tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/02/2015 : BOB DYLAN - Shadows in the Night

BOB DYLAN

Shadows in the Night

MusicCD
PopRomantic

[85/100]   

CBS
13/02/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Dylan's 36th studio album is in the stores. It is not the anticipated sequel to Tempest (2012), but a collection of traditional pop standards from the repertoire of Frank Sinatra, a selection of The Great American Songbook à la Dylan. If you thought the man could not sing, you should revise your opinion drastically, because Dylan treats the material with respect and makes it his own. The big band arrangements are replaced by a simple instrumentation of bass, pedal steel, drums and brass. This is music from the times before rock’n roll, music that Dylan has heard on the radio as a teenager. He keeps the romance and the emotion of the original compositions, but he adds just enough grit to ensure that the result remains far from sentimentality and sliminess.

Of course, Shadows in the Night is an atypical Dylan, but it fits perfectly within the choices that he made in the course of his career. Once, he abandoned his acoustic guitar for an electric sound, which cost him a lot of fans, later he picked up religion and again put his prospects at risk, but despite his declining success in the 80s, Dylan was not defeated, and in the late 90s he snuggled back into the favour of critics and music lovers. Meanwhile, he is 74 and he can afford one or two things. Shadows in the Night is a bold undertaking, but the result is strong and convincing.

Songs like Autumn Leaves, Stay with Me and the gorgeous That Lucky Old Sun would not be out of place on his traditional studio albums, and actually all of these 10 songs apply perfectly well with his cracking and ruined voice. This is Bob Dylan as you never heard him before.

Track listing:
1. I’m a Fool to Want You
2. The Night We Called it a Day
3. Stay With Me
4. Autumn Leaves
5. Why Try to Change Me Now
6. Some Enchanted Evening
7. Full Moon and Empty Arms
8. Where Are You?
9. What’ll I Do
0. That Lucky Old Sun

William LIÉNARD
13/02/2015


NL

Dylans 36ste studioalbum ligt in de winkels. Het is niet de verwachte opvolger van Tempest (2012), maar een verzameling van traditional popstandards uit het repertoire van Frank Sinatra, een keuze uit The Great American Songbook à la Dylan. Wie dacht dat de man niet kan zingen, die moet z’n mening definitief herzien, want Dylan behandelt het materiaal met respect en zet het naar z’n hand. De bigbandarrangementen zijn gesneuveld en vervangen door een eenvoudige instrumentatie van contrabas, pedal steel, drums en koper. Dit is muziek uit het pre-rock’n roll-tijdperk, muziek die Dylan als tiener op de radio heeft gehoord. Hij bewaart de weemoed en de emotie van de oorspronkelijke composities, maar hij voegt net voldoende gruis toe opdat het resultaat uit de buurt blijft van sentimentaliteit en lijmerigheid.

Shadows in the Night is een atypische Dylan, maar het album past perfect in de eigenzinnige keuzes die Dylan in de loop van z’n carrière heeft gemaakt. Ooit hing hij z’n akoestische gitaar aan de wilgen en koos voor een elektrisch geluid, wat hem een boel fans kostte, later ging hij de religieuze toer op en bracht opnieuw z’n vooruitzichten in gevaar, maar ondanks een teruglopend succes in de jaren 80, was Dylan niet uitgeteld en eind jaren 90 nestelde hij zich opnieuw in de gunst van de critici en de muziekliefhebbers. Ondertussen is hij 74 en mag hij zich het één en ander permitteren. Shadows in the Night, is een gedurfde onderneming, maar het resultaat is sterk en overtuigend.

Songs zoals Autumn Leaves, Stay with Me en het bloedmooie That Lucky Old Sun zouden overigens niet misstaan op z’n eigen studioalbums en eigenlijk passen deze 10 songs allemaal perfect bij z’n krakende en geruïneerde stem. Dit is Bob Dylan zoals u hem nooit eerder hoorde, maar het resultaat mag er zijn.

William LIÉNARD
13/02/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)