tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/02/2016 : RISE - Resilience

RISE

Resilience

MusicDigital
Alternative RockPost-MetalRomantic

[85/100]   

Tunecore Services
11/02/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Rise is a French trio that tried everything to make itsr debut unforgettable. The artwork is very nicely, as well as the music that can be described as a mix of post-metal, black metal and alternative indie pop. They say they want to convey a romantic vision with their music. Perhaps you might think that Peek-A-Boo simply made up some terms, hoping that some will fit. But no, nowadays many bands use different styles in their music. As a base sound, you could say Rise plays a kind of progressive/post-metal sound.

Aymeric Goutal does the vocals in an alternate way. Sometimes it’s modern nu-metal, and then he sings in a dreamy, warm way. That’s very nice to listen to. A good example is About Oceans that lasts eight minutes and begins as progressive rock with a warm voice, and then develops in nu-metal with the usual growls and shouts. At the end you hear an ambient atmosphere. Maybe you can compare Rise with Ayreon because of the variety and the same feeling. But to cut a long story short: Rise made a cool debut!

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/02/2016


NL

Rise is een Frans trio dat bij het uitbrengen van z'n debuut niets aan het toeval heeft overgelaten. Het artwork is heel mooi uitgewerkt en dat geldt tevens voor de muziek, die je misschien best als een mix van post-metal, alternatieve black metal en indiepop kan omschrijven. Zelf zeggen ze dat ze met hun muziek een romantische visie willen uitdragen. Ik hoor je al denken dat Peek-A-Boo hier gewoonweg een hoop termen bij elkaar gooit in de hoop er toch maar een paar op te noemen die raak zijn. Maar neen, het is nu eenmaal zo dat tegenwoordig veel bands verschillende stijlen in hun muziek verwerken. Zo ook Rise dus, dat als basis een soort progressief/post-metal geluid heeft.

Aymeric Goutal verzorgt de vocals en doet dat afwisselend op een moderne nu-metal- en dan weer op een dromerige, warme manier. Heel fijn om naar te luisteren. About Oceans duurt acht minuten en begint dankzij de gitaren als progressieve rock met een warme stem, maar daarna horen we nu-metal met growls en shouts. De uitloper ontaardt in een stemmig stukje ambient. Misschien kun je Rise wel met Ayreon vergelijken wegens dezelfde diversiteit en feeling. Maar om het kort te houden: met Resilience heeft Rise een gaaf debuut gemaakt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/02/2016


11/02/2016 : RISE - Resilience 11/02/2016 : RISE - Resilience 11/02/2016 : RISE - Resilience

 

Next reviews
BLUTENGEL • Nemesis
THE FALL • Wise Ol' Man
GLENN LOVE • (R)age Electric (EP)
SCHONWALD, WINTER SEVERITY INDEX, STARCONTROL, PHANTOM LOVE, IL PULSIVO • Brussels, Botanique (06/02/2016)
ASH CODE • Posthuman
KARL BARTOS • Communication
ORGAN • Tetro
THOMAS KÖNER • Tiento de la Luz
THE BESNARD LAKES • A Coliseum Complex Museum
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
KRISTIN HERSH • Crooked (Reissue)
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
MARTY WILSON-PIPER • Hanging Out In Heaven (Reissue)
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Un-Natural Disaster - ft. dUg Pinnick, Zakk Wylde and Ice-T (Collide Mix)
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti

 

Same genre: POST-METAL
ALCEST • Kodoma
SONS OF A WANTED MAN • Black Days, Black Dust
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
CATAYA • Sukzession
WE DESERVE THIS • Pacific
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
KILLING JOKE • Pylon
VERA GRACE • Novella (EP)
KRAKOW • Amaran

 

Same genre: ROMANTIC
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
GEORGE TILLMAN JR. • The Longest Ride
CLAUDE PINOTEAU • L'ETUDIANTE
CHRISTIAN DITTER • Love, Rosie
STUART MURDOCH • God Help The Girl
THOMAS CAILLEY • Les Combattants
BOB DYLAN • Shadows in the Night
MICHAEL DOWSE • What If
WOODY ALLEN • Magic In The Moonlight
LISA AZULEOS • Une Recontre

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap