tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

10/04/2017 : TEN AFTER DAWN - Best Of Both Words

TEN AFTER DAWN

Best Of Both Words

MusicCD (EP)
Dark PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[71/100]   

Macaroni Penguin Music
10/04/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Ten After Dawn is the brainchild of Teemu Salo and Toni Viholainen. Orginally a rock band they decided in 2009 to turn into a more industrial version of themselves. After some experiments and a disastrous episode (when their drummer was forced to cancel a few days before a big show leaving them with only 3 days to program electronic drums) they ended up as a dark electropop band.

The EP Best Of Both Words has 4 songs. Melody is something in between darkpop and future pop. The vocals are pure but a bit plain. Gone has more of a darkwave sound with a quiet melody and restrained vocals. Stylistically it has a whiff of 'Depeche Mode'. In my opinion Scarlett is the best song of this EP. It still sounds smooth but with an willful edge. The sound is more edgy, still poppy but dark as well. Closing song Tell Me hits me with a synthwave feeling, especially during the intro. The song speeds up a bit afterwards with faster drums. But the vocals stay the same: well sung but nothing more.

As a darkpop band Ten After Dawn have delivered 4 worthy songs on this EP, but nothing really new, unique or challenging. For me it could have been a bit more.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/04/2017


NL

Ten After Dawn is het geesteskind van Teemu Salo en Toni Viholainen. Oorspronkelijk een band die rock speelde en in 2009 als het ware een meer industriële versie van hun band wilden maken. Na wat geëxperimenteer en een noodlottige wending in de zin dat de drummer een paar dagen voor een grote show uitviel en men op drie dagen tijd electronische drums moest programmeren, zijn ze bij donkere electropop beland.

De EP Best Of Both Words bevat 4 songs. Melody houdt het midden tussen darkpop en future pop. De zang is zuiver maar toch eerder vlak. Gone is meer een darkwave song met heel rustige melodieën en ingehouden zangpartijen. Er zit een reukje Depeche Mode aan qua stijl.
Scarlett is naar mijn smaak het beste nummer op deze EP. Het klinkt nog heel smooth, maar er zit een eigenzinnig kantje aan. Het klinkt ook wat hoekiger, toch nog poppy, maar evengoed donker. Met afsluiter Tell Me overvalt me meer een synthwave gevoel, zeker bij de intro. Daarna komt er meer tempo in de song met snellere drums, waardoor het weer een bocht maakt. De zang blijft van hetzelfde allooi... Het is goed gezongen, maar ook niet meer.

Als darkpop band heeft Ten After Dawn met deze EP vier nummers afgegeven die er mogen zijn, maar het is niet dat de band er iets echt nieuws, unieks en uitdagends mee doet. Wat mij betreft mocht het iets méér zijn....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/04/2017


10/04/2017 : TEN AFTER DAWN - Best Of Both Words 10/04/2017 : TEN AFTER DAWN - Best Of Both Words

Music reviews

11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors
03
12
IVANKOVA
Ivankovà EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video
14
12
This Friday the renowned Belgian Independent Music Festival 2017 (BIMFEST XVI) will kick-Off!
13
12
Brand new video by Crash Course In Science!
12
12
In Strict Confidence releases HERZ & FROZEN KISSES, a two-in-one single release with remixes and more!
11
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE to release entire catalogue remastered on EROMEDA RECORDS
10
12
Antwerp triphop / indiepop band Psy'Aviah announces new album!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
12
EUFORIC EXCISTENCE
Euforic Existence: We like to be put under the heading of EBM, but realize that we are an outsider. I would not want anything else.
09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’

PHOTOS

11
12
LACUNA COIL
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
11
12
CELLAR DARLING
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
05
12
FRONT 242
Ab Brussel
05
12
METROLAND
Ab Brussel
05
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
SHE PAST AWAY
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
GOLDEN APES
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

16
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE
Sunset Beach
15
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
14
12
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
13
12
BLANCMANGE
Blind Vision (HD)
12
12
THEN COMES SILENCE
The Dead Cry For No One
11
12
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Eclipse (Vintage Version - Live in Erfurt 2017)
10
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
A Rainbow Is Fading