tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/01/2012 : NORMA LOY - Rebirth

NORMA LOY

Rebirth

MusicCD
Cold WaveDeath Rock / BatcaveExperimentalIndustrialPsychedelic

[85/100]   

Infrastition
26/01/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

Norma Loy is a French coldwave band from Dijon formed in 1981. The name NORMA LOY is an anagram of “Nom Royal” (Royal Name) and was suggested by Alan Vega himself... After the re-release of the back catalogue CD's "Sacrifice" and "White Nights/White Beats", the band has remastered its fourth album, "Rebirth", which dates back from 1989. It includes the original tracks, plus the unreleased studio cover of "Cheerie Dream" (Suicide) and four live tracks. Again, we are impressed by NL's very original mix of rock, new-wave, and psychodelic, all this combined with artistic references to dadaism, buto, SM and a true punk attitude.

Most of the songs are shamanic celebrations of revolt and are reminiscent of Stooges, Velvet, Doors, Suicide, Virgin Prunes, Swans and Joy Division ("Nagashima", "Black Jesus", "We want (Eden 2)", "Californian spirits"), but with more maturity and serenity than in previous works. Cold wave is still present with the cover of "TV Eye" from the Stooges and the "Frustration" track. "To My Unborn Child" brings some peace and melancholy. "Rebirth" sounds like a savage ritual dedicated to the insanity of the modern world. Powerful!

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
26/01/2012


 

Next reviews
TRUE ZEBRA • True Zebra
FREAKS • Too Sensitive To Be Pure
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN • Concert at Ancienne Belgique on 20th January 2012
ZOLA JESUS • Conatus
DR. ARTHUR KRAUSE • Solutions
DOWNPILOT • New Great Lakes
EMBERS • Lichtzwart
GIN DEVO • Surface [169/500]
CLAPS • Wreck
BRIEF CANDLES • Fractured Days

 

Other reviews from NORMA LOY
NORMA LOY • Baphomet

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain