tempobet yeni adresi

07/04/2017 : X MARKS THE PEDWALK - Secrets

X MARKS THE PEDWALK

Secrets

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDark PopElectroSynthpop

[75/100]   

Meshwork
07/04/2017, Masha KASHA

When I mentioned that I was about to review the 2017 album of “X Marks and the Pedwalk” a German friend of mine wondered: "You really mean that “X marks the pedwalk”? The dark EBM I had on my “Zillo” compilation years ago?

"Yes, I guess it is THAT “X marks…”, the band, which began its career in 1988 and the one who busted the clubs with the old school EBM hit “Abattoir”. If you have not heard the songs and did not follow the changes they have undergone during their career you will be positively surprised (or disappointed if you prefer it harder). “Secrets” is a mature mixture somewhere in between synthpop, futurepop and new wave.

It is more melancholic and energising, than dark and brutal.

What makes the album special?

First, there is male and female vocal. It is quite usual to hear the male vocal in the futurepop bands… OK, here I may sound conservative but I do not believe that any female vocal suits any darkelectro beats without getting too kitsch for my personal ears. Well, here I was really pleasantly surprised. It is just perfectly integrated. Mature, smooth and adding some special key, making this album special.

I haven’t heard anything that sounds this good since “Tristraum” or "Children Within". The second positive surprise - the album will make you dance but it is not a jolly party disco album - it has a good bouquet of smooth beats with a hint of melancholy. The instrumental part is also really pleasing to the ear - multilayered but not overdone.


Which compositions can I outline?

Although the opening song “Masterpiece” is really a masterpiece worth hearing and will surely be played in some synthpop dance clubs over their next nights and will undoubtedly become someone’s favourite....for my own nostalgic preference I would like to mention “Ghost”. There is something about the piece that has touched me. The song makes me think about my “darkwavish” youth - like “Derriere le miroir” or even “Wolfsheim” (mostly because of the background music).


And the conclusion is…

... that “Secrets” is a good album. Just the right amount of electronic without being industrial, melancholic without being depressive, soft without getting ethereal. It just has the right dose of everything. On my shelf, it could take a space with good old electro compilations, for when you need a fresh breeze in your earphones and general zen’ism of your brains. And yes... if “X marks the pedwalk” decide to make another project in the future I am now sure to check it out.

Masha KASHA
07/04/2017


07/04/2017 : X MARKS THE PEDWALK - Secrets 07/04/2017 : X MARKS THE PEDWALK - Secrets

 

Next reviews
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN • Some postpunk, indie, coldwave bands to discover at WGT 2017 (Leipzig, D)
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning
ONCEHUMAN • Evolution
LUXVID • Trench
HOCICO, SHAARGHOT • Magasin 4 - 29 maart 2017
SET BEFORE US • Enigmas
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
26 TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - JUNE 2TH - 5 TH 2017 • Some minimal bands to check out !

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BOY HARSHER • Country Girl
CEPHALGY • Gott Maschine Vaterland
CYGNOSIC • Siren
NEO SATAN • Black Mass Prophecy
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections
FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS • MT
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side

 

Same genre: DARK POP
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER • A Village: Natural Light
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
DIVE • Underneath
ABSURD MINDS • Tempus Fugit
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
FAREWELL • Sequoia
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
ELEZORIA • Astray
AM TIERPARK • Trashy Luxury
STACIAN • Person L
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
LUXVID • Trench

Music reviews

11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors
03
12
IVANKOVA
Ivankovà EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video
14
12
This Friday the renowned Belgian Independent Music Festival 2017 (BIMFEST XVI) will kick-Off!
13
12
Brand new video by Crash Course In Science!
12
12
In Strict Confidence releases HERZ & FROZEN KISSES, a two-in-one single release with remixes and more!
11
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE to release entire catalogue remastered on EROMEDA RECORDS
10
12
Antwerp triphop / indiepop band Psy'Aviah announces new album!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
12
EUFORIC EXCISTENCE
Euforic Existence: We like to be put under the heading of EBM, but realize that we are an outsider. I would not want anything else.
09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’

PHOTOS

11
12
LACUNA COIL
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
11
12
CELLAR DARLING
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
05
12
FRONT 242
Ab Brussel
05
12
METROLAND
Ab Brussel
05
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
SHE PAST AWAY
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
GOLDEN APES
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

16
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE
Sunset Beach
15
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
14
12
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
13
12
BLANCMANGE
Blind Vision (HD)
12
12
THEN COMES SILENCE
The Dead Cry For No One
11
12
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Eclipse (Vintage Version - Live in Erfurt 2017)
10
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
A Rainbow Is Fading