tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight

JOHN HERZFELD

Out Of Sight

Movie
Drama

[50/100]   

Dutch FilmWorks
09/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

For some reason it was decided in Europe to change the title of Reach Me into Out Of Sight. It sounds indeed less corny, but we are stuck with the fact that everyone thinks that this is the film by Steven Soderbergh, starring George Clooney and Jennifer Lopez. Tha i’s not so, it is a kind of collage film, directed by John Herzfeld, a man whose greatest triumph was the reunion of John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John in Two Of A Kind.

It is a star cast nonetheless, with mostly old names that barely can get a job today. But, and that is the other truth, if you can say that you were able to put Tom Sizemore, rapper Nelly, Tom Berenger, Sylvester Stallone, Danny Aiello and Danny Trejo in one movie, then you have all the reasons to be proud. Stallone-fans better take care, because their idol is performing as an impresario. Yes, Sly with glasses, who talks about the serious things of life. Who would have thought that one day a director would have the balls for it? The core of the story takes us back to the American title, because Reach Me is a fictional book that many Americans have read and that had a positive impact on their lives. No one knows who wrote it. Little by little, the fans want to know the author of this book.

Out Of Sight is a collage film: you see snippets of the lives of several people, who have at first sight nothing to do with each other (except reading that book), but in the end everything falls nicely together. Out Of Sight is certainly not a perfect movie, and there are a few passages that were better deleted, but if you forget that (and the too predictable end), then this drama has its enjoyable or at least comical moments. The film is now out on Dutch Filmworks, both on DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
09/02/2015


NL

Om de één of andere reden heeft men in Europa besloten om van Reach Me gewoon Out Of Sight te maken. Het klinkt natuurlijk een pak minder melig, toch zitten we met het feit opgescheept dat iedereen denkt dat het om de film van Steven Soderbergh met George Clooney en Jennifer Lopez gaat. Niet dus, wel een soort collagefilm van John Herzfeld, een man wiens grootste triomf het was dat hij in Two Of A Kind John Travolta en Olivia Newton-John opnieuw samenbracht.

Het zijn wel allemaal oude namen die vandaag nog nauwelijks aan de bak komen, toch kun je van een echte sterrencast spreken. Want zeg nu zelf, wie mensen zoals Tom Sizemore, rapper Nelly, Tom Berenger, Sylvester Stallone, Danny Aiello en Danny Trejo voor één film kan strikken, mag daar toch op zijn minst een beetje trots op zijn. Stallone-fans moeten wel opletten, want hun idool vertolkt deze keer de rol van een impresario. Jawel, Sly met een bril op zijn kop die over de serieuze dingen van het leven praat. Wie had gedacht dat een regisseur daar ooit nog de ballen voor zou hebben? De kern van het verhaal brengt ons terug naar de Amerikaanse titel, want Reach Me is een boek dat heel wat Amerikanen hebben gelezen en dat een positieve invloed op hun leven heeft gehad. Niemand echter weet wie het boek heeft geschreven. Beetje bij beetje willen de fans weten wie de auteur van het boek is.

Out Of Sight is een collagefilm. Je weet wel, je krijgt flarden uit het leven van verschillende mensen te zien, die op het eerste gezicht niets met elkaar te maken hebben (behalve het lezen van dat boek dan), maar op het einde valt alles mooi samen. Out Of Sight is zeker geen perfecte film en er zitten een paar passages in die men beter had geschrapt, maar als je dat (alsook het té voorspelbare einde) eventjes kan vergeten, dan is dit drama goed genietbaar, of bij momenten toch vooral zeer komisch. De film is vanaf nu uit op Dutch FilmWorks, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
09/02/2015


09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight 09/02/2015 : JOHN HERZFELD - Out Of Sight

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)