tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/04/2017 : X MARKS THE PEDWALK - Secrets

X MARKS THE PEDWALK

Secrets

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDark PopElectroSynthpop

[75/100]   

Meshwork
07/04/2017, Masha KASHA

When I mentioned that I was about to review the 2017 album of “X Marks and the Pedwalk” a German friend of mine wondered: "You really mean that “X marks the pedwalk”? The dark EBM I had on my “Zillo” compilation years ago?

"Yes, I guess it is THAT “X marks…”, the band, which began its career in 1988 and the one who busted the clubs with the old school EBM hit “Abattoir”. If you have not heard the songs and did not follow the changes they have undergone during their career you will be positively surprised (or disappointed if you prefer it harder). “Secrets” is a mature mixture somewhere in between synthpop, futurepop and new wave.

It is more melancholic and energising, than dark and brutal.

What makes the album special?

First, there is male and female vocal. It is quite usual to hear the male vocal in the futurepop bands… OK, here I may sound conservative but I do not believe that any female vocal suits any darkelectro beats without getting too kitsch for my personal ears. Well, here I was really pleasantly surprised. It is just perfectly integrated. Mature, smooth and adding some special key, making this album special.

I haven’t heard anything that sounds this good since “Tristraum” or "Children Within". The second positive surprise - the album will make you dance but it is not a jolly party disco album - it has a good bouquet of smooth beats with a hint of melancholy. The instrumental part is also really pleasing to the ear - multilayered but not overdone.


Which compositions can I outline?

Although the opening song “Masterpiece” is really a masterpiece worth hearing and will surely be played in some synthpop dance clubs over their next nights and will undoubtedly become someone’s favourite....for my own nostalgic preference I would like to mention “Ghost”. There is something about the piece that has touched me. The song makes me think about my “darkwavish” youth - like “Derriere le miroir” or even “Wolfsheim” (mostly because of the background music).


And the conclusion is…

... that “Secrets” is a good album. Just the right amount of electronic without being industrial, melancholic without being depressive, soft without getting ethereal. It just has the right dose of everything. On my shelf, it could take a space with good old electro compilations, for when you need a fresh breeze in your earphones and general zen’ism of your brains. And yes... if “X marks the pedwalk” decide to make another project in the future I am now sure to check it out.

Masha KASHA
07/04/2017


07/04/2017 : X MARKS THE PEDWALK - Secrets 07/04/2017 : X MARKS THE PEDWALK - Secrets

 

Next reviews
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN • Some postpunk, indie, coldwave bands to discover at WGT 2017 (Leipzig, D)
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning
ONCEHUMAN • Evolution
LUXVID • Trench
HOCICO, SHAARGHOT • Magasin 4 - 29 maart 2017
SET BEFORE US • Enigmas
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
26 TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - JUNE 2TH - 5 TH 2017 • Some minimal bands to check out !

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
DICEPEOPLE • One From Many

 

Same genre: DARK POP
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER • A Village: Natural Light

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter

Music reviews

12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel
01
04
FRAGRANCE
Now That I'm Real
31
03
PARADE GROUND
Life [Live In Frankfurt]

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!
10
04
THRILLSVILLE Releases Dark Electronic Single, 'Second Sleep'

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

18
04
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
Dark Skies over Witten V Werkstatt Witten Germany
18
04
AUGER
Dark Skies over Witten V Wekstatt Witten Germany
06
04
PERSEPHONE
@ A Mourning hall concert Gelsenkirchen
24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
04
GNOSTIC GORRILA
St. Basil's Asylum
18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline
18
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
17
04
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
16
04
ANNI HOGAN
Angels Of Romance (featuring Gavin Friday
15
04
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
15
04
JO QUAIL
The Falconer