tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight

JOHN HERZFELD

Out Of Sight

Movie
Drama

[50/100]   

Dutch FilmWorks
09/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

For some reason it was decided in Europe to change the title of Reach Me into Out Of Sight. It sounds indeed less corny, but we are stuck with the fact that everyone thinks that this is the film by Steven Soderbergh, starring George Clooney and Jennifer Lopez. Tha i’s not so, it is a kind of collage film, directed by John Herzfeld, a man whose greatest triumph was the reunion of John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John in Two Of A Kind.

It is a star cast nonetheless, with mostly old names that barely can get a job today. But, and that is the other truth, if you can say that you were able to put Tom Sizemore, rapper Nelly, Tom Berenger, Sylvester Stallone, Danny Aiello and Danny Trejo in one movie, then you have all the reasons to be proud. Stallone-fans better take care, because their idol is performing as an impresario. Yes, Sly with glasses, who talks about the serious things of life. Who would have thought that one day a director would have the balls for it? The core of the story takes us back to the American title, because Reach Me is a fictional book that many Americans have read and that had a positive impact on their lives. No one knows who wrote it. Little by little, the fans want to know the author of this book.

Out Of Sight is a collage film: you see snippets of the lives of several people, who have at first sight nothing to do with each other (except reading that book), but in the end everything falls nicely together. Out Of Sight is certainly not a perfect movie, and there are a few passages that were better deleted, but if you forget that (and the too predictable end), then this drama has its enjoyable or at least comical moments. The film is now out on Dutch Filmworks, both on DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
09/02/2015


NL

Om de één of andere reden heeft men in Europa besloten om van Reach Me gewoon Out Of Sight te maken. Het klinkt natuurlijk een pak minder melig, toch zitten we met het feit opgescheept dat iedereen denkt dat het om de film van Steven Soderbergh met George Clooney en Jennifer Lopez gaat. Niet dus, wel een soort collagefilm van John Herzfeld, een man wiens grootste triomf het was dat hij in Two Of A Kind John Travolta en Olivia Newton-John opnieuw samenbracht.

Het zijn wel allemaal oude namen die vandaag nog nauwelijks aan de bak komen, toch kun je van een echte sterrencast spreken. Want zeg nu zelf, wie mensen zoals Tom Sizemore, rapper Nelly, Tom Berenger, Sylvester Stallone, Danny Aiello en Danny Trejo voor één film kan strikken, mag daar toch op zijn minst een beetje trots op zijn. Stallone-fans moeten wel opletten, want hun idool vertolkt deze keer de rol van een impresario. Jawel, Sly met een bril op zijn kop die over de serieuze dingen van het leven praat. Wie had gedacht dat een regisseur daar ooit nog de ballen voor zou hebben? De kern van het verhaal brengt ons terug naar de Amerikaanse titel, want Reach Me is een boek dat heel wat Amerikanen hebben gelezen en dat een positieve invloed op hun leven heeft gehad. Niemand echter weet wie het boek heeft geschreven. Beetje bij beetje willen de fans weten wie de auteur van het boek is.

Out Of Sight is een collagefilm. Je weet wel, je krijgt flarden uit het leven van verschillende mensen te zien, die op het eerste gezicht niets met elkaar te maken hebben (behalve het lezen van dat boek dan), maar op het einde valt alles mooi samen. Out Of Sight is zeker geen perfecte film en er zitten een paar passages in die men beter had geschrapt, maar als je dat (alsook het té voorspelbare einde) eventjes kan vergeten, dan is dit drama goed genietbaar, of bij momenten toch vooral zeer komisch. De film is vanaf nu uit op Dutch FilmWorks, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
09/02/2015


09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem