tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

04/02/2015 : MICHAEL DOWSE - What If

MICHAEL DOWSE

What If

Movie
ComedyRomantic

[55/100]   

E1
04/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Fortunately for her, Emma Watson is less and less associated with Hermione Granger nowadays, but for Daniel Radcliffe it seems a lot harder to get rid of his Harry Potter image. The reason is of course the films he has chosen. Granted, it is a quite bold choice, even a tad dangerous one if you dare to come up with films like Horns or Kill Your Darlings, as there is danger that he quickly ends up in oblivion.

With What If Radcliffe plays on safe. This film, based on the play Toothpaste and Cigars by TJ Dawe and Michael Rinaldi, is often compared to the romcom classic When Harry Met Sally, and even more to the sublime (500) Days Of Summer. The only thing What If has in common with Marc Webb's film is the hip indie soundtrack (at least if you like the lullabies of Patrick Watson). But even if not, there is nothing to worry about, because What If is certainly entertaining. For 90 minutes Wallace (Daniel Radcliffe) is wondering how his life would be if he could conquer the heart of Chantry (Zoe Kazan). There is some magic between both, but Chantry already has a boyfriend.

You do not have to watch 90 minutes long to know how it will end, but all in all What If is a nice romcom and that is mainly the merit of the excellent performances (they are people of flesh and blood, including their faults) and funny dialogues. Cinematographicall it is a lesser experience as Michael Dowse (All Gone Pete Tong and Goon) is mainly a master in stealing other people's ideas. But once again, do not worry too much about it, as Zoe Kazan, who previously starred in Ruby Sparks, delivers a nice job. What If is almost the ideal romcom for people who actually hate romcoms.

What If is now out on E One, both on DVD and Blu-ray.

 

Didier BECU
04/02/2015


NL

Gelukkig wordt Emma Watson tegenwoordig minder en minder met Hermelien Griffel geassocieerd, maar voor Daniel Radcliffe lijkt het heel wat moeilijker om zich van zijn Harry Potter-imago te verlossen. De reden is natuurlijk de films die Radcliffe kiest. Toegegeven, het is een gewaagde keuze, maar tegelijkertijd ook een tikkeltje gevaarlijk, want met films als Horns of Kill Your Darlings zou hij wel eens vliegensvlug in de vergeethoek kunnen belanden.

Met What If wordt opnieuw op veilig gespeeld. Deze film, die gebaseerd is op het toneelstuk Toothpaste and Cigars van T.J. Dawe en Michael Rinaldi, wordt graag vergeleken met de romcomklassieker When Harry Met Sally, en vooral ook met het sublieme (500) Days Of Summer. Het enige echte raakpunt met Marc Webbs film is de hippe indiesoundtrack (ten minste als je van de slaapwekkende liedjes van Patrick Watson houdt). Niet getreurd echter, want What If is wel degelijk een onderhoudende prent die wel een melig onderwerp belicht, maar dat zelf nooit wordt. Anderhalf uur vraagt Wallace (Daniel Radcliffe) zich af hoe zijn leven er zou uitzien indien hij het hart van Chantry (Zoe Kazan) zou kunnen veroveren. Het klikt wel tussen de twee, maar Chantry heeft al een ander vriendje.

Je moet geen 90 minuten kijken om te weten hoe het uiteindelijk zal aflopen, toch is What If al bij al een aangename romcom en dat komt voornamelijk door de prima vertolkingen (het zijn mensen van vlees en bloed, inclusief hun gebreken) en de leuke dialogen. Cinematografisch valt er minder te bewonderen. Michael Dowse, die eerder It's All Gone Pete Tong en Goon maakte, is vooral een meester in het jatten van andermans ideeën. Maar opnieuw geen nood, Zoe Kazan, die eerder opviel met Ruby Sparks, kan het boeltje immers mooi redden. Of hoe What If de ideale romcom kan zijn voor mensen die romcoms haten.

What If is nu uit op E One, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
04/02/2015


04/02/2015 : MICHAEL DOWSE - What If 04/02/2015 : MICHAEL DOWSE - What If 04/02/2015 : MICHAEL DOWSE - What If 04/02/2015 : MICHAEL DOWSE - What If 04/02/2015 : MICHAEL DOWSE - What If 04/02/2015 : MICHAEL DOWSE - What If 04/02/2015 : MICHAEL DOWSE - What If 04/02/2015 : MICHAEL DOWSE - What If 04/02/2015 : MICHAEL DOWSE - What If 04/02/2015 : MICHAEL DOWSE - What If 04/02/2015 : MICHAEL DOWSE - What If 04/02/2015 : MICHAEL DOWSE - What If 04/02/2015 : MICHAEL DOWSE - What If 04/02/2015 : MICHAEL DOWSE - What If 04/02/2015 : MICHAEL DOWSE - What If 04/02/2015 : MICHAEL DOWSE - What If

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVERNANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire