tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/02/2016 : RISE - Resilience

RISE

Resilience

MusicDigital
Alternative RockPost-MetalRomantic

[85/100]   

Tunecore Services
11/02/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Rise is a French trio that tried everything to make itsr debut unforgettable. The artwork is very nicely, as well as the music that can be described as a mix of post-metal, black metal and alternative indie pop. They say they want to convey a romantic vision with their music. Perhaps you might think that Peek-A-Boo simply made up some terms, hoping that some will fit. But no, nowadays many bands use different styles in their music. As a base sound, you could say Rise plays a kind of progressive/post-metal sound.

Aymeric Goutal does the vocals in an alternate way. Sometimes it’s modern nu-metal, and then he sings in a dreamy, warm way. That’s very nice to listen to. A good example is About Oceans that lasts eight minutes and begins as progressive rock with a warm voice, and then develops in nu-metal with the usual growls and shouts. At the end you hear an ambient atmosphere. Maybe you can compare Rise with Ayreon because of the variety and the same feeling. But to cut a long story short: Rise made a cool debut!

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/02/2016


NL

Rise is een Frans trio dat bij het uitbrengen van z'n debuut niets aan het toeval heeft overgelaten. Het artwork is heel mooi uitgewerkt en dat geldt tevens voor de muziek, die je misschien best als een mix van post-metal, alternatieve black metal en indiepop kan omschrijven. Zelf zeggen ze dat ze met hun muziek een romantische visie willen uitdragen. Ik hoor je al denken dat Peek-A-Boo hier gewoonweg een hoop termen bij elkaar gooit in de hoop er toch maar een paar op te noemen die raak zijn. Maar neen, het is nu eenmaal zo dat tegenwoordig veel bands verschillende stijlen in hun muziek verwerken. Zo ook Rise dus, dat als basis een soort progressief/post-metal geluid heeft.

Aymeric Goutal verzorgt de vocals en doet dat afwisselend op een moderne nu-metal- en dan weer op een dromerige, warme manier. Heel fijn om naar te luisteren. About Oceans duurt acht minuten en begint dankzij de gitaren als progressieve rock met een warme stem, maar daarna horen we nu-metal met growls en shouts. De uitloper ontaardt in een stemmig stukje ambient. Misschien kun je Rise wel met Ayreon vergelijken wegens dezelfde diversiteit en feeling. Maar om het kort te houden: met Resilience heeft Rise een gaaf debuut gemaakt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/02/2016


11/02/2016 : RISE - Resilience 11/02/2016 : RISE - Resilience 11/02/2016 : RISE - Resilience

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa