tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : NORMA LOY - Baphomet

NORMA LOY

Baphomet

MusicCD
Cold WaveCultPost Punk

[78/100]   

Unknown Pleasures Records
10/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Norma Loy, the French post-punkband and meanwhile cultband ,always had to compete with the British bands of this genre. Since 1982, it released raw music and the battle is still not over. The core of this duo is Chelsea (singer) and Usher (keys). The line-up depends on the sound. The band is not afraid of controversy or experiment and that’s how the 15 songs on the new album sound.

Baphomet Sunrise is a dream start: satanic, dark and morbid. The repetitive electronic melody seems to go on forever. But that is not the case. The track retains the original atmosphere and flourishes slowly.

Apocalypse sounds more minimalist, Freak is slower, until a storm of guitars enters the soundscape with an incredible interplay between lead and solo. Altamont is a polyphonic composition, Strange Summer switches to another pace. It has a laid back, (almost) sinister edge.

Golden Fish contains noise, while the dark voice gives it a cold wave feel. A piano provides some reinforcement and the voice is in the foreground. Then we hear a three-minute fairy-like sound with a Gainsbourg-esque whispering voice. Les Fleurs: you see them and it feels as if they flourish in this song.

Then eight minutes of chaos follows. Je Me Rappele sounds animated, deep, fragile, melancholic and painful at times. Even the guitars scream and cry. In the end we hear agony. Strong song! And the pain persists in Heroin, a song with a special arrangement. Again elements of noise, distortion in the voice and industrial sounds. Blue Moon is almost synth wave, the obligatory ballad with a voice that reminds me of good old Roy Orbison and even Neil Diamond. Post-punk, as we know from Strangers In The Dark: a tight guitar riff with a tasty sound.

A more subdued sound resounds in Novembre with the great voice of Chelsea who sings very well on this album. Love And Fears is another intimate song and Kundalini Rising is seven minutes of blissful dark wave. Second Life (NSJ remix) sounds like a lot of old school synths. A nice bonus.

This album goes in all directions, both in styles and atmosphere. Good songs, rhythmic and sometimes calmer, but the two French cult figures remain outsiders. Listen to this album and decide for yourself!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


NL

Norma Loy, de Franse postpunk-, zeg maar cultband, heeft al altijd moeten opboksen tegen de Britten in dit genre. Sedert 1982 laat de band zijn rauwe muziek los op het genre-minnend publiek en de strijd is nog niet gestreden. De kern is het duo Chelsea (zanger) en Usher (toetsen). De line-up van de rest van de band hangt af van de sound die het duo wil maken. Men is niet bang van controverse en experimenteren en gaf en geeft niet toe aan de commerciële kanten van de zaak, en zo klinken de 15 songs op de nieuwe langspeler.

Baphomet Sunrise is meteen een schot in de roos. Het begint demonisch, donker en morbide. Een zichzelf herhalende electronische melodie lijkt eindeloos door te gaan. Maar niets is minder waar, de track behoudt de sfeer en bloeit langzaam open.

Apocalypse klinkt meer minimalistisch, Freak is langzamer, tot het onweer van gitaren losbreekt in een ongelooflijk samenspel tussen lead en solo. Altamont is een meerstemmige compositie, Strange Summer schakelt dan weer lager qua tempo, maar heeft een relaxt, doch luguber kantje.

Golden Fish dompelt ons even onder in noise-klankjes en de donkere stem geeft het geheel een coldwaveachtig kantje. Piano komt versterking bieden en de stem wordt duidelijk op de voorgrond gezet. Dan horen we een kleine drie minuten feërieke klanken met een diepe Gainsbourg-achtig klinkende, bijna fluisterende stem. Les Fleurs: je ziet en voelt ze als het ware openbloeien in deze song.

Dan volgt acht minuten chaos. Je Me Rappele klinkt bezield, diep, breekbaar, melancholisch en met momenten pijnlijk. Ook de gitaren schreeuwen en huilen. Op het einde wordt een doodsstrijd geleverd. Sterke song! En de pijn duurt voort in Heroin, een doorleefde song met een bijzonder arrangement. Ook hier weer elementen uit noise, met distortie op de stem, hoekjes industrialklanken. Dan gaan het weer richting synthwave in Blue Moon, als het ware de obligate ballade met een stem die me heel erg doet denken aan good old Roy Orbison en zelfs aan Neil Diamond. Postpunk zoals we die kennen van Strangers In The Dark: strak gitaarriffje met en lekkere vette sound.

Een meer ingetogen sound in Novembre, waarin de melodie een mooi duo vormt met de geweldige stem van Chelsea, die trouwensheel goed zingt op dit album, wat niét idereen in het genre gegeven is. Love And Fears is weer een rustiger intieme song en Kundalini Rising is zeven minuten zalige darkwave. Second Life (NSJ remix) klinkt als heel old school synth. Een leuke toegift.

Met dit album gaat het weer alle kanten op, zowel qua stijlen als qua sfeer. Goede songs, ritmisch en dan weer kalmer, maar de twee Franse cultfiguren blijven een buitenbeentje. Beluisteren dat album en zelf beslissen!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : NORMA LOY - Baphomet 10/12/2016 : NORMA LOY - Baphomet

 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
ME THE TIGER • Me The Tiger
RATIONAL YOUTH • Future Past Tense
WHITE LUNG + COCAINE PISS • Antwerp, Trix (05/06/2016)
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Before The Tears
LAS AVES • Die in Shangai
JET BANANA • Master is the Enemy
MESSIER 39, STORY OFF, IC434 (BLACK PLANET FEST) • Eernegem, B52 (2/06/2016)
AMBASSADOR 21 • Brussels, Magasin 4 (03/06/2016)
MESSIER 39 • Coil

 

Other reviews from NORMA LOY
NORMA LOY • Rebirth

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
DER KLINKE • Decade
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo

 

Same genre: CULT
NARCISO IBANEZ SERRADOR • Who Can Kill A Child?
JAMES BRYAN • Don't Go In The Woods...Alone!
JOEL M. REED • Bloodsucking Freaks
DAVID CRONENBERG • Rabid
JACK HILL • Spider Baby
CLAIRE DENIS • Trouble Every Day
JORG BUTTGEREIT • Nekromantik
HERSCHELL GORDON LEWIS • Blood Feast
MICHAEL HERZ & LLOYD KAUFMAN • The Toxic Avenger Part II
JONATHAN YUDIS • Pervert!

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
12
05
PRAGA KHAN
YAP Leopoldsburg
05
05
DER KLINKE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot
05
05
LA LUNE NOIRE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures
14
05
IN DEATH IT ENDS
the most holy death
13
05
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning