tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/02/2016 : RISE - Resilience

RISE

Resilience

MusicDigital
Alternative RockPost-MetalRomantic

[85/100]   

Tunecore Services
11/02/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Rise is a French trio that tried everything to make itsr debut unforgettable. The artwork is very nicely, as well as the music that can be described as a mix of post-metal, black metal and alternative indie pop. They say they want to convey a romantic vision with their music. Perhaps you might think that Peek-A-Boo simply made up some terms, hoping that some will fit. But no, nowadays many bands use different styles in their music. As a base sound, you could say Rise plays a kind of progressive/post-metal sound.

Aymeric Goutal does the vocals in an alternate way. Sometimes it’s modern nu-metal, and then he sings in a dreamy, warm way. That’s very nice to listen to. A good example is About Oceans that lasts eight minutes and begins as progressive rock with a warm voice, and then develops in nu-metal with the usual growls and shouts. At the end you hear an ambient atmosphere. Maybe you can compare Rise with Ayreon because of the variety and the same feeling. But to cut a long story short: Rise made a cool debut!

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/02/2016


NL

Rise is een Frans trio dat bij het uitbrengen van z'n debuut niets aan het toeval heeft overgelaten. Het artwork is heel mooi uitgewerkt en dat geldt tevens voor de muziek, die je misschien best als een mix van post-metal, alternatieve black metal en indiepop kan omschrijven. Zelf zeggen ze dat ze met hun muziek een romantische visie willen uitdragen. Ik hoor je al denken dat Peek-A-Boo hier gewoonweg een hoop termen bij elkaar gooit in de hoop er toch maar een paar op te noemen die raak zijn. Maar neen, het is nu eenmaal zo dat tegenwoordig veel bands verschillende stijlen in hun muziek verwerken. Zo ook Rise dus, dat als basis een soort progressief/post-metal geluid heeft.

Aymeric Goutal verzorgt de vocals en doet dat afwisselend op een moderne nu-metal- en dan weer op een dromerige, warme manier. Heel fijn om naar te luisteren. About Oceans duurt acht minuten en begint dankzij de gitaren als progressieve rock met een warme stem, maar daarna horen we nu-metal met growls en shouts. De uitloper ontaardt in een stemmig stukje ambient. Misschien kun je Rise wel met Ayreon vergelijken wegens dezelfde diversiteit en feeling. Maar om het kort te houden: met Resilience heeft Rise een gaaf debuut gemaakt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/02/2016


11/02/2016 : RISE - Resilience 11/02/2016 : RISE - Resilience 11/02/2016 : RISE - Resilience

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?