tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/04/2017 : TEN AFTER DAWN - Best Of Both Words

TEN AFTER DAWN

Best Of Both Words

MusicCD (EP)
Dark PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[71/100]   

Macaroni Penguin Music
10/04/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Ten After Dawn is the brainchild of Teemu Salo and Toni Viholainen. Orginally a rock band they decided in 2009 to turn into a more industrial version of themselves. After some experiments and a disastrous episode (when their drummer was forced to cancel a few days before a big show leaving them with only 3 days to program electronic drums) they ended up as a dark electropop band.

The EP Best Of Both Words has 4 songs. Melody is something in between darkpop and future pop. The vocals are pure but a bit plain. Gone has more of a darkwave sound with a quiet melody and restrained vocals. Stylistically it has a whiff of 'Depeche Mode'. In my opinion Scarlett is the best song of this EP. It still sounds smooth but with an willful edge. The sound is more edgy, still poppy but dark as well. Closing song Tell Me hits me with a synthwave feeling, especially during the intro. The song speeds up a bit afterwards with faster drums. But the vocals stay the same: well sung but nothing more.

As a darkpop band Ten After Dawn have delivered 4 worthy songs on this EP, but nothing really new, unique or challenging. For me it could have been a bit more.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/04/2017


NL

Ten After Dawn is het geesteskind van Teemu Salo en Toni Viholainen. Oorspronkelijk een band die rock speelde en in 2009 als het ware een meer industriële versie van hun band wilden maken. Na wat geëxperimenteer en een noodlottige wending in de zin dat de drummer een paar dagen voor een grote show uitviel en men op drie dagen tijd electronische drums moest programmeren, zijn ze bij donkere electropop beland.

De EP Best Of Both Words bevat 4 songs. Melody houdt het midden tussen darkpop en future pop. De zang is zuiver maar toch eerder vlak. Gone is meer een darkwave song met heel rustige melodieën en ingehouden zangpartijen. Er zit een reukje Depeche Mode aan qua stijl.
Scarlett is naar mijn smaak het beste nummer op deze EP. Het klinkt nog heel smooth, maar er zit een eigenzinnig kantje aan. Het klinkt ook wat hoekiger, toch nog poppy, maar evengoed donker. Met afsluiter Tell Me overvalt me meer een synthwave gevoel, zeker bij de intro. Daarna komt er meer tempo in de song met snellere drums, waardoor het weer een bocht maakt. De zang blijft van hetzelfde allooi... Het is goed gezongen, maar ook niet meer.

Als darkpop band heeft Ten After Dawn met deze EP vier nummers afgegeven die er mogen zijn, maar het is niet dat de band er iets echt nieuws, unieks en uitdagends mee doet. Wat mij betreft mocht het iets méér zijn....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/04/2017


10/04/2017 : TEN AFTER DAWN - Best Of Both Words 10/04/2017 : TEN AFTER DAWN - Best Of Both Words

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless