tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : NORMA LOY - Baphomet

NORMA LOY

Baphomet

MusicCD
Cold WaveCultPost Punk

[78/100]   

Unknown Pleasures Records
10/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Norma Loy, the French post-punkband and meanwhile cultband ,always had to compete with the British bands of this genre. Since 1982, it released raw music and the battle is still not over. The core of this duo is Chelsea (singer) and Usher (keys). The line-up depends on the sound. The band is not afraid of controversy or experiment and that’s how the 15 songs on the new album sound.

Baphomet Sunrise is a dream start: satanic, dark and morbid. The repetitive electronic melody seems to go on forever. But that is not the case. The track retains the original atmosphere and flourishes slowly.

Apocalypse sounds more minimalist, Freak is slower, until a storm of guitars enters the soundscape with an incredible interplay between lead and solo. Altamont is a polyphonic composition, Strange Summer switches to another pace. It has a laid back, (almost) sinister edge.

Golden Fish contains noise, while the dark voice gives it a cold wave feel. A piano provides some reinforcement and the voice is in the foreground. Then we hear a three-minute fairy-like sound with a Gainsbourg-esque whispering voice. Les Fleurs: you see them and it feels as if they flourish in this song.

Then eight minutes of chaos follows. Je Me Rappele sounds animated, deep, fragile, melancholic and painful at times. Even the guitars scream and cry. In the end we hear agony. Strong song! And the pain persists in Heroin, a song with a special arrangement. Again elements of noise, distortion in the voice and industrial sounds. Blue Moon is almost synth wave, the obligatory ballad with a voice that reminds me of good old Roy Orbison and even Neil Diamond. Post-punk, as we know from Strangers In The Dark: a tight guitar riff with a tasty sound.

A more subdued sound resounds in Novembre with the great voice of Chelsea who sings very well on this album. Love And Fears is another intimate song and Kundalini Rising is seven minutes of blissful dark wave. Second Life (NSJ remix) sounds like a lot of old school synths. A nice bonus.

This album goes in all directions, both in styles and atmosphere. Good songs, rhythmic and sometimes calmer, but the two French cult figures remain outsiders. Listen to this album and decide for yourself!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


NL

Norma Loy, de Franse postpunk-, zeg maar cultband, heeft al altijd moeten opboksen tegen de Britten in dit genre. Sedert 1982 laat de band zijn rauwe muziek los op het genre-minnend publiek en de strijd is nog niet gestreden. De kern is het duo Chelsea (zanger) en Usher (toetsen). De line-up van de rest van de band hangt af van de sound die het duo wil maken. Men is niet bang van controverse en experimenteren en gaf en geeft niet toe aan de commerciële kanten van de zaak, en zo klinken de 15 songs op de nieuwe langspeler.

Baphomet Sunrise is meteen een schot in de roos. Het begint demonisch, donker en morbide. Een zichzelf herhalende electronische melodie lijkt eindeloos door te gaan. Maar niets is minder waar, de track behoudt de sfeer en bloeit langzaam open.

Apocalypse klinkt meer minimalistisch, Freak is langzamer, tot het onweer van gitaren losbreekt in een ongelooflijk samenspel tussen lead en solo. Altamont is een meerstemmige compositie, Strange Summer schakelt dan weer lager qua tempo, maar heeft een relaxt, doch luguber kantje.

Golden Fish dompelt ons even onder in noise-klankjes en de donkere stem geeft het geheel een coldwaveachtig kantje. Piano komt versterking bieden en de stem wordt duidelijk op de voorgrond gezet. Dan horen we een kleine drie minuten feërieke klanken met een diepe Gainsbourg-achtig klinkende, bijna fluisterende stem. Les Fleurs: je ziet en voelt ze als het ware openbloeien in deze song.

Dan volgt acht minuten chaos. Je Me Rappele klinkt bezield, diep, breekbaar, melancholisch en met momenten pijnlijk. Ook de gitaren schreeuwen en huilen. Op het einde wordt een doodsstrijd geleverd. Sterke song! En de pijn duurt voort in Heroin, een doorleefde song met een bijzonder arrangement. Ook hier weer elementen uit noise, met distortie op de stem, hoekjes industrialklanken. Dan gaan het weer richting synthwave in Blue Moon, als het ware de obligate ballade met een stem die me heel erg doet denken aan good old Roy Orbison en zelfs aan Neil Diamond. Postpunk zoals we die kennen van Strangers In The Dark: strak gitaarriffje met en lekkere vette sound.

Een meer ingetogen sound in Novembre, waarin de melodie een mooi duo vormt met de geweldige stem van Chelsea, die trouwensheel goed zingt op dit album, wat niét idereen in het genre gegeven is. Love And Fears is weer een rustiger intieme song en Kundalini Rising is zeven minuten zalige darkwave. Second Life (NSJ remix) klinkt als heel old school synth. Een leuke toegift.

Met dit album gaat het weer alle kanten op, zowel qua stijlen als qua sfeer. Goede songs, ritmisch en dan weer kalmer, maar de twee Franse cultfiguren blijven een buitenbeentje. Beluisteren dat album en zelf beslissen!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : NORMA LOY - Baphomet 10/12/2016 : NORMA LOY - Baphomet

 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
ME THE TIGER • Me The Tiger
RATIONAL YOUTH • Future Past Tense
WHITE LUNG + COCAINE PISS • Antwerp, Trix (05/06/2016)
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Before The Tears
LAS AVES • Die in Shangai
JET BANANA • Master is the Enemy
MESSIER 39, STORY OFF, IC434 (BLACK PLANET FEST) • Eernegem, B52 (2/06/2016)
AMBASSADOR 21 • Brussels, Magasin 4 (03/06/2016)
MESSIER 39 • Coil

 

Other reviews from NORMA LOY
NORMA LOY • Rebirth

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow

 

Same genre: CULT
NARCISO IBANEZ SERRADOR • Who Can Kill A Child?
JAMES BRYAN • Don't Go In The Woods...Alone!
JOEL M. REED • Bloodsucking Freaks
DAVID CRONENBERG • Rabid
JACK HILL • Spider Baby
CLAIRE DENIS • Trouble Every Day
JORG BUTTGEREIT • Nekromantik
HERSCHELL GORDON LEWIS • Blood Feast
MICHAEL HERZ & LLOYD KAUFMAN • The Toxic Avenger Part II
JONATHAN YUDIS • Pervert!

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?