tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/01/2012 : NORMA LOY - Rebirth

NORMA LOY

Rebirth

MusicCD
Cold WaveDeath Rock / BatcaveExperimentalIndustrialPsychedelic

[85/100]   

Infrastition
26/01/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

Norma Loy is a French coldwave band from Dijon formed in 1981. The name NORMA LOY is an anagram of “Nom Royal” (Royal Name) and was suggested by Alan Vega himself... After the re-release of the back catalogue CD's "Sacrifice" and "White Nights/White Beats", the band has remastered its fourth album, "Rebirth", which dates back from 1989. It includes the original tracks, plus the unreleased studio cover of "Cheerie Dream" (Suicide) and four live tracks. Again, we are impressed by NL's very original mix of rock, new-wave, and psychodelic, all this combined with artistic references to dadaism, buto, SM and a true punk attitude.

Most of the songs are shamanic celebrations of revolt and are reminiscent of Stooges, Velvet, Doors, Suicide, Virgin Prunes, Swans and Joy Division ("Nagashima", "Black Jesus", "We want (Eden 2)", "Californian spirits"), but with more maturity and serenity than in previous works. Cold wave is still present with the cover of "TV Eye" from the Stooges and the "Frustration" track. "To My Unborn Child" brings some peace and melancholy. "Rebirth" sounds like a savage ritual dedicated to the insanity of the modern world. Powerful!

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
26/01/2012


 

Next reviews
TRUE ZEBRA • True Zebra
FREAKS • Too Sensitive To Be Pure
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN • Concert at Ancienne Belgique on 20th January 2012
ZOLA JESUS • Conatus
DR. ARTHUR KRAUSE • Solutions
DOWNPILOT • New Great Lakes
EMBERS • Lichtzwart
GIN DEVO • Surface [169/500]
CLAPS • Wreck
BRIEF CANDLES • Fractured Days

 

Other reviews from NORMA LOY
NORMA LOY • Baphomet

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
10
Struggles And Dreams With Darkwave Band THE BLUE HOUR's New LP, 'Lore'
24
10
Industrial Metal Band RAZE THE ALTAR Brings Sacrifice And Perseverance To New Single
24
10
Exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
10
MY CRUEL GORO
Lost E
24
10
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow