tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy

DENIS VILLENEUVE

Enemy

Movie


[80/100]   

Filmfreaks
10/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Those who fancy a strange, surreal film should try Enemy by Canadian director Denis Villeneuve. Be comforted with the thought that no one probably knows what exactly happens, but that is the case with all movies that pretend to be influenced by David Lynch. It is more than namedropping, because Villeneuve gives Isabella Rossellini (the star of Blue Velvet) a guest role at the end of the film. And then there is of course the influence of David Cronenberg and Stanley Kubrick (the opening scene seems almost a little too much like Eyes Wide Shut ).

Great examples not always result in great films, but those who saw Incendies and Prisoners know that there is a possibility when Villeneuve is involved. The scenario was written by Javier Gullón and based on the novel The Double by Nobel Prize winner José Saramago. It offers a possible answer to the question how someone would react if he knew that he has a doppelganger. It happens to the quite boring professor Adam Bell (Jake Gyllenhaal). On the advice of one of his colleagues, he rents a movie and see B - actor Daniel St. Claire, who looks exactly like him. Adam falls under the spell of his doppelganger, he tries to know everything about him, he stalks him and even penetrates into his life. Although the two are physically like a mirror, the professor is an introvert (almost reclusive) guy, while the actor is a rather arrogant and spoiled.

While Prisoners was an intriguing Hollywoodthriller, Enemy is a very quirky film that will not be appreciated by everyone, but it certainly is an uppercut for the brain. Obviously you won’t find anyone better than Jake Gyllenhaal to perform a weirdo (just think of Donnie Darko, Jarhead or recently Nightcrawler). Perhaps Enemy is not the film everyone is waiting for, but if you are a bit insane yourself, then you should definitely try it!

Didier BECU
10/02/2015


NL

Wie zin heeft in een vreemde, surrealistische film moet Enemy van de Canadese regisseur Denis Villeneuve een keer bekijken. Troost je met de gedachte dat wellicht geen mens weet wat er precies gebeurt, maar dat is nu eenmaal het geval met alle films die de pretentie hebben om in de buurt van David Lynch te komen. Het is meer dan zo maar wat namedropping, want Villeneuve laat op het einde van de film Isabella Rossellini (de ster uit Blue Velvet) in een gastrol opdraven. En dan is er natuurlijk ook nog de invloed van landgenoten David Cronenberg en Stanley Kubrick (de openingscène lijkt bijna op een net iets te doorzichtige ode aan Eyes Wide Shut).

Grote voorbeelden resulteren natuurlijk niet altijd in geslaagde films, maar wie eerder al Incendies en Prisoners zag, weet dat de kans daarop zeer groot is. Het scenario is geschreven door Javier Gullón en gebaseerd op de roman The Double van Nobelprijswinnaar José Saramago. Het biedt een mogelijk antwoord op de vraag hoe iemand zou reageren mocht hij weten dat er op de aarde een dubbelganger van hemzelf rondloopt. Het overkomt de saaie professor Adam Bell (Jake Gyllenhaal). Op aanraden van zijn collega’s huurt hij een film en komt tot de vaststelling dat de B-acteur Daniel St. Claire als twee druppels water op hem lijkt. Adam raakt in de ban van zijn dubbelganger, probeert alles over hem te weten te komen, stalkt hem en dringt vervolgens zijn leven binnen. Ofschoon de twee fysiek elkaars spiegelbeeld zijn, is de professor toch een introverte (bijna mensenschuwe) kerel, en stapt de acteur eerder op hoogmoedig wijze door het leven.

Terwijl Prisoners een intrigerende thriller met Hollywoodallures was, is Enemy een zeer eigenzinnige film die niet door iedereen zal worden geapprecieerd, maar een klap op je hersenen is het zeker. Uiteraard vind je niemand beter dan Jake Gyllenhaal als je een wereldvreemde snuiter in je film wil, een rol die hem op het lijf is geschreven (denk maar aan Donnie Darko, Jarhead of recent Nightcrawler). Wellicht is Enemy niet de film waarop iedereen zit te wachten, maar als je een paar hersenkronkels in de verkeerde richting hebt liggen, dan moet je hem beslist uitproberen!

Didier BECU
10/02/2015


10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy 10/02/2015 : DENIS VILLENEUVE - Enemy

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu