tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

22/01/2012 : ZOLA JESUS - Conatus

ZOLA JESUS

Conatus

MusicCD
Dark PopDark Wave

[65/100]   

Souterrain Transmissions
22/01/2012, Chris KONINGS

An artist that's currently shooting through the roof after only a few years is Zola Jesus. Zola Jesus is Nika Roza Danilova and her talent is inversely proportional to her height, just as Björk (but I think she's even smaller, hehe).

After Stridulum, where she made an amazing combination of her prolific voice and dark industrial-like soundscapes that managed to sound poppy, Conatus is her new album. Is it because she is getting more and more attention? I feel she's making too many compromises on this one. "Vessel" has a base of soft minimal piano with some triphop influences. It works well with her voice but after a while she indulges in a heap of loops and echo's and it ends up with an anticlimax. "Hikikomori" adds some violins and the difference with the harsher Stridulum is becoming very apparent.

"Seekir" and "Ixode" remind me of the kind of triphop/dance that a certain Björk was doing in the mid 90's, she was always ten years ahead of her time but here Nika just sounds dated. So far not so good but "In Your Nature" is a bit better. "Shivers" has a faster beat with some drum 'n' bass feel to it, her contrasting slow paced vocals do wonders here! Finally a great song! The intens piano on "Skin" reminds me of Soap&Skin and is another very good song. Next up is "Collapse", again with that same pianosound, very sad and believable, her voice fits like a charm on these heartstopping songs!

Too inconsistent and sometimes too commercial, only the last part of the album is of the Zola Jesus standard. Sorry but I can't get excited about Conatus like I did with Stridulum...

Zola Jesus

Chris KONINGS
22/01/2012


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo