tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

22/01/2012 : ZOLA JESUS - Conatus

ZOLA JESUS

Conatus

MusicCD
Dark PopDark Wave

[65/100]   

Souterrain Transmissions
22/01/2012, Chris KONINGS

An artist that's currently shooting through the roof after only a few years is Zola Jesus. Zola Jesus is Nika Roza Danilova and her talent is inversely proportional to her height, just as Björk (but I think she's even smaller, hehe).

After Stridulum, where she made an amazing combination of her prolific voice and dark industrial-like soundscapes that managed to sound poppy, Conatus is her new album. Is it because she is getting more and more attention? I feel she's making too many compromises on this one. "Vessel" has a base of soft minimal piano with some triphop influences. It works well with her voice but after a while she indulges in a heap of loops and echo's and it ends up with an anticlimax. "Hikikomori" adds some violins and the difference with the harsher Stridulum is becoming very apparent.

"Seekir" and "Ixode" remind me of the kind of triphop/dance that a certain Björk was doing in the mid 90's, she was always ten years ahead of her time but here Nika just sounds dated. So far not so good but "In Your Nature" is a bit better. "Shivers" has a faster beat with some drum 'n' bass feel to it, her contrasting slow paced vocals do wonders here! Finally a great song! The intens piano on "Skin" reminds me of Soap&Skin and is another very good song. Next up is "Collapse", again with that same pianosound, very sad and believable, her voice fits like a charm on these heartstopping songs!

Too inconsistent and sometimes too commercial, only the last part of the album is of the Zola Jesus standard. Sorry but I can't get excited about Conatus like I did with Stridulum...

Zola Jesus

Chris KONINGS
22/01/2012


Music reviews

05
12
SUNDAECRUSH
A Real Sensation
04
12
MERZBOW
Screaming Dove
03
12
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Shadow Of Fear
02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
12
44 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Russian Dark Community in search of new blood
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
12
ANNA CALVI
Ghost Rider
04
12
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life