tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/04/2017 : TEN AFTER DAWN - Best Of Both Words

TEN AFTER DAWN

Best Of Both Words

MusicCD (EP)
Dark PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[71/100]   

Macaroni Penguin Music
10/04/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Ten After Dawn is the brainchild of Teemu Salo and Toni Viholainen. Orginally a rock band they decided in 2009 to turn into a more industrial version of themselves. After some experiments and a disastrous episode (when their drummer was forced to cancel a few days before a big show leaving them with only 3 days to program electronic drums) they ended up as a dark electropop band.

The EP Best Of Both Words has 4 songs. Melody is something in between darkpop and future pop. The vocals are pure but a bit plain. Gone has more of a darkwave sound with a quiet melody and restrained vocals. Stylistically it has a whiff of 'Depeche Mode'. In my opinion Scarlett is the best song of this EP. It still sounds smooth but with an willful edge. The sound is more edgy, still poppy but dark as well. Closing song Tell Me hits me with a synthwave feeling, especially during the intro. The song speeds up a bit afterwards with faster drums. But the vocals stay the same: well sung but nothing more.

As a darkpop band Ten After Dawn have delivered 4 worthy songs on this EP, but nothing really new, unique or challenging. For me it could have been a bit more.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/04/2017


NL

Ten After Dawn is het geesteskind van Teemu Salo en Toni Viholainen. Oorspronkelijk een band die rock speelde en in 2009 als het ware een meer industriële versie van hun band wilden maken. Na wat geëxperimenteer en een noodlottige wending in de zin dat de drummer een paar dagen voor een grote show uitviel en men op drie dagen tijd electronische drums moest programmeren, zijn ze bij donkere electropop beland.

De EP Best Of Both Words bevat 4 songs. Melody houdt het midden tussen darkpop en future pop. De zang is zuiver maar toch eerder vlak. Gone is meer een darkwave song met heel rustige melodieën en ingehouden zangpartijen. Er zit een reukje Depeche Mode aan qua stijl.
Scarlett is naar mijn smaak het beste nummer op deze EP. Het klinkt nog heel smooth, maar er zit een eigenzinnig kantje aan. Het klinkt ook wat hoekiger, toch nog poppy, maar evengoed donker. Met afsluiter Tell Me overvalt me meer een synthwave gevoel, zeker bij de intro. Daarna komt er meer tempo in de song met snellere drums, waardoor het weer een bocht maakt. De zang blijft van hetzelfde allooi... Het is goed gezongen, maar ook niet meer.

Als darkpop band heeft Ten After Dawn met deze EP vier nummers afgegeven die er mogen zijn, maar het is niet dat de band er iets echt nieuws, unieks en uitdagends mee doet. Wat mij betreft mocht het iets méér zijn....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/04/2017


10/04/2017 : TEN AFTER DAWN - Best Of Both Words 10/04/2017 : TEN AFTER DAWN - Best Of Both Words

Music reviews

16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident
14
11
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE
Resin EP
13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
11
Varsovie present brand new video clip, Killing Anna!
13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!
09
11
Today, 37 years ago, Men At Work released their debut album Business As Usual!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission
14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)