tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/04/2017 : X MARKS THE PEDWALK - Secrets

X MARKS THE PEDWALK

Secrets

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDark PopElectroSynthpop

[75/100]   

Meshwork
07/04/2017, Masha KASHA

When I mentioned that I was about to review the 2017 album of “X Marks and the Pedwalk” a German friend of mine wondered: "You really mean that “X marks the pedwalk”? The dark EBM I had on my “Zillo” compilation years ago?

"Yes, I guess it is THAT “X marks…”, the band, which began its career in 1988 and the one who busted the clubs with the old school EBM hit “Abattoir”. If you have not heard the songs and did not follow the changes they have undergone during their career you will be positively surprised (or disappointed if you prefer it harder). “Secrets” is a mature mixture somewhere in between synthpop, futurepop and new wave.

It is more melancholic and energising, than dark and brutal.

What makes the album special?

First, there is male and female vocal. It is quite usual to hear the male vocal in the futurepop bands… OK, here I may sound conservative but I do not believe that any female vocal suits any darkelectro beats without getting too kitsch for my personal ears. Well, here I was really pleasantly surprised. It is just perfectly integrated. Mature, smooth and adding some special key, making this album special.

I haven’t heard anything that sounds this good since “Tristraum” or "Children Within". The second positive surprise - the album will make you dance but it is not a jolly party disco album - it has a good bouquet of smooth beats with a hint of melancholy. The instrumental part is also really pleasing to the ear - multilayered but not overdone.


Which compositions can I outline?

Although the opening song “Masterpiece” is really a masterpiece worth hearing and will surely be played in some synthpop dance clubs over their next nights and will undoubtedly become someone’s favourite....for my own nostalgic preference I would like to mention “Ghost”. There is something about the piece that has touched me. The song makes me think about my “darkwavish” youth - like “Derriere le miroir” or even “Wolfsheim” (mostly because of the background music).


And the conclusion is…

... that “Secrets” is a good album. Just the right amount of electronic without being industrial, melancholic without being depressive, soft without getting ethereal. It just has the right dose of everything. On my shelf, it could take a space with good old electro compilations, for when you need a fresh breeze in your earphones and general zen’ism of your brains. And yes... if “X marks the pedwalk” decide to make another project in the future I am now sure to check it out.

Masha KASHA
07/04/2017


07/04/2017 : X MARKS THE PEDWALK - Secrets 07/04/2017 : X MARKS THE PEDWALK - Secrets

 

Next reviews
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN • Some postpunk, indie, coldwave bands to discover at WGT 2017 (Leipzig, D)
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning
ONCEHUMAN • Evolution
LUXVID • Trench
HOCICO, SHAARGHOT • Magasin 4 - 29 maart 2017
SET BEFORE US • Enigmas
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
26 TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - JUNE 2TH - 5 TH 2017 • Some minimal bands to check out !

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
FEU FOLLET • Le champ des morts
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction

 

Same genre: DARK POP
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
04
XXXYEARXXX years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)