tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

07/02/2015 : CLAIRE DENIS - Trouble Every Day

CLAIRE DENIS

Trouble Every Day

MovieCult movies
ArthouseCult
Paradiso
07/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

In France, you can find lots of filmmakers who refuse to walk the line. One of them is Claire Denis, who already turned the French cinema upside down since her ​​debut Chocolat in 1998. White Material with Isabelle Huppert is probably her biggest success, at least if you can use that term. People talked about her films, or at least bought the soundtrack, as for both Nénette Et Boni and Trouble Every Day, she could rely on Tindersticks. All in all a strange choice, because let us be honest: would you associate a movie about cannibalism (because that is the subject of Trouble Every Day) for one second with the desolate troubadoursound of Stuart A. Staples?

Expect no slasher or anything like that, because all the blood is beautifully packed in an arthouse suit that especially will please severe critics. The story is set in Paris. Without really knowing it, two cannibals are there. There is the American Shane (as always a tedious Vincent Gallo) andh his wife June (Tricia Vessey). They are on a honeymoon trip in the city of light. But it doesn't work in bed, and the reasonis that Shane wants wants to protect his wife against his own cannibalistic tendencies. Elsewhere in Paris, a woman (Béatrice Dalle) is locked up because her husband (Alex Descas) realizes that she is a danger to others. Once she makes love with someone, she devours him with skin and hair. Coincidentally Shane is looking in Paris for Alex, who used to be one of his colleagues.

Trouble Every Day is a very strange film. It is certainly no exaggeration to say that it is pretentious, but that apparently applies to every film in which Vincent Gallo takes part (no, we're not a fan of the guy!). Some reviewers search for a deeper meaning in the story, but the essence slightly differs from that of an ordinary slasher. Of course Béatrice Dalle is irresistible, but she always is when she plays a disturbed woman.For some the music of Tindersticks may be an extra reason to get the film from under the dust, but we never could saw the real link between the soundtrack and the atmosphere. I guess that we are the one to blame. Is Trouble Every Day that bad? No, certainly not, but it is not the big art movie some say it is. Try at your own risk.

Didier BECU
07/02/2015


NL

In Frankrijk tref je wel meerdere cineasten aan die graag naast de lijntjes lopen. Een van hen is Claire Denis die meteen al met haar debuut Chocolat uit 1998 de Franse cinemawereld op stelten zette. Op White Material met Isabelle Huppert na, kun je niet zeggen dat haar films veel succes hadden. Er werd vooral veel over gesproken, of de soundtracks werden ervan verkocht omdat ze voor zowel Nénette Et Boni als Trouble Every Day op de Tindersticks kon rekenen. Een al bij al vreemde keuze, want zeg nu zelf: zou je een film over kannibalisme (want daarover gaat Trouble Every Day) ook maar één seconde associëren met de troebadoersmuziek van Stuart A. Staples?

Verwacht ook vooral geen slasher of iets dergelijks, want al het bloed dat vloeit is mooi in een arthousepakje verstopt zodat ernstige critici er ook iets aan zouden hebben. Het verhaal speelt zich af in Parijs. Zonder dat ze het zelf echt weten, lopen daar twee kannibalen rond. Er is de Amerikaan Shane (een zoals altijd vervelende Vincent Gallo) die samen met zijn vrouw June (Tricia Vessey) op huwelijksreis is in de lichtstad. Het wil maar niet lukken in bed, maar de reden blijkt al gauw te zijn dat Shane zijn vrouw wil beschermen tegen zijn eigen kannibalistische trekjes. Ergens anders in Parijs zit er een vrouw (Beatrice Dalle) achter slot en grendel omdat haar man (Alex Descas) beseft dat ze een gevaar is voor anderen. Eens ze de liefde met iemand bedrijft, verslindt ze hem met haar en huid. Het toeval wil dat Shane in Parijs op zoek is naar deze Alex, die vroeger een collega van hem was.

Trouble Every Day is een zeer vreemde prent. Het is zeker niet overdreven als we beweren dat de film pretentieus is, maar dat geldt blijkbaar voor iedere film waarbij Vincent Gallo is betrokken (neen, we zijn geen fan van de man!). Sommige recensenten zoeken wel een diepere betekenis in het verhaal, maar de essentie verschilt nauwelijks van die van een doordeweekse slasher. Natuurlijk is Béatrice Dalle onweerstaanbaar, maar dat is ze nu eenmaal altijd als je haar een gestoord wijf laat spelen. De muziek van Tindersticks is misschien een extra reden voor sommigen om de film van onder het stof te halen, maar naar het echte verband tussen de soundtrack en de sfeer hebben we het raden. Is Trouble Every Day slecht? Neen, zeker niet, maar ook niet het kunstwerk dat sommigen ervan maken. Proberen op eigen risico dus.

Didier BECU
07/02/2015


07/02/2015 : CLAIRE DENIS - Trouble Every Day 07/02/2015 : CLAIRE DENIS - Trouble Every Day 07/02/2015 : CLAIRE DENIS - Trouble Every Day 07/02/2015 : CLAIRE DENIS - Trouble Every Day 07/02/2015 : CLAIRE DENIS - Trouble Every Day 07/02/2015 : CLAIRE DENIS - Trouble Every Day 07/02/2015 : CLAIRE DENIS - Trouble Every Day 07/02/2015 : CLAIRE DENIS - Trouble Every Day 07/02/2015 : CLAIRE DENIS - Trouble Every Day 07/02/2015 : CLAIRE DENIS - Trouble Every Day 07/02/2015 : CLAIRE DENIS - Trouble Every Day 07/02/2015 : CLAIRE DENIS - Trouble Every Day 07/02/2015 : CLAIRE DENIS - Trouble Every Day 07/02/2015 : CLAIRE DENIS - Trouble Every Day 07/02/2015 : CLAIRE DENIS - Trouble Every Day 07/02/2015 : CLAIRE DENIS - Trouble Every Day

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
TOOL
Schism
26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots