tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

02/02/2015 : ANTON CORBIJN - A Most Wanted Man

ANTON CORBIJN

A Most Wanted Man

Movie
Spy Movie

[75/100]   

E1
02/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

"Fuck " is Philip Seymour Hoffman's last word in his latest film (at least if you don’t count his small role in the third Hunger Games). More than sad, because after two hours, you realize once again that Philip Seymour Hoffman was probably the best actor of the last two decades.

A Most Wanted Man is the third film by Anton Corbijn. It is obvious that the Dutch prodigy is in love with celluloid dreams. Just as in his last film The American with George Clooney, his newest is again a spy thriller. And well, who is better for such a story than grandmaster John le Carré ?

The story takes place ten years ago in Hamburg. Günther Bachmann (Philip Seymour Hoffman) is the head of the German Intelligence Service. He gets an inside tip that a fugitive (Grigoriy Dobrygin) claims the huge inheritance of his father. His colleagues and especially the CIA (headed by Robin Wright) want to arrest him immediately, but Gunther refuses. Issa is just a small fish and with him as bait, you can get a much bigger catch!

How exciting the story and brilliant the directing might be, it is abundantly clear that A Most Wanted Man is a Philip Seymour Hoffman movie. One with a very dark undertone, because of his fatal overdose you actually forget that you are watching a performer. The character is, after all, a bit like the actor himself: addicted to alcohol and cigarettes... a tormented man.

The supporting cast is strong too. Robin Wright is, since House Of Cards, the perfect choice to play a crafty lady and Willem Dafoe is genius as always. Just like any other spy thriller you better paythis one with attention. The satisfaction afterwards is great.

Now out on E One, both on DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
02/02/2015


NL

"Fuck”, dat zijn de laatste woorden die we Philip Seymour Hoffman horen uitspreken in zijn allerlaatste film (ten minste als je zijn bijrol in de derde Hunger Games niet meerekent). Balen is het zeker voor de filmfan, want na twee uur wordt hier nog maar eens onderstreept dat Philip Seymour Hoffman de beste acteur van de laatste twee decennia is.

A Most Wanted Man is de derde film van Anton Corbijn. Het is overduidelijk dat het Nederlandse wonderkind de smaak van de pellicule voorgoed te pakken heeft. Net zoals in zijn laatste film The American met George Clooney, is het wederom een spionagethriller geworden. En tja, wie kan er nou voor betere spionageverhaal zorgen dan meester John le Carré?

Het verhaal speelt zich tien jaar geleden in Hamburg af. Günther Bachmann (Philip Seymour Hoffman) staat aan het hoofd van de Duitse veiligheidsdienst. Hij krijgt een tip over een Tsjetjeense vluchteling (Grigoriy Dobrygin) die aanspraak maakt op de gigantische erfenis van zijn vader. Zijn collega’s en vooral ook de CIA (onder leiding van Robin Wright) willen hem onmiddellijk klissen, maar Gunther weigert. Issa is niet meer dan een kleine vis en met hem als lokaas kan je een veel grotere vangen!

Hoe spannend het verhaal en briljant de regie ook is, toch is dit overduidelijk een Philip Seymour Hoffman-film geworden. Eentje met een zeer duistere kant weliswaar, want door zijn fatale overdosis, vergeet je dat je naar een vertolker zit te kijken. Het personage is immers, net als de acteur zelf, hopeloos aan drank en sigaretten verslaafd…een getormenteerde man die nooit meer met zichzelf in het reine kan komen.

Ook de bijrollen zijn ijzersterk. Robin Wright is sinds House Of Cards de ideale keuze om een gehaaide dame te spelen en ook Willem Dafoe blijft geniaal. Net zoals iedere spionagethriller vraagt ook deze parel voldoende kijkaandacht, maar de voldoening achteraf is groots.

Nu uit op E One, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
02/02/2015


02/02/2015 : ANTON CORBIJN - A Most Wanted Man 02/02/2015 : ANTON CORBIJN - A Most Wanted Man 02/02/2015 : ANTON CORBIJN - A Most Wanted Man 02/02/2015 : ANTON CORBIJN - A Most Wanted Man 02/02/2015 : ANTON CORBIJN - A Most Wanted Man 02/02/2015 : ANTON CORBIJN - A Most Wanted Man 02/02/2015 : ANTON CORBIJN - A Most Wanted Man 02/02/2015 : ANTON CORBIJN - A Most Wanted Man 02/02/2015 : ANTON CORBIJN - A Most Wanted Man 02/02/2015 : ANTON CORBIJN - A Most Wanted Man 02/02/2015 : ANTON CORBIJN - A Most Wanted Man 02/02/2015 : ANTON CORBIJN - A Most Wanted Man 02/02/2015 : ANTON CORBIJN - A Most Wanted Man 02/02/2015 : ANTON CORBIJN - A Most Wanted Man 02/02/2015 : ANTON CORBIJN - A Most Wanted Man

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite