tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/04/2017 : TEN AFTER DAWN - Best Of Both Words

TEN AFTER DAWN

Best Of Both Words

MusicCD (EP)
Dark PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[71/100]   

Macaroni Penguin Music
10/04/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Ten After Dawn is the brainchild of Teemu Salo and Toni Viholainen. Orginally a rock band they decided in 2009 to turn into a more industrial version of themselves. After some experiments and a disastrous episode (when their drummer was forced to cancel a few days before a big show leaving them with only 3 days to program electronic drums) they ended up as a dark electropop band.

The EP Best Of Both Words has 4 songs. Melody is something in between darkpop and future pop. The vocals are pure but a bit plain. Gone has more of a darkwave sound with a quiet melody and restrained vocals. Stylistically it has a whiff of 'Depeche Mode'. In my opinion Scarlett is the best song of this EP. It still sounds smooth but with an willful edge. The sound is more edgy, still poppy but dark as well. Closing song Tell Me hits me with a synthwave feeling, especially during the intro. The song speeds up a bit afterwards with faster drums. But the vocals stay the same: well sung but nothing more.

As a darkpop band Ten After Dawn have delivered 4 worthy songs on this EP, but nothing really new, unique or challenging. For me it could have been a bit more.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/04/2017


NL

Ten After Dawn is het geesteskind van Teemu Salo en Toni Viholainen. Oorspronkelijk een band die rock speelde en in 2009 als het ware een meer industriële versie van hun band wilden maken. Na wat geëxperimenteer en een noodlottige wending in de zin dat de drummer een paar dagen voor een grote show uitviel en men op drie dagen tijd electronische drums moest programmeren, zijn ze bij donkere electropop beland.

De EP Best Of Both Words bevat 4 songs. Melody houdt het midden tussen darkpop en future pop. De zang is zuiver maar toch eerder vlak. Gone is meer een darkwave song met heel rustige melodieën en ingehouden zangpartijen. Er zit een reukje Depeche Mode aan qua stijl.
Scarlett is naar mijn smaak het beste nummer op deze EP. Het klinkt nog heel smooth, maar er zit een eigenzinnig kantje aan. Het klinkt ook wat hoekiger, toch nog poppy, maar evengoed donker. Met afsluiter Tell Me overvalt me meer een synthwave gevoel, zeker bij de intro. Daarna komt er meer tempo in de song met snellere drums, waardoor het weer een bocht maakt. De zang blijft van hetzelfde allooi... Het is goed gezongen, maar ook niet meer.

Als darkpop band heeft Ten After Dawn met deze EP vier nummers afgegeven die er mogen zijn, maar het is niet dat de band er iets echt nieuws, unieks en uitdagends mee doet. Wat mij betreft mocht het iets méér zijn....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/04/2017


10/04/2017 : TEN AFTER DAWN - Best Of Both Words 10/04/2017 : TEN AFTER DAWN - Best Of Both Words

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee