tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/04/2017 : TEN AFTER DAWN - Best Of Both Words

TEN AFTER DAWN

Best Of Both Words

MusicCD (EP)
Dark PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[71/100]   

Macaroni Penguin Music
10/04/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Ten After Dawn is the brainchild of Teemu Salo and Toni Viholainen. Orginally a rock band they decided in 2009 to turn into a more industrial version of themselves. After some experiments and a disastrous episode (when their drummer was forced to cancel a few days before a big show leaving them with only 3 days to program electronic drums) they ended up as a dark electropop band.

The EP Best Of Both Words has 4 songs. Melody is something in between darkpop and future pop. The vocals are pure but a bit plain. Gone has more of a darkwave sound with a quiet melody and restrained vocals. Stylistically it has a whiff of 'Depeche Mode'. In my opinion Scarlett is the best song of this EP. It still sounds smooth but with an willful edge. The sound is more edgy, still poppy but dark as well. Closing song Tell Me hits me with a synthwave feeling, especially during the intro. The song speeds up a bit afterwards with faster drums. But the vocals stay the same: well sung but nothing more.

As a darkpop band Ten After Dawn have delivered 4 worthy songs on this EP, but nothing really new, unique or challenging. For me it could have been a bit more.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/04/2017


NL

Ten After Dawn is het geesteskind van Teemu Salo en Toni Viholainen. Oorspronkelijk een band die rock speelde en in 2009 als het ware een meer industriële versie van hun band wilden maken. Na wat geëxperimenteer en een noodlottige wending in de zin dat de drummer een paar dagen voor een grote show uitviel en men op drie dagen tijd electronische drums moest programmeren, zijn ze bij donkere electropop beland.

De EP Best Of Both Words bevat 4 songs. Melody houdt het midden tussen darkpop en future pop. De zang is zuiver maar toch eerder vlak. Gone is meer een darkwave song met heel rustige melodieën en ingehouden zangpartijen. Er zit een reukje Depeche Mode aan qua stijl.
Scarlett is naar mijn smaak het beste nummer op deze EP. Het klinkt nog heel smooth, maar er zit een eigenzinnig kantje aan. Het klinkt ook wat hoekiger, toch nog poppy, maar evengoed donker. Met afsluiter Tell Me overvalt me meer een synthwave gevoel, zeker bij de intro. Daarna komt er meer tempo in de song met snellere drums, waardoor het weer een bocht maakt. De zang blijft van hetzelfde allooi... Het is goed gezongen, maar ook niet meer.

Als darkpop band heeft Ten After Dawn met deze EP vier nummers afgegeven die er mogen zijn, maar het is niet dat de band er iets echt nieuws, unieks en uitdagends mee doet. Wat mij betreft mocht het iets méér zijn....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/04/2017


10/04/2017 : TEN AFTER DAWN - Best Of Both Words 10/04/2017 : TEN AFTER DAWN - Best Of Both Words

Music reviews

19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

21
11
NITZER EBB
De Casino St Niklaas
21
11
LIEBKNECHT
De Casino St Niklaas
21
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
De Casino St Niklaas
17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
11
EDITORS
All The Kings
21
11
FILTER
Hey Man, Nice Shot
20
11
COLD CAVE
Villains Of The Moon
19
11
HYPERMOND.
Double
19
11
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON:
Caught In Winters Weave
19
11
NITZER EBB
Llive at Kulttempel in Oberhausen, Germany - 15.11.2019
18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin