour, die de meeste bands uit deze verzameling de kans gaf om op te treden.

Een mondvol uitleg dus voor een compilatie met nummers die in het verlengde liggen van Primal Scream, The Jesus & Mary Chain of Kula Shaker. De basis is psychedelica, telkens aangevuld met elementen uit andere genres, zoals bijv. rock 'n roll, noise, blues, krautrock, electronica... Deze compilatie wil representatief zijn voor de diversiteit en de kwaliteit die momenteel in deze scène aanwezig zijn.

De hoes is ontworpen door de Ijslandse artiest Jon Saemundur aka Nonni Dead ( lid van de Dead Skeletons). Het loont de moeite om zijn site eens te bezoeken: http://www.dead.is/.

We horen vijftien nummers van, voor mij toch, grotendeels onbekende groepen. Zoals gezegd ligt de nadruk van elke band telkens op een ander genre, maar de flow van het album blijft toch mooi behouden.

Wat is zeker de moeite op deze compilatie?

Opener The Oscillation met No Place Go. Holy Science met Moon dat een zes minuten durende song brengt met een psychedelische gitaar, murmelende zang en een uptemporitme. History of Colour Tv brengt met Suddenlines een heerlijk dromerig nummer dat drijft op keys en dat wat doet denken aan o.a. het Desintegration-album van The Cure. Singapore Sling brengt hier een mooi nummer (You Drive Me Insane) in de traditie van The Jesus & Mary Chain: rock ’n roll gecombineerd met noise en feedback dus. Sound Sweet Sound heeft hier gewoon een fijn nummer met Death is On The Way. Camera brengt krautrock met psychedelica-invloeden. Mooi. Lola Colt zet met Away From The Water een donkere sfeer neer (denk aan Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds). Francois Sky ft. Jeff Levitz brengt een sfeervol nummer als afsluiter van een toch wel boeiende compilatie.

De rest van de compilatie is zeker niet slecht, maar het zijn gewoon iets mindere songs of composities die te veel overeenkomsten met oude voorbeelden vertonen, bijv. New Candys dat met Meltdown Corp een basisritme heeft dat veel gelijkenissenver toont met The Stooges’ I Wanna Be Your Dog. Deathcrush mengt punk met psychedelica, maar het nummer is niet echt het sterkste van deze verzameling.

Een mooie samenhangende en toch variërende verzameling.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/02/2015


 

Next reviews
MARK RONSON • Uptown Special
AIDAN BAKER/THISQUIETARMY • The Hypnodrone Ensemble
KARIM ANOUIZ • Praia Do Futuro
CHARNIA • Dageraad
JEAN-PAUL SALOME • The Chameleon
SAGITARIO • Violent
ANDREW GOTH • Gallowwalkers
ANTON CORBIJN • A Most Wanted Man
SCHNEIDER KACIREK • Shadow Documents
ADAM COHEN • We Go Home

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase

 

Same combination of genres: PSYCH ROCK + PSYCHEDELIC
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
PSYCHIC TV • Antwerpen, Het Bos (28/03/2015)
LA HELL GANG • Thru Me Again
TEMPLES • live at the Botanique, 31/3/2014, Brussels, Belgium
TEMPLES • Sun Structures
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS • Chemical Playschool 15

 

Same genre: PSYCH ROCK
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
GOLDEN APES • Malus
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
AHRAYEPH • Desert Songs
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • The Wolvennest Sessions

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation