tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

01/04/2017 : SET BEFORE US - Enigmas

SET BEFORE US

Enigmas

MusicCD (EP)
Metalcore

[81/100]   

Self-released
01/04/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The metalcoreband Set Before Us was baptised in the outskirts of Stockholm. In 2012 five good friends started playing covers in a dark basement. Now, a few years later, they already gave humanity two EPs. Hitherto they have toured Europe four times and are working on their first full longplayer.

EP Enigmas was finalized in the autumn of 2016 and inspired the release of the brand new video Earth Destroyer. This is metalcore without any single doubt. Full of aggression, lively guitarwork, scorching rhythm sections. And all of this in a song that lasts just under three minutes. The young violence clearly knows how to handle things.

There are 4 more songs on this EP, piece by piece from the same mold. Tight guitar riffs that make your speakers spark, a scorching pace that bring on images of circle pits. Highborn has a very varied rhythm and musical diversification. The sudden lapses and even stops of the guitar riffs are really beautiful. As if the last note tries to escape from the instruments.

The same goes for Eye To Eye. Very quiet and excellent guitar work turns into a very fast song with bassdrums that thunder through the song with inimitable speed. And, just as any normal human being would expect that it is not possible to go any faster, Clay Heart fulminates from the speakers. Metalcore of the excellent kind.

The young guns who look like a boyband in their pictures know how to set about their work and bring delicious metalcore. The full album in the making will captivate many metallover. We know many of the metal greats eminate from the far North and these boys will fit in that category with panache.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
01/04/2017


NL

In de buitenwijken van Stockholm werd de metalcoreband Set Before Us boven de doopfont gehouden. Vijf goede vrienden starttten in 2012 met het spelen van covers in een duistere kelder. Nu, een paar jaar later, hebben ze al twee Ep's aan de mensheid geschonken. Ze toerden tot dusver vier keer door Europa en zijn bezig aan de eerste volwaardige langspeler.

De EP Enigmas werd gefinaliseerd in het najaar van 2016 en daaruit is nu de gloednieuwe video Earth Destroyer gereleased. Dat het metalcore is, staat buiten kijf. Het staat bol van agressie, snedig gitaarwerk, verschroeiende ritmesecties. En dat allemaal in een song van net geen drie minuten. Het jonge geweld weet duidelijk van aanpakken.

De EP zelf bevat nog vier andere songs, die stuk voor stuk uit hetzelfde hout zijn gesneden. Strakke gitaarriffs die de vonken uit de speakers doen knallen, een verschroeiend tempo waarbij beelden van circle pits spontaan in de gedachten komen. Highborn is heel gevarieerd qua ritme en muzikale afwisseling. Heel mooi zijn ook de plotse terugvallen tot zelfs stilvallen van de gitaarriffs. Alsof de laatste noot uit de instrumenten wil ontsnappen.

Zo ook Eye To Eye. Heel rustig en puik gitaarwerk verwordt tot een uitermate snelle song met basdrums die onnavolgbaar snel doorheen de song stormen. En op het moment dat een normaal mens verwacht dat het niét snediger kan, dondert Clay Heart door de speakers. Metalcore van de heel goede soort.

De jonge snaken, die er op foto uitzien als een boysband, weten van aanpakken en brengen zalige metalcore. Het full album in wording zal menig metalliefhebber weten te boeien. We weten dat veel metalgrootheden in het hoge Noorden hun heimat hebben en deze boys komen dat rijtje met verve aanvullen.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
01/04/2017


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation