tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : NORMA LOY - Baphomet

NORMA LOY

Baphomet

MusicCD
Cold WaveCultPost Punk

[78/100]   

Unknown Pleasures Records
10/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Norma Loy, the French post-punkband and meanwhile cultband ,always had to compete with the British bands of this genre. Since 1982, it released raw music and the battle is still not over. The core of this duo is Chelsea (singer) and Usher (keys). The line-up depends on the sound. The band is not afraid of controversy or experiment and that’s how the 15 songs on the new album sound.

Baphomet Sunrise is a dream start: satanic, dark and morbid. The repetitive electronic melody seems to go on forever. But that is not the case. The track retains the original atmosphere and flourishes slowly.

Apocalypse sounds more minimalist, Freak is slower, until a storm of guitars enters the soundscape with an incredible interplay between lead and solo. Altamont is a polyphonic composition, Strange Summer switches to another pace. It has a laid back, (almost) sinister edge.

Golden Fish contains noise, while the dark voice gives it a cold wave feel. A piano provides some reinforcement and the voice is in the foreground. Then we hear a three-minute fairy-like sound with a Gainsbourg-esque whispering voice. Les Fleurs: you see them and it feels as if they flourish in this song.

Then eight minutes of chaos follows. Je Me Rappele sounds animated, deep, fragile, melancholic and painful at times. Even the guitars scream and cry. In the end we hear agony. Strong song! And the pain persists in Heroin, a song with a special arrangement. Again elements of noise, distortion in the voice and industrial sounds. Blue Moon is almost synth wave, the obligatory ballad with a voice that reminds me of good old Roy Orbison and even Neil Diamond. Post-punk, as we know from Strangers In The Dark: a tight guitar riff with a tasty sound.

A more subdued sound resounds in Novembre with the great voice of Chelsea who sings very well on this album. Love And Fears is another intimate song and Kundalini Rising is seven minutes of blissful dark wave. Second Life (NSJ remix) sounds like a lot of old school synths. A nice bonus.

This album goes in all directions, both in styles and atmosphere. Good songs, rhythmic and sometimes calmer, but the two French cult figures remain outsiders. Listen to this album and decide for yourself!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


NL

Norma Loy, de Franse postpunk-, zeg maar cultband, heeft al altijd moeten opboksen tegen de Britten in dit genre. Sedert 1982 laat de band zijn rauwe muziek los op het genre-minnend publiek en de strijd is nog niet gestreden. De kern is het duo Chelsea (zanger) en Usher (toetsen). De line-up van de rest van de band hangt af van de sound die het duo wil maken. Men is niet bang van controverse en experimenteren en gaf en geeft niet toe aan de commerciële kanten van de zaak, en zo klinken de 15 songs op de nieuwe langspeler.

Baphomet Sunrise is meteen een schot in de roos. Het begint demonisch, donker en morbide. Een zichzelf herhalende electronische melodie lijkt eindeloos door te gaan. Maar niets is minder waar, de track behoudt de sfeer en bloeit langzaam open.

Apocalypse klinkt meer minimalistisch, Freak is langzamer, tot het onweer van gitaren losbreekt in een ongelooflijk samenspel tussen lead en solo. Altamont is een meerstemmige compositie, Strange Summer schakelt dan weer lager qua tempo, maar heeft een relaxt, doch luguber kantje.

Golden Fish dompelt ons even onder in noise-klankjes en de donkere stem geeft het geheel een coldwaveachtig kantje. Piano komt versterking bieden en de stem wordt duidelijk op de voorgrond gezet. Dan horen we een kleine drie minuten feërieke klanken met een diepe Gainsbourg-achtig klinkende, bijna fluisterende stem. Les Fleurs: je ziet en voelt ze als het ware openbloeien in deze song.

Dan volgt acht minuten chaos. Je Me Rappele klinkt bezield, diep, breekbaar, melancholisch en met momenten pijnlijk. Ook de gitaren schreeuwen en huilen. Op het einde wordt een doodsstrijd geleverd. Sterke song! En de pijn duurt voort in Heroin, een doorleefde song met een bijzonder arrangement. Ook hier weer elementen uit noise, met distortie op de stem, hoekjes industrialklanken. Dan gaan het weer richting synthwave in Blue Moon, als het ware de obligate ballade met een stem die me heel erg doet denken aan good old Roy Orbison en zelfs aan Neil Diamond. Postpunk zoals we die kennen van Strangers In The Dark: strak gitaarriffje met en lekkere vette sound.

Een meer ingetogen sound in Novembre, waarin de melodie een mooi duo vormt met de geweldige stem van Chelsea, die trouwensheel goed zingt op dit album, wat niét idereen in het genre gegeven is. Love And Fears is weer een rustiger intieme song en Kundalini Rising is zeven minuten zalige darkwave. Second Life (NSJ remix) klinkt als heel old school synth. Een leuke toegift.

Met dit album gaat het weer alle kanten op, zowel qua stijlen als qua sfeer. Goede songs, ritmisch en dan weer kalmer, maar de twee Franse cultfiguren blijven een buitenbeentje. Beluisteren dat album en zelf beslissen!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : NORMA LOY - Baphomet 10/12/2016 : NORMA LOY - Baphomet

 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
ME THE TIGER • Me The Tiger
RATIONAL YOUTH • Future Past Tense
WHITE LUNG + COCAINE PISS • Antwerp, Trix (05/06/2016)
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Before The Tears
LAS AVES • Die in Shangai
JET BANANA • Master is the Enemy
MESSIER 39, STORY OFF, IC434 (BLACK PLANET FEST) • Eernegem, B52 (2/06/2016)
AMBASSADOR 21 • Brussels, Magasin 4 (03/06/2016)
MESSIER 39 • Coil

 

Other reviews from NORMA LOY
NORMA LOY • Rebirth

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence

 

Same genre: CULT
NARCISO IBANEZ SERRADOR • Who Can Kill A Child?
JAMES BRYAN • Don't Go In The Woods...Alone!
JOEL M. REED • Bloodsucking Freaks
DAVID CRONENBERG • Rabid
JACK HILL • Spider Baby
CLAIRE DENIS • Trouble Every Day
JORG BUTTGEREIT • Nekromantik
HERSCHELL GORDON LEWIS • Blood Feast
MICHAEL HERZ & LLOYD KAUFMAN • The Toxic Avenger Part II
JONATHAN YUDIS • Pervert!

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
CRIMEN • Silent Animals

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'
07
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Goethes Erben: Strangely enough, those who cry the loudest are not those who drown during their flight
01
02
WAYNE HUSSEY
'I think for every action there is a reaction.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid