tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/04/2017 : X MARKS THE PEDWALK - Secrets

X MARKS THE PEDWALK

Secrets

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDark PopElectroSynthpop

[75/100]   

Meshwork
07/04/2017, Masha KASHA

When I mentioned that I was about to review the 2017 album of “X Marks and the Pedwalk” a German friend of mine wondered: "You really mean that “X marks the pedwalk”? The dark EBM I had on my “Zillo” compilation years ago?

"Yes, I guess it is THAT “X marks…”, the band, which began its career in 1988 and the one who busted the clubs with the old school EBM hit “Abattoir”. If you have not heard the songs and did not follow the changes they have undergone during their career you will be positively surprised (or disappointed if you prefer it harder). “Secrets” is a mature mixture somewhere in between synthpop, futurepop and new wave.

It is more melancholic and energising, than dark and brutal.

What makes the album special?

First, there is male and female vocal. It is quite usual to hear the male vocal in the futurepop bands… OK, here I may sound conservative but I do not believe that any female vocal suits any darkelectro beats without getting too kitsch for my personal ears. Well, here I was really pleasantly surprised. It is just perfectly integrated. Mature, smooth and adding some special key, making this album special.

I haven’t heard anything that sounds this good since “Tristraum” or "Children Within". The second positive surprise - the album will make you dance but it is not a jolly party disco album - it has a good bouquet of smooth beats with a hint of melancholy. The instrumental part is also really pleasing to the ear - multilayered but not overdone.


Which compositions can I outline?

Although the opening song “Masterpiece” is really a masterpiece worth hearing and will surely be played in some synthpop dance clubs over their next nights and will undoubtedly become someone’s favourite....for my own nostalgic preference I would like to mention “Ghost”. There is something about the piece that has touched me. The song makes me think about my “darkwavish” youth - like “Derriere le miroir” or even “Wolfsheim” (mostly because of the background music).


And the conclusion is…

... that “Secrets” is a good album. Just the right amount of electronic without being industrial, melancholic without being depressive, soft without getting ethereal. It just has the right dose of everything. On my shelf, it could take a space with good old electro compilations, for when you need a fresh breeze in your earphones and general zen’ism of your brains. And yes... if “X marks the pedwalk” decide to make another project in the future I am now sure to check it out.

Masha KASHA
07/04/2017


07/04/2017 : X MARKS THE PEDWALK - Secrets 07/04/2017 : X MARKS THE PEDWALK - Secrets

 

Next reviews
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN • Some postpunk, indie, coldwave bands to discover at WGT 2017 (Leipzig, D)
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning
ONCEHUMAN • Evolution
LUXVID • Trench
HOCICO, SHAARGHOT • Magasin 4 - 29 maart 2017
SET BEFORE US • Enigmas
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
26 TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - JUNE 2TH - 5 TH 2017 • Some minimal bands to check out !

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BOY HARSHER • Country Girl

 

Same genre: DARK POP
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER • A Village: Natural Light
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
DIVE • Underneath
ABSURD MINDS • Tempus Fugit
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
ELEZORIA • Astray
AM TIERPARK • Trashy Luxury
STACIAN • Person L
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night

Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On